Rent Hasbro Family Game Night 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Hasbro Family Game Night 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS, PS2
GF Rating
4.0

1148 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so much fun!

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love classic board games, but making them computerized is not always a good thing. Although some aspects were fun, some of the parts were very difficult, especially for small children. It is a game that maybe fun the first few times you play it but soon you will get bored and wish you had not spent your money. I am so glad that I rented it from Gamefly before buying. Thank you Gamefly for saving me money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Review of Family Game Night 2

posted by newhope (DALLAS, TX) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We were really excited to play this game. Wii remotes in hand, we picked the Game Show choice. The instructions were not always clear. Many of the games we never did really learn to play with accuracy. Some members of our family are younger, and this game is much too difficult for them to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Board Games that don't do well on WII

posted by califnativ (SAN JOSE, CA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unlike the first Hasbro board game disc, the games in this disc were not easily translated to a game system. Jenga and Operation were awkward to play and very inaccurate with the wii remote. Same with Bop-It. Hasbro Board Games 1 had Connect 4 which is also included in Hasbro Board Games 2, with a few twists, which is the only worthwhile game, but why pay for another game disc when you get it in the first? I like the first Hasbro, but would not pay for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not for little kids

posted by klaw4u (DONA ANA, NM) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We have a 3, 7 and 13 year old and between mom, the 13 year old, and me it was fun but. for the little ones it was too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not So Much Fun

posted by Vidahlia (Susanville, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ordered this thinking it would be fun but the games were boring! My kids (12 & 17) tried all of the games and after just a few minutes with each game ended up skipping all of them. I thought the gameshow would be fun until we found out it was just mini-versions of the other games.

Very happy I didn't spend my money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Family Game night 2

posted by minterfam (ALBANY, GA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited at the thought of sharing with my kids some of the games I grew up with, but it was too complicated for them. They grew frustrated and just really did not want to play it anymore. Glad I didn't get this for Christmas like I started to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I expected

posted by chynell (HICKSVILLE, NY) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to get the game at first. I have a large family and thought this would be a great choose for us. It is nothing like the versions of the at home games and is kind of boring. Good thing I was able to try the game out first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stick with Real Board Games

posted by foundsheep (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Basically this game is boring. The real board games are more fun.

Bad - Not that many games. Drawn out animations that make you wait to play. Not easy game play for smaller kids or my wife.

Good - I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hasbro Family Game Night 2

posted by Nooobgamer (VISALIA, CA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. My five year old put the game down in less then ten minutes cause it was to boring for her. This game has graphics, which aren't everything, of PS one days of old. (That's right Playstation ONE.) There are so many other family oriented games on the wii I suggest you spend your money or even a queue spot on. The functionality of the game is not even worth talking about cause if the publishers did NOT spend time on them, then I shouldn't spend time talking about them. The game plays like a 95 year old women dances, slow and uncordinated. She tries to get her body to do one thing but the poor old thing just can't get it to cooperate simlar to the experience in this game. EA shame on you to ship out such a ..... game. (Fill in the blank with whatever adjective describes your worst experience in gaming.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good for what it is.

posted by making (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

the twist that have been add to the games or a bit strange but to have fun as a family its cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!

posted by whatexitvideo (RANDOLPH, NJ) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Don't waste your time. This game is more like Family Game nightmare too!

The controls are aweful and game play is not even playable. Very disappointed in this game and my expectations where even low to begin with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hasbro Family

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

This would not play, so my review rate is only one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yet another failure

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This game would have been more fun if the remote responded properly and if they hadn't modified the games. Operation was fun as a board game but this version is bad. No game night 3 please. I seriously think the same people that do Mario Party should redo both these games because Mario Party doesn't get dull as fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game

posted by Peachysakura24 (TAYLOR, PA) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

My son and I had a lot of fun with this game. It is easy enough for him to do well(he is 11), while still challenging for me(I'm 31). Operation starts off easily enough, and then gets progressively harder, but is still a lot of fun. They updated the ailments to include "texting thumb" and "gamer's wrist". There is also the remix version of the game, but neither of us played it.
Jenga is the most stressful game in the bunch, and it is difficult to get more than 5 minutes in before the whole thing collapses. The remix version includes colored blocks and cards, and you must remove a piece of the same color as the card, or if you get a "rainbow" card, you must remove 1 of each of the 3 colors. There are also bomb cards that require you to remove a set amount of bomb pieces before they explode.
Connect 4 is fantastic. My son and I had a great time playing it. You can drop the coins on either side of the 2-sided board, as one side was solid and the other was a ring. They also had blocker pieces, which we never used so I don't know what they do. The remix version adds different elements to the board, but we didn't figure them all out yet.
Bop-It took awhile to get the hang of, but once we did, it was a blast. In the normal game, you will either be given a verbal command or a color, and you will have to figure out what to do. For example, you might hear "Bop It" or "White", and both are triggered by hitting the A button, "Twist It" or "Yellow" means to hold down B and twist the Wii-Mote to the left, and so on. The remix version adds a couple extra commands, and colors, and will also add the challenge of changing the button colors as you go.
Pictureka was a lot of fun, and my son and I often ended up in a tie. I don't think we played the remix version.
There are also 2 game show-type games, one for multi-players that involves spinning a wheel to choose a mini-game, and another for single players.
All in all, it was a fun game for a family night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFUL

posted by AlishaNJoe (MONTEZUMA, NY) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

THIS GAME DOES NOT PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing worth playing

posted by cmd673 (FIRESTONE, CO) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

What idiot thought of turning Jenga into a video game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Bryangamer (ELK GROVE, CA) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This game is a good improvement over the original. For example, there are 5 new games, it's the first one in the series that lets you use your Miis, and the party mode has been transformed into a game show. Although it may take a brief moment to figure out to play each game, when you do, it becomes really fun. Also, there is a remix of each game. For example, in Jamga Remix the blocks turn into colors, and you have to draw a card telling what color(s) to pull out. Sometimes a card will even start a minigame, like Bomb, which makes you tap each flashing block, otherwise, KABOOM!!! (translation: game over for you!) Also you can custimize Mr. Potatoe Head to make him look like almost anything, from a cowboy to a pirate. And don't forget the achivements!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok

posted by Junebug620 (DES MOINES, IA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This was an ok game. Not the greatest though. The minigames were kind of fun but some were too repetitive and not all that fun. There are only like 5 or 6 games and Operation was the worst, just the same thing over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible! DO NOT spend money on this game!

posted by Lindsay (SMITH RIVER, CA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Very dissapointed! i spent $50 at the local store could not believe it! mr potato does not even talk ): the instructions are difficult to understand. Graphics are pretty good, but overall absolutly boooring! i have had it for just oer a year and honestly have played it once! Has been sitting in the case this whole time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE MEMORIES

posted by beilers (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The game selection and graphics were awesome. The rewards for winning are very entertaining, the memories of family game night have never been easier to relive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid and Boring

posted by gamer2684 (BOSTON, MA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game is Stupid not even worth the time it take to send the game and return it. i would not get this game at all. The games are lame and not even true to the original. they same this game is for every one and its not. my son had a hard to figureing out the rules and he is 10. so please what ever you do dont get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Really Good

posted by msgamey (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game needs more games, only thing i really like was custommizing my potatoe head.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game SUCKS!!!

posted by vince69 (CORDOVA, TN) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Oh my GOD!! this game is a waste of plastic! Hasbro should be ashamed of themselves for making this game. I just hate to realize that I asked Gamefly to waste postage to send this game to me. Please, dont waste your time or money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Better than the first

posted by Jedihoplo (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

THis one actualy works. Too bad the game selection is garbage. Who wants to play Bop-it on the Wii?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

family game night 2

posted by ninja11347 (MANTECA, CA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the best game on here is pictureka all the others games the controls suck i reccomend just buying the games you want rather than buying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse