Rent Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for PS3
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

828 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Fun Game

posted by Damack (NORTH PORT, FL) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My Wife and I loved this game was a bunch of fun to play. We loved all the little things you could do while playing and it really made you feel like you were in the movie. A definably should try for anyone that likes the movies or would want to see them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great story+Great characters=Great game

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I immediately got this game when it came out. I had been longing to play this after playing the last games and reading the books/watching the movies. The graphics (as always on PS3) are very good though not amazing. The game itself however is very fun. You have a lot more freedom in this game compared to previous Harry Potters. If you like the books and movies you will be much more into the game than if you did not like them. There are new spells,items, and people which is always something to look forward to. Because of the addictingness of this game it seemed to have been over shorter than it was. Overall I highly recommends getting this game if you are a Harry Potter fan like myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

When rating this game i was unsure what to put.

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The concept of the game is really cool. it has many sub plots that u have to complete and the look of the game is amazing. The animation of the game is very choppy though and the views are hard to get use to. What i mean about the views are, when u select an object that u are going to do magic too it keeps changing the view and then u are not selected on that particular object. The game has a really slow pace to it and i kind of lost interest in it fast. i think that i will give it another chance before i send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hope it does better in N.E.W.T. year...

posted by GameFan (RED ROCK, AZ) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

HP:OOTP is a decent show for a movie based game. You'll search the castle grounds for members of the DA, helping them finish tasks along the way. Wand control using the sixaxis could be firmer in delivery, but the analog stick works alright. The graphics are nice, camera angles are poor sometimes and sometimes the controls feel a bit stiff. What would be great is if they took the time to actually craft the next game off the book more, and blend the game bully into it. Lessons actually taking place, side missions to help out fellow griffindors, quittich matches. This has room to make for a very good game with everything that goes on at hogwarts. But WB/EA will probably just stick to a quick job that reaps in loads of profits based off of name recognition... sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

posted by factor8 (PARKER, CO) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are brilliant; but, sadly that's the only think this game has going for it. The camera angels stick and often you need to discover something that is just out of sight. There are dozens of completely irrelevant side quests to take up time; but if ignored, you'll find it's possible to complete the game in as little as 5 hours. Once again; EA's put out a Dudley!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HARRY POTTER AND THE ORDER OF THE PHOENIX REVIEW

posted by GothGamer (SEMINARY, MS) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game a lot.The school is HUGE!The graphics are really good.But, that is pretty much all I can say about it.The problems I had with it were that most of the time I would be searchin for something for hours and I could not do Snape's side mission and that was all Harmione talked about.Go to the library this, we should check the library that.When I did, guess what I found, NOTHING!!!I hope they take more time on the next one, but at least this one is a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is Horrible

posted by izyco1 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

WOW i never write reviews on games but this game is just that bad. It felt like i was play a maid going around fixing stuff and cleaning. seriously was ea trying to make a game for maids cause if they were they succeeded and what with the battles even if you lose the game continues. that is just dumb then what's the point of making a game. then the rest of the game is going to one point of the map to another oh and they made a sorry attempt to make you feel like your playing tomb raider or something i don't know maybe its just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Best of the series so far. Not saying much though!

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I admit it is the best of the series so far. This game allows you to do alot more exploring of the castle and the total size of the environment is surprisingly large. However, I will only recommend this game to two type of people: 1. Harry Potter fans to the end and 2. People who want to play something to pass the time and not worry about a challenge.

Pros: Large "sandbox" like environment. Shading, textures, overall ENVIRONMENT graphics good -- human character graphics bad. A fun way to re-live the story.

Cons: You can't really die or loose the game. The task given to you are more like Saturday chores. There are no puzzles in the game that require more than an elementary education.

Overall, fun for passing time, especially in July, or earning "i love my kid" points from the wife.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but glitchy

posted by ciccarone (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty cool game, nice gameplay and interesting missions. You can play a full game of chess! How cool is that. The cutscenes are extremely glitchy though and almost takes the fun out of the game. All in all though, it's a keeper for fans of this type of mystical, childhood-like genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love the new features but battles not so much

posted by DarkDove (BRONX, NY) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have played all but one Harry Potter(first game), and I have enjoyed playing them all. This game is different from the other before it in the fact that you can now freely(for the most part) roam the halls and grounds of Hogwarts. In the previous games I had always wanted to go though the school just looking and finds its sercet passageways. I also liked that you actually get to do spells a little more realistic by using the right analog stick to move your wand in certain motions. The one thing about this game that I very did't like were the lack of good battles. The last battle is the lamest. But for the lack of good battles and no quidditch(Harry didn't play in the 5th movie so it really didn't have a place in this game but I still missed it) the fun came in just running around the school. If you like games were you have to roam around looking for people and items well then you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thank Goodness for ORDER In Harry Potter's World..

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It seems that with every movie that comes out there is a game for it and usually lisences have not been the best voer the years. Ib the world of harry potter however... Games have gotten better with every version, Order of the phoenix is no exception. The game truly immerses you into the experience and every is beautiful and exhuberant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Gameplay, technical glitches make it just OK

posted by obfuscode (GALWAY, NY) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game was quite fun. There were a number of technical glitches, doors wouldn't open on first push, some clipping issues and like others have said, the camera seems to move itself into poor viewing angles. All in all I found this game quite enjoyable and played through to 100% completion. Unlike other % completion games, this one at least gives you a reason to complete it. I won't give away the ending but don't expect something spectacular but it was satisfying that they gave us /something/ after hitting 100%. The sub-quests were lots of fun, I had to look a few things up (to get 100% discovery on a few areas) and the mini-games are pretty fun albeit frustratingly hard (traditional gobstones). If you like exploring, puzzles and are OCD about doing all the little things in a game, rent this one, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix PS3

posted by splitfire (PENN VALLEY, CA) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Ok it am ok game if you like the Harry potter series. It got stuck on my twice. I dont want to ruin it for you but if it gliches just save and restart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wifey Had To Buy It

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Me personally I don't play games like this but my wife wanted me to rent it for her. After a few days of game play, she went out and brought it because it wasn't available here for purchase. It was either that or hold the game until gamefly sent a alert for game buy. I wasn't having it, slow down the process of other games comin. I don't think so....LOL! But all and all, this game looks very interesting and if wifey went out and brought it, then its a good game because she doesn't do the video game thing often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harry Potter fan Review

posted by rstilwel (PORT RICHEY, FL) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Being a big fan of the books and movies I naturally rent all of the games and I have to say that the visuals on this game are amazing. Hogwarts looks very really and there are no loading times in between rooms which is a huge plus. The camera angles are ok and the story is good. The only thing I really disliked about this game was no quiditch but I do not mind because they are just trying to stick to the story which is much more important to me. If you haven't read the book or seen the movie the story line will be confessing because they fast forward through a lot of the story line to get back to hogwarts and other playable parts. over all this game is definitely good enough to rent and a buy for really big Harry Potter fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

harry potter fun time

posted by uglysalmon (CARLSBAD, CA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

+:great for potter fans, okay gameplay, vivid landscapes, easy to pack up.

-:ridiculously long "jogs" between tasks across campus,spell misreads, excessive skills needed to complete tasks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you love Harry Potter you should give it a try.

posted by Mark22036 (WILLIAMSON, NY) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

As a fan of the Harry Potter books and movies, I thought this game was great. The plot and the missions were interesting enough but not great. The game play was a bit like an older generation games with puzzles, and search missions. However, being able to walk the halls of Hogwarts or visiting Hagrids hut... makes this game totally worth playing if you love the Potter films. Going do and seeing Snape's potion dungeon, or just hanging out in the Griffendore common room and playing chess with Dean Thomas makes you feel like your at Hogwarts. Some of the painting talk to you, the staircases move.. AND Hogwarts is exactly as it is in the Order of the Phoenix movie. If you like Harry Potter, give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the 5th harry potter

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

in this game i like the story and the voice acting and going around and looking at hogwarts. but the controls take some time to get use too and if you dont have time to play this game dont get it. it's hard getting around hogwarts since its big and the map sucks so you have to follow these footprints ( cough silent hill 2 loading screen ) wich are small. so get the game if you have time to play and you like the movie or and the book.
a 5 out of ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hogwarts

posted by trancegame (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

Im not that into the movies but I give the game a 5. I want to play games that arnt just all killing and this game is that. I got about half way. The games biggest problem was the camara. While sometimes its "Brillant", other times it is awfull! I think people that are crazy about the movies will like this. I did feel like I was at Hogwarts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very boring game

posted by Haseeb (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

it is hard to find out where ur going wasting ur time and this game is a total headache

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Harry Potter and the Order of The Phoenix

posted by ViolentJay (DAYTON, NV) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

It was a very good it just some of the stuff you had to do was very stale(means boring). I like the old Harry Potter games better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WoW

posted by Kanzaki (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The game itself is very short and very easy. There is not much to do. Only one boss fight and it is waaaay generic. If your looking for action you won't get it here. This game is great for kids. Graphics are awesome but, I believe game play has been sacrificed for the excellent graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfectly Entertaining Time killer

posted by redpress (STUART, FL) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I loved this game, I wouldn't really buy it since you can only really enjoy it once, unless you want to play over and over to see how quickly you can finish everything. I liked it because it is simple puzzles and missions and I am not exceptionally co-ordinated with 99% of the games out there. I can only operate like 4 buttons at a time max. I like the detail compared to the movies. I'm sure it won't be enjoyable for everyone but for those of us who don't require constant and continual visual over stimulation and 9 million button moves all at the same time to kill, maim, dismember, blow up and/or exsanguinate our opponent it works quite nicely to just sit and explore Hogwarts and cast spells on nasty bullies and just kill some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An OK Play

posted by LordSion (ELMENDORF AFB, AK) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

This game has a bit more exploration than its more recent titles. Hermoine and Ron tend to get in the way a lot! The way you cast spells different and can rather be somewhat complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is it even a game?

posted by tiagoam (SUNNYVALE, CA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

Laughable quests:

- fetch a book

- go talk to Hermione

- play marbles

One animation cut-scene every minute or so.

So half the time you're lost or trying to do some unimportant task, and half the time you're watching an animation.

The only fun in the whole game is jynxing the bypassers in Hogwarts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse