Rent Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law for Wii
view large frontback

Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.5

730 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Rent

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Jan 23, 2008

Member since May 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Emphasis on the word rent. Once you are done playing this game you are done. Very little replay value.
If you are a fan of the show then you will love this game. Thats first off. If you are a fan of subtle and sometimes not so subtle humor then you will also love this game.
Harvey Birdman is a choose your path type game. No real action or thinking involved. You are really just watching 5 episodes of the TV show, but they aren't released episodes. It's weird. Very funny stuff. Unfortunately there is little else to do once you beat the game.
Rent it, get all the way through it, then send it back. Too bad they only had I think 5 episodes to play through. If you had 10 or 20 to go through I could say this would be a good game to buy. But only if you were a fan of the show.
If you have never heard of the show, try this game out knowing you are basically going to watch the show. If you like the game you probably will like the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good if you like Birdman

posted by yohanwest (LOS GATOS, CA) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It was basically like watching a 2-3 hour episode with a choose your own adventure. Some good jokes and always funny characters.

Wouldn't buy it, it only took a short time to complete. Also fun for observers. Wife loves Harvey and enjoyed watching me play.

Deedle-deedle-dee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, Lots of laughs

posted by Scrath (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was a lot of fun. The only frustrating part was that sometimes if you present evidence on the wrong statement (even though some statements are very similar) then you still lose a point or whatever it is. You'll see what I mean.

I thought the episodes were hilarious, and I really didn't feel like they ran on too long. The sad thing is, once I really started to fully understand what I was supposed to be doing I was on the 2nd to last episode. The game only lasts about 5 hours or so, which makes this game a definite rental, but that's why we have gamefly. I'll be looking forward to the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funny as the place bad people go when they die...

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

... at least, that's what I have to say because Gamefly's filter won't let me type the four letter name of the Christian afterlife that's filled with fire.

I finished it in an afternoon. The gameplay is basically identical to Phoenix Wright. What makes it worth playing is that it's basically five interactive episodes of Harvey Birdman, and they're funny and well-written.

Worth renting, but I'd advise against buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hilarious

posted by JekMas (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you are a fan of the series, you will love this game. The term "interactive episode" comes to mind. The downside to the fun is that it's just too short. I beat it in two sittings but I'm still glad I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For fans of the show, a worthwhile rental

posted by Technogeek (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

If you're looking at this review, odds are you're quite familiar with the collection of dysfunctional characters and cameos from 60s Hanna-Barbera cartoon characters that makes Harvey Birdman: Attorney At Law one of the better shows to have aired on Adult Swim. You've seen all the episodes, bought the DVDs (or downloaded them from the darker corners of the Internet), and just want to know if this title escapes the trap so many licensed games find themselves falling into. As it turns out, the answer is a qualified yes.

The gameplay mechanics are familiar to anyone who has played Capcom's other series of games starring a certain ace attorney -- use the Wii Remote to examine different areas, select what evidence to show the court, or prove that whatever unlucky witness you've dragged onto the stand is the real criminal. The learning curve is low at the start, and never rises any significant amount. If you're looking for a challenge, you won't find it here.

What you will find, though, is a witty title written by the same people who thought turning Fred Flintstone into Tony Soprano would be a good idea. (In other words, the show's writers.) Nearly the entire original voice cast returns for the game -- Stephen Colbert was unable to reprise the roles of Reducto and Phil Ken Sebben, sadly, though the replacement voice actors do a good enough job. Whether trying to prove that Peter Potamus didn't actually burn down your half of a duplex, finding the source of the mysterious electrical glitches in the prison you were sent to, or just trying to stop a copy of yourself from proving Peanut innocent of copyright infringement, this game can match some of the best episodes of the actual show.

The experience doesn't last long, sadly, and the lack of replayability makes Harvey Birdman for the Wii a poor choice for a purchase. As a GameFly rental, though, it makes an excellent addition to the GameQ for anyone who wants to see X the Eliminator go after Birdman's crest one last time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just go rent the show

posted by MonoP3z (AUBERRY, CA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This was a total waste of time. If you are a die hard Birdman fan then i say just go rent the series on dvd. This game offered no challenge and played out like an episode with a couple of interactive parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game to rent and beat in one weekend

posted by GJGonzalez (HOMESTEAD, FL) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This will be a quick review. If you love the show, you’ll love the game. It’s basically 5 - thirty minute episodes. It’s straight forward as it can get, there’s a case, solve it in the usual crude humor that makes this such a great show. There are no real bells and whistles to this game, it looks great and the gameplay is extremely easy. Can get a little frustrating when you can’t figure out what to do next, and has no real re-play value as once you solve the crime, there’s nothing else to do. I’m married with a 2 year old and knocked the game out in one Saturday afternoon mother-daughter nap. Great game to rent and send back, the reason Gamefly exists and is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law!

posted by link433 (NEW STANTON, PA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

If your a fan of the Phoenix Write games, and love the cartoon Harvey Birdman on [adultswim], your going to love this game!!

You take the role of Harvey Birdman, a washed up superhero from the 70's, who's turned to practicing law. And I do mean PRACTICING... Take on cases with fellow Hanna Barbara universe characters, and prove their innocence (or guilt) in the 5 cases in this game.

Although short, and not much replay value, this is the perfect game for GameFly! Rent it for a few days, play it, get some kicks, return it. Then go out and buy the DVD box sets of the series.

Final review:

Graphics : 6/10 (based on the flash cartoon)
Sound : 6/10 (all sounds and music are from the cartoon)
Replay : 2/10 (only so many times you can play the same case before it get's boring)

final score - 4/10
A cult classic, I would suggest only getting this game if you enjoy the obserdity of the cartoon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Love the cartoon...HATED the game

posted by DJSomebody (SAN MATEO, CA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since May 2003

Wow, its like a choose your own adventure novel but with only one choice that will continue the storyline. If you make the right choice the story continues, if you make the wrong choice the game sends you back to the choice. I LOVE Harvey Birdman the TV show and I thought this game would be a match made in heaven, trust me , it wasn't.

My advice, save your money and get some Birdman DVDs, they'll be more fun to watch than this game is to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game if you love the series

posted by thevics (DOWNEY, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

after watching all episodes on cartoon network and having all 3 DVD box sets you would know that i love the comedy of Harvey Birdman so being able to play this game in a court style genre just fits long story short if you love the series then you would love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short, not much gameplay, but great.

posted by PaperLulz (RADCLIFF, KY) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

Yes, it's true that this game is short, and it's hardly a game at all. Some people would consider it interactive episodes, but even so, the stories stay true to the show. I'm a huge fan of the show, and after watching all of the episodes, I was happy to see this game come along.

I found the comedy just as good as any normal episode, and while there isn't much game play, it is fun to take the shoes of Harvey and get to pick what you want him to say. Think of it as a Phoenix Wright with way more cut scenes, and less actual play time.

The game is rather short, and the "secrets" in the game are dull, but if you love the show, Harvey, or just like watching things over and over, you'll have a reason to buy it.

Bottom line, anyone who wants a longer game with more attorney action, buy a DS. I loved this game, and it was certainly worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what do you expect from a solar powered superhero?

posted by Souprbeast (TROY, NY) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Well, hopefully better than this. this game is amusing if you're a fan of the tv show, the cut scenes can be hilarious, but overall this game is a big let down. Almost all the characters and most of the voice actors are present in this game, unfortunately Stephen Colbert did not voice Phil Ken Sebben, and the voice actor they got only does mediocre, even at the Ha HA! The game play is similar to old games like leisure suit larry or where in the world is carmen sandiago, and contains mostly item collection. one especially annoying feature is the testimony and presentation of items in court system. even if you know which piece will convict or release your client, you have to press the issue until they talk about it, which is when you can present the evidence. it's very irritating when you know the answer but the question hasn't been asked. the structure of moving from place to place to gather evidence is very rudimentary, you look at a single frame, you cannot look away, or get closer to it. sometimes there are good puzzles, and sometimes there are amusing clips, but mostly this game just raises your blood pressure. rent only if you're a fan of harvey birdman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Die Hard Fans

posted by Resq177 (GREENCASTLE, IN) Jul 3, 2008

Member since May 2005

A great fun little game for die hard fans of the show. Over a little to quickly, but I laughed through every second of it. Lots of "grown up" humor, play control is very simple: point and click, Not for the little ones. Shocked that it only got a "T" rating to be honest. But, I loved it all the same :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If your a fan of the show...

posted by Jon2452 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Nothing useful in this review I can honestly say except; if you liked Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law on Adult Swim, you'll have a bit of fun, but don't expect a challenge. The Wii version plays out so beautifully you would forget for a time you are playing a game and instead watching an episode of the series(Or in this case, 5). Aside from all that, I have nothing else to say but to at least give it a try if you liked the series. It does offer the same humor as the show, hardly anything in this game differs from that. But the cases are short and easy to figure out as you play along. Easily beaten in about an hour and a half.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Birdman is Bad

posted by Bernasconi (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game lacked it all. I liked the short clips in between doing things but everything else stunk. Even a friend who loves the show did not like the game. Investigating crimes bored me and even the court room "action" was sub-par. If you screw up all you have to do is just click the next thing and see if that one worked. No real game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Funny but dull

posted by mtandg (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

OK some of the jokes and innuendos were funny the first time around but this is a slow game. And so so dull. It does not take a genius to play as the answers are practically given to you and frankly it is just not funny after the first two cases.

Playing for the novelty of the characters was about all it had going for it but they did not use it to the best of their abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by Chas31mi (STURGIS, MI) May 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I like the show a lot, but I hated hated hated this game. Its long and drawn out and takes an hour just to get anywhere. Save your time and rent something else. I will never be a better person than I was right before I played this game. Seriously though, I had it for the day, played a couple times trying to see if I liked, and hipped it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Funny but oh so shallow...

posted by Ax23000 (MOSCOW, ID) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is basically the epitome of a rental game. If you payed fifty dollars for it you would probably find yourself searching for a sharp pointy stick to scoop your own brain out with. On the other hand you can rent it, play it, and be done with it within a few days (one day if you really get into it).

The game plays like a cross between Phoenix Wright and an interactive cartoon. Basically you seek out clues and then use those clues in court to question witnesses. Through this process the truth becomes uncovered and justice is served--insane cartoon justice, but justice all the same.

Anyone expecting the depth of the Phoenix Wright games will walk away with a sad face on. The clues are almost always painfully obvious to figure out, and when they aren't it isn't because the game is very clever but instead because the game is very insane. Non-sequiturs are the bread and butter of the show, but they make for occasionally confusing puzzles.

On the other hand if you are hoping for a game that replicates the feel of watching the Harvey Birdman cartoon then you have come to the right place. The animation and visuals of the game perfectly replicate that of the tv show. The acting is all top notch, even when they didn't get the actual voice actors from the show. All in all Harvey Birdman fans will love this game.

Presentation wise the game is just adequate. Some sound clips are overused and the cursor can occasionally be a bit odd. Also missing are little things. For instance, in the course of questioning a witness you will often want to press the witness on every statement in order to dig up the truth. This is made very tedious due to a complete lack of unique clips depending on what you've pressed.

Bottom line this is a fantastic interactive version of Harvey Birdman, but an mediocre example of a game. And even a devote Birdman fan should think twice before paying full price for a game that lasts a handful of hours. As a rental it is worth a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A pleasant distraction, but not much else

posted by DashDot (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law is essentially a point and click game leading you from one cut scene to the next. You click on as many options as possible, and the story unfolds in front of you via cinematics.

This is all well and good, and the cinematics generally look just like animation from the popular TV show, but for the most part the real wit and non sequitor wackiness doesn't quite make it from Adult Swim to your Wii. This is probably because the rat-a-tat-tat nonstop barrage of jokes the show is so famous for suffers when you have to pause the story constantly to look around and make selections for what you're going to watch next. The stops and starts keep any sense of immediacy from entering the gameplay, so unless you're a big, big fan of the show, or really like the idea of courtroom gameplay, this is probably a rental at best.

Still the game is amiable for the few hours it will take you to plow through it. The "puzzles" are just difficult enough to keep the game from being a total walk, but not enough to really challenge any kind of regular gamer. So just sit back and enjoy a few 2 1/2 star episodes of Harvey Birdman with more pauses than a Pinter play, and send the disc back the next day to get something with a little more meat on its bones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shmeh.

posted by mandoody (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Harvey Birdman is one of my favorite shows, but this game's barely mediocre.

It isn't really immersing and nothing new outside of the show is brought to the table. I like the idea of prosecuting crazy characters and the jokes are ok, but after playing a little while it just made me want to watch the show. The game play style gets old pretty quick, which may be why the whole thing is only two-hours long.

If you love the show this might make a good rental, but no one should own this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game - in line with TV shows

posted by mirafone (BELLEVUE, WA) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Same funny quirks as the tv series. There were some parts that were difficult to figure out which item or person was needed to move along, but online walk-through guides helped. Worth renting if you saw the tv series first, as some jokes and characters are referenced without much pretext. A good rental choice - you aren't likely to replay it after finishing it up. You go through 5 episodes of increasing complexity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hmm what can I say.

posted by mattside (HOWES CAVE, NY) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

I am a huge Adult Swim and Birdman fan. I have been since the orignal adult swim when birdman came out. To be honest this is not a great game. If you like watching the show on CN you will get something out of it but if you looking for a good game that you can play this is not it. All you do is pick choices of evidence and what birdman is going to say. It is 90% watching and 10% choosing what your gonna watch. Overall this isnt my favorite game by far but if your a birdman fan just check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

made me laugh

posted by evilclone (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

like playing an episode of birdman, fun and short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!

posted by thesizz (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is absolutely terrible! I turned it off after 8 minutes of complete boredom. You listen to people talk and then answer simple questions. DO NOT RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse