Rent Harvest Moon: Magical Melody for GC
view large frontback

Harvest Moon: Magical Melody

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow....

posted by KashiChan (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I think is the best Harvest Moon yet. Why? Because the graphics rock, the people are kinda..more real and stuff happens and occurs by from your actions. Ok I know this is really small but, I really hated having my child, (in the game of course) become a toddler so fast. It just didn't seem fair. I also luff the possibilities intertwined in it; the many suitors, the hurrendously large town; It all came together magically. I also think they added more realism in the form of the town. There's no food or fodder in the winters. It all counts.

||||-|\|\|\\| KashiChan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Probably the best one out!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

28 out of 31 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life, which came out for Gamecube before this, was kind of a disappointment. While it was good, it was nothing like the others. This however, lived up to it's name!!

Graphics
The graphics aren't that good. They look like N64 if anything. But it still fits the style of Harvest Moon, so Natsume has an excuse...

Sound
There's a different song per season. The Spring version is an upbeat song which is like most of the others. The Summer version is long, and has many "tropical" instruments such as bongos, maracas, etc. The Fall version is a more tranquil version than all the others. It's long, and might not be the type to get stuck in your head. And the Winter song is different than all others. It sounds more like a Christmas tune if anything. There are songs for events, festivals, peoples shop's, etc. So the music in this game is nice :)

Gameplay
The gameplay in this game is strange, but addicting. Like, some might call this game a chore, but those are just the stubborn people who have no patience. Well, maybe not. We all have different tastes :P Anyways... Running a farm and living a social life might seem like a chore to some, but it's a lot more fun than people think. You can choose to be a guy or girl, each who can marry ten characters of the opposite gender. You woo the girl/guy you like, and marry him/her and eventually have a baby. You can also befriend the villagers and get certain items/cutscenes by doing so. You can also befriend the eligible bachelors/bachelorettes regardless of marriage. And also, you plant crops (which is funner than it sounds) raise animals varying from horses, cows, sheep, and chickens (and pets such as a dog and pig) and you can upgrade your tools and much much more!

Replay Value
Sort of like Animal Crossing, you'll play this game for a long time. It's not real time however. And also, if you stop playing, you'll eventually feel an urge to play again.

This game is a buy! Rent if not sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Harvest Moon The Majestic Magical Melody

posted by malban (ALEXANDER, AR) Jun 22, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In this game, you're a young unmarried farmer. You're in a new town with not very many people. First choose your home and name. The first few days will be the introductory days. Neighbors will come and greet you. (No jello molts or brownies though.) Darn! Your goal is to collect as many "notes" as possible to free the fairy queen from her stony coma. But that's not all. After collecting the fifty notes you need to free her you're encouraged to collect all one hundred. Oh my! That's a lot of notes! But if you're really a game geek and really want to be done with this game you will prevail and finally be able to get a new game! The notes you collect will depend on what you do. The more you vary your days, the more notes you'll get. This game is just as farmy as AWL but has more livelyhood. It has horse racing, festivals, contests and much more people. Your choice for marriage is much more varied. You don't have three choices for marriage but rather twenty-three; for each gender. This is my first review for a game.
So I say good-bye for now until my next game review. I hope to see you again.
grammer phartz r awsome,
signing out,
dragon drawer
or malban

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I really found the reveiws interesting

posted by redphantom (SCREVEN, GA) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the 1 reveiw that said it appeals only to people who like these of games but to others its a chore i'll tell you right now i am a country boy a live on a farm.Harvest MOON is by far my fav game the games are not perfectly realistic but not far from it.i love raising the farm on these games and to tell u the truth i thought it would be boooooooorrrriiiinnnggg i thought yea right all your doing is work in a virtual world i can do that in real life but i ended up loving every single 1 only problem is i hate when a good game ends now i havent played all of them but i hate endings lol!!!!!another thing i have a cusin that dosent really care for these type of games but he bought one and never quit playing it till he beat it these are his exact words "it dont look it but its addictive!!!"and all i got 2 say is most people who wouldnt like any harvest moon game is a city-slicker:P>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, exciting and keeps you busy

posted by Tokaia (PEORIA HEIGHTS, IL) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. There's always something to do. The town is expansive. There are many, many kinds of fish. You can befriend wild animals, mine in deep caves, go fishing in a lake, river, pond, ocean or underground lake.

I don't much care for the design of the cows and horses, or the fact that I have a wussy-looking, useless, annoying dog. They should have made it so you could choose the dog you want. This game, in some ways, reminds me of Animal Crossing. I love the music. The graphics are smooth, bright and colorful. The controls are easy to get used to. There are lots of townspeople, and a lot of potential husbands/wives. You can also choose your gender. I think this is the best Harvest Moon game yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS SO COOL!!!

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

his is the first HM game I've ever played, and I was impressed! This game was very addicting and I really liked the storyline. The only bad thing was that the two characters that you choose from look like kindergartners. Other than that, I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves HM!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best :)

posted by joegetz (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, I've played every harvest moon game thats been released in USA, from the snes version to this one. The franchise has come along ways since then, and i have to say i like the turn the game seems to be taking. Harvest moon MM is one of the few great gamecube games in my opinion.

Pros -
First and for most is the many spousal options.
You can play as a boy or a Girl with 10 mate choices.
The design its self is impressive, the graphics go with the game.
You can choose where you want your land and even buy more.
Along with buying your own land, you have to build it up which makes it a bit more realistic and challenging.
Just about every festival is a mini-game.

Cons -
Your dog has no real purpose in the game.
Strange story (but a rather interesting one).
If you choose to marry Jamie the game ends.
Not much to do after you beat the game.

This one is a game that you can pick up, and play easily. If your a harvest moon fan you shall not be disappointed in this one. If your new to the franchise ... well you might want to pick up A Wonderful Life before you get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

5 stars

posted by BlackHeart (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is sooooo addicting, maybe its just me though. Only problems that I have with the game is that the dog and pig have no real purpous and just waste your time. And I dont really like how you can't push the animals into the barn in this game as they did in the other games. Other than that, I really like i!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS THE BEST!!!

posted by Apeople (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Harvest Moon game is the best one so far. The other two games are exactly alike except your a boy in one game and a girl in the other. In this one you have a huge head and a little body, You have more spouse options, you can buy more land, and get a bigger house. You also have more types of fish, more shops, fun festivals, can get a pig, and get gifts from the spouses. This game is a buy or rent if you want to try it out first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Harvest Moon. Ever.

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since I picked up Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life, I have been loyal to the Harvest Moon franchise. This latest Gamecube installment, does not dissapoint. First off, it takes away the linear gameplay of A Wonderful Life (AWL), to beat the game you have to get married and stuff but it's not required, you just won't beat the game. The village is smaller then AWL but you can leave and go to the forest and stuff. The people are more of a tight-knit crowd and everyone closes down their shops to fellowship on festival dates. The farming is more forgiving since you have almost a month to grow crops. So, unlike the first game, if you mess up, you have enough time to re-plant. Now, about the graphics. For the graphics style, they are excellent. One of the better looking cartoon style games out there. The controls are simple and there is a new lock-on feature which makes farming easier. There are tons of ways to keep you busy, whether it be mining fishing or competing in festivals. Overall this is game that cankeep you busy longer than most. Even if you stop playing a while, coming back is a treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harvest moon magical melody. Best family game ever

posted by WillieBee (EPHRATA, PA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Harvest Moon magical melody is one of the most in depth family friendly game ever made. There is some violence if you like violence although not much, bop a mole with a hammer. There is love and marriage and child birth. Raise animals vegetables or just go fishing everyday. You can go mining for gems. You can build houses and barns. There are plenty of random events to keep the game interesting. You have to get past how goofy the graphics are, if you do that the game can draw you in. The game grows on you after a while. The game cube controls are inadequate for everything that you should be able to do i.e. change camera angle. Xbox along with EA games could make this game so much better. Xbox would have the better GPU for better graphics as well as a game controller that could get more things done. The game is fun if you like laid back relaxing games. Games that are educational and wholesome as well as entertaining, don't come much better then this. More days to a season more time in a day would make the game better. This game is much improved from previous versions. Voice over would be a nice new feature. The mini games are nice new feature just make a few more mini games. Add online play and multiplayer split screen play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a Harvest Moon to remember!

posted by shootme (BERKELEY, CA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was tons of fun, the only reason i gave it a 9 is because of the hole collectiong notes thing and how some shops which attract new girls required way hard things to sell and stuff but the game its self is very innovative, u can chop down just about any tree u can see, there are 8 girls or boys to marry, and the cooking is very big there are tons of things to make and tons of things to plant and the type of soil u have depends on how good ur plants will grow! this game reminded me of Harvest Moon 64 my fav by far! but with better things like u get to choose ur proptery and buy new property around town and how certain shops dont open up untill u have sold a certin # of things. if u have a GC and want a harvest moon WAY better than all the rest this one if the one for u!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Yeah, it was pretty good

posted by Chotokun22 (FORT POLK, LA) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game was great and pretty addicting at first, but the music and everyday chores can get pretty tedious and annoying after you beat the game once. (My friend told me about this game, so I bought it)

Pros:
-you can be boy or girl
-you can choose where you live
-you can marry 10 girls\guys
-there's a little more purpose to the game
-vibrant colors and graphics
-controls are easy to pick up
-more realism in the seasons

Cons:
-after you marry Jamie, the game ends
-when you get married, your baby doesn't grow past a toddler
-(tecnically,) you have to collect only 50 notes to free the harvest goddess and beat the game.(the other 49 are to get Jamie to give you the last one)
-there is a glitch that can harm your save file pretty badly (especially those who don't like saving games all that much)
-after beating the game, there are no extras
-unlike the other games, your dog is just a companion and sits around the house
-there is an annoying lagging glitch near blue and ellen's farm

Despite all of my complaints, the game is fairly awesome. Thank you for reading and have a nice day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful!

posted by Mashiara (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This Harvest Moon was so much more appealing than Wonderful Life. Having to collect musical notes adds a purpose to the game, more than just raising animals and crops. There are many side quests that keep you going through the mundane tasks of the farm. I love that they broadened the cooking capabilities. Fishing is much easier than any other Harvest Moon game I've played, and the mines are more fun and amusing. Simple and entertaining, this is a wonderful game to have on hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

harvest moon:magical melody

posted by someone (LYNDEN, WA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

i think the game is amazing the best harvest moon game ever. the graphics could be better though. i like how a lot of things happen, you dont just water crops and feed animals. the festivals are great. but they need to add at least one new thing happing once a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Was Impressed

posted by CandyMan (COVINA, CA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I liked the other harvest moon games but I just rented them because I thought there not worth buying but when I got magical melody I liked the fact that you can be a boy or a girl instead of getting a game where you could only be one gender i was also impressed with the minigames and that you can buy more plots of land.It was also intresting that if you do certain things or meet people you can get new people and new shops.The only thing that I found really wrong is something that I was unsure about which is that if you marry jamie ,your rival farmer, the game ends but im unsure so if you want to know look it up but why would you marry jamie cause shes ugly lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Harvest Moon Games yet! If your into farming and spending time with animals, this the game for you!You can try your luck to be a rich farmer!If you liked other Harvest Moon games, then buy this one. I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost there

posted by Furuba (NEWARK, IL) Jun 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would say that this game is almost as good as Save the Homeland or Back into Nature, which take place in some un-named valley and Mineral Town, but it doesn't have the same feel as the other Harvest Moon games that have plots. Don't get me wrong, Another Wonderful Life was ok, so was More friends of Mineral Town but they lacked a plot. This isn't as much fun as getting people to vote for you to stay in town or saving the Harvest Sprites, but it's almost there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Verygood

posted by Fenwayfan (WATERFORD, CT) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The games good but after you play it for 2 days it gets boring after watering and then feeding the animals then doing it all over again until something good happens, but over all the games pretty well done other then the few miner things like no speech or the silly things they do, for example, once you wake up and exit the room the loading screen comes up and there's someone there to tell you that there going away and they wanted you to know, and after that you wake up again and you have to do the same thing over again but it wouldn't be that bad if you house pets didn't get in the way. other then that the game is pretty good if you like RPG's so this is a rent but very much on the edge of being a buy.

(rent)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stupid.... Confusing..... Boring

posted by Stephie (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is really confusing. If you buy a riverside house or an ocean house, your land isn't fenced of. You have to buy a barn, chicken coop, and land. You have to do a lot of things to be able to get married. There are too many things going on at once! You have to get musical notes while raising a farm and making friends. It's probobly the worst Harvest Moon game. I have one tip for you: DON'T BUY!!!! JUST RENT(if you're up for the challenge)!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i give this a 5

posted by slymaster1 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

if you have played the other harvest moons like i have, like a wonderful life and another wonderful life, it's just like the others after a while it get boring it's got the same thing where you have to get up feed and give love to your dog water your plants talk to people blah blah blah different game same story i like a variety in my games and this is not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by gabrielusa (MARLBOROUGH, MA) May 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible almost sleep playing it, its only for the very patient or people who enjoy feeding cows. i would stick to the supernintendo version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A great game but a hard life

posted by gametaker (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

it's hard and a little average but the others are better and buying lumber is so expensive i can't live that life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

soooo cute!!

posted by catheal (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i loved this game. its goals are a little simple but rewarding.only issues i have is that every horse you get is brown. the game make up for it by haveing cute little pink lambs!!!:D totally addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Harvest Moon Game I Played

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is one of the best HM games I've played, it was also my first and I miss playing this.

What I really liked about this HM is there was a story. I think I've had about 5-6 HM games and the story in most of those games was to revive the town/island/land etc and get married. In this game you have find musical notes to revive the Harvest Goddess. It's somewhat similar to HM Animal Parade (Wii).

Graphics are good the only problem I see with the game (and all other HM games) is after you get married or finish the story it's hard to keep playing since it gets boring to wake up every morning and water the plants, feed the animals and then talk to people.

Overall I would say this is a great game to rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse