Rent Harvest Moon: Animal Parade for Wii
view large frontback

Harvest Moon: Animal Parade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

892 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harvest Moon, Always good.

posted by CoreyKei (OAK CREEK, WI) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

44 out of 44 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like most Harvest Moon games except maybe 1 or 2. This one is just as amazing as the next. It features many new things that are both fun and exciting. So lets start.

Graphics: 9/10
They are great, the only reason it gets a 9 is because every now and then the frame rate will slow down. It's hard to notice but when you do it's kind of annoying.

Story: 10/10
In no other Harvest Moon has the story line been so expansive and in depth. You have to bring the land back to life like ToT but this time you do a lot more and to get it all done you will probably be 15+ hours in if you do it all REALLY fast.

Music: 9/10
The music is soothing and relaxing. It can get boring at times though since it is the same every day unless raining or storming.

Gameplay: 200/10
It is AMAZING, there are more crops and more trees. There are plenty of things to do and pick from the ground. You have an increase in men and women to marry. More animals to raise. You can ride any animal that has 5 hearts or more. You can even ride circus animals! The festivals have decreased in number but they are far more fun to be at. Time goes slower which lets you get everything done with plenty of time to spend. But having to wait for festivals at night can get boring.

All in all this game is a game that I highly recommend. It's fun for the entire family and has plenty of new and exciting things to keep things fresh if you've played previous Harvest Moons. This one is going to go down as one of the best. Let's hope the ones in the future are even better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harvest Moon Animal Parade. :)

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I like this game. I have been waiting a long time for it! I played Tree of Tranquility too and this game doesn't really seem like a sequel like I heard. The story is better! It still has the same old gameplay you would expect from a Harvest Moon game. Including Farming, making friends, fishing, making money, mining, and getting married. But Animal Parade has some new things like being able to have a wild animal as a pet, having (SHOCKING) two kids, and being able to marry the Harvest Goddess Harvest King or a wizard! Animal parade also has the old boys and girls (the ones you can marry) from Tree of Tranquility that you can marry in this game! (Luke is my favorite!) The only problem is you don't meet all of them right away. You have to get certain events to happen farther in the story. Anyway overall Harvest Moon Animal Parade is great and it is way better then Tree of Tranquility. So thats it and I'm glad I could be the first reviewer. :) Sorry if it's longer then you expected. I hope other great Harvest Moon games come out in the future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harvest Moon- Animal Parade

posted by maseNjess (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, let me start by saying two things. One, this is only the third Harvest Moon game I've ever played, so if I seem amazed by something most Harvest Moon games do, forgive me. Second, I only got this game today, and have only played it for a few hours, I am by no means an expert on the ins and outs of it.
Cons- First off, You can't change the camera angles, you're stuck with what the game gives you in that area. This annoys me greatly, but I suppose I'll get over it in time. Second, the controls are slightly confusing at first, sometimes I still have to push a few buttons to remember where my sickle is. Third is that when you're watering or using any of your other tools, sometimes it's a bit hard to know where you're going to end up using them at. I think I've watered more land next to my crops than actual crops thus far. Finally, the music has only changed on the one rainy day I've had thus far. Otherwise it's just been the same old thing, I really wish they would have taken the time to think up of a couple other soundtracks to put on it.
Now for the pros. I love that you can interact with animals, I've never played a Harvest Moon game before that you can go up and pet a random cat or dog. The storyline is amazing so far, and I'm looking forward to finding out what happens next. You can tell what your animals need, which is great so you don't wind up wasting any more time than you need to. Also, at the end of the day you not only find out how much money you get, but you find out where you get it from. It won't just pop up a screen that says I made 1,000g that day, but it says also where that 1,000g came from, how much of it was from crops, ect. That made me exceedingly happy. Finally, I like how on the map you can see which places you've been to and which you haven't.
Overall I think it's a great game, and what else could I expect from Harvest Moon? I will definitely be buying it, when I get a little more money. I give it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so fun!!!!

posted by gamer333 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After getting married having 2 children and having more money than i need i noticed i really didn't do much of the story and it was the 4th year! This game has so much story and took a very long time. Some worth it some not at all you may want to build your life before anything or you may fail with being so busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great! Again! (:

posted by xxShayxD (EUSTIS, FL) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I've ALWAYS been a fan of Harvest Moon(: , And its like they are listening to their reviews, and upgrading the game to its best every-time! (: . The game-play is always fun!

Kids - In Animal Parade you can have a SURPRISING TWO kids(:! Boy&Girl! Its a GREAT addition! Now..When can we have the third? (; .

Animals - I haven't beat the game, but there are MANY animals! The horses run A LOT faster than the rest though! I did NOT like how my animals got SICK so easily though!

Festivals - They have decreased in number, sadly.. But, they have more events, in each individual Festival, And they are much more colorful, and enjoyable(: . Eventually, you get tired of them though, and you're like "Ehh, I'll just sleep through today."

Crops - A LOT more crops then normal! Its GREAT! I love planting a bunch of crops, and making my husband water them all! HAHA! (: !

Marriage - In my opinion, you earn hearts A LOT faster than the older Harvest Moons(: . I love the marriage system though(: , Your husband/wife can actually do CHORES in this game! (:!

Overall I LOVE the game, and I am hoping for yet ANOTHER Harvest Moon! Just with a more In-Depth story! (The game can go on FOREVER.) Harvest Moon reminds me a lot of Sims, So.. I think there are still ways they can improve it, Like having an at-least maximum of five kids, So everyone can choose their amount, Because some people might like a lot of kids to do all the chores.. Haha!

As they upgrade, they should add more crops and A LOT more Festivals! I look forward to Festivals! Maybe more fish! And a bigger map?.. (That could be bad, and good..) Defiantly more Bachelors and Bachelorettes! (So we can spend even MORE time choosing, HAHA!)
- - - -
Gameplay: 10.

Story: 8, More IN-DEPTH story, I think. Considering the game can go on a while. (Need something to look forward to, once you've raised a family!)

Graphics: 9, Bigger map?..

Overall: 10.(;

I loved the game! And LOVE the camera addition!FUN GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

harvest moon

posted by kznx04 (BARTLETT, IL) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i've only played this game for a short period of time and love it! if u read every clue and step you soon get the comcept a couple of times i got frustrated because i did not read the instructions the game told me but i figured it out because my fairy Flinn told me. you can go to town, tucan island, church and other farms! oh,u also raise your own livestock pigs,sheep,cows thats stuff u can also plant to! the seasons change though so be carful! this is a game i recamend to people who love adventure,mystery's and doing deeds to get u somewhere. example: i had to get Bo his toolbox so he could fix the bridge but then he was hungary so i had to get him food. this is definetly my kind of game not everyones though. but to me this is a perfect game maybe when i get the money I'll buy it! XD Harvest Moon is a very great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

harvest moon animal parade

posted by serenityan (LA VISTA, NE) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

have this game and love it. it is entertaining and the added story makes the game more interesting. would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harvest Moon Done It Again

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. I like how they made the days longer and it has pretty good graphics and it gives you more to do in one day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad day!

posted by Auheye (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I really like most harvest moon games, this however is an exception. It is slow and laggy. The graphics are pathetic and overall the game is the same old same old. It feels just like the the previous one except for a few changes, the days are longer and the town is def. interesting compared to other harvest moon games. Unfortunately the tired characters, poopy graphics and the horrible lag (even when you are just running around) makes it almost unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid graphics, but for kids only....

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The game is made well. Graphics and schematics are well made, and the story process is laid out pretty well and organized.

But the game is really at the same level as telletubbies (sp?), or of a barbie franchise. As an adult gamer, I was really dragging myself to get through the game due to how Disney-ish the game was.

If you're an adult gamer, Rune Factory is a much better bet for you. Trust that I say it's for more mature audiences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A warning

posted by capt_dad (NEW SWEDEN, ME) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

We rented this game because we thought it would be a farm simulation. It is but also much more, including heavy magic throughout. So if that sort of thing bothers you don't rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ok!

posted by hipchick (STARKE, FL) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Harvest Moon: Animal Parade, is a good game! It had good graphics, and it was fun to play. the camera wasn't horrible, but I wished I could've moved it, though. My only problem was, I didn't know what to do at some points, especially after you just got the bridge up. But, I think its definitly worth a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by babygirl1743 (HARRISON, MI) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not the best in the series

posted by nickk4 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I'm a fan of the Harvest moon games, but this one is just bad compared to the prequal and I have reasons. The first problem comes with the story, heres the story in a nuthshell, go to bell somethings wrong go on overcomplicated fetch quest ring bell rince and repeat. This prosses gets realy redundent and tedius very fast. The game also has a problem with overpricing every thing,"wanna upgrade your house in Tree of Tranquility only 5000g wanna upgrade in Animal Parade only 25000!!!." All that aside, the game is decent at best, ring bells woohoo!!! I guess they save there storyline thoughts on rune factory. this game is bad just play Tree of Tranquility

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Harvest Moon is...

posted by Silentsabe (LYNNWOOD, WA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I've always been a fan of harvest moon. Being able to pick crops, raise animals, and even wed. These aspects have all been consistent in making, not a blockbuster great game, but rather a good game.

With Animal Parade, they expand on this and create an even bigger environment and story to support. You are still raising crops and still doing your normal everyday life stuff. The major problem I found with this game is that everything started to slow down at certain points. I have played other harvest moons on the PS3 and I don't get as much as a problem. This may be because the WII cannot handle that big a town all at once. If rating was based purely on gameplay, I would probably rate it near an 8, but because of this, having fun with this game is kinda hard, but it might be because I'm used to faster games.

Rating for this game.
Gameplay: 8
Setting/Graphics: 7
Characters: 6.5
Functionality: 4
Replayability: If they were able to fix the frame rate issue and some how speed up the game then sure, otherwise it would definitely be a big maybe.

Overall: 6/10
Not a bad game, but not perfect either. If I had to choose, I would either play one of the older ones on gamecube or Rune Factory for the PS3, not saying you shouldn't try it out. Just try it out FIRST before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Great Harvest Moon Game!

posted by Ipownyu (KASSON, MN) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I rented this game because I had played every single Harvest Moon game in the series and I of course had to try this one. Well I loved it and then I realized that I could keep it because it was limited. :( Then I went to the local target and they had two copies for 15 dollars so I bought one and sent gameflys back. The game has amazing graphics and the town is very lively. I didn't get married yet but I am trying to complete the story. The game has a good story and its very beleivable. If you are a fan of simulation games then this is a 100% rent for you.

(Oh and I heard this game had a lot of glitches, I have not experienced one.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by rlcorindia (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game was so good, we went out the next day and bought it. It is a challenge to both me and my husband, and we have played a Harvest Moon game before. We are doing all we can not to check online guides or look for spoilers anywhere. The guide that came with the game was better than in the previous game we own. It was a nice change!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tougher than Tree of Tranquility

posted by davidbonatz (RESTON, VA) Aug 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

In Short:
Harvest Moon Veterans: This is a solid Harvest Moon game I would recommend renting it.
People new to Harvest Moon: Rent Tree of Tranquility (ToT) first, if you like it then I would recommend this, otherwise avoid this game.

In Long:
There has been a lot of balancing done (not all of it good or done well) in this game when it comes to money, tools, sellables, and game progression. Stuff in general is far more expensive in this game compared to ToT, and thus will slow the game progression down (slightly if you are a veteran or greatly if you are new). The plot is no where near as easy to mess yourself up in like it was in ToT (In ToT if you missed an item it could take you 2-4 seasons before you had another chance to get it). If you are a pro and want to maximize your money and time you will find it is much harder to do since some of the nicer seeds are harder to come by and the mechanics have been shifted to rely more on random chance (which seems to be very bursty, in that you will get extremely lucky or extremely unlucky not much in between).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well.....

posted by harvester (NELSON, NE) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Pros:
Graphics they are good for a wii
Gameplay like always harvest moon has great gameplay
Music its okay but it gets old
Cons:
the bells are too hard too hard to get
the people act even more kiddish in this game
it can get really tedious going back and forth
the loading screens they sucked
the island is obnoxiously big

overall i give this game an 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

harvest moon animal parade

posted by arpitj1224 (CHELMSFORD, MA) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

It is very hard to get the bells but other than that it is a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Old But Good

posted by Mandie82 (MEDFORD, OR) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

There is almost nothing different in this game than all the other previous Harvest Moons. If you own one of them, don't buy this one, but rent it and play for a little while, because it is fun. :o)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harvest moon: animal parade

posted by awesomekid (KIRKLAND, WA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Journey into the land of Harmonica Town! Play as a boy or a girl and ring the 5 bells of the land to revive the land. Get married and have a happy family or a prosperus farm! so enjoy the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's pretty good.

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

pros:

you can ride other animals besides horses

you can customize your character

cons:

theres sikness gas in the mine

theres a lag in sertain spots

their mouths dont move when they talk

the bells are hard to find

Overall fun if you like farming games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by PunkGamer7 (EVERETT, WA) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

After renting this it wasn't exactly what I expected. I don't like the camera view in the game it's almost a third person up in the air camera. It's difficult getting money and I really dislike the whole stamina deal, but it's fun. I had to restart my game because I didn't do it correctly. Currently I am on Summer, day 1, Year 1, with the Red, Yellow, Blue, and working on the Green bell. I have to use Walkthroughs to know what to do next. What is most annoying is the rate you get hearts in this game. Throughout Spring I only got 2 hearts with my potential marriage girl, mind you there is 28 days in Spring on this game, and this was with going to her area everyday, giving her good gifts, talking to her, and using a second Wii remote over her to increase heart speed. I still give it a 9 though. If you're looking for a new type of Harvest Moon game, you should definitely rent this! And if you need some help, here's a site on the people, marriage, walkthroughs, kids, etc.

h t t p : / / w w w . f o g u. c o m then click on animal parade

I will definitely buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

harvest moon now even kiddy er

posted by backfire (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

i love harvest moon it was a game of farming and family but now its getting very kiddy its cool but not like the other if its for wii or ds its really dum

thats my opinon 6 out of 10 i dont thinks its worth buying but i wouldnt rent it ether

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse