Rent Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for Wii
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

1440 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Controls: Great; Content: Ehhh...

posted by poke4597 (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, another exciting year at Hogwarts school of Witchcraft and Wizardry has arrived for not-so-young-anymore Harry Potter! And the "Harry Potter" series has finally entered next-generation gaming!

The best thing about this game is definitely the new control system for the Wii. Spell casting has been made exciting and five times more realistic thanks to the intuitive new Wii controls! Instead of pushing buttons, you rotate, thrust, and shake the Wii Remote and Nunchuk to cast spells both in and out of combat.

Now, the content and game play is up for review. Well, this game contains a huge model of Hogwarts for you to run around and explore! Well, trust me; you'll be doing A LOT of running around and exploring during the course of this game. The dueling system of this game is fun, but it doesn't get a lot of use! At times, finding someone to duel over and over can be more fun than running off to meet Luna or Dean or whoever to do ANOTHER favor that will lead you to do something else for someone else, well...

OK, the Wii is no 360 or PS3, but they tried to brush up on the graphics for this one. I think there is a lot of detail, and while the frame rate is not SUPER smooth, it's not that bad! I think these might be some of the best Wii game graphics.

So all in all, my final score
Controls: 10!!
Graphics: 7.8
Content: 4.7
Game play: 5.6

If you LOVE Harry Potter like me, this would be a great buy (or rent), but if you're looking for the heart-pounding action of neck and neck wizard duels every second, then this may not. Thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun, but without a point.

posted by McGamers (Albany, NY) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So this follows the book and movie. Great if you're a Harry Potter fan (like the two of us are). That's the same as all the other Harry Potter games, so no surprise there. There is one inherent problem though. The story seems really broken in the games. It seems to jump to certain spots and skips big details. It focuses too much on some things that just don't matter. And in certain spots, regardless of what you do (e.g. the Occlumency lessons), the plot will strictly adhere to... well... the plot.

There's also a lack of action here. You're wandering around Hogwarts for the most part rounding stuff and people up for your DA. Occasionally there is a fight or duel and of course you have the big fight at the Ministry, but that's about it.

Oh wait... the game's ending... is there one? We finished the final fight and it went right back to Hogwarts. Here you are, back to finding things and stuff. SNORE....

The Wii's controls are cool for casting spells. It kind of puts you right into the game. The Wii remote and nunchuck can actually feel like a wand, and in some cases I found myself shouting out the spell name!! But that is just not enough to save this game.

So it's fun but with no point. If you're a Harry Potter fan, you're gonna go out and rent or buy this and the next ones anyway, but if you're not, it ain't worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun but i've seen better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like most games that are based on movies this game was terrible. The graphics were bad and the game play was weak. The music was great because it was from harry potter which is wonderful music. The story which is excellent in the movie is changed just enough in the game to make it terrible. I was unable to get past the first two "training" missions because they were so boring. Don't waste your time with this one. Rent the movie or read the book and you will have a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

posted by fynneus (EXCELSIOR, MN) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok. So I am a huge HP fan and couldn't wait to try this game. Maybe my expectations were too high. I made it through about 20 minutes of playing and sent the game back. The controls were really difficult to use, I couldn't control the wand to save my life! Maybe its me, but I'm glad I tried it before buying it for 30 bucks. I'm bummed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For use with a large screen only

posted by sm0ke555 (SALEM, OR) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Those of you who are blessed with a big screen TV to play your video games on may not have a problem with this at all. Others who have average size TV's may find that it is difficult to see at certain times within the game. Also not being able to change the angle of the camera view at most points in the game is frustrating as well. Also while you are in the map, the names and the places to visit are hard to read. On top of that most of the controls are not responsive 100% of the time. At best they are sluggish if they respond at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't rent this game....waste of time!

posted by lewis48377 (NOVI, MI) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big Harry Potter fan. I've read all the books and own all the movies but this game was really, really bad. If you want to play this game, just watch the movie but that is what half the game is story and not playing. The only positive thing I would say would be being able to run around Hogwarts. They really did a great job on the architectural aspect. Besides that, I have nothing good to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just A Horrible Game

posted by JJofHyrule (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really bad.Based on every harry Potter game that has come out this one has to be the worst.the spells are too hard to cast and the storyline is worse than the movie.Also when you play the game you can just click on your map and it shows you exactly where to go so basicly the game is run around,do something that has nothing to do with the book/movie and run around again.If youre looking for am magical adventure you would probaly have more fun playing with youre blind,deaf aunt in a game of marco polo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

posted by COuellette (BANGOR, ME) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a big Harry Potter fan, as I am, this is the game for you. It's pretty basic so it's good for kids and new Wii users. The game goes along with the movie, not the book, and can be frustrating because most of the interesting parts are cut scenes and you can't do anything. The castle is pretty confusing if you try not to use the Maurader's Map all the time. Some parts don't give enough information about the task you're trying to accomplish so you end up wandering around the castle lost until you figure it out.
Movement is pretty basic using the nunchuk and pointing your wand (wiimote) to cast spells. The camera angle gets annoying because it changes automatically and you have to quickly switch the way you're running or you'll end up going back and forth.
There is no life-bar for you or your enemies so you never really know when you're in trouble, or when you are getting close to winning a duel. There aren't very many fight scenes but you do get to explore the castle in depth.
As I said, over all okay, because I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan, but rather boring. Mostly just running around looking for different people or items for those people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for the Hardcore, but don't turn away fans of

posted by Pratoreus (MASSILLON, OH) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was very imaginative and really brought together Hogwart's, which could only be imagined before. Also fans will love unlocking movies to see the actual actors commentary of making the game. Aside from that the gameplay and fighting is not very exciting, and hardcore gamers may look the other direction when they find that you cannot lose in the game. You may be able to lose, but i have not found a way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's amusing

posted by hannahbear (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It’s a fun amusing game the graphics are decent, and I really like how story mentions things in the book in addition to the movie. But all in all I found it a little boring, maybe it's just my taste falling in love with video games on Halo 2. First person alien dismemberment, vs. waving a stick around to throw glowing balls. The tutorial lasted a really long time too; I kind of just want to learn the controls and almost immediately start fighting for my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

P.U.

posted by mufinbut (DULUTH, MN) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There was no game, it was like watching a community theater version of the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

harry potter

posted by nicekid299 (INGLEWOOD, CA) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i really liked the movied and the book but this game was almost impossible to play really hard to get into and i love the other 4 harry potter games i have them all but this being my first game out i was very disapointed in how bad it was i only wish that number 6 be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lush detail, boring gameplay

posted by malkav (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The environment is beautiful and the voice acting is generally top notch, but it does not make up for dull and repetitive gameplay. Over and over, similar task are assigned that are generally boring. The fighting is rare and when it does occur, the wand control is spotty. Also, the stakes are low because negative things don't happen when you fare poorly in battle. The main fun to be had in this game is exploring things on your own and smacking Hermione and Ron with objects, watching them fly across the screen as they grunt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very So So

posted by GenLedger (CHANTILLY, VA) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first Harry Potter game that I have played, and I must say, that I was a bit disappointed.

The Good:
Casting spells is very fun. The controls are fairly easy to remember, and the effects are pretty good.

The Bad:
With the amount of time in a game like this, they could have much more closely followed the book/movie. Why cut short the cinematic scenes on a game that takes 16+ hours to complete? It does lose the magic (pun intended) of the book/movie.

The controls are average at best, and sometimes infuriating. The forced camera angles can be very annoying as well.

The game play is basically Harry bribing members of the DA so that they will show up to DA meetings (I thought they WANTED to go to these meetings). Harry is either helping someone with their homework, looking for things, etc. It began to feel like I was doing Harry's errands.

The Ugly:
There is very little battling with others in the game. Harry gets into a few fights with Slitherin kids, and Dumbledore vs Voldemort is not exactly exciting.

Overall:
With a little more work and thought, this game could have been really good. The environment is massive and there is plenty to explore. With a better storyline, it would have been really fantastic. Let's start by using our magic for more than hanging paintings, repairing random items, lighting lamps at Hogwarts, and packing Ron's bags.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment

posted by Mrniceguy8 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was horribly disappointed with this game. The controls do not act as if it were a wand which defeats the purpose, but it's not like it would even matter because the controls are unresponsive anyway. Half the game is spent putting up pictures on walls, and wiggling around your wii-mote just to fix statues. Actual fights/duels are rare, and they are not even fun. This game is more of a chore than entertainment. Do no get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well... it's the best harry potter game...

posted by jebmcbee (ROSWELL, GA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But is that really saying anything? (short version: a lot of dull tasks and walking around with clunky controls and camera. Not a bad game but not one to keep anyone over 13 entertained for hours on end. The environments are great if you are into the books or movies.) I am a huge harry potter fan. The game is sort of like the book and loosly ressembles the book. If you have read or seen either then you'll easily follow the story line of the game. The controls on the wii have so much potential, but with no camera controls it feels a little frustrating. I didn't really feel like i was waving my wand to cast spells, i felt like i was sweating my lil behind off trying to pick up a picture to put on the wall, for quite a while. The graphics are pretty decent, not next gen, but about what you'd expect from the wii at this point. It is a lot of repetative and menial tasks that really aren't all that interesting, it does have a rewards system and collection side quests, but they don't really inspire to finish them. I didn't finish the game but i did play a substantial amount to base this review upon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potter

posted by motleyfool (LANSING, MI) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was anticipating this game quite a bit. I have played all the Harry Potter games and read the books. I am familiar with the gameplay that comes with these games. On the Wii the spells are too hard to pull off. I found myself trying to hard to complete certain motions for the spells to enjoy the rest of the game. I gave the game a low review because the core of the game involves the ablilty to complete the spells.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for everyone...

posted by cfangster (BRONX, NY) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unless you're a hardcore HP fan, it is not for you. Too much to learn before the fun starts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice but conflicting

posted by chefwarm (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

being that this is first potter game on the wii, the idea was promising but the conflicting controls made it rather nerve racking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Happy Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

posted by DrumMunkey (TAMPA, FL) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really boring! Slow, no fun! I am really open minded and not a huge critic about games, but it was just no fun. Granted I am 25 years old, but I dont think that a 10 year old would even like it. You dont really move the control like the wand , you just move it back and forth and things happen on their own. It is just wandering around and moving the control back and forth. I got bored fast. Thank God I only rented it and didnt waste my money on it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible game play!

posted by scpeachfuz (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know what I was expecting, but this game was horrible. I think my main complaint is the controls. They are very buggy and often don't do what you are attempting. It is also annoying that when you "point your wand" at something, the wand most of the time is pointing somewhere else. Most of the time when you are walking, Ron or Hermoine will get in your way, you'll get stuck in a doorway, or have some other obstruction that slows you down.

They try too hard to stick with the story line and it is flat out boring! Too much time is spent looking for DA members...

Don't waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A big disappointment

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was practicing my spells for 2 weeks before this came out, but it was all for naught because it was terrible.

Pros:
The wand moves are pretty cool. I didn't find them hard to use.
Non-linear gameplay like in HP3

Cons:
SLOW pased
The story is torn apart even more then in the movie
The acting, if you can believe it, is even worse then the movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Dull Expected Much More

posted by rayman (fernandina beach, FL) Aug 7, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game follows the movie pretty closely so if you have seen the film the game holds no excitement really. I wanted a little more action. This game is alot of running around and doing nothing in my opinion. Its more of a find the hidden object and puzzle type, I was hoping for some cool wizard dueling which just didn't happen near enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You would like this if you were 3 years old

posted by ArV1234 (SEAL BEACH, CA) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I honestly like Harry Potter Series, rented this game because it sounded like fun but now I have never hated a game more than this one. very boring game, challenges are difficult because you have to search all of Hogwarts for small stupid items. I returned this game 2 days later. Don't rent it, and if you bought it sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse