Rent Hasbro Family Game Night for Wii
view large frontback

Hasbro Family Game Night

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, DS, PS2
GF Rating
4.9

2411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hasbro Family Game Night

posted by senecaange (LORIS, SC) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My family and I enjoyed battleship the best. Althought we did have a problem trying to figure out how to switch rooms to see different peoples trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok game....

posted by TamBoog (HUNTINGTON, WV) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok game play...cool graphics...Very hard for younger children...Game name should be changed to ADULT FAMILY MEMBER GAME NIGHT...NOT recomended for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful

posted by KarinasMom (ASHTABULA, OH) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a HUGE disappointment. Hardly 5 minutes into the game and I was ready to throw it in the envelope and send it back, unfortunately it is Saturday night! The games are very lacking, boring, not a good variety...I guess we are just spoiled to the other games like bowling and tennis and miniature golf ect ect. I would not recommend wasting your time/money on this. There are WAY better games to rent then wasting the time on this one. I loved the idea of board games to play with the family but this just doesn't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not great

posted by hdmorace (LIBERTY, TX) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that with a title like family game night something more could have came out of this. It only has 5 games. And the 5 they chose weren't exactly the greatest. Plus some of the directions were difficult. I was very excited about trying this game because I'm a huge fan of board games I'm just not fond of picking up the mess or setting up. I wasn't impressed at ALL with this game and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by allisen (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited about it because the girls love those games but it was rather slow going, and not very easy to use. My kids were ready to send it back about 10 minutes after we got it.

They are 7 and 9 years old so I believe they are the appropriate age for these games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Family Game Night? Maybe if your a family of 2.

posted by Moosebyte (GROVE CITY, OH) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With 2 of the 5 games being 2 player games the options for an actual family game become limited from the start. Sorry, Boggle, and Yahtzee. Two of my kids under 6 could not play boggle and even the six and ten year old do not have a large enough vocabulary to find more than several words. So for a family game I was left with Yahtzee and Sorry. Neither of which held even my attention as the actual board and dice make these games somewhat entertaining. They should have simply named the game, Sorry, because that is what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hasbro family game night

posted by archie (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is an ok game my family likes it very much even my 4 year old likes to play "sliders sorry" this game is not to be played by yourself it will get boring fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the flat version

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I heard rummors about this game, and those rummors were very good. Those rummors are 100% true. This game has the board game versions of battleship, sorry, yahtzee, and one or two others. Some high points about this game is its so detailed that it just really has nothing negitive about it. It has really good graphics for a wii game. It is really fun if you have some people over. Some things that arent so good are it has no online which really couldve been embraced very nicely in this game. It prouble could have a few more board games on it. And by the way if you have an Xbox 360, i suggest you wait because starting Spring 2009 EA is going to put these board games on Xbox Live Arcade. And theyre going to be one game per download or something like that and it should have a few more board games. But as for this, it is really fun and can keep you entertained for many parties to come. You really need to try this game out and its a good buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bored

posted by poole6687 (ELMENDORF AFB, AK) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kids were bored with this after one hour. I though it would be fun playing game that i played as a kid. Boy was i wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOMBS AWAY !!

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a major bomb so don't let it land in your Wii, the games are terrible and the GUI is just bad, the board games are worth the trip to the store/price/time to setup instead of trying to play this awful compilation of games, DO NOT RENT THIS !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not as expected

posted by regalvex21 (MERCED, CA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the games lettering and numbers are a little hard to see.
other than that exactly like real board games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

more like hasbro break up the family night

posted by gamerate (LEBANON, PA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

you only get two players six games nothing fun uh i wanted to throw it out the window now i didnt get it but played it at my freinds house but if you want this you maw as well play in a sand box filled with sugar and syrup that is way more fun than this i dont even know why anybody gave this a ten i'd rather go jogging for miles and miles and miles and miles si dont get it use it as tolet paper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrid

posted by Nanook819 (MANTON, MI) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't Bother!! Very Confusing. Not anything like what I thought it may have been like. Wouldn't waste my time or money on this game again...Could've been developed alot more indepth however, the character do not transfer over, and have to be made up each game. No real directions on how to play each game. You are "thrown" in to play. Not a good set up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by SCwiiMom (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Our family loves playing board games together and playing the Wii together, so we thought this game would be a perfect fit. WRONG! It only has 5 games to chose from, one of them being Boggle, which if you have younger kids in the family they can't play. The rules for Sorry! were like none I have ever played before. All in all it was VERY BORING! My 6 years old said "Can we just have family movie night instead, this game stinks!" I think that says it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A let down

posted by pinkorchid (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was really excited to get this game. we love to play bored games but hate cleaning up so this game i thought would be perfect. we got it and played for like 10 mins and was bored. sent it back the next day. so glad i rented it before i purchased it. the only games that were any good was sorry sliders and battle ship. we had problems trying to figure out how to switch rooms and the directions on some of the games was confussing. this game is a big let down. i am not going to be trying the 2nd one they are coming out with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Old school fun

posted by HeyD88 (MONTROSE, CA) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics! The look alone made me want to buy this. This game is very cute; has a little personality to it.

I played Yahtzee, Boggle and Connect four. Really enjoyed these games from my childhood. Played alone - nothing exciting but it was a nice novelty. Even when I lost, seeing Mr. Potato Head sad for me was enjoyable.

I wanted to keep this game but I think the price tag is too steep as I would only play this occassionally.

I would definitely rent this if you like any of the games listed - it's a new spin - made me wish I had this as a kid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hasbro game night

posted by kmsa1234 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is better left as boardgames. my 10 year old son agreed this game was not good also

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

adds a little twist to family game night.

posted by dolphinjen (HEBER SPRINGS, AR) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't feel like getting out the card table, Just turn on the Wii and slide this game in. Sometimes we want to sit on the couch and relax but still have our game night. This works out well. It has several of the same games we already play without the added time of setting up the table or losing the pieces. This makes it quick to get started and is loads of fun to play throughout the night as teams on any evening get together. I do wish it had a few more games on it though for the price. I also wish there was a way to change your score selection when you point and click at the wrong thing. The worst thing about it, is when you play Yatzee, remembering not to press the B button when you really want to accept the dice or select a score. That is really frustrating, especially whe you have the hard to score Yatzee and it rolls the dice again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is OK

posted by khuddle (CONCORD, NC) Nov 18, 2008

Member since May 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I would say this game is just OK. I was very excited about this, but really the games do not rate as high as others. I would have loved to see more choices in games instead of just the 5 they included. It does not amount to an exciting family game night, but if you are bored it might do the trick. It has great potential.. just wish there were more game choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pass on this one

posted by TheRobber2 (OSCEOLA, IN) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

As a father of two boys, I'm always looking for some family fun.....my suggestion to this game is to PASS! We played for all of 5 minutes and were ready to ship the game back. It is a nice concept but needs a whole lot more then this game provides.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good family game

posted by arsachs (MEMPHIS, TN) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you have family (ie little kids or parents) that dont really know how to play with the wii remotes this is some classic games that they will enjoy and the best thing is theres no messy clean up. from he great classic games like sorry and battleship, to the great things they can win to decorate there own personal room, gets a lil hecktic when you have more than one person at at time but a great game wish they would make more cause i would definitly buy them and rent them to keep the messy board games off my floor and in a easy to play form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

get boring fast

posted by bobbull (HOBART, IN) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

it fun but its get boring fast there only 6 games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game was terrible

posted by tomeeka (BAINBRIDGE, IN) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

On WII you had to use one controller for everyone playing. which sucked. Half the time the game did what it wanted to, instead of the player. I would not rent nor buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by saranjesse (ELLENSBURG, WA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great relaxing game to kick back and play with the family you can get up on your feet OR sit its nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not kid friendly

posted by Klgary (CLINTON, MO) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I decided to try this game before I bought it and I am glad that I did. There are not many choices for games and it was confusing for my children. Overall this was a poor game. The game has a great start but needs lots of work for children. I would not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse