Rent Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince for PS3
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

1354 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Well made, but you don't do much.

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played a few of the early Harry Potter video games this game is the best so far. It follows Harry (and Ginny for a few minutes) through his 6th year at Hogwarts.

The world is large, lots of detail and no loading screens between sections. I was amazed at the effort that went into this game compared to the earlier HP games. The voice work is good, the animations are decent and the music is great.

The game good for kids, and well made that adults shouldn't mind playing it. The only downside is there isn't much to do. No boss fights, you pretty much make potions, duel kids and fly through stars on your broomstick. The game repeats this as necessary but I didn't notice it until after I had finished the game.

I rented and played this game for the Platinum trophy. I was able to finish it in a weekend of casual play. In addition to completing the game, you have to get 5 stars on all of the potions, duels and quidditch events. Plus there are 150 Crests to collect. 25 of these you'll get from collecting mini-crests (need 25000 total) and the rest you will have to find, most are in the walls, behind bushes, or you have to complete small quests (duel someone or make a potion) for other students.

The game was fun, I do suggest it for either Harry Potter fans, or people out to get that next Platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by clone150 (Orem, UT) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

i found this game too be very easy to play and get used to,and i liked that.the dueling is awesome,the potions are great,and the flying is good too.and the trophies are all easy to get up untill crest collector level 13-14 and the master flying trophy,but there has to be some challenge in it.

the only thing i didn't like about this game is the flying.the controls are inverted,and the AI makes it almost impossible to get the master of flying badge/trophy.

other than that i think this game is pretty good for HP fans,and action fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but could have been better

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The sixth book in the series gets a slightly better than typical game treatment for a movie. Quite fun if you are a Harry Potter fan but possibly disappointing for the average gamer.

With a decent variety of game play including, broom flying, mixing potions, wand battles, and mini puzzles, the game tries hard to keep you interested as it progresses through the major plot points of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.

With better than average voice work, and amazing score, an awesomely expansive Hogwarts, and a great feature that provides nearly headless Nick as a guide and helper, Harry Potter does a good job in providing an atmosphere that makes you feel like you have been transported to the magical land in which the Potter crew has most of its adventures.

You learn different spells as you go along and must use them to defeat challenges from enemies and puzzles alike. It becomes a bit repetitive as the Quidditch matches and wand battles become slightly tiring after a while but never to the point of utter annoyance.

Overall, I enjoyed the ability to wander around Hogwarts with the Harry Potter score playing in the background. It really brought the world of the books to life for me. The game play wasnt extraordinarily difficult by any means but challenging enough to keep me interested. It wasnt very long but the perfect length for a rental and a quiet weekend.

Was it a great game? No-- Was there enough good about it to warrant playing it through-- Definitely.

Not a game that is going to receive any awards but worth your time if you are someone who likes Harry Potter and is a gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good

posted by cathy444 (MOJAVE, CA) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is my favorite harry potter game in the series and a must have 4 harry potter fans the only problem to short but thats expected in games that are also movie or books it had pretty good graphics and was very fun to finally fly on your broomstick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Color blind? Skip this one...

posted by CafeChimp (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Color matching is one of the main skills required for potion making, and that appears to be almost 1/3rd of the game. Far too frustrating for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Best Harry Potter Game Yet

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game isnt great, but it is the best harry potter game yet. If you like the movies or the books than you will probaly enjoy this game, but if your not a fan of the genre i warn you to not rent this

pros
-graphics are ok
-haugwarts is modeled off the movie and looks great
-spells are simple to learn and use
-there is multiplayer
-you can create potions
-you are able to free roam haugwarts and go anywhere you like

cons
-doesnt really follow the story
-bad voiceovers
-short

in all if you really really like harry potter then give this a try it out and rent it, dont buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Harry Potter & the lamest game evah

posted by zerokool (HENRICO, VA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this would be a good game based on the last one which had puzzles and adventures, but I was sorely disappointed. This game felt like it was made for 2 year olds thru 5 year olds. All the game consists of is Making a potion, dueling, and making another potion. The game is so easy, a quadriplegic could win the quiddich matches. I say pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK game for H.P. fans

posted by mikez0286 (FRIEDENS, PA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not a game just anyone could sit down and enjoy. I know if I wasn't a Happy Potter fan I probably wouldn't have played the whole way through. The flying, potions, and duels are cool but I thought overall, the game was lacking. It takes only 4 hours to complete the story. I would have liked to see a few more spells. Only having Leviosa, reparo, and incendio gets kind of boring. It would have been better if the environment was more interactive too. Aside from the prank boxes and being able to levitate and throw small benches and stones, there isn't much you can do. I haven't played the previous game yet but even in the demo you could interact much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

if your not a fan i wouldnt get it

posted by thewright (DEWEY, AZ) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well in the beginning it was kind of cool but after a while it just becomes annoying theres not really any excitement the dueling is really fun though easy to master i know it says exciteing battles against deatheaters also but theres about 4 battles against deatheaters and they are very easy to defeat almost without tryin i also beat the game in a simple 5 hours of just walking around and talking and mixing potions and flying on the broom in quiditch and anyway the flying is really waaaay too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing.

posted by jidetion (SIOUX CITY, IA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Too easy, kinda short. But still classic Harry! Just wish it wasn't so predictable. Mixing potions and dueling can be addicting for a min! Not enough Ron and Granger either.

J

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MAJOR LETDOWN

posted by colley619 (SPRINGHILL, LA) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to be like the prisoner of askaban, alot of spells, areas , puzzles, and fast travel. but this game is small. short, and like 5 spells throught the whole game. i beat this game and sent it back the same day i got it, i beat it in 4 hours. maybe even 3 hours. the only good thing about this game in my opinion is potions class and the trophies. in 2 hours into the game i had over 50% of the trophies. the trophies are so easy but the game is just straight up boring. i dont reccomend it. unles u want the trophies do not get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potter & the half done game

posted by actorhjh (ARANSAS PASS, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game followed the book well and the game play was easy to pick up. The problem was the ending, there really wasn't one. You finish a rather tough duel and then bang, the credits roll.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a ok game short game

posted by dantedmc22 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game was good and the only thing bad bout the game is really really short if ur trying to get a Platinum Trophy on this dumb game good luck i try to get one was not easy so i quit it n sent this dumb of a game back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i do not like this game

posted by kbildens (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

i hate the tournament system where you fight specific characters and then your done with the tournament and it cant get harder first the tournament is not even hard even when fighting the last person. what happened to picking a random fight with some poor slitherin you see walking around. when i played this game i noticed the wands were basically machine guns with how fast you did the movements. the controls are sensitive and i end up doing a stupify when i want expeliarmus. the story only clocks in at like 5 hours which is terribly short for the average game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Oops almost a Good game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

First I will give you the good parts NONE, Now for a few of the bad things, Controls that Lag bad, camera that is far to hard to control and being so makes it hard to get around, casting Spell is totally hit or miss usually Miss because you have to move the joysticks in the right pattern you cant even be off by a Hair Split 10 ways or guess what your spell doesnt work. Would have made alot more sense to make the spells be Hold this Tigger and push this button at least that way it wasent just pure luck if you won a Duel. The Camera should have been fixed behind the subject not floating here and ther and always way behind you so you have to move the camera and your characture at the same time and hope you dont miss anything. Over all another bad game from the makers of many BAD games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Big Improvement

posted by DavySmithHD (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is MUCH better than it's prequel, Order of the Phoenix. It was rather short. I finished it in roughly 2 days but it was lots of fun. The potions were lots of fun. The spells were much easier to cast than the previous. Overall I think it was a very fun game especially if your're a fan of the Harry Potter series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rinse and Repeat

posted by roxner13 (LEXINGTON, SC) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

So there are 4 things that you do in this game.
1.) Play as the seeker and try to catch the snitch
2.) Make potions
3.) Duel
4.) Watch cut scenes.

Usually goes something like this: 1, 4, 2, 4, 3, 4, 1, 4, 2, 4, 3, 4...and so on. Nothing else happens. You do the same thing over and over again with some of the worst acted cut scenes I have seen in a game of this time. Its also really really short. Took me 3 hours to beat and 2 of them were watching cut scenes. Just lazy development.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it should be a crime to pay $60 for this.

posted by youdontknowme85 (NORTON, MA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Okay so I love Harry Potter, I've read all the books and watched all the movies and well the movies were really good up until the fourth adaption. This is actually my first Harry Potter game and ineed it was fun to play as Harry but my god this game was frustrating. From the controls and the stupid camera angles this game puts you in are absolutely horrendous. Graphics are decent at best but nothing special and this game was way too short. There was barely any challenge in the game at all which I guess I can live with seeing how I wanted to end this as quickly as possible. The story in this game was the worst part of it to me. I thought the movie was cut up but this is worse! If you don't follow the books or the movies how do you make sense of this game? I really dont understand why they can't take their time with games like these because there's so much more freedom in making a game than a movie. It's a shame really that these things get rushed out this quickly and people pay full price, it really is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad

posted by SeanK_87 (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Pretty good game overall. It stuck to the book for the most part. It is kind of difficult to move objects with magic sometimes. Also aiming can be difficult. The mixing of potions can be a problem especially when you have to shake the ingrediant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kind of good

posted by DMI3011 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

well i say kind of good because it doesn't take long to beat the side missions don't either, and the cast didn't make a voice appearance in this one....except rupert (ron weasley) and maybe some others the credits went to fast but i didn't see anyone i know, another bad thing is you hardly see any of the other professer's in this game, snape maybe 2 to 3 times, mcgonagall 2, dumbldore 4 or 5, haggred 1 time...like the movie i guess, the last bad thing was the lack of using charms, i only used wingardium leviosa most of the time and a sort of depulso to get little crests. now the good, hogwarts is huge now, about the size of the real castle, unlockables for dueling (not online), graphics were good not great, note: order of the phoenix was way better than this game by far in my opinion. ok another good thing was being able to fly around on a broomstick, be a part of the quiddich team. well that's it, i'd say play this one if you're a true fan of H.P. those are the only people that will think it's any fun. thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hated it

posted by nastymacaa (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

way to easy, story ended way to quick not enough missions. horrible hated it there was definitly way better harry potter games then this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible Game

posted by TejasGamer (PEARLAND, TX) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Don't waste your time. This was by far the worst Harry Potter game that we have ever played.

Try Lego Harry Potter if you are fan - it is well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the greats

posted by michael135 (WEST MILFORD, NJ) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is one of the better games in the harry potter series. It is quite fun making potions and playing quidditch.And walking around the halls of Hogwarts is marvelous. One thing I did not like was not knowing where I was going. There was no Marauders Map to help you like in the last game. All you had was Sir Nicholas to escort to objectives for the main game, but when you beat it, he cant help you. But all in all it was one of the best of the harry potter games I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to easy

posted by rmm862002 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

id figure since they show 16 year old kids drinking at a bar harry potter was not really for kids rather than everyone but the game itself and i should say i only rented it cause i was half asleep after watching a harry potter movie and decided not to just throw it on my list but to make it 1st on the list i wasnt to happy when i received it but oh well what are you going to do ha so it took me less than a day to beat it and was super easy to the point where my girlfriend enjoyed it also when you are looking for those crest things you cant do anything but run around and that got boring fast story line didnt match up with the movie to well either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by mental1000 (SABINAL, TX) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

The game was fun, but wasn't too challenging though. I was able to beat it in two evenings. The camera controls were the only thing I think could be really improved upon. Graphics were decent and pretty much followed the story line. My nephew enjoyed it (age 11). I think they could have greatly expanded on the game and it just seemed too short. Collecting the crests is good for the bonuses it gives you and thats about it. Happy playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse