Rent Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility for Wii
view large frontback

Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

1549 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

By... farming.

posted by Zero9g9 (MURRIETA, CA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

31 out of 33 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility allows you to raise a farm and a family from scratch. You start out with a house, some tools, and a dream... And that's pretty much it. From getting married (with a kid too!) to farming to mining to fishing to part-time jobs, ToT has it all if you work at it.

Farming: A wide selection of crops awaits for those who enjoy farming, the heart of Harvest Moon; you can either purchase single bags of season-specific crops at the Souffle farm, or you can pick up a grab bag of seeds for that season which contains random crops. Plantable trees also make a return. Farming has also seen one major improvement; you can walk through your crops. In previous harvest moon games, you usually had to make ridiculous crop setups so you could harvest them all. Well, no more.

Ranching: With a grand total of 8 animals to raise (Not including the many animals you can befriend in the wild), Tree of Tranquility has a rich experience for those who prefer to raise animals in the game. From the traditional Cows and Chickens to the more exotic Ostriches and Silkworms, there's a lot on offer for anyone. You can either keep your animals inside most of the time, or using a handy bell located outside, you can bring them out to pasture for the day. Overall, Ranching is much more streamlined and much less finicky than it used to be.

Mining: For those who love to mine, Mining has made a hard turn for the better; in the mines, you find Wonderfuls of different colors from gem rocks, and Ore of 5 types from normal ones. Unlike previous Harvest Moon games, you have to take your wonderfuls and ores to the blacksmith, who refines them for you instantly into metals or gems which can be used for upgrading, selling, or to turn into jewelery.

Fishing: Fishing remains pretty much the same from past Harvest Moon games, with a grand total of around 6 locations for you to fish from this time around.

I would say more, but I'm out of space. :P

Overall, it's a very good game. 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Omg! I cant stop playing!

posted by rgarcia26 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is so addicting its unbelievable. Its filled with so many things to do, you'll be catching yourself going to bed every night extremely late. The customization is insane from what to dress, what girl or guy to marry which animals to raise and the list goes on and on! This game is a must have for Harvest moon gamers. Newbies? its definitely worth a rental. There a few little tweaks a wish they could've fixed before releasing the game. The Now Loading screen that appears when u go from different sections of the town can get old and sometimes it feels like its slowing the game play. The music can get crazy dull and repetitive, Ive found myself muting the game lots of times! Other than that the game is excellent!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Get Ready to get HOOKed!!just somethings are wrong

posted by Cnart216 (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon is a solid game, Its just the little things that you can pick on. This time though, the island is HUGE. There are lots of places to go and some parts aren't avaible from the start. The people and maybe future wives still only hit you with one liners when you talk to time witch I hate because you really can't have a conversation with them or get to know people they way you would like. There isn't short cuts threw fields and you can't jump over anything so your stuck with a certin path you have to take to get some were. The sound.......What sound......well when there is a voice over its very low quality, but some of the sound effects isn't too bad. The WII controls also are very sensitive. You'll catch yourself watering of swinging you tools for no reason just because you moved the controller a little bit. The GRAPHICS could of went threw a next gen change to but they didn't. This means it looks like it was made for the PS2. Finally, the energy bar decreases much to fast and its hard to get things started the way you want too, because my character is to tired at 10 am in the morning. Everything else about the game is pretty fun. There's tons of Stuff to COOK, BUY, RAISE, lots of different seeds and the part-time jobs help pass time away. The mine is pretty cool too and a good extra way to get resources. The game main focus is about getting money. also the animals are pretty cool and getting the house together way you like is cool to. If your a Fan you'll love the game. Just dont expect this to be perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It takes time for "Tree of Tranquility" to grow.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You are a guy or gal who arrives on a boat in Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility. You've got dreams of being a great farmer, miner and/or fisherman.
But just before your ship arrives, you are knocked out by a storm. While unconscious, you get visions of a beautiful woman standing in front of a tree (as supposed to an ugly woman standing in front of a tree?)
There's something going on that island, and it's up to you to get to the bottom of it.
If you want to put in the time, that is. Tree of Tranquility doesn't push the main plot line very much. It's easy to get into a rut by doing the same thing over and over again.
Things like working on a garden, working part time at stores and mining ore. Players can get locked into the rut for months at a time.
There's festivals and celebrations, but most of them are there just for a change of scenery. Those looking for a thriller or action game look elsewhere. Tree of Tranquility isn't going to give you a rush of adrenaline.
But for those casual gamers looking for a fantasy setting for "The Sims", Tree of Tranquility is right up your alley. Just make sure to give yourself plenty of time to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but could have been greater

posted by greenxiii (Columbus, OH) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the fact that Natsume put in more animals and made farming much easier than it as on the Gamecube and PlayStation. I also enjoyed the level customization there is as well. However there a quite a few minor details that make the game run less smoothly. Most of which is the storage system. If you have a stack of items, that whole stack must move. the voice overs are just bad. the flaws are easy to over come at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For a "Harvest Moon" game this is awsome!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow! When my little sister got this game I thought it would be a joke. But, boy was I wrong! This game is so fun. You come to the island on a ship, then you get a part time job, at a farm, for two days, and move into a new house built just for you!(nice guys right:)) Then freedom is granted, and you can get married, make accessories, and customize your guy/girl. Overall, great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MAGNIFICIENT!

posted by pickel21 (PEORIA, IL) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about a week.As soon as I sent it back,I regretted it.I decided to buy it.This is a fun game,except after you complete the game it gets boring unless you have a kid.I rate it 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harvest Moon Tree of tranquility

posted by hanomaru (BELLEVIEW, FL) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, to start off with as a fan of the Harvest Moon series, this has a wonderfully familiar feel, but they manage to improve it greatly, without harming the game play. Now when you grow levels on your watering skill you unlock the next level, when you used to only unlock the ability to get the next watering can. You can still upgrade your tools so fans of the series don't freak out, now upgrading tools greatly decreases the energy needed to use them. It's got new never before seen animals and the ability to upgrade your barn, or coop. Now you can even own multiple houses simultaneously, and the dating game isn't so unblievably difficult

The mine games are fun, addicting, and challenging, it's a game that's just long enough to get you hooked and keep you hooked threw the end. It's fairly fast-paced compared to previous games of the series, and the graphics are incredible. Now you're a lot closer to the character so you do have to get used to it, but in no time at all you'll be marveling at the major improvements, with nothing left to complain about. Now when you're married your wife will even make you lunches, instead of just randomly wlaking around your house from time to time staring at the walls, it's marvelous to make these characters hold meaning instead of just being an objective.

I would strongly recommend this game to any fan of the series, and would even recommend it to people who've never played Harvest Moon before, this one even has a tutorial so stand in marvel (granted it may seem tedious to veterans of the series, it isn't very long and is pretty basic.) the story line is some what improved, and I'm sorry to say I didn't attempt man with man relationships and see if they were added to the game (i'm assuming not though) either way good game, faster paced then previous ones, amazing graphics and fairly addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Harvest Moon Yet

posted by Sephroph (HONOLULU, HI) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the opinion of a Harvest Moon fan from "A Wonderful Life":
(I know, thats not THAT long.)
This Harvest moon has great features that others... didint.
I think that the gameplay is way easier to master, and the wii controls were well placed. One of the only bad things about this game was the fact that it is SO much easier to do everything, I mean that by saying you can aquire certain items and sell certain items easier.
This game is not as much of a challenge as others, but its still worth renting/buying.
This is one of my favorite wii games ever, and I hope they continue to expand on this type of game.
Way to go Natsume! Cant wait for "Animal Parade"
Rock on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility by Inferno Skrm

posted by InfernoSkr (KOKOMO, IN) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon is one of the best franchises to exist in the gaming world. However, Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility did not meet my expectations. The game looked great! The graphics were smooth and the storyline seemed solid. The problem I had with it were the controls. You can use the Wii-mote, classic controller, and perhaps the Gamecube controller. Here's the thing. When you are trying do anything in the fields, it's extremely difficult to do things like water your seeds and plants. It was impossible to target it properly. I kept on watering the ground to the left or right of what I was aiming for. I think that if the controls were a bit better, this game could've had some real potential. The things I liked about the game were the story and the fact that you could continue to run your farm as your child later in the game. That was neat. All in all, this game is great for people who love loose controls but it is definitely not the best Harvest Moon. Back to Nature for the PS1 is the best Harvest Moon title. Hopefully I helped you all out. Thanks!

-Inferno Skream

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A big fat meh.

posted by magicmemo (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility is like one of those twenty-dollar games you buy on Shockwave or BigFish Games(not that I have anything against them!). You'll be hooked for a few days, or weeks. But after that you just won't want to look at it. Ever.

I had played Harvest Moon on the Nintendo 64 and loved it in the same manner and thought it was a good way to kill some time and, frankly, procrastinate. (incidentally, that's what I'm doing now) So I got the game shortly after release and got to the point in the game where it starts getting tiring. Watering the plants, feeding the silkworms (letting the rest of the animals outside of course) and picking up the eggs...turning them into nice mayo. Milking the cow. It just seemed like...well. Chores. Sometimes I'd skip all that and go get ingredients for recipies.
But honestly, after the first rainbow there wasn't much reason to continue. It seemed as if there was nothing else the game could offer me. I had three plots and tons of crops. It just wasn't fun anymore.

In short, rent the game for sure, but don't buy it. You'll get bored after a while. That's why my rating of the game is a 7; in other words. A big fat meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really good game!!!!!

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is really good. If you have played Harvest Moon before you will like this game. If you have never played it you will like it. You start out in a town and the mayor asks you questions. You stay at a farm till the mayor finishes your house. While you are at the farm they show you how to harvest crops. You get your house and can get animals. It is really fun!! Rent it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Harvest Moon

posted by vickie077 (HONAKER, VA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is the best out of all the Harvest Moon games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is so cool

posted by brittaneya (EAST BETHANY, NY) May 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is called Harvest moon Tree of Tranquility.I give this game a 10/10 I think its the best harvest moon out there and its much better than the gamecube and playstation 2 harvest moon games. Definitly get this game for the wii. Games are unlimited here so I am definitly going to rent it till I can afford it. The only part I couldnt figure out that I now have figured out was when I was in the Inn (hotel) and I couldn't figure how to get out but then I went into one of the rooms and found out you had to go to the back of the room and to get out there is a little open door and stairs after the door hiding there. it took me like 10-15 minutes to figure out how to get out of there but after I figured it out and started to play the game I was like this is AWESOME I didnt want to stop playing it but I got sleepy after playing on the wii (all diffrent games and internet) for hours on end
This game if your thinking about it definitly rent it you may just like it and you may just buy it. If you like other Harvest moon games from other systems you will definitly like this Harvest moon ALOT! Its a million times better than the other systems
Stop thinking just rent it already LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) May 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will buy this game it has great game play tons to do and you can replay when your done with your kid. the game can become as long as you want it or as fast as you want it depending on if you do the main story and not worry about getting every thing but even then it still has some fun hrs. of game play I'm on about hrs. now and only have way through the story but slowing down on it to just have some fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Never Played

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have never played a Harvest Moon game before this one and found it to be quite enjoyable.

The graphics for the game are pretty good, for a wii title. The only two main complaints about the game come from the Wii controls (feel tacked on) and constant loading (which cannot really be helped, Hardware design issue). The Wii controls are decent to horrible. In fishing, farming, mining, wood cutting the controls work fine. On the other hand the bug catching minigame the controls just didn't work for me, missed way to many and got last place most of the time.

Now onto the game. The gameplay is quite refreshing. Basically it is a life simulator, you are a farmer, woodsman, miner, rancher, cook, fisherman, etc. There are soo many things you can do in this game.

It is definately worth a rent, you will probably like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

harvest moon tot

posted by Jonni7 (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is a very good game definetly a game to buywatering crops is much easier than it was in the othersstoryline i wpuld rate is about 7.5 over alll the game is much better than the other Harvest Moons

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This wasn't as fun as i thought it would be...

posted by Linkinpark (TOOELE, UT) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i thought this game would be great fun, and it is but, i gotta say the other harvest moon games are a whole lot better. i think this game is really fun but i can only stand playing it for about an hour than i get so bored i would rather do my homework and that's saying something. i like this game but it would be nice if u could actually have the hammer in the beginning. i still dont know how to get it or the sickle. great but could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting

posted by gamegal1 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For those of us who love sim type games this was addicting for me! I can't quit playing it and it's challenging and it isn't over quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Farmers Ahoy

posted by Viallking (Ooltewah, TN) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

While not as engaging as the Gamecube version, the new Anime style Harvest Moon has everything you might want from this type of Game....The game takes a little while to get going but if you are patient you will succeed...I really love these games and would love to give a higher rating but it just wasn't as much fun this time around!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Like It

posted by Eagles36 (Avilla, IN) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not gonna lie. The only reason I rented this game was so I could buy it for my gf, she loves HM and she wanted me to play it for her and tell her how it was. Well I did and I got hooked I would be willing to say that I'm hooked. I didn't think I would like it but I was wrong. I would say you should at least rent the game espically if you like HM.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointed

posted by Ahloren (PORT HURON, MI) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Watering plants was extremely difficult, I found myself watering the ground and wasting all my "energy".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why take Ambien when you have this?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Truthfully, I've never played the Harvest Moon series before. I think I know why now.
It's not that Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility is a bad game, it's just really slow, relatively boring and overly complicated. Basically, it's a good idea, poorly executed.
The concept is definitely original: you play the newest member of a small town community, trying to raise a farm. Along the way, you do some mining, some fishing, break some rocks, chop down trees, raise livestock, grow crops and interact with the townspeople. I have to give the game credit here. There's plenty to do and it's pretty free-form.
The story doesn't make much sense, however. The harvest goddess wants you to build rainbows (yes, I said "build" rainbows). This continues the story and expands the game. You might find building these rainbows to be overly complicated.
Actually, much of the game suffers from over-complication. You want yarn? First, chop trees, smash stones and collect gold to build a barn, then buy a lamb, wait for it to mature, sheer off the wool, put it through a machine and viola! Of course, this will take so very long since each step will require an inordinate amount of time.
Time wouldn't be so bad if the game moved faster. Managing your crop each day can sap half your stamina. And once your stamina is gone, you need to rest. There are ways to increase stamina or keep it from decreasing as fast, but it doesn't work well enough.
But the unforgivable thing is the load times. The graphics and sound design do not warrant load screens this long.
If you have lots of time to raise a successful farm, maybe you should raise an actual farm. I hear you can grow plants, get married and have children in real life too. It might even be faster... and more satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

oh man

posted by momoman (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

my game did not work so im requesting a new one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAXIMUM AWESOMENESS

posted by HarvestFan (LAKE MARY, FL) Oct 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

yep you can first you have to complete the quilt quest then make all 5 rainbows have a child and walk across the 5th rainbow and the game will end but not for your child! then new game+ will appear but if you want to save your the kid part of the game make sure you dont save in the original file if you want to continue. not all of this is right but I'm pretty sure cause i got it of a guide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse