Rent Heatseeker for Wii
view large frontback

Heatseeker

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
5.6

749 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Despite few shortcomings, Heatseeker is pure fun

posted by FFCyborg (BETHESDA, MD) May 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

One of the biggest problems about some games is that they can have all the glitz, glamor, and gameplay a game needs, just it doesn't end up very fun to us. Now, we've seen this problem in many hyped games. Heatseeker, has some few complaints, but this game is just plain fun. To start off, Heatseekers controls are easy to follow, which lots of wii shooters (and lets face it-wii games overall) could never seem to master.Instead of blowing you over with innovation, only with simple gestures with the Wii-mote can your plane raise and lower altitude, and take turns left and right, and this works very well.There are two main control modes, but both seem pretty similar. But there are some drawbacks to the game. yes, they have campaign and mission mode, but there is no multiplayer at all, which is a let-down considering dogfights are what makes flight-shooters so great. Now, i know the wii has not as powerful hd components for Next-gen, but this, this wouldn't even look good on a gamecube. Now, as so me objectives in the game can be repetitive, this game is fun to play, even with many setbacks. Overall, Heatseeker is not a great dogfighter (and without multiplayer, it probably shouldn't even be called one), but it can show to other developers that being easy on the motion sensitivity is a good way to go, just i hope developers will also see that you need a lot more gameplay to make a game amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Forgettable

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) May 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Heatseeker handled very well, but there was very little to do outside the boring storyline. The lack of multiplayer and anyone online are also a big disappointment. Some moments of fun, but it won't keep you playing for more than a week.

The controls for heatseeker work very well. It takes a little getting used to, but no more then a normal flying game. Shooting, using missiles, and maneuvering your jet are easy, and an example for other games in this genre. The ease of use also makes doing the storyline more enjoyable if you can get through the annoying cut scenes.

The lack of anything to do outside the storyline is what really makes this title boring. Zero multiplayer, PS2 graphics, and lack of online (Probably Nintendo' s doing, but really needed on a game like this) are hard to get over. After all this, it leaves you with about 6 hours of gameplay, and maybe more if you want to go back through and do the missions for a better rating.

It's worth a rent if your Q is runnning on empty, but while there are other games to try out, I'd skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heatseeker is a perfect flight simulator.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a very underrated flight simulator game. I wish it had multiplayer. The dog fights are great. Graphics are top notch. Nice cutscenes and storyline voices. Excellent controls. Nice selection of fighters to choose from. I didn't really see any problem with this game. It was just too good not to let it down. This game is a great buy for flight simulator fans. And a definite rent for curious players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Haters

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea why anyone would say this is a bad game...Being an Ace Combat fan, I started playing this game with many,MANY doubts, since Ace Combat isn't on the Wii. I told myself "Ah, that's nice...but it's not ace combat..." and found myself saying so less and less as the missions went on. Not only that, it has a level of difficulty in the later missions that is unexpected, mainly due to the mission length, that is challenging enough to keep my interest. Maybe if I had nothing to do but play all day it'd be different, but as it stands, HeatSeeker is a very good game. especially after you get through that first 'this is how to play' mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a good game

posted by oakland510 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) May 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not good it looks cool but it is boring the maps and missions don't change very much and also the controllers are not all that this game is not worth the 50 bucks that you have to pay if you want if an airplane shooter get Squadrons of World War 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by csanders0056 (MOUNT SHERMAN, KY) May 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game has the most horrible controls of any game i have ever played. There is not any option on the game to change the control scheme. THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ignore negative feedback!

posted by KHucks (COLBERT, WA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

I decided to go against all of the negative comments about this game and give it a shot. Really there is not much choice in the way of flying jets for the Nintendo Wii so out of a few this one is by far the best. I found a lot of negative comments about the controls for this game. By going into control setting and choosing the third one, I believe, which gives you flight control with the nunchuk made this game 10 times more fun. The best part is being able to unlock many different jets and weapon pack (My personal favorite Boeing F-18 Hornet V2). I would highly recommend giving this one a try regardless of the corny dialogue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game totally sucks !

posted by NJmario (CARTERET, NJ) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is probably one of the worst games i have played till date. The graphics are pretty bad for a new generation video game. The controls are horrible and not intutive, its impossible to control the plane most of the times. Blazing Angels is a much better game compared to this game and beats it by miles.

Save your time, this game is not worth buying or renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heatseeker stinks

posted by gamerider (LEAD, SD) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is one of the worst games I have ever played and is not worth your time or money. The controls are ridiculous. It's way too difficult to get the plane under control at times. I turned this game in the very next day because of it's horrible controlling features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Seeking Mediocrity

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game has everything you would expect from an air combat game: dull story, cheesy lines and characters that shout more than an Oxy-Clean commercial. But that isn't what most people would consider renting it for. If you're looking for the exaggerated actions and explosions that are usually present, they're here too.

In Heatseeker, you control your plane by pointing at the screen with the Wii Remote. Weapons are activated using buttons. The simple control setup is easy to learn, and works fine until something shoots at you. Then you have to dodge the missile using a roll. (or flares, but that option is less common) A roll is performed by pushing the Wii Remote to the side, which while simple, doesn't pick up all the time. This will result in many cheap hits and deaths.

You'll often be flying missions 1 against 100 or more, so to even the odds you have an unlimited supply of missiles. There are reload times for all the missiles, but most are so short you hardly notice them. Shooting off 300 missiles per mission is fun at first, but after an hour or so it feels more like a cheat code than part of the game.

While your are in a mission, you will receive a huge amount of messages from your fellow pilot, Divot, and any other characters that may be in the mission. Divot in particular is very talkative, and will shout, "DOWNTOWN'S(you) HIT DOWNTOWN'S HIT! HE'S GOING DOWN!" every few seconds when your health is low ... seemingly regardless of whether or not you've actually been hit by anything. It doesn't help that Divot is pretty much useless when it comes to doing anything except being annoying.

The graphics on the game probably could have run on an N64. The planes look like paper, and are ridiculously out of scale with the buildings and ships. I don't expect much out of Wii graphics, but they could have done better than this.

Heatseeker isn't a bad game. It doesn't do a whole lot wrong, but it doesn't a whole lot right either. Rent it, but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HEATSEEKER IS KINDA AMAZING

posted by johnny586 (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Heatseeker is, like i said, kinda amazing. the controls are very easy to get used to unlike many other games. one minute or two is all it takes. one bad thing about it is that it gets repetitive. all the missions seem just like the one before. the graphics ore pretty good. overall, it is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game that was held from greatness

posted by BronxNY (WARWICK, NY) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This game was surprisingly pretty good, but after the first mission, I returned it. It wasn't that it was not a good game, but that was flawed in graphics, level design, and it was not interesting enough. The main reason is that the missions are repetitive. In each mission, you have 3 or more enemy groups to kill. I will present the mission to you in a flowchart.

START--->1st group--->2nd group--->3rd group--->END

Very repetitive.

Another thing that you can also relate to if you have played NFS: Carbon, is that you have to call a phone number and pay $2.50 to get the codes for the cheats. This was the same for EA NFS: Carbon. The locked cars are already on the disk, but you have to pay EA $$$ to unlock the cars early.

The graphics were also pretty bad. In the 1st cut scene in the game, the plane, the F-22, that you are about to fly, looks very boxy and has very jagged edges that were sharper than a wire fence.

Other than that, it was a good game that because of it's many flaws, was kept from gaming greatness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Got Tone! Fighters On My Six!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 5, 2008

Member since May 2007

Pros:
Action, action, and more action. Did I mention the action? It is the most intense and action packed game I have ever played on the Wii so far. Unlockable aircrafts and you can choose your weapon loadouts.

Cons:
Graphics are a bit shabby at 480i. Can't imagine what it would look like on a regular tube tv. Intense lag during the most intense levels when missiles and aircraft are flying everywhere. Turning is a major problem and re-centering is even worse. Can't use most of your unlocked aircrafts. Even though you can choose your weapon loadout, they are preset options. You can't take one away and put another in its place; it's a pre-packaged deal.

I picked this up for a few dollars and thought it was going to suck because I paid so little for it. Wrong-oh. I've been reading reviews that the controls suck, which they do. It is difficult, which it is. So, why would I like it. I even took this off my Q because it had such low rated reviews. THE IMMENSE ARCADY ACTION!!!

I have been a fan of the F-15 Strike Eagle for as long as I can remember. Though I've tried different aircrafts and loadouts in this game, the F-15 seem to fit me well. I think the difficulty that most gamers are having is that they are not using the right loadouts. If you use the F-15 you can load it out with MRAMs. They lock on to 3-4 air targets at the same time and you can fire up to 4 missiles at once. Even though they don't lock onto ground or water targets, you can still use them as unguided missiles to destroy large battleships, carriers, submarines, etc. when in range at 2000. I was switching to SRAMs while waiting for the MRAMs to recharge. Let me tell you, I was breezing through levels with these babies. The developers should have had annotations to what the weapons do to ease gameplay.

The controls sucked, but this didn't really matter to me when I heard loud tones with the MRAMs. I am, however, now stuck on this one level where I protect an aircraft. Waves of enemy aircr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i feel the need, the need for speed

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- the only wii game with fighter jets, so if you want to play this type of game, this is it for you
- Arcade style gameplay is accesible and fun
- wii controls work well

Cons
- Not a sim game, so sim fighter fans, don't pick this up
- Graphics not that great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been better

posted by metsruel (Little Egg Harbor Twp, NJ) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

While i was excited to get this game, after playing only 10 minutes of it. I realized why it wasn't a big seller. The game controls are not easy to learn and when you point the plane in one direction, it goes the other way. I was very unhappy with this game and the reason for the low rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Shoot, explode, repeat

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

This game marks the third game to go flying on the Wii, and it does mostly well.
Controls feel and work very well, and you'll be dog fighting in no time. Graphics in the sky look great with slow-time explosions, aircraft, and sky and light effects.

The graphics on the ground however are blocky and look early PS at best. The story is nothing more than JAG or a sad military fiction story; nothing special. The missions sadly also get repetitive fast. Different size fleets, more boats to sink, land defenses, and other different mixes. By doing better at different difficulties, you can get medals which go toward new planes and different weapon load outs for those planes.

In the end, the game id fun and works very well, but can feel repetitive and sadly has no multi player. Good for a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another "Lock" and shoot Missiles Game

posted by DocMac100 (NASHVILLE, TN) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Unlike Blazing Angels, Heat Seeker chose to use the wimote instead of the nunchuck as the control stick, which is a very bad way to fly a plane. For the most part the game play revolves around getting a missile lock and firing missiles. I only played the first mission and then I put it back in the return envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Neat idea, but it missed the boat

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

When first I put Heatseeker in, I hated it. I gave it a bit of a chance, though, and I got quite a bit of enjoyment from it. Unfortunately, the game missed the boat on a few things though.

What I liked:
-The missions themselves, while very similar, were fun
-When you failed an objective or died, you could start out at the last checkpoint in a mission
-The controls were pretty decent

What I didn't like:
-Something was screwy with the screen resolution. I chose 16:9, but it still played in letter box.
-The mission difficulty was all over the map. It went from simple easy to way to hard back to easy then to so frustratingly hard that I just sent the game back.
-The missions were a bit repetitive.
-Sometime mission objectives weren't obvious
-The sound was pretty bad.
-I didn't like the "dodge missle" mechanics because the wiimote didn't always respond in enough time.

The bottom line... This game was worth renting, but I couldn't get myself to finish it. The mission that I was stuck on was too difficult (even on easy mode).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but...

posted by motleyfool (LANSING, MI) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This is a good flight sim game as far as consoles go. The missions get more difficult as you go on. The speech in the game is good but a bit repetitive. A definite plus is the replay ability with all the planes to unlock. A great pick with Gamefly. I would not own this game but I played it more than a standard rental allows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good game

posted by bdizzle3 (BALLSTON LAKE, NY) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Its a pretty realistic game. it has a lot of explosions and action. the flight controls are great. When ur playing this game it feels like ur really there. One problem is that u do the same stuff over and over and you get bored. Another problem is the missions are really long so you cant save in the middle of one. its a good game to rent. I would say definitely worth getting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just wish my friends could play

posted by rusackas (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I love this game... in fact, I think I'll buy it. My only complaint is that my roommates/friends and I have to take turns. If it was multiplayer, it'd be much higher on my list, and would have gotten a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Controls are the key in this game.

posted by LeeFerio (WEST JORDAN, UT) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

One thing that made this game above average for me was the controls are really quite fun to fly to. The game has two options of controls advanced, and arcade, arcade is a point and fly scheme while advanced let you change your plains tilt with the wii mote. This is one of its strong points. You do have a wide variety of planes, and there are different difficulties as well.

The biggest problem is probably the voice acting, is set up like your a goldfish, and retells you what to do every 2 min. Your missions were set up for someone who has ADD. One minute your sinking a ship then shooting planes then bombing S.A.M.'s then protecting ships then bombing ships. Although this gets annoying I just loving dog fighting, and bombing to a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by 007007wes (PRESCOTT, AZ) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

Excellent you have so much control and you feel so cool doing it. So many planes and missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sent back after 1 day.

posted by mapenn (MEXICO, MO) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was simply unplayable on the Wii! Horrible handling -- at times way too sensitive, other times unresponsive. Back to the drawing board...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game Play

posted by stevetrust (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

The controls for the Wii are terrible, game play is boring and the storyline lacks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse