Rent Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2, GBA, Wii, PS3, DS
GF Rating
6.2

2454 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best HP game in a while.

posted by Peanuts (MIAMI, FL) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

61 out of 64 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First, I will adress the only thing I didn't like about this game: the camera. It doesn't neccessarily prevent you from functioning, but it can get frustrating.

Now, having played every single Harry Potter game out there (and selling Goblet of Fire after playing it for 15 minutes), I can honestly say that this is THE gem of the series so far.

Everything from the ingenius way in which you cast spells, to discovering every nook and cranny in a humongous Hogwarts. The gameplay took a serious leap forward in terms of innovation and entertainment.

And, did I mention that there are no loading times? You can walk through every door, through every passageway, down every stair, all without pausing for one second. That alone is worth a score of 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much better than I expected

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Aug 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The previous Harry Potter games haven't looked very good to me. They look like they were made only for little kids. This newest installment of the series finally looks like some effort went into making it enjoyable for the over 12 crowd. That's not to say it isn't still held back in school just a bit for the kids to be able to get into it. But it is a nice middle ground. The graphics are certainly much better than any previous game and the fun of wandering around Hogwarts is great - at first. The one thing I don't like about this game so far is that it takes a long time to travel around to different areas of the castle grounds. The Marauders Map helps considerably, but it still becomes tedious. But sometimes I haven't felt like accomplishing the next goal in the game anyway, and I just wander around exploring. You can talk to students and interact with the paintings in Hogwarts. You have a storyline that mirrors the book pretty exactly that you can follow mostly by attending classes or meeting with certain people that you are prompted to locate on the grounds.

Spellcasting is fun, although there are moves to memorize for each spell. To cast a spell, you move your right stick in a certain pattern after targeting your intended victim or object. There are spells to levitate objects, set them on fire, or to repair them.

The voice acting is good, with some of the voices done by the actors from the movies. You can always tell when it isn't the actual actor, but it is a fair enough representation for those characters that I have no complaints.

With the evolution of the games in this series progressing forward, I look forward to seeing what they will come up with for the next two games in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 if you are into Potter. 5 or 6 if you're not.

posted by Fastmode (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a big Harry potter nerd, so this game was pretty darn fun for me. Lots to do and does a great job of making you feel like you are exploring Hogwarts. If you don't like Potter, it's gonna be harder to forgive some repetitive puzzles, wonky camera and sometimes unresponsive controls. But I played it nonstop for 12 hours, although in fairness I got stuck for a long time trying to win a chess minigame.

Well worth the rental. Not so much the $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best harry potter game EVER!!!!!!

posted by hyphey (WINCHESTER, VA) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well i just finished HPOTP and i have to admits it's a great game. Now the cons: the right stick spells aren't that responsive at times and sometimes give you the wrong spell which can be frustrating, also the footprints are hard to follow so half the time you don't know where your going, also the cutscens need better graphics. And the pro: THE GRAPHICS(enough said), the School(Hogwarts like you've never seen it), also the the achievements are a + too. Now what should have been but wasn't, there should have been the broomstick and quidditch matches, there should have been classes instead of the quests, and there should have been a longer story that resembles the book not the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let's be reasonable

posted by Atziluh (FORT WAYNE, IN) May 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game rated E. This is also a game based on a children's story (regardless of the fact that quite a few adults like the series too). As an adult, this game is way too easy. Any wizard duel you engage in can be lost at almost no expense, save the inconvenience of walking back to wherever it was you lost. As a kid between 7 and 12 years of age, this is a fantastic game.

If you're looking for some mindless fun as an adult, this is a nice game to pick up. The chess matches are pretty fun and truly, one can never get tired of zapping random students as they run by you.

If you're an adult looking to give the niece or nephew something to do that doesn't involve nagging you when they come over, this is a good game to have on hand.

I rated this game as a 5 since being an adult, it doesn't present a challenge, but the content was not poorly done. The music is enjoyable, the environments are excellently crafted, and if you don't get everything you can the first time you go through a game, the ability to run about and collect all those things after completing the main story is quite handy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gamers if you want some points........

posted by Josh233 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just beat Harry Potter and wow im amazed i got so many gamer points from this game my score went from 1025 to 2345, I cannot beleive it. I thought this game would suck and stuff my friend told me it wan unbelievable with amazing graphics. Trust me on this one it's GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than it's getting credit for

posted by RedneckJoe (FREELAND, MD) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This is a good rental, and many easy gamescore points can be achieved from playing. Looks cool, some flaws, but fun and great graphics. If you have not seen movie/read book the storyline will make no sense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Next Gen Harry Potter

posted by MaskedOne (DENVER, CO) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was rough. From the tedious objectives to the horrible controls, to the ridiculously slow A.I. There are countless times when you find the biggest enemy in the game are your two "team mates" blocking your way or trapping you on a stairwell. Not being able to control the camera was a horrible idea, although they did try to add a first person view. The time spent on the mission objectives is crazy. You spend more time running around then you do actually "dueling" or casting any magic. So unless you are a hardcore Harry Potter fan or just want some gamer points, this game is definitely not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Movie was horrible.the game not so much...

posted by justgot360 (DOVER, DE) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Okay for all the people that read this book will be disappointed on how bad the director messed up on the movie. Now as far as the game it doesnt really go off of the movie entirely. One great addition that you will notice is free roam throughout ALL of hogwarts. Anywhere any door no loading screens. Graphics are almost like OBLIVION's. Also the new spell casting system is great and if you forget a spell its just in the start menu. Now for game play some tasks really seemed liked they were really easy repetitive and were just there to fill in for the story. Your main task is recruitig the DA, and start the lessons. There are mini games along the way and lots of exploring. Also, EA chucked the flavored beans that you had to collect in the other harry potter games, and started with discovery points you cast spells at random stones in the wall and things happen and you discover passage ways.You then earn discovery points. Which is kinda cool. Overall this is a solid rent, try it out all of you hp fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WINGARDIUM BOREDIOSA!!!!!

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Be amazed, as you do chores and keep hogwarts cleaned!! There is little here that i find amusing about doing this in a game that is really supposed to live up with it's successful hand- written adventures. I can say though that it has some actors from the movie, some of the music, and awesome star wars-like effects. Still, there's little here that will exite you outside of being in Harry Potter's world. Still though, i can still say that this game will still amaze you in various parts, unless you hate doing chores, than this is still a game that can grow legs(you can still enjoy the game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dull and Repetitive

posted by Jkwasny9 (PORT HUENEME, CA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game, based off of the movie and book of the same name, does not quite deliver on what you would expect from a title bearing the name of Harry Potter. For the most part, I found the game very disengaging. Most of the time you spend in the game will be walking from one mundane task to another. Some things about the game are 'ok' though.

There are what you could call 'side quests' which basically involve you interacting with the environment with your arsenal of spells. The only downside to this is your limited number of spells itself, and the repetitiveness of the activities. You are given tasks like 'move this here' or 'repair this' or 'clean this'. Most of the time I spent doing these things I felt somewhat like a janitor.

The duels are somewhat decent, although it seems odd at times that Dumbledore and Voldemort have the same spell casting ability as a fifteen year old kid.

Most fans of the books, or even the movies, will walk away wanting something more. The world of Harry Potter deserves quite a bit more than what it has been given. I give Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Harry potter and the Order of the wishy-washy.

posted by visago (DES MOINES, IA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played a lot of games over the years. And you think to yourself, this game really rocks, or man this really blows. But ya know what? There comes along a game, not often, but every once in a while, theres one that really does truly blow. And this fellow gameflyers is that one. Getting spells to work by stick movement, just doesn't work more than 20% of the time. And, AND! I fell asleep while playing (didn't know 'arry 'ad a sleepin' spell). So I wouldn't bother unless you're the type to whip out their wands and hit me with a PATRONUS!charm. On the upside when you can get spells to work it can be cool. And the visuals were awesome, but pretty doesn't a good game make. Later on and keep that Q full.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who made this?!

posted by M0taR0lla (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My theory is that this catastrophe was creation of a freshman student at either DeVrie or I.T.&T. Tech that was submitted as a final project in their not-for-credit basic programming class. This hypothesis was based on 47 horrible minutes of playtime

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game

posted by bearsfan (SMITHS GROVE, KY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I couldn't decide on a 7 or an 8. It is really fun exploring Hogwarts and seeing how close it is to the movies. The graphics and combat spells look really good. I enjoyed my time with this game and if you are a Harry Potter fan you should enjoy playing this game. The downsides are that I don't know if you can die and not many fights to even find out in. The other is that the main mission is pretty short it took me 2 or 3 days and only playing a few hours a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Harry Potter Fans look no more!

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 35 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

we'll this has to be the best Harry Potter Game of the Series so Far i tried this Game out cause im always looking for new Games to Play and this Game was pretty Fun for a Movie Game my Favorite Feature is that there is no Loading times lol the best, i can walk through a door no problem and not have any loading screens popup but the Camera Angles do get annoying in this one but this Game is Definitely a Buy for any Harry Potter Fans or atleast a Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid game

posted by diedie (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this gamed was horrible. it was no fun at all. It was also way to easy. another thing i didn't like was how in some places in the game it zooms out really far and you cant see where you are going. It also doesn't follow the story very well. the one good thing was when you are looking for somebody you can go to the marauders map(magical map)and click on the person you are going to find and it guides you with foot steps on the floor. I wouldn't recommended it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the game play is weak

posted by craisins (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is based upon a story that has already been told. You can never have a good game based upon a story that has already been told. In contrast, that is the beauty of a game like Oblivion. You have all kinds of plot points in Oblivion and you get to create your own story. Not so here. The game play was really poor in Harry Potter too. It is as though they threw it together to make a buck off the movie. The book came out a long time before the movie however. They could have started working on it way ahead of time. People bought this game on the strength of the Harry Potter Franchise. I hope a little more thought will go into the next one. The books are out now. Do not wait till the movie is "in the can" to start creating a game. You guys know what the characters look like, etc. And don't make them so stiff next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CRUCIO!!!

posted by TheBoat (LAKE OSWEGO, OR) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game caused me enormous amounts of pain. This is by far the worst game I have ever played! who wants to go clean up an ancient magic school... not I! most of it is cut scenes and there weren't to many battles. this is an injustice to the HP world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cannot be beatin!

posted by GermSquirt (GRAYSON, KY) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2008

There are various glitches that need to be addressed that never will at this point to achieve 100% completion and some achievements! Otherwise, a very pretty lengthy family friendly game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the controls.....

posted by Aequitas76 (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

aaaaaaarggh!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by Kurrad (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

For it's time, this is an incredible movie experience game. I tend to like these movie franchise games, and I am a HUGE fan of the books and movies so this game kept me entertained, and I actually enjoyed the simple collection tasks. I gave it a 9 because it's not perfect, but I had so much fun wondering around Hogwarts!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Design, Bad Gaming

posted by DastardlyDitch (WEST JORDAN, UT) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This isn't a terrible game, really. But I would never say it was good, either. The design of the castle and the level of detail you sometimes find is impressive. So if you are a Potter fan, you might enjoy seeing the layout of the castle and grounds (based on the movies, not the books).

But the gameplay itself is pretty much monotonous filler. The map function can be finicky and they have a serious lack of 'spells'. It seems obvious the people making it had no real knowledge of the books, only the films, which was distracting for someone who knows the actual canon.

There are way too many cut scenes that attempt to rush the story forward, and the story itself only takes up a little over 50% of the game. The rest is extended gameplay that loosely ties into small elements of the movie. Like finding Luna's spread out possessions.

As for the characters, having Ron and Hermione constantly behind and bumping into you gets old very fast. Especially since they have very little function; most the time, they don't even provide helpful information. All they do is obstruct the camera view or block your way.

Another thing is the constant zoom in and out and the inability to properly change the camera angle most of the time. This gets annoying almost immediately. You can shift it a little sometimes, but it will revert back the moment you move. Sometimes you can't tell what you are doing because of this.

All in all, this was not a good game. It was just a way to cash in on the success of the films, with no regards to it as an homage to the original books. It wasn't even taking into account the fact that it was a game. It was just an interactive recap of the movie. Even the 'rewards' section is filled with unlocked DVD extra content like crew and actor interviews.

If you have a kid who really loves Potter, check this one out. But don't expect too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HP and TOP

posted by MudbloodGleek (OAK HARBOR, OH) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is an overall okay game. I only found a few things a tad bit annoying.
Like the fact that the castle is huge! It took me almost five minutes just to get from point a to point b.
There was also the little issue with Ron and Hermione becoming road blocks. They would just stand there while you're trying to run pass and block the way.
Also how many people actually beat the fourth champion at gobstones. I tried about fifty times and finally gave up. Either that or throw the controller at the TV screen.
But all in all it kept to the story line and it took me more than a few days to get through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Woo hoo

posted by Agent_Paralyzer (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is a good game to play also its very easy to get most achievements. 10/10 for the loading time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time playing this

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

This game isn't as good as the book and the movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse