Rent Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns for 3DS
view large frontback

Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
7.0

204 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant, but flawed.

posted by Morgstang (DOVER FOXCROFT, ME) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a fairly good Harvest Moon game. It goes back to the old Magical Melody style. I'm going to give you the game play, since you already know or will know the plot to the game.
There's the same over-head perspective, same animal designs (with the exception of new Jersey Cows, Silkie Chickens and Alpacas).
There's a few new additions, such as a cart. You hook your horse up to and store items in, traveling between the two towns. You can move between the two towns, back and forth each season if you'd like. With a fee.
You have to push the animals in and out of the barn. It's a hassle, but you get a technique (such as pushing out multiple at one time). And you can throw the chickens at the doorway and they'll go out/in the barn.
There's also the addition, one of my favorites, of dating. You can go for walks or on dates with the bachelors/bachelorettes and get relationships points from that so you're not just giving gifts to people to get them to like you (still a major part of getting your relationship points up).
But as I end this review there is one matter I'd like to discuss, it's the great freezing problem that all of the games have. It's something to do with the memory cache and it gets too full and the game starts freezing when you're going through the mountain.
There is no real fix, but I've found that if you DON'T do the animal petting (you use the touch screen of the DS to pet the animal and you have a limited time, it's like a mini game). And about every hour, after you save, shut your DS/3DS off and turn it back on. It helps refresh the cache and ever since I started doing these little things, I haven't had another freeze since.
Other than the freezing issue, it's a great game. Should be half priced due to the freezing problem, but, it's a pretty good game. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same game but more available..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 5, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a good game even with out the 3d function... The 3d function itself is marginal at best.. Mostly though it just make things look deeper, but not much else.. Not a bad game if you like the harvest moon series, but the same faults still apply for this version of this game as it does in the DS version except that it costs less.. This one still might be a better deal...
Towns are divided along the livestock, and agriculture line apparently you can have a opposite function with either town like, a vegtable farm if you are a bluebell farmer, or a animal farmer in konohana, but Those functions are on hold when the game starts.. As Each farm is naturally designed for Bluebell being lives stock, and Konohana being for crops... Still can't shake the some what "padded" feel to this game given how small the world is, and time doesn't stop even when you are in doors, so plan ahead... This game in my book is pretty fair al in all... Try Before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BUGGY

posted by gn2007 (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a very fun game but there is no way to play for a while if the game freezes non stop it will lock up your 3ds. Idk if the company is going to fix it but its such a shame to a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

harvest moon tale of two towns

posted by hotbetty (BEDFORD, MA) May 31, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

this game had very good potential however it went downhill when people started asking for quests that were impossible due to the season it was or that you didn't have the material you needed in game and in the winter there wasn't enough to do because the fishing lakes were all frozen and there wasn't a lot to collect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best in the series

posted by DrChicken (ELMHURST, NY) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2009

I was actually expecting a lot more from this game. There isn't much to go around with this game and everyday is just as repetitive as the last.
Don't get me wrong, it has it's moments and the new dating sequence they add was pretty cool, but all in all there isn't really much to do besides gathering materials and speaking to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Great Harvest Moon Game

posted by Crell77 (DELTA, CO) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

From the first time I played the Harvest Moon series I was hooked. This game does not dissapoint; it is a great game in the harvest moon series and I am eager to play the next game in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

need help

posted by chyatt03 (PITCAIRN, PA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

i have played this game for hours not knowing wat im susposed to do.i know you have to get the two towns talking again but all i have time to do is run back and forth till im too tired then i need to sleep then its the next day and it all starts over. Please wat am i susposed to do?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst programming ever

posted by jajjschulte (MILFORD, CT) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game could be fun it really could be but i can get past day 11 in the thing it tells me that there is a game error and resets the game. Sad for a harvest moon game i must say. The 3d works great and i hope if you rent it you will have a better chance then i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rippoff if you've played the ds version.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Jul 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

The game is good if you haven't already played the ds version(which came out months earlier). The only differences were worthless and not worth the time it took to alter it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game was good!

posted by JCGir (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I've played Harvest Moon games in the past, such as 64, and A Wonderful Life. I was hoping that this game would be similar to the other Harvest Moon games. In this game, you have two different choices to make that affect your life in the game. This game was a lot more childish than the other games, and I didn't find it as enjoyable as the other games. If you are into games that have a lot of repitition in them, this game is good for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unnecessary Tedious Additions Ruin a Good Sim

posted by druidzwolf (ALHAMBRA, CA) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I love the aspect of raising animals and crops and building friendships, & Harvest Moon games revolve around rewarding patience. However, this title vexes my patience in ways that the reward afterwards aren't worth it.

Half the characters live on the other side of a mountain which is really annoying to cross over, especially since I know my animals will get ticked off if I don't get home in time to put them back inside. My pets would do it for me, but it takes FOREVER to the get their friendship levels high enough to take care of all my animals. I miss Save the Homeland where if you spent a couple days with your dog he loved you to the maximum <3

The distance between the two towns reduces with time, but it's still annoying.

Also, they've added the most annoying "freshness levels" to everything. Combined w/ TIMED requests, this is just terrible to me. I have very little backpack space, so I sell items to get more space & get the highest profit before it lowers in "freshness," then I get a request from a villager who wants an item but I don't have enough time to find it again before the request deadline. Because I can't store things! Because everything rots!

The only way to store things w/o them rotting is to use a cart that you don't get until a few years into the game. Omg.

Also, since you only get to have animals OR crops pretty much, this makes cooking very hard. And the game's storyline revolves around cooking. I either have milk and eggs or only vegetables. And I can't like save my ingredients and move between town to compensate for this. Because they'll just rot. ><

The characters have decent design. All have kinda chubby faces though. But decent personalities. If I could save in the middle of the day it'd be easy to just pick up and relax w/ this game. But alas it's only before bed. I get bored before a whole day ends b/c I'm too busy "traveling" or realizing I no longer have an item I need, then getting annoying and turn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best HM game in a while, true to the series.

posted by Psychei (SPANISH FORK, UT) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

This game was a vast improvement on some other DS titles, the story is fun they didn't try to over play the touch screen, and with added requests, collections, contests, and festivals it feels like there is more to do than just grow and sell.

The 3D effect in this game is very unimpressive, I realize this game was built for the DS and the 3D was an after thought, but you could really tell the 3D was just that, an afterthought.

However this was an excellent Harvest Moon game and any fan of the series would be thrilled to add this to their collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing, but it&amp;#39;s still Harvest

posted by DSX_ULTIMATE (HARVEST, AL) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The Tale of Two Towns is the first HM title available for the 3DS It still has the same great harvest moon gameplay but with big disappointments. You live in either Blubell or konohanna which is basically like saying Animals or Crops the goal is to enter each festival in order for the mayors to like eachother and open up the tunnel which includes instant travel to each town. The friendship portion is confusing and more repetitive than ever you really need to look things up because the game won't tell you anything that's informative at all on how to do any of this strangely theres a 30 minute tutorial on everything you know but dosnt include things you dont know. Getting items from the shop is even more of a let down its usually limited at atleast 3 items or so and everyday its random no catalogs or anything just walk in and hope what you need is for sell. The animals are limited to an unknown gender except cows which seem to always be females for some weird reason. When living on one of the two farms you are given the style for what town you chose if you chose konohana or move there you get plenty of space for crops and less space for animals but Bluebell is vice versa. Although it still includes as always great chracters, endless gameplay, and that Harvest Moon Addiction its worth a buy just for that (Although, I'd say not for full price) Disappinting but still Harvest Moon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »