Rent Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

harry potter and the deathly hallows part 2

posted by kekrs (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game has gotten a lot better sice the terrible part 1. it was kicked off by the graphics being better and the spell wheel is not there so the combat is better. however it still has that call of duty feeling like petrtificous totalus is a zap spell and its like sniping. expulso is like a machine gun and stupify is like a rifle.this time the plot and settings remain where there supposed be instead of a huge mix up. but overall its a good game and is right for the plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needed Multi Player to Justify $50 Price Tag

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game does feel like a sequel to Part 1 – the controls, level design, and style of gameplay are almost the same as the original Deathly Hallows.
In this game, you go through 12 levels, battling Death Eaters, evil wizards, and Voldemort himself.
But this time around, you get six spells, and each one of them is vastly different from the others – and most of them can be compared with a gun in real life.
There’s a spell that fires magical bullets like a pistol, and one like a semi automatic rifle. There’s one that acts like a grenade launcher and sniper rifle.
And the last two spells don’t have a real life equivalent – one lets you blast through a magical shield and the other lets you hit several targets at once.
I like the varied weapons this game offers, and I had a lot of fun going through the levels, blasting the bad guys and collecting the hidden items.
But this game is not worthy of a $50 price tag. The main mode features a 3-5 hour single player adventure. After that, all you can do is either play through that mode again, or play through one level in Challenge Mode to see how fast you can get through that level. And the Challenge levels are locked; you have to unlock them by finding icons hidden through the levels in the main mode.
I wanted some multi player features – features like on line death match, split screen death match (like in Goldeneye), and I really wanted a co-op mode.
The fifth level is tailor made for two-player co-op mode. Here, one player can play as Neville, picking off the bad guys while the other plays as Seamus, planting bombs on the bridge. This would make the game so much more fun.
But there are no such features available. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 just doesn’t live up to the premium price tag it carries. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by acidtests67 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I loved the old Harry Potter games (1 and 2 for PS1), but this one sucks. It has no creativity in the tasks it asks you to perform. It has nothing but shooting Death Eaters the entire game. The dragon scene (which could've been a pretty cool obstacle to defeat) was just passed by as part of the story line. Overall not worth getting, even for a die-hard Harry Potter fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

posted by hitzi (LINCOLN, NE) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game would not even load into WII system. We tried the game on two different WII consoles and it kept reading ERROR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I never got to play this...

posted by Guide321 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Two times now i've received a disc for this game that won't play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Rent, but not Spectacular

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

This game is a pretty standard 3rd person shooter. It's fun, especially for fans of the Harry Potter movies, but it doesn't offer anything innovative, and it's rather short.

Each level involves you taking control of one of the movie characters (a wide variety of different ones) and working your way through a level that is crawling with death eaters. You choose your "weapon" using the d-pad (stupefy, impedamenta, expeliamus, etc., etc.), aim by pointing at the screen with the remote, and move with the joystick. Each spell is more or less analogous to a gun type that you would find in a typical shooter. (Stupefy is like a pistol, expulso is like an automatic, petrificus totalus is like a sniper rifle, etc.) The combat style emphasizes crouching behind cover, and taking out your enemies before they can flank you. A couple interesting spells you won't find in a shooter are protego (which allows you to shield yourself while out in the open) and being able to apparate around the battlefield.

Just to mix it up, there's a level here and there where you have to do something else like run away from a danger before it catches up to you, snipe enemies from a bridge, or protect a teammate who has an exposed position.

The gameplay mechanics all work perfectly fine, and the game makers do a decent job of keeping it from getting repetitive.

On the negative side, there's really nothing special about this game, except for the harry potter theme. Also, I was a bit disappointed in the end part of the game. The final battle with Voldemort is uninspired, and you don't get to fight nagini (the snake). In fact, you don't get to kill Voldemort, as after you duel him, the very final part of the game is a hokey mini-game rather than a battle. This was pretty anti-climactic.

Conclusion: I'm happy I rented this game, as it was fun for a couple of days, but I'd feel ripped off if I bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good :D

posted by kdizzle20 (OGDEN, UT) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

For the last game it went side by side with the movie. This made the actual game-play kinda short however it was pretty entertaining from getting into the castle up to the very end to defeating Voldemort. Makes for a great kids game as well as big fans of Harry Potter. I would totally play it again.

P.s. Thanks GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

harry potter and the deathly hall part 2

posted by cmac2468 (CORRIGAN, TX) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

liked the movies loved the books but couldn't stand the games better luck next time wii.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how i feell about this game

posted by aresposito (ATWATER, CA) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

what i feel about this game is that it was short like alot of wii games(no offence wii)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by ninna1200 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is the best of all Harry Potter games. The artwork is great, the mouth dubbing is good and the spells have more effect, this is a very easy game though, I beat it within 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a lot of action

posted by delcodude10 (LYNCHBURG, VA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

it gets really exciting hard at some parts and easy on others but it is still a easy and fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good but could be better

posted by snape_rocks (RIO RANCHO, NM) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i thought this game was awesome its way better than the previous deathly hallows part 1 game because u have all this side missions that has nothing to do with the actual movie or story line. In deathly hallows part 2 you don't have the spell wheel so combat is way easier and then u have allot of different spells for different missions. I think there should be a co-op mode because when your playing as seamus 1 player can play as him and then another player can play as neville helping seamus. Also this game is not worth $50 it should at least be 30.00. And to conclude this you should probably just rent the game instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suckey

posted by gameaddict658 (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is so suckey i hate it its the worst game i ever played next to dora

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »