Rent Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire for GC
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

377 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

posted by Silverei (MENTORONTHELAKE, OH) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this game was pretty true to the book and movie, I didn't like this one of the series. I prefered the first three where you went to a class, ran through a dungeon, and got a new spell. Along the way you could explore Hogwarts, play Quiddich, and you went through the events in the movie. Goblet of Fire doesn't let you explore (least not in the Gamecube version) and it was hard to always know what you were supposed to do next. I also didn't like that it was really hard to figure out how the jinxes worked, especially when the console controlled characters ran off and did what they wanted and not always what you needed. On the other hand, this is a very pretty game, it controls pretty well and it does give a very faithful adaptation of the movie. It's definitely a rental, though I wouldn't keep it after I've played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First three are better

posted by ryan13 (GARDNER, KS) Jun 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i liked the first three because i dont like just all the missions i like to wandder around and talk and dule people i hope the 5th is like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ive ever played and ive played bad game

posted by DAWNOFTHE6 (FARMINGTON, NY) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

(games) this game is the WORST GAME EVER DONT EVEN RENT IT. this game will make u want to KILL UR SELF trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The goblet, the goblet, the goblet's on fire!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the fourth installment in J.K. Rowling's unbelievably popular series. Coincidentally, it's the fourth game in the series too (go figure). However, this title is completely different than the previous three.
The first three games had our intrepid young hero engaging in a Zelda-style adventure title where you collect, explore and accrue house points. It was a good format with some problems.
Goblet of Fire, on the other hand, runs more like LEGO Star Wars, by which I mean you select a level to play and try completing goals in those levels. Each one of the explorable levels has eight shields to collect and several sub-missions to work on. After you collect a shield, you return to the level select screen. Also like the LEGO series, you'll collect studs... I mean, beans, throughout the levels which can be used to purchase cards that increase your stats and ability.
You also compete in the Tri-Wizard tournament. These three challenges share similarities to on-rail shooters and do a good job of breaking up gameplay. Of course, two of the three are at the very end, but still...
The action-oriented gameplay is a nice change of pace, but comes with several problems. First, you'll be playing as the three main characters but only control one on any given run. There are several challenges where you need all three characters and you'll be at the mercy of the poor AI of your teammates. Playing with others would be preferable, but if you don't have that option, this is a problem.
Also, I have no idea why I get kicked back to the main screen after I collect each shield. I'd like to keep collecting shield while I'm running around rather than starting back at square one each time.
There are some major problems with the game, but it's fast and fun. The Havoc physics engine is a nice touch as well. It's not exactly better than the others, but it's definitely on par with them and has an identity all it's own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the greatest review

posted by painting (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

this game was pretty good but i just cant get past the dragon its really hard by Everett Lewis p.s. i also cant get passed the forbidden forest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

harry potter

posted by willywonka (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

i didn't really care too much for this game the others were much better but you might like it have fun and thanks glad i rented it before i bought it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Game

posted by nickname (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is ok. It starts off fun, but then takes a different turn. It wasn't very challenging and you can't explore the school or grounds. It was a little boring at times and beating Voldermort was very easy. The first 3 games were more fun and challenging. It's ok to play, but I prefer the other 3 better and I hope the 5th game is more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ghp4

posted by xcfdshxdsf (DALLAS, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »