Rent Harvest Moon: Sunshine Islands for DS
view large frontback

Harvest Moon: Sunshine Islands

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.6

212 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Handheld Bliss.

posted by CoreyKei (OAK CREEK, WI) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another day, another Harvest Moon. There are quite a bit, but on the DS this one has to be the best so far.

Graphics: 10/10
It's a DS it has limited graphics as all hand-helds do, you wont see amazing realistic can smell touch and taste it kind of graphics. But, you will be pleasantly greeted with refreshing and adorable ones. The environment is creative perfection.

Sound: 9/10
It's amusing, you have pretty much the same thing day after day but it's not annoying where you just hate it. It's more like you wake up, the music plays and hum along with it as you start the day.

Story: 10/10
It's pretty crazy, you have to raise islands that have sunk beneath the waves after a giant earthquake. And get married and have a family and successful farm as usual. :)

Gameplay: 10/10
It's so much easier then it's previous installment where you had to do everything with the stylus. Now you can use the buttons and it makes it a lot more smooth. The only problem is the days go by a bit faster. Which can be a problem in the beginning but they do have an accessory which slows down the time which is amazing. :)

Overall: 10/10
I love it. It's fun and a great game to have when you're on the go or waiting around somewhere. I would say buy it, it's cheap and the hours of fun will be worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Improved Controls.

posted by Oakvale4 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have to say that the controls have improved greatly since Harvest Moon: Island of Happiness. It is a much smoother control system then the last.
Yes the characters are indeed the same but we all saw that coming. I will say that the concept is quite fun, you must find Sun Stones in order to raise a new island.
It is a bit on the easy side as far as improving your tools and a few other aspects that old school Harvest Moon players, but so far I have noticed it takes longer to improve your relationships with your animals compaired to the last.

Conclusion....If you have played the last Harvest Moon for the DS, rent it, you are sure to enjoy it. If you haven't played many or no Harvest Moon games before, I think it is a userfriendly way of coming into the Harvest Moon World and you will thoroughly enjoy playing this game and may even become addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE IT!

posted by pascua (ERIE, PA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Like everyone says, it's mostly just an improved version of Island of Happiness, but so what? The concept of the sun stones is fun and getting the harvest sprites to help out with the tedious farm work is awesome!
Harvest Moon fans will enjoy it and newcomers to the series could find an easier way to start falling in love with the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More improved!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Dec 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Island of Happiness was terrible and the controls were tiring and it was hard to get going good. But Sunshine Islands is more improved and it isn't real watered down from other games! Sunshine Islands has WAY better controls and it seems more easy to make friends. So as far as the graphics go...well it seems copyed right from Island of Happiness but you know. Anyway I like this game it's VERY easy to get addicted!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good

posted by Gamer2012 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) May 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pretty good staple for the Harvest Moon series. A little hard to make money though. As a tip sell through the shipping box not through the store because you will get twice as much money using the shipping box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

My least favorite HM..

posted by Xzalor (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is just like any HM game so I'll go straight into what I liked and vica versa.

Good:
- Fun at first
- Interesting story
- Controls work

BAD:
- Horrible graphics
- Male character looks like a baby
- People never change their conversations with you
- Farming isn't that fun
- Bland characters
- Finding the Sun Stones is not fun

And every day consists of (in order)
-Water crops
-Fish
-Find flowers
-Mine
-Give fish,flowers,and rocks to people so they become happy
-Fish
-Pick up junk
-Sell junk and fish
-Go to mines and fall down a hole and "die"
-Repeat!

Not a fun game at all! Im a HUGE HM fan and this game was not what I was hoping it was going to be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same but diffrent

posted by GamerGirl0 (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

yes id you played sunshine island is it allot of the same game. but better the wonderful are done better more animals and places to explore and a few more people to marry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slap a new layer on Harvest Moon DS/Cute

posted by Moonshine (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

There is nothing wrong with this game but there is also very little new to this game. I've followed (and almost universally loved) the series since its debut on the Super Nintendo. This game is a retread of the last and the levels of complication they add do nothing to enhance the game.

If you haven't played Harvest Moon before, or just didn't play the previous title on the DS, I absolutely recommend the game. If, however, you bought the last one - just play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Permenant Collection

posted by geekgirl7 (DOVER, DE) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

All three of my children, ages 7 (girl), 9 and 10 (boys) really enjoyed this game. All three of them have DSi's and they couldn't put it down. Normally my boys are Halo, COD, Assassin's Creed gamers, but they actually found this fun. I'd say if a game can grab the attention of more serious gamers, then this has to be worth trying.

I gave it a 9 because these days everything has an option of multi-player and it is only single player at the moment. It would have been even more fun for my kids if they could game together.

All in all, the kids loved it (its about what they enjoy, not me) and I enjoyed the quiet travel time in the car! What parent wouldn't rate that a top!?? =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome!!

posted by harvester (NELSON, NE) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is addicting at time but can sometimes get boring im really happy that i tried this game the good aspects of this game is that it givest endless fun the bad aspects are the graphics and that it can get repetitive i love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »