Rent Hasbro Family Game Night for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hasbro Family Game Night

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Wii, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

1079 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good for all the games

posted by unseth (LEESBURG, VA) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

26 out of 26 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an older gamer, I really like this. I had been going back and forth with the idea of buying individual games on xbox marketplace, but decided to wait for this pack.

I'm glad I did, and I ended up buying it. For a fraction of the cost of buying each game individually you get all the classic games for a low price.

Battleship, Sorry!, Sorry! Sliders, Scrabble, Boggle, Yahtzee, and Connect 4.

The setup is well done where all games are kept in an easy to access place. You can play 1-4 players locally or online. The only game I hadn't played as a kid was Sorry! Sliders and that game has become one of my favorites. My wife and I play a different game almost every night.

Now you might think you'd get bored of the simpler games like Battleship and Connect 4, but they've done a great job of adding different twists to each game that you just simply can't do with the normal board edition.

For instance in Connect 4 you can play "power chips" which randomly gives you a chip that will be a bomb and blow up other chips, or knock out a whole column, or freeze a column, etc. In battleship they added modes to shoot multiple times, add decoys, etc. In Yahtzee they add wild cards; Boggle they add modes that switch letters after you make a match, etc.

Every game has multiple modes and you can customize them all. The AI isn't even half bad if you're playing solo. All the games are very well done and I'm very impressed by this as an entire package. You can even earn trophies and awards to customize the way the room looks when you're playing.

Achievement lovers will also not be disappointed as this set offers 1400 points, and non are really that difficult especially if you like the game.

I highly recommend this set to anyone who is a fan of even just one or two of these games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by GoochKing (EDWARDSVILLE, PA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

took me 5 days of off and on to 1400/1400 all the achievement point all of the games are fun and i personally think battleship was the most fun IMO. not really a game to buy unless its 15-20 bucks new just rent it play it and ship it back.

nick r

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent, but not as fun as the actual board games

posted by tsoharley (ADELANTO, CA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

STORY - Obviously, with this being a collection of classic board games, there was never the intention to tell a story so in the end a score here is pretty much useless. However, the features and nostalgia factor warrant a rating. There are seven games on disc (Scrabble, Sorry!, Sorry! Sliders, Yahtzee, Boggle, Battleship, and Connect 4), with three others (Pictureka, Jenga, and Connect 4x4) available as DLC. Each game includes fun and interesting variations of the standard rules, by use of power ups and whatnot, that would only be possible through a video game. Though each game is enjoyable at first, nothing can compare to sitting around the kitchen table into the late hours with friends and family. Here you're kind of on your own unless you can actually find someone online who won't quit as soon as you take the lead.

SOUND - Though the sound of dice and game pieces hitting the board are genuine enough, I don't imagine audio was ever a focus here. It simply serves its purpose. Mr. Potato Head doesn't have a lot to say other than the celebratory "WOOHOO!" or "YEAH!" and the music is very 80s.

VISUALS - Again, everything looks convincing enough when compared to the originals. This game isn't going to push your console to the limit, but naturally that isn't its intent. Each game offers unlockables for decorating your game room but after a few minutes of this you'll have seen all there is to see and move on.

CONTROLS - Other than a few hiccups when playing Sorry!, the controls work exactly as they should and are easy enough to figure out for anyone.

STORY - 7
SOUND - 7
VISUALS - 7
CONTROLS - 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Game night on the XBOX

posted by TammyJoe (MANASSAS, VA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So, my wife and I have been playing this game for about a week now - I must say that this is strangely enjoyable - at first it just seems like electronic versions of games that we have as board games already - but there are advanced versions of these games to play - and that makes the game even more enjoyable - plus the "awards" for certain achievements in the game are fun to try to earn and decorate your game room with - we actually find ourselves going back to the game and getting one more in before we call it a night - overall, this game does have a few hours of enjoyment and would be a good used purchase but I would not pay full price for a new version - good, not great, but definitely a rent-able game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Giants123 (MIAMI, FL) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was fun for weeks my family and I were happy,also everyday was a great oppurtunity to get together and play classic games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

family game

posted by rells55 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok this game is pretty decent its not the best game for the xbox 360 but it is a game for the holidays or events were you are getting together with family and fum everyone can play this i mean everyone is on of the best family oriented games on the xbox .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fun Rainy Day Game

posted by KeiceXD (CAPE CORAL, FL) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Personally, let me start off by saying that this game isn't my normal type of game. That being said, this was a welcome relief.

On this game is a variety of Hasbro board games that can always be a ton of fun, even if you decide to play against the built-in AI.

There are a few alternate game modes and odd awards for winning, yet you can also sit down for a nice game of classic Scrabble if that's your thing.

There aren't that many bugs to note. Occasionally a die in Yahtzee might get into the corner and slide a bit, but nothing serious.

All-in-all, a great game that can save you a bunch of money over going out and buying all of the games included on this single little disk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hfgn

posted by poo420 (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

who doesnt love a good game of battleship

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The suckest game ever

posted by dbb (PRESTON, GA) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is so boring it is broke in the middle when i got it. It truly the suckest game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not much fun

posted by OneSxyOne (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

Gets old pretty quick. Maybe better board games would increase the fun factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Mix of all Fun Games

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This one was fun to take a break from other games and play with my wife, Sorry Sliders was our favorite but all of them were fun takes on some originals with a twist. I definately would try this FGN before any of the later ones much better titles and if you like any enough you can download them on XBL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game sucks

posted by extreme_juggalo (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

risk is hasbro but is it in one of these 3 games? no! Why? cause they were smart enough to let it stand on its own. The games in this "family game night" r pretty good but theyre not worth charging $10 for jenga, when you already got the dang game. Plus I got this game as a rental why would I buy add-ons for a rental?

go buy risk: factions its super badass, an easy 200 acheivement points & u can play it forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game Night

posted by Porte (MABANK, TX) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

My kids really enjoyed the family game house. Gotta say a lot less mess than playing the actual board games and kept my kids busy and playing pretty good together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hasbro family game night

posted by elilaw (BILLINGS, MT) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

we played a preview of this game on xbox360 and picturika was so much fun, so we wanted to play the whole game. very disappointing the game was locked on the rental:((( In order to unlock it is expensive. in the sorry game, you are unable to scroll to see the whole board, this makes it very difficult to move your token around the board effectively. this was not a fun game and I do not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Points

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Nov 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Aside from the very annoying Mr. Potatohead this game will net you very easy gamerscore in a short time. There are some classic games here, but did you really buy your Xbox 360 to play board games? Seriously......

Good for a rental, but would get boring quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Annoying!

posted by ChadlyX22 (DAYTON, OH) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

First off, if you're interested in this game, then you obviously like board games. Well here's the thing, just get the real board game. All these games are really great on their own but just horribly annoying in video game form. Annoying presentation, annoying rules always popping up right before you press a button, and just overall annoying! Take Battleship for example. Battleship is a GREAT game when you're playing it at home, but in this video game it’s a nauseous mix of button pressing and a game board constantly spinning around. Yahtzee is Yahtzee, but there is just something about jiggling a stick around to shake a cup that’s just not as fun as say....shaking a real cup. Sorry Sliders is a new edition but at its core is just a game of shuffle board with sorry pieces. Probably a lot of fun on your table with friends but in video game form just falls flat. So I'm leaving this review saying that Hasbro Family Game Night is a great concept, but in all honesty turn off the TV and just play the real games with your family. You're gonna have a lot more and Mr. Potato Head won't be standing there for no reason getting on your nerves. Overall 3 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great casual fun

posted by ipwn007 (BOISE, ID) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game provides hours of casual entertainment for everyone young and old. I got it to play with my girlfriend and we both enjoy it very much. The presentation of the games is really well done, and a small variety of game modes and options for each game helps keep things fresh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a great game!

posted by fnf101 (HINTON, WV) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

The setup is clean, the controls work just fine. Nothing to complain about. Each game has two new features which changes the original gameplay. Connect 4 and Battleships new features were awesome. Using a torpedo is a very original idea for Battleship!

I will be buying this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good family game

posted by MContreras (WALLA WALLA, WA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This is a wonderful game to play with the family. My husband and I love it. The games are classic and have very fun variations of all of them. There's also a party feature. You pick which games you want to play, then you have to do a challenge with all of them. Whoever gets the highest score after 10 rounds wins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »