Rent Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, DS, Wii, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.4

1833 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

What happens when a children's game hits puberty..

posted by Lucasan (ALLSTON, MA) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

THe first obvious thing I'll say is that this is a game designed for kids. Yet as such, it wasn't that bad, and it doesn't feel as idiot-proof as other kids games. Perhaps this is due to the darker nature of the story, and the fact that the characters by this time are starting to come into their own. But either way, I didn't feel like I'd been completely robbed of my time after I finished.

However, the game difficulty is defintely geared toward the younger or more casual crowd (girls ;P), as this is a pretty easy game. It is also relatively short, maybe around 7 hours give or take to finish the single player. And as for multiplayer, well, there is a multiplayer, but it's only local (not Xbox Live) and only has one mode, one-on-one dueling. Definitely room for improvement there.

Otherwise, the game plays as a bit of a sandbox game (not quite Fallout 3, but there's definitely some nonlinear aspects to this game) and heavily relies on the use of three minigames: potion making, dueling and quidditch. So you can spend time exploring an area, improving your score in the minigames, or you can stick poignantly to the storyline. In this sense, the game will feel very familiar to anyone who played "Order of the Phoenix," which broke new ground by letting the player explore all of Hogwart's at their leisure. HPB gives you the same access, but it's hard to feel the same awe exploring the same building.

THe graphics are generally well-above average, though still suffer from time to time. The cut-scenes are well done and the developers have made sure you take the time to appreciate them because there's no way to skip them.

Any serious gamer will know what to expect coming into a game like this, and by those standards this is pretty darn good effort, aside from a few issues. However, if you're a Potter fan or looking for a game to rent for the kids, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boooooorrriiiiing....

posted by cashrules (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was fun at first, being able to explore the castle, fight duels, makes potions, play quidditch, and all, but thats about it. Theres nothing else to do expect do those things. Even if you follow the storyline, the same thing happens every time. You get assigned to a mission, you call Nearly-Headless Nick to guide you through the castle to your destination, you end up seeing Crab or Goyle or some other bad guy that you have to fight, beat them, and then get to your destination where there is a cut scene and a clip, where the character you just met tells their speal and then sends you off to your next mission, usually a qudditch match or making a potion. The game endlessly repeats itself until the story is over, and then you get to find all the crests, which involve, again, the same thing over and over again. Of the 150 crests hidden in the school, about half of them are mounted on a wall, in which you then have to use wingardium leviosa to throw something at it and hit it down. One quarter involves burning down a tree with incendio to then throw something else at it. The last quarter are hidden behind a gate, so you have the break the crest, levitate it out of the gate (it has to fit) and then repair it. The rest are simply sitting there in some part of the school. There are of course mini-crests which you can collect, when if enough are collected, can give you a full crest if you don't feel like finding them all. Basically, the game is repeat after repeat after repeat. Don't get me wrong though, it was worth the short 6 hour single player, but it wasn't worth buying AT ALL. Rent or don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Harry Potter part 6

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

For a kids game, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince does an excellent job of entertaining the non-kids who are fans of the books as well. I think the game actually falls somewhere in between in some cases. There are aspects that will be difficult for kids to master and there are parts that are way too easy for adults. Broom flight, for example, seemed just about right for an adult, but I couldn't help but wonder how successful a 10 year old would be at it.

Casting spells works great on the right joystick. You just have to remember the pattern for each spell. The offensive spells tend to be easier to remember than the ones used to levitate objects. That's probably best for the times you need to quickly defend yourself in battle or in a duel.

Graphics are fairly good. It depends on each character how they turned out. Harry looks ok. Ron looks weird. Luna Lovegood, however, looks exactly like the actress from the movies.

The only complaint I have about the game so far is how long it can take to get from one end of the castle to another. There are some portraits you can go through for shortcuts, but sometimes you still have to just run all over the world to get where you need to go. Nearly Headless Nick can be called to lead you to a place you aren't sure how to get to, and that's very helpful and much faster than last time. No more following slow moving footsteps on the ground. Nick is nice and quick.

The game level probably is a good fit for a teenager, just about the ages of some of the students in Hogwarts this time around. It's fun and follows the story to a tee. Add in side quests and puzzles between story development, and you get a good idea what to expect if you've read the book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is fun.

posted by vEvoLv (SARASOTA, FL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

25 out of 39 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is my first review for a game on here.
But I had to do one for this game, It's alot of fun and easy.
The achievements are easy as well..
Depending on your gaming skill this game can be completed in 4-7 hours.
Even after you complete the story, there is still alot of things to do like,
collect the rest of the crest,finish up the dueling,potions..clubs etc.
I recommend everyone to give this game a shot.
Don't believe others that say this game stinks, because it doesn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Harry Potter: And the Half Blood Prince

posted by Alexpuddy (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Alright, this is my first time writing a review since i am new to gamefly. Well, all i have to say about this game is that it was very fun and is the best Harry Potter videogame so far. The graphics are beyond compare to any games i have played, and the story kinda fits to the movie. I would have to say that my favorite thing about the game is the duel club, because it is fun and funny watching your opponents falling to the ground. Though you might not find this helpful, i am at least letting you know that the game is fun. People are writing reviews about how the game is boring, but i say no to them. The game is fun and even though it may take a long time to finish the game, the ending is very good. The other thinga about the game is that like i said, the graphics are good. And they are, like with when the characters talk, the lips move with the words. The crests are also fun to get. They are everywhere and take all your skills and wits to gain. So what i am trying to tell you is that this game is very good and you should buy it, if not at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I'd rather not come up with a witty title...

posted by Brian10113 (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well, you want to know why I rated this game so bad? Here's an explanation: First of all as most people have 'clearly' stated the story is short, I beat it in around 2 and a half hours but I didn't try to goof around. Anyway, as another reviewer stated, there are club missions to do when your done. Well here are the clubs: Flying, Dueling, and Potions; that's it, but in order for the creators to make the game "longer" they added 2 extra dueling clubs which are the same as the others, and they can ALL be completed in under 15 minutes using a shotgun technique (TIP FOR PLAYERS: Once you have the ability to charge your Stupefy spell cast Expelliamus to knock down your opponent and once it is cast, start charging Stupefy and walk up really close to your opponent and once it's fully charged cast it.) It's really not that fun overall.

Anyway back on to the review the game's story is short and doesn't tell you much about the real plot of the book (haven't seen the movie yet.) Then on to the next part of the review, Potions class... Now this is a minigame made for the Wii you must use the right analog stick and the A button to pickup and tilt vials and shredded...mythical animals into a cauldron while getting timed, its A LOT more boring than it sounds. Next the last and the worst, Quiddich. (I think that's how it's spelled) This Quiddich is very predictable all you must do is follow the Golden Snitch around the stadium while going through checkpoints until while hitting the opposing seeker with your broom until after a set amount of time you will finally catch the snitch, every time you lose, the path of the game is always the same, so this is pretty self explanatory, it's dull. Now listen to me this game at least worth a rent but is not a buy. Also you should know I am a harsh critic (yeah I hate me too) so if you want you may rate this higher when you rate it, and I didn't rate this "bad" just above average

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do you miss the old Harry Potter Games?

posted by EvBru92 (DAYTON, VA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dont you remember the old games? Being able to hop on you broom whenever and fly around. Having full access to the castle and grounds. Casting Spells at will. What Happened? The Next installment in the Harry Potter game series was quite depressing. Good Gameplay is replaced with extremely cheesy and annoying video clips. I spent the first half of the game annoyed because I had to watch these stupid clips and I couldn't even play. The "levels" are quite set. Very little freedom. When will they make an free,exciting Harry Potter game?...... Here you are at Hogwarts. Here is your wand. Here is your class schedule. Go get um'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

H.P. 6

posted by pankey (MOUNT STERLING, KY) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rent from Gamefly for my boys but occasionally I do order one for myself. Needless to same I am a novice player, but I have played all of the HPs for xbox. This game is fun but there is not enough to do. And even though I am a novice it was extremenly easy to beat/finish. Its definitely worth playing but don't expect to play it long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Depression!

posted by Malou1421 (CHESTERLAND, OH) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was soooo excited for this game to come out. I played the last game, Order of the Phoenix, four different times completely. So I even went out and bought this new game. That was a big mistake. This game doesn't have half of the content that the last one had. I found it incredibly boring and tedious. The best part of the game was watching the movie clips and finding out more about what will be in the new movie. Yes, the movie clips are far superior to actual game play. Hopefully the next game will step back up to the level of OOTP. Because this one was an obviously huge step backwards. Poor Harry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's a Harry Potter Game, nothing more

posted by JGamer17 (ELMA, NY) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The only other harry potter game I played was the first one. I remembered that one actually being a bit of a challenge and having to replay levels or quiditch games. This game seems like it was geared towards children. I gave it an ok rating cause even tho it was very simple and basic it did keep my attention long enough to beat it. I think the best part was making the potions this was the most challenge part of the game at times. Quiditch was very simple, could almost play it with your eyes closed, you have very little control over it. The story of the game had no challenge to it what so ever. you could beat the game casting the same spell and win just as easy as if you actually tried. Maybe game seven will be better who knows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i have seen the movie and played the game

posted by cool1298 (CLEARWATER, FL) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

overall it was a great game but the story was short but fun to play and i played on the hardest level i played for 4 days to beat it and its like the book and movie but follows the book more the movie left out very good stuff from the book but overall its a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

posted by venom106 (CANONSBURG, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game has to be so fun and i like to paly the quidditch level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good.

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) Jan 24, 2012

Member since May 2011

This game will only be fun if you are a Harry Potter fan, for anyone else it will more than likely seem very repetitive and very boring. The minigames re not horrible, but are very easy. The story line is fun but doesn't last long. The achievements are very annoying and there is a couple hard ones. The visuals are nice for a 2009 game but not spectacular. I only recommend the game to Harry Potter fans or achievement hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was good, but it could've been better.

posted by vkicker07 (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

I beat this game in about 3 hours. There wasn't enough actual gameplay in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Exceeds Expectations :D

posted by chrisafults (PADUCAH, KY) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Well, i'm not that far into the story, but i'm taken aback by the stunning graphics and overall detail they put into the making of this game. The reason it didn't get a higher rating is because, for people who hadn't seen the movies or watched the books, they're going to miss out on the amazing story this movie holds. They rush through the story line, instead of dragging it out they shorten it and rush through it, but overall and exceptional game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

posted by gameruler342 (BATH, ME) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It was one of the most exciting moments when I received this game. After finishing the game I found this game to be really good as a Harry Potter game, but as a game over all it was lacking in some areas. For one when it came to spells it was fun to cast and seeing all the many spells the game offered (especially duels), but there were some spells ( Mostly to do with wingardium leviosa) that did not always work causing me to be frustrated as I try a spell 5 to 6 times and having no success.
Another area of concern was the fact that the story was short like to short. The game story line was beaten in three days.
Multiplayer is one of the many highlights of this game, but first player might have the upper hand. The camera is always focused on the first player no split screen sorry.
All in all I recommend this game to people loving the Harry Potter franchise. The game was enjoyable and I loved this game as much as the other Harry Potter Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not too good

posted by Whales (SELLERSVILLE, PA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I feel like most of the Harry Potter games are all kind of bad. This one especially though. It gets boring very fast. All you do is call Nearly Headless Nick and follow him around, make some potions, and play annoying Quidditch matches when really all you do is go up or down. It turns on it's own. You also battle a couple slytherins and death eaters along the way. That includes press the same two buttons over and over to win.

I played this on the wii aswell, and it was more fun. Making the potions seemed more involved.

This game is more for younger people.
If you're going to play it, and have a wii system, get it for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Completely failed oppertunity

posted by Teddyblank33 (WINCHESTER, VA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Ive never been a hardcore Harry Potter fan, but lately the movies have gotten much more intriguing and more mature, which has allowed more hardcore-gamers like myself to maybe think that they could make a great game out of such a full-universe like the one Harry Potter certainly has. With so full a world, so many dynamics, enemies, characters, costumes, weapons, it could easily have been a great game.

However, as i assumed and feared, they didnt target the game to the new mature audience, instead they settled on a half-hearted job of creating an arcade-type teen rating game for pre-teens and kids alike. I consider this a lost oppertunity to create a game for gamers in the harry potter realm. However, with only 2 games left i see that hope dwindling. I assume the next 2 will be more of the same, just something thrown together for hardcore young fans of the series to buy. But if your a gamer and you think hmmm something with wizards, dark emporers, evil trolls, dragons, and castles would be fun, well yes it should be, but sadly this game isnt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive, yet Enjoyable

posted by Tgisme (ROCHESTER, WA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince provides some entertainment in running around Hogwarts, playing Quidditch, making potions, and dueling/schooling other students in magic. About an hour in to the game and it becomes clear that this is ALL that you will be doing for the rest of your time playing.

The only other thing the game offers to break the monotony of the three mini-games is collecting crests scattered around the castle, either by just finding them lying about, throwing something at them, or collecting mini-crests to make one whole big one.

Harry Potter: HBP provides entertainment for a while, but after a few hours of doing the same thing over and over again, it becomes time to find something new.

Playability: 4/10
Graphics: 5/10
Audio: 2/10
Achievement Difficulty: 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game for A Quick 750 GS

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Feb 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Played through the story with my son watching and cheering me on. When back later to wrap up some easy grinding achievements and had 750 gamerscore in the bag in about 5 hours. Highly recommended for the easy points. The story was very short and matched the attention span of my 6 year old son quite well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

harry potter

posted by Unrealpwn (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Its a very easy game to beat and everything.. Easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hogwarts

posted by reachpr7 (NEPTUNE BEACH, FL) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Its one of the biggest hogwarts ive ever seen in a Harry potter game. Thats probably because ive never played one before :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Keep the potter comming!

posted by DLERiOUS (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

I am a big fan of the potter series, have read all the books & played almost all of the games made. Halfblood prince is a great visual of hoggwarts & the characters of the H.P series, although i find that when they make a game for every freaking movie that comes out it takes a way from the game itself, from game length, content, & story line. I think the magic was fun & fluid & the few puzzle's & the quidich was well done. The only complaint is the shortness & lack of extra cool stuff that COULD have been added that was'nt. For me I say it's about the whole of the games companies make not the one WoW factor about one aspect. Hopefully they will learn from thier mistakes & make something fantastic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BOORING

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

could there be a more uninspired game out there?? Run here, run there..yada yada...the depth perception on this is maddening...trying to pour stuff, aim stuff or shoot stuff will drive you nutty!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful

posted by volsfan26 (NAPLES, FL) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Harry Potter has to be the most boring and worst game ever. It took me 6 hours to beat it. The quidditch games are terrible, all you do is go through rings and try to get the snitch. The graphics are so so, and dueling is bad because you only have a certain amount of spells. My brother played for an hour and said turn in back, on the day we recieved it. I think its one of the worst games ea developed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse