Rent Heavy Fire: Afghanistan for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Fire: Afghanistan

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
2.5

650 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

dont know why....

posted by THEIRISHGREANDE (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game got such a bad rating, I thought the game was really fun. It reminds me of alot of the older arcade games. I think people thought it would be like call of duty and other shooter games. I liked it, but that only one mans opinion everybody should give this game a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Give it a break!

posted by GBoRev (LAFAYETTE, CA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2003

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sure, this is not a top tier shooter, but if you are looking for your first game to play with the Move sharpshooter accessory, this on-rails shooter is great for getting used to this type of interface. As a rental it's a few days of fun. I wouldn't buy it, but I think the really low GF average rating is unfair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

heavy fire

posted by jdz3 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

31 out of 40 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

im not gonna slam it like all the other haters out there. yes the game has horrible voice acting and aiming is very sensitive when you dont have move and its similar feeling to house of the dead. but people need to realize this wasnt intended to be like call of duty or battlefield 3. for what this game is worth, its quite ok. love how its based on the afghan war and the story is kinda cool too. only recommend if you have a ps move, im sure it works better that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty fanboys need not apply

posted by ixbadboy01 (CONVERSE, TX) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Heavy Fire: Afghanistan for the PS3 is all that its cracked up to be. It's an old school shooter for old school gamers. If you ever played "Operation Wolf" in the 1980s and loved it, then this game is for you.

Sure the action is on rails, but this is what an old school shooter is all about. And this is what today's gamers do not know, and thus, are unable to appreciate.

I loved this game from the minute I started playing. The graphics and sound effects are outstanding for a $20 game. The developer, Teyon deserves high praise for designing a genre of game that has been missing from the FPS category, and one that belongs in any gamer's library who appreciates old school gaming.

With that said, Heavy Fire: Afghanistan comes HIGHLY recommeded for shooter fans who are willing to give Call of Duty a rest for a few hours to play and appreciate this old school game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by kwe1003 (YOAKUM, TX) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics and gameplay reminded me of playing an old 90's arcade game. It might be fun for someone who had playstation move and wanted an old arcade game feel. You can't invert the aiming and all you do is move a crosshair across the screen and shoot at either bad guys, ammo boxes, or health packs. I played the game a whole 10 minutes and was so disappointed i mailed it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just horrible

posted by 4trophies45840 (FINDLAY, OH) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i rented this game to try and snag what ps3trophies said would be an easy and fast platinum, and since i'm a fan of rail shooter style games i figured i couldn't miss. man was i wrong, this game is sketchy at best. first off this is a "move compatible" game...or at least it says it is, after a couple of hours of trying to get both move controllers to sync up and not being able to, i finally gave up and just played it with a 6 axis controller. using a 6 axis, the game was finally playable but just barely. i felt that the aim and cover controls were backwards and could never really get used to them. second, the graphics are horrible, and im really not all that concerned about a game having ground breaking graphics, but when the flash from guns reminds me of operation wolf on the NES there is something wrong, the whole thing just looks slapped together. despite all of this games short comings,it might still be worth a rent just for the trophies, but be warned, you might not like what you get and you may just end up walking away from this game completely dissappointed like i was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Heavy Fire: Afghanistan is simply a bad game.

posted by PSN_Jay_Cash (TOPEKA, KS) Jul 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Heavy Fire: Afghanistan is an on-rails shooter set in Afghanistan. Done. I just put as much effort in this review as they put into the game. Suck it.

If you are an avid trophy collector, this is only about a 5-6 hour waste of time for the platinum. To anyone else, just avoid this game completely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MOST SUCKIEST SHOOTER EVER!!(WORSE THEN NUKEM)

posted by SHAMAN (SOUTH MIAMI, FL) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2004

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

THE DEVELOPERS OF THIS GAME WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE THIS PROBABLY THE SUCKIEST SHOOTER EVER MADE!! WOW THIS IS BAD!!

FROM THE AIMING TO THE ACTUAL SHOOTING TO THE MOVING.... TERRIBLE GAME!!!

HOW DO THEY GET A GAME LIKE THIS OUT INTO THE MARKET...DO THEY EVEN LOOK AT WHAT OTHER GAMES ARE OUT THERE?? DONT WASTE YOUR TIME RENTING THIS GAME AND DEFINETLY DO NOT BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Exactly what were they thinking?

posted by shons (LAYTON, UT) Dec 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This is probably the worst game to come out in the last 5 years of next gen game consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by gmann (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WORST FIRST PERSON SHOOTER GAME EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay AWAY

posted by Gixxer4u2nv (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is total trash. I put it in and thought it was 1980 and I was playing a SEGA GENESIS. Graphically it's trash, playability was horrible. It's NOT what you would think it would be. Slow choppy graphics... TERRIBLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever made!

posted by tipsy_slizzard (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is awful! do not rent or buy or even look at this game!!!!!!!! i actually laughed when i played this game for 3 mins!!!!!!! its that bad folks!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was beyond bad

posted by cincyredfan (EDINBORO, PA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 26 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

My Title Says Enough....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by dsjr33 (KUNA, ID) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Don't waste your time on this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DON'T BOTHER GETTING THIS ONE

posted by dwayne0617 (GLADSTONE, OR) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The thing I didn't like about this game was controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad

posted by dogboy1234 (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

thats all i got to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by btruss21 (ALBA, TX) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wanted to try this despite the reviews. Thinking everybodys taste is different. The reviews was right on. This is the worst PS3 game I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Very Very BAD

posted by Dae_Mar_98 (SCOTTSVILLE, VA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wow, i've been looking foward to this game for about a month and when i played it i was so furious at how bad this game was, the makers of this game need to really really REALLY step they game up. EPIC FAIL!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by jaysonj247 (LANCASTER, CA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game sucked thought it would be better after pushing the release date back more then once not worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst war game ever!!!

posted by DENVER_15 (ARVADA, CO) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

controls bad worst war game ever played was so mad how bad game was. please no one buy it!!! i should just burn mine LOL i still cant believe how bad it is!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Agree with others on this one

posted by rvalimont67 (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Horrible game should have not wasted money on making this game !!!!! Dont even rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game sucks because i say so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game

posted by seek732 (MISSION HILLS, CA) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think this game is cool if u like game like time crisis it fun and all but u wouldn't buy the game for my self !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horable game

posted by unknown69 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

sorry to everyone who thought this game sounded entertaining. but i played it with the motion controller and i was verry disapointed that i couldnt even walk my own charicter. plz tell whoever made this game to quit there job and go on welfare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do no buy

posted by 12wq (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

bad bad bad bad bad bad bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse