Rent Hasbro Family Game Night 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hasbro Family Game Night 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
5.4

1410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great family game!

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this is not going to appeal to hardcore gamers (nor was it meant to be), it should appeal to families with children. This is an absolutely great game to play with young children (along with the predecesor Family Game Night and add-ons). An average short game should take about 15 minutes where as a regular game should take roughly 25 - 40 minutes of game play. This game litterally has a game for everybody's interest. And judging from the previous game, there should be more add on games coming for FGN3. The music is catchy and somehow never becomes annoying. The graphics are what you should expect for a family game catering to children and adults alike. The gameplay is endless and fun.

I would definately recommend renting this game if you have children that love to play board games, especially the games named on the box. This is a solid rental for a family game night event. And in my opinion, a solid buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Family Fun

posted by EnuT531 (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a good game for families with younger kids and people who love board games. Not so great for gamers who just want to get achievements. The computer is unbalanced and always seems to roll what they need. The true fun of this game comes from sitting down with your kid and just having some bonding time over a good game. Controls are tight and repsonsive and the games are very close to the originals while also adding their own twists. With a quick game option you can finish any game in about 10-15 minutes or a full game which can take anywhere from 20-40 minutes. In short if you are looking for a good time to be had similar to sitting around the table with family and playing an old fashioned board game then this is where it's at. If not then you should probably look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not great

posted by TammyJoe (MANASSAS, VA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing the first installment in the Hasbro Family Game night series, but this one had some of the worst games for a console player - The games as board games are fun, but the games as XBOX 360 games not so much - kind of hard to want to play Clue, when you have to have other players look away so that you can look at your pad - I spend much of the game in real life looking at my sheet trying to figure things out while other players roll - Mouse trap was not fun - the Yahtzee game was completely lame - about the only fun to be had was in the game of life, but one full game takes over an hour to play - in the First Game Night, you could win achievements and decorate your game room - this one you win an achievement and whoop-dee-doo-da-day - um, not that much fun in my humble opinion - take it for what it is though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Geek and Cheerleader Finally Can Have Fun Together

posted by uberonn (MADISON, AL) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Needless to say, I was and still am a geek. Yet, I seized the opportunity to marry a girl who would have been described, in high school, as the cheerleader. For years, we could find nothing in common, until now. Thank you Hasbro Family Game Night 3, for transforming my wife into a gamer.

Seriously, this game is fun, and it is a great way to break the gaming ice to your loved ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gets Boring Fast

posted by jerome2479 (ADDISON, ME) May 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all this game overall to myself not very entertaining, multiplayer available but 0 people on servers, plainly very inconsistant gameplay with dice games. 2 0f 10. To acquire achievements you MUST win matches and attain certain amount of CONTINUED playing to open all Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head parts and items. Will recomment Family Game Night 4 for you achievement hounds, easily attain 800 points in just a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!

posted by imstillme2 (WEBBERVILLE, MI) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

S-U-C-K-S don't waste your time not even slightly entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucked

posted by skull (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

hasbro family game night 3 was bad wen i was done playin the game i mailed it the next day its not a good game but other people might like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lacks Polish

posted by SirSnacks (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ok, so going in I knew this wasn't exactly the next game of the year, and going in I wasn't expecting much. But playing this game I would say it lacks ALOT of polish you would come to expect from any video game, let alone from EA! The menu systems make no sense, and adding players took a good 5 minutes. Now, I have been playing video games since atari, so I consider myself to be atleast handy with setting up these sort of things. The strange thing is this game is probably meant for the casual video gamer who probably doesn't play much other games, maybe for a family with kids. It is because of this I would expect it to be so easy to pick up, but I have to be honest. Its one of the worst and poorly made video games I have ever played. Ex - When your playing "Life" you get a card that says " Share the Wealth". A fancy animation happens, but then its the next persons turn. What does that card mean? Who cares. Next! Speaking of the animations, they actually slow down game play so much that playing a turn is longer then actually playing in the real board game. Maybe thats cool the first few times, but after a full cycle of seeing them all, I found it very frustrating. While trying to play Yahtzee, the game offered no help as to what ANY of the buttons do, and only showed the game rules, but not the game controls. I would say this game is worth $5 tops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, for a family game...

posted by nobald (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I rented this game just to play it with my girlfriend and her little brothers, and as family-friendly party-style game, it fits the bill - for a bit.

LIFE: 5/5
If you like the Game of LIFE, you will have a blast playing it on the Xbox with the addition of new twists and mini-games.

Yahtzee Hands Down!: 4/5
Yahtzee Hands Down is an interesting twist - it's an odd combination of Yahtzee and Poker. It is a little confusing at first, but once you get the hang of things is very fun for 4-player action!

Clue: 1/5
Absolutely nothing like the board game. No guidance initially led to a couple of wasted practice rounds trying to figure out how to play the game on the console.

Twister: 1/5
Lousy DDR/Guitar Hero style rip-off.

Mouse Trap: 3/5
True to the board game, fun for the younger ones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

looks like fun game

posted by bigM (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

my 4 year old says game is boring, I must agree,starts off to slow and computer always win...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by philly1203 (AVON, IN) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this is the worst rent ever, wish i didn't wait for this to come in the mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Family game night 3

posted by lostwomen123 (MARYSVILLE, WA) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

It wasn't a very good game at all I just bored of it after a couple of minutes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ups and Downs

posted by JPGoldthwaite (TOLEDO, OH) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The game really does favor the computer. In life i was winning by a long shot and 3 moves before retirement I got a job downgrade. Lost a lawsuit for 1 million to both computers one after the other then they both landed on a tile that gave them each 500K. I got addicted to hands down Yahtzee but it favors the computer some too but not as badly as Life. The computers in clue can either be confusing and run in circles or solve to fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

uhmmmm

posted by audra09 (AKRON, OH) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

why cant you just buy the board games to them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Family Fun

posted by LadyMamaKat (EFFINGHAM, IL) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Wonderful game for the family to play. Once the buttons are mastered, the fun begins. Great games, awesome park theme feel, and easy & challenging achievements to be had for the gamer. We all loved the surprises that we would receive from playing the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mouse trap

posted by cgooge (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

that mouse trap game was so fun i would just die for it and that was the best game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Live and play "Life" but then move on

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Life was fun to play but other than that not enough enjoyable game options to ever buy, glad to rent though. Clue was alright too I guess. But only really got it for life and that was fun enough for a rental but too few game options to make it every worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best game ever

posted by brushfloss (SAINT GEORGE, SC) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i like this game because i love clue,mousetrap, and excspacilly the game of life but i hate the yahtzee and twister rent this game its awesome most of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun with friends and family!!!!

posted by jpsolo (CARSON, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

My wife loved this game. The funnest game has to be Life on there and every other game is ok. Fun with alot of people and puts an interesting twist on classic board games. Not a game you can play for a long time however. I wouldn't buy the game but renting it for a little while would be fun for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cant Play

posted by Monkeyshine (GRESHAM, OR) Jun 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

I got this game and I could not play it. Something was wrong with the disk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All the classics yet not

posted by GunslingerFox (KINGWOOD, TX) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

Different rules and pointless mini games taint some classic board games. Even though it claims to have original mode, this still includes many needless changes. It is sad because the graphics and avatar support is pretty nice looking. The elevator music that plays during most games is a drag with the exception of Twister which has a couple nice tunes which you do a guitar hero rip off to.

I understand the desire to adapt and make these titles more video gamey, but they should have added the option to play these with the original ruleset they were ment to be played with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Family Game Night 3... Stick to the real thing.

posted by njc145 (BOALSBURG, PA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Every one of the games is incredibly boring. Hard to play, not enough instructions for children, takes too long, and just not fun. Just play the real games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Family Game Night 3

posted by lawnorder (CAMDENTON, MO) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

out of the package, it seems like a well thought out game. Life, Yatzee, Mouse Trap, Clue, and Twister seems like a good bunch of Hasbro games. Ran into an issue first go round. Life followed the regular game pretty well with a few minor flaws in the way cards are handled. Twister, on the other hand, is just another type of guitar game everyone knows so well, just put in a dancing form with the XYAB buttons. Mouse Trap was confusing at first but soon became partially enjoyable. problem with that was that it was all a game of luck, no skill involved. Clue was the best by far. they improved on the original clue game to make it go just a tad bit faster but added more to the fun factor. Yatzee was actually Yatzee with cards. VERY CONFUSING!!! the instructions were very unhelpful and hard to understand. when it came to playing, you HAD to have at lest 30 min dedicated to 1 round. Yatzee disappointed because i love yatzee with dice.

Summary- Life good. Mousetrap ok, all luck. Twister another timed button game. Clue welcome if improvement over the original, exspecially for younger ages. Yatzee, actually yatzee with cards was hard to understand and took WAY too long to do anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as good as the first

posted by ibbs08 (WESTFIELD, MA) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I dont really like the board games that is on this edition. I like the first one way way way better. My wife kinda like this one but we wont keep it very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »