Rent Harvest Moon DS Cute for DS
view large frontback

Harvest Moon DS Cute

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

323 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Inflation?

posted by Raharu (FPO, AP) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong. I love this game to death. It's addictive, and as advertised, adorable. With a ton of events, an extra eligible bachelor (or a bundle if you have Friends of Mineral Town), and some nifty little accessories that make your life a lot easier, I'll be playing this one for a while to come before I send it back. The overhead view and familiar sprites gives it that old-school feel, throwing me back to the fond days of PS1.

Harvest Moon: Back to Nature didn't quite give me hand cramps like this one, though. One of my two complaints is the animal-care minigames, which all basically involve the same thing: frantically rubbing the touchscreen back and forth as fast as humanly possible to try to max out affection or product gain via the Touch Glove. It's a chore that makes me dread going to bed and shy away from buying any more animals. However, it'd not actually necessary... but your animals will gain hearts a lot more slowly without.

My only other complaint is the expenses. Unlike some of the previous games, you don't start with a barn or even a coop. Instead you must save up to have one built out of grass, wood, stone, or gold lumber. Anything but gold lumber has a chance to fall down in a storm, killing the unfortunate livestock within... grass even has a chance to fall down in the sun! Stone's your best bet, since the only way to get Gold Lumber is an event in Winter that gives you just one, or to buy it with the construction, which is extremely expensive, and you'll need that money for other things, with 16 buildings/upgrades to be had (even the Bath Room and Toilet Room must be bought seperate). The expenses tend to add up. Well, at least there's a use for those pesky rocks, now!

For all my whining, still a great game. Just keep at it, and you'll have a respectable farm in no time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Patience is a virtue

posted by cuteanime1 (FLUSHING, NY) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've always been a great fan of the harvest moon games. I would always try out the game of harvest moon that comes out, even if its basically the same thing everytime. Yet I always find myself wanting to play it and also getting a hammer and hammering it. I love the new bachlors, I've always been stuck getting Marlin but I can get Skye now. Which is really great!
The thing that really annoys me is 1. PATIENCE!! You have to do alot to raise money so you can get your bachlor to a new heart level. Money so that you can buy barns, chickens upgrades etc!!! And its hard to get as well!! One thing that really helps is one, get vans friendship points up, 2nd is that instead of throwing away weeds keep them in you rucksack and them sell them to him! Little money but helps a little. Also winter is by far the most tiring season ever.Its my first year and I need money but can't grow anything so the only choice is the digsite, if i get 10 of each item no matter how annoying it is, i can get money. And ive been doing this cheat that is SUPPOSED to give me a bazillion G's but I HAVENT GOTTEN ANYTHING!! Thats why im most depressed and i only have like 6 days left of winter!!! but thru and thru the game is well intersting you just need to have patience and there are various ways to cheat this game, little cheats but make a big difference especially the weather cheat!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than Farmville...

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a lot more 'old school' than I had expected - the game menus were very simple and boring, and somewhat tough to figure out. The graphics left you wanting more, which is kind of surprising considering the game only came out in 2008.

Aesthetics aside, there's plenty of fun farming to be had! There are several crops for different seasons, you get to raise animals, make friends... everything you'd expect from Harvest Moon.

This game was pretty fun but I've sent it back so I can play one of the newer versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is awesome with the characters and thing

posted by lawsonstac (Gravel Switch, KY) May 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 28 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome with the characters and things

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by JR_JR (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Out of the harvest moon games that I have played, this is not my favorite. Yet, it is not my least favorite either. You have pretty much the same characters as in Harvest moon A Wonderful Life. Though you are a girl now. And of course there is one new bachelor, besides those from Mineral town. (That is if you have the game boy game Harvest moon Friends of Mineral Town.) Sometimes the bachelors will visit for a season, making it very difficult to court them.

Usually when I play a harvest moon game, there are always one or two bachelors that stand out to me. In this game, however, I do not have any that I really like. I know a lot of player love Skye but I am not a fan of him. Also, winning people over in this game is much harder than other harvest moon games. At least from what I can tell.

The farm aspect is very good. You have a variety to choose from at start of the game. I love that in most seasons there are the crops that regrow every couple of days. :D Yet, it is still hard to make money.

An interesting side of farm in this game is that you have have 7, I think, Barns and Coops. It is your choice how much of each you want. Also it is both a pro and a con that when you build the buildings you can make them out of different materials. Some are stronger and others weaker. This means that you do not have to save a ton of money to build. However, if you build weaker materials then you risk loosing all your animals.

Over all the game is pretty good. I will always be a huge fan of harvest moon games. If you are a fan, you really can't go wrong with this game. Just be ready to keep it for a while if you want the full experience. And be patient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMMMMMGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

posted by Chantel (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

OMG! SKYE SKYE SKYE SKYE! new hubbby~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~! And he's mysterious and flirty. I knew i was gonna marry him in the first sentence of his i read. Like this is so cool cause you get to choose between two appearances. Either the blondie of mfomt of the brunette off another wonderful life. ANDDDDDDDDDDDDDD All the boys from both games are on there. So you cliff, kai, rock, and gray lovers are treated too!!!!! AND you get to actually like BRUSH your cows and stuff. ITS OMG AWESOME!! THE only problem I have with the game is that you cant design your house (well u get to choose wallpaper and flooring) I mean like the furniture. The best game eva would be a combonation of Animal Crossing and Harvest moon. This is my second favorite game, my first is A wonderful life, but in that game after i got all my makers, got married, got rich and stuff i lost intrest. This game however, I did not. I STRONGLY recommend this game. FABULICIOUS

colette
out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive and meaningless

posted by Mnemie (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

This game is a complete waste of time. All there is to do is farm things repeatedly. Water your plants, harvest your crops, pet your animals a billion times, search through thousands of levels of "dungeons" for rare items. Btw, searching through the dungeons basically means, break all the walls in a classic bomberman level, except one block at a time.

There is no payout. You eventually earn yourself more power tools which will water larger areas of crops, etc. You unlock little helpers that do certain chores for you. So basically, the only goal of this game is to do your chores quicker. But there's nothing else!

I really wish I could go back in time and tell myself not to waste time on this. I kept thinking that, if I get this upgrade, I wont have to spend as much time on it anymore. Except when I got it, I realized there wasn't anything else to do but repetitive farming of some sort. Go farm gold in an MMO and actually earn something for your mindless work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »