Rent Haze for PS3
view large frontback

Haze

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

5255 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by ubergamerx (WALDORF, MD) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was one of the best first person shooters but it had its flaws like unskippble clips and online got very laggy and i personally did not on at all but co-op which was great overall i give it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Keep an open mind, this game is great.

posted by win1bears (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's hilarious to read reviews. The low scores on this game compared to another game I like, Condemned 2. Condemned is not as good and far more brainless with little strategy needed.This game is great online and even lets online players help you get through your personal missions. Maybe some people feel a need to have an enemy locator.
You can play as a trooper with the nectar enhancer or as a rebel that can lay hidden bombs. I wish they had more maps though. But I'm a top ranked player on all maps and find the missions are great. And what's with people criticizing the plots? Who cares? What does a plot offer in a game? Some of the greatest games had no plot. Donkey Kong, pac-man, all the maddens, etc..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Shooter game

posted by ZefroKaru (BRADENTON, FL) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My review for this game is as simple as this...

Like many others the online gameplay is simply amazing
with the different maps (- the graphics) and weapons of both mantel and rebels, and different abilities of the two sides.

The worst thing of the game was the story becouse of the ending and I felt if it was to short and a little boring but still good because the gameplay but didnt show to many of the weapons

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I liked this game!

posted by DonovanKJA (MILFORD, DE) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game at first was hard but then i got used to it, I mean I was used to playing halo 3 and 2 so the buttons were so different!!! Got to at least try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All I can say is wow!

posted by ratman81 (WESTFIELD, IN) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like FPS games, you HAVE to play this one. If you are not an FPS fan, try it anyway. Video games these days have become like movies, just more interactive. This is one storyline that I can honestly say I have not encountered before. It does not feel like a rip off of another game, and many of the mechanics are very unique.

I found the controls to be very smooth. It almost seems as though they are going to predict your moves sometimes, and there is hardly any lag. Also, the button configuration is very comprehensive and seems like anyone can jump in and be able to maneuver well, even if there was no forced tutorial.

The graphics were fantastic, very smooth and well textured. Although I got some bugs with light and lighting effects, it may no longer be an issue. I was several updates behind on my system, as I only recently got proper access to the internet (geographic issue). Even with these bugs, however, it did not detract from the game.

The sound was also phenomenal. I do not have a surround sound system, just decent speakers on my TV, and the audio cues indicating direction of an enemy were spot on (guns cocking, footsteps, dialog, etc.). The audio effects were also great, very realistic sounding.

But the thing that really knocked me on my butt was the concept and story of the game. Without dropping spoilers, all I can say is that the story will take you for a ride. It zigs when you expect it to zag. My one complaint is about the final cut scene prior to the credits. But, it makes for a good story and possibly opens up for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome

posted by fahad11230 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is crazy i dont know every body hate it s much i could not stop playing ittill i got to the end it is so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Campaign review

posted by Ruddyinc (ROY, WA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed this game.

Starting out I enjoyed the feel to it, it does well to help you get acclamated to the controls.

They did a good job with loading too, there are very few, if any, actualy "Loading" screens. They load the level while you watch a cutscene, it works out well.

The actual gameplay is good also. The enemy AI was pretty impressive, they take cover, they charge at you if you are close enoug, etc.

One downside to the gameplay is the squad chatter, it get's annoying after a bit, they talk too much.

The campaign was too short though, that's why I gave a 7. I was able to finish it in about 5 and a half hours. I got it in the mail on a Monday, sent it back in on Tuesday.

I buy/rent games for the story play mostly. I don't want to buy/rent a console game just to have to go online to enjoy it to the fullest.

Sounds were good, though sometimes was hard to hear the com-chatter due to the combat raging on nearby.

Graphics were impressive most of the time, at times there were little things that looked poorly rendered, but they weren't too noticable.

Final word: Rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVED IT!

posted by DanVra (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i dont know what is wrong with everybody who revied this game, but this is the best FPS ive ever played.

dont listen to those others, this isnt an easy game, it is actually very challenging if u set it to the higher levels!

it is a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever Out of All Systems

posted by Rahstyles2 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Come on!!! WHAT THE HECK.. is wrong with yall giving it a 5.4 rating!!!

THe 4 player co-op where you team up and enjoy talking and blowing people up and watching each others back.. is unbelivable!!!

This is the BEst game ever.. Forget those Online multiplayer cheap Deathmatch modes.. Every game has that !!! Where you die and then when you respawn those game nerds that play games all day know where you spawn and just shoot you.. BORING!!!!!

4Player Campaign!!!???? DAmnn!!! nobody can beat that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons:

Story tooo DAMnn Short.. i want more!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the sight threw the haze

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) May 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first of all the graphics are not fully polished second short story mode but all and all its fun its alot fun and dumbwankers {ign} skincoat has nothing to do with a guy that skins people and uses them as coats so that rate there makes you know that ign didnt really play this lieing jerks and no not all charaters are dumb incompetent brutes like daniel hes not he says hi im daniel you must be the new guy dont worry if you need any help im always here and he does not see dumb at all and no they dont go around saying boish all the time and the co/op is great its just you would of excepted it to be longer there is times when the graphics look sweet and look weak so all im saying is you be the judge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not completely a waste of time ;)

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) May 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

38 out of 46 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

With so many FPSs out there a company really has to do something unique to stand out from the crowd. While Ubisoft has certainly delivered in the past I don't think Haze is going to be one of those titles people are going to talk about for years to come. Essentially it is a mix of Far Cry [FC] (the jungle setting and a little of the primal ability, see below though) and Half Life 2 [HL2] (for the endless driving sequences, long exposition/non-skipable cut scenes, and the "what am I supposed to now" factor).

SPOILER WARNING
...
The one ability that tried to make it unique is the "nectar" ability, which IMHO is similar to the primal abilities from FC, just not as developed or as useful. You only have it for about 1/3 of the game though, since when you change sides during the game you lose it. However, even when you have them, frequently there are times when you can't use them. So as far as the "hook" to make the game stand out, it's pretty weak.
...

As alluded to above, there is a lot of driving in this game. Unlike FC and HL2 though you are just driving, there are no weapons that you can use and if you try to use the mounted weapons, none of the bot "allies" will get in the driver's seat. Frankly, if I had wanted a driving game I would have played one. I suspect this works out better in multiplayer mode though, so those that like to shoot can shoot and those that like to drive can do so.

With those criticisms, and some other minor ones though (like bad/repetitive comments from the bots), as mentioned in the title it is really not a complete waste of time. The graphics were decent, not pushing the limit but better than last gen's, and the sound was good. There was also enough variety of weapons to get the job done and have fun. Clocking in at around 7-8 hours IIRC for the campaign it should fill a weekend.

They also left the story open enough for a Haze2 but I guess we'll have to see how this one sells first. My guess is we won't see it ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Haze is the blaze!

posted by zchroberts (ALLENTOWN, PA) May 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Haze is an amazing futuristic game, the plot is thick with the mantels and the rebels. The online play is also amazing, you can join the troopers(mantel) or rebels(rebels) and fight against bots or friends either way it rocks. Highly recommend if you like the futuristic war games like halo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Play

posted by 123123123 (WALTON, NY) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Call of duty 4 has gotten me into shooters and this on i like its good game play very realistic hip fire great story line a little short but overall a fun game to play the graphics are a little iffy . Onle was kinda fun too but yea defintly a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS EXCELLENT

posted by nononsense (STANFORDVILLE, NY) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i do not know why this game is rated so low and is criticized. the graphics are great, sound is great, is a very smooth shooter with no problems at all. this is the only review i have ever done and i have played every fps on every console. just thought haze was unjustly bashed. enemy is also intelligent and story is not bad if you are into storyline which i am not. just got my ps3 so maybe new ones run better which might explain early complaints about this game. rent it and you will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

When its good its GREAT, when its bad its, BAADDD!

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When its working as designed the game is a great
experience, the character animations are very good, not perfect but above average. The level detail is very nice, all I can say about people who think the graphics are bad, they must be playing on a SD TV. The level are beautiful very nice for a Nex-Gen. The level design as a little to be desired, you'll find pletty of dead ends and exits that are covered by complete darkness, most exits are found by accident or seeing the enemy come through them.

The Sound FX and voice acting are very good and really puts you in the war, however the same 4 word phases are repeated every 10 secs. I honestly tried to kill my own promise hand teamate just to shut him up. It wouldn't be so bad if they only talked every 3-5 minutes, but I counted the phases "Remember your promise!!" , "Today, Mantel will fall!!", and "Today, it is Mantel that die!!" 4 times each in 60 seconds!! Its way past annoying. Like I said I tried to kill each of my squad mates just to shut them up, when that didn't work I just refused to revive them if they were injured.

But on the plus side your squad mates do actually help kill the enemy. Just for laughs I let them do all the work for one checkpoint on the tanker. They actually did pretty good. Anyways the ending is kind of boring, no big reveal or plot twist but I think the story I farly good and not completely pointless.

The gameplay was extremely smooth and lighting fast just like Resistance Fall of Man. I never had any glitches or slow down. The game never froze and I never ran into an enemy just staring blindly into a corner.

The campains not perfect by anymeans must its still very enjoyable. The Multiplayer is intenst and very well laid out. I'm acutally keeping this game because of the Multiplayer action.

I would recomend this game to anybody who enjoys FPS but I leave buying it up to you. Besides We're all just a bunch of animals, its only chemicals in your brain that make you like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Never, Ever believe bad reviews!!

posted by DMC4ps3fan (Lancaster, CA) May 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing!! Please never believe the bad reviews! Ok so its not on par with games that got 10s and stuff like COD 4, but this game is really fun! It has an interesting plot, for sure, but the story isnt where the game thrives, its in the gameplay, great graphics, lots of different guns and maps, four player CO-OP. If you want to see gameplay look up a vid on youtube, with all the uses for nectar, its hard to explain! But its a really solid shooter, that may not be the best, but its a great new multiplayer option, fun campagin, action packled throughout, great music, interesting plot, lots of weapons, and even customizable controls. Its for sure, an excellent expirience!! Rent, buy, or keep it!! No matter what you do to obtain this game, you win!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great fun, but doesn't quite live up to the hype.

posted by Findrin (COLDSPRING, TX) May 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a series of ups and downs. The shooting sequences are an incredible adrenaline rush; both factions are diverse in their abilities and equally fun to play. If anyone is looking for something to keep themselves occupied until MGS4, you've found it.

Now the downs: AI is horrible at best, like Army of Two, this game is best played with friends. The 'armored' vehicles drive and defend more like delicate little flowers that will wilt in a sharp breeze, blowing up and killing you and your teammates with only a few bullets worth of damage. By these standards, in real life I could take on a tank with an assault rifle and live. The story is very promising, but fails to rise above the quality of a bad action flick. "Nectar" is an enjoyable campaign mechanic that is taken from you far too quickly, only to bring massive imbalances to the multiplayer options.

Aside from all of this, Haze is definitely worth playing, but you'll definitely be glad you rented it through GF instead of shelling out 60$ to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Flight of the Bumblebee.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) May 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You are Shane Carpenter, a Mantel soldier, and a killing machine. Your squad has been sent to harvest "nectar" amidst a war torn portion of South America. In this scenario, nectar is the drug given to the soldiers to heighten senses, improve eyesight and strength, as well as mask the emotional anchors that usually go along with killing. The premise sounds good doesn't it? A chance to make social commentary about war through the eyes of our fledgling soldier Carpenter. Plus 1.

Haze was developed by Free Radical Design, a team composed of former employees of Rare (the company behind acclaimed FPS titles: GoldenEye 007, Perfect Dark, and the TimeSplitters library). Another plus.

The game features a two player split screen co-op with the ability to play online co-op for four. Multiplayer options include Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, and Team Assault for up to sixteen players on several VERY large maps. Another plus.

So where did they go wrong? Well, there are quite a few problems actually. The A.I. for both Mantel and Promise Hand are horrible, graphically the game falls short of a next-gen title, the vehicle controls are sloppy, the narrative within is predictable and horribly acted, and the soundtrack (if there is one?) is quite forgettable. It's like a cheese-infested 80's action flick.

Good thing I love bad action movies.

I would tell anyone interested in the game to rent it first, as it is DEFINITELY not for everyone. Personally, a split-screen cooperative experience is what I long for. This game delivers on that account. It provides a fun and worthwhile play for two (offline) or four (online).

The fire effects, as mentioned in several online reviews, are the worst I've seen in a long, long time. Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I just laughed at them.

If you're planning a night in with a buddy or two, give Haze a try. You might be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is great!

posted by davetheone (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It's too bad that people are influenced by the reviews on multiple gaming websites as well as the popular game/blog websites. With Gamefly you have the chance to check the games out for yourself instead of listening to editors/reviewers who have different tastes in gaming and accepting bribes/gratuities to influence your tastes and what games you should buy.

I have to call it like I see it; it seems that any game exclusive to the PS3 gets negative reviews because of outside influences from competing platforms.

It's a fun game with a good storyline; non stop action and great multi-player components. I had friends over on the weekend and they had a blast playing it; they werent poisoned by the bad reviews by editors who accept bribes and other gratuities by competitors to force a bad review of a good game.

Thanks to Gamefly I was pleasantly surprised by how good this game is. I might just purchase it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Classic Shooter

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Haze was one of the shooters I had ever played. It's like any other shooter but with some extra things. The harvesting of ammo and feigning death of the rebels and the pump-up drug called nectar used by the Mantel. This has a great storyline, great guns, great vehicles, and adequate graphics. Overall, it's like any other shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than expected

posted by who10tj (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It was better than I expected. The game offered some challenges and wasn't as bad as some reviews made it out to be. The graphics were good and the gameplay was ok. On the downside it's short. REALLY SHORT!!!! It also has some long, boring cutscenes and the story is kind of dull. Nice game to play over the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Try playing the whole game before reviewing, boys

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jul 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I ll be the first to admit that the start of the game was really lame but it did get better and by the end was a pretty good little shooter. Obviously many of the so called reviewers did not finish the game. Lets not review games unless we finish, alright. There were a few flaws, even 1 glitch but compare this game to R6V2, the graphics are better, the story is better, the whole necter thing is a little goofy but oh well, the length is a little on the short side. It could have been another 5 hours so it definitely lost a point for that and the NPC's repeating the same lame lines over and over got annoying but overall, this was a pretty decent effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The most fun I've ever had with my pants on

posted by GTJMOR (WHITTIER, CA) May 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game follows the story of Shane Carpenter, a soldier in a PMC group known as Mantel. Mantel recently developed a "performancing enchancing supplement" called Nectar. It boosts every sence you have and makes you shrug off bullets. After being send to "ethnicly cleanse" a region you start seeing how Nectar changes people. It makes people more aggressive and alters the the way they act and think. Nectar also makes it so that you can't see blood or dead bodies. After going through about 1/4 of the game you defect to the rebel side and can no longer use Nectar for the effect but as a weapon. Normally this would be fine, but the problem is that you become a rebel right as you start getting used to using Nectar.

I have to admit, the voice acting in this game is terrible to say the least, although it does make for some good laughs. I mean really, who doesn't like steriod junkies hopped up on Red Bull? Shane does stay silent for most of the game and really only talks during cutscenes, which makes it really hard to connect to him and feel for him.

The graphics are fine for the most part, but a few effects such as the fire looks like it belongs in a PS2 game. Other than that the graphics look like anything you'll see on an average game, nothing really mind blowing.

There really isn't anything amazing about the game, but theres nothing bad about it either. Its just plain fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game the surprizes keep coming

posted by jeniuz (GREENWOOD, IN) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game is a great online an offline game by free radical. the co-op for the game is much like that of the timesplitters series, but lacks in length. The online mode is amazing and keeps the story going with different situations and you never cross a corner without finding a troup from the other side. the weapons are too great for description and go from a flamethrower, to a minigun and still have room for the typical rocket launcher and knifes. i give this game 10 out of 10 stars and suggest you rent it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) May 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

23 out of 36 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Haze is a good, solid FPS that deserves a flying chance at success. This game was suppose to be a top end, genre defining, challenger for the top of the heap FPS for the PS3. While it doesn't live up to the hype that it was given, it still has solid visuals, exciting game play, and excellent controls. The story is weird but better than that of other top end shooters in my opinion (Gears of War). This game is better than most shooters out there and it deserves a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse