Rent Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 for Wii
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
5.4

306 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bloody Brilliant!

posted by DBestman (LIBERTY, SC) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a bit sceptic at first, but I said "heck, why not". I rented the game. I was expecting the same mediocre game play as the previous games in this series. To my suprise, I was throughly impressed with the game play. Me being a shooter fan already, I knew i was going to like it from the first stage. I know what your thinking, "shooter game?". YES, the game play and controls resemble much of a 3rd person shooter. On top of that, you spell selection even resembles your good ol favorate weapons from halo, call of duty, gears, ect... Spells which include a burst fire (machine gun), one shot kill (sniper), and my favorate, the overpowered explosion (rocket launcher).
Not to mention you can pull your cloak on at any given time! What!? Yeah, it is that cool. 10 stars for me, and if you like gears of war

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) May 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was simply amazing. I deffinately feel that it stayed true to the story but there was a few differences but that really doesnt matter. EA did a great job on this game and on wii it felt like i was holding a wand in my hand fighting monsters and deatheaters this game was pretty much a call of duty game except that you have a wand and theres no blood. So in my perspective this is one of the greatest wii games of all time. Especially since it stays true to the wii's true meaning which is felling like your actually in the game. Another great job EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harry Potter and the deathly hallows

posted by pandabear (WELCOME, MD) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really love this game and I can't get past the dragon's lair, i'm stuck how i get past the dragon's lair on wii?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Barely Tolerable

posted by Mandie82 (MEDFORD, OR) May 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am so disappointed in this game.

1) The controls are aggravating. I had to hold the remote in basically one position for so long that my wrist started hurting. If I moved the position of my wrist, I couldn't control the way Harry was looking. Not that I could control it with any amount of accuracy anyway. As has been said previously, the turning is deplorable.

2) The plot is terribly weak. Usually when you have a game that is based on a book or movie, it's a bit different. Some Harry Potter games went much more along with the book, which was nice, and some with the movie, which was also nice, but this was neither. In other games, I might say to myself "Well, I know this didn't actually happen in the book/movie, but hey, I get to fight a dragon!" (Or whatever.) This game I was like, "Oh, more death eaters. Oh. More snatchers."

3) The graphics are bad. It reminds me of PC games from the late 90s.

Conclusion: If you enjoy mashing buttons and hate a challenge, but also have not seen HP7p1 or read the book, this may be the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

As Boring as the Movie

posted by jcgilmore1 (MANCHESTER, NJ) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is slow - too many long cut scenes. Controller response is slow as well. Changed batteries on controller because I thought it was the machine. Nope, just the game (and possibly the console - Wii isn't exactly high end processing or graphics). Extremely frustrating to play. Quit and sent back after 15 mins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok!

posted by jhlb31 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

when u try to turn n look around it sticks and u cant turn around n then by that time someone kills u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If Harry Potter was a bad PS1 game

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Out of everything I've played on the Wii... this is possibly the worst. The story is not true to the book or the movie. The quest and sequence of events is blotchy. They throw in things that didn't happen in the movie. There are quests you have to accomplish that are aggravatingly slow and the outcome has nothing to do with the story or quest. The controls are some of the worst I've ever seen. The gameplay is barely tolerable. The game mostly forgets the real story and makes you do busy work like getting rid of faeries and walking around checking for death eaters that aren't there.

Don't expect this to be like the real story or even function properly. The controls are similar to Metroid Prime 3, if they worked in this. You turn and move by pointing the Wii remote to the edge of the screen. Except it's so slow that by the time you turn around you are almost dead. Many times it won't even turn when you point to the edge. Some of the spells barely work and it takes several attempts to get them to fire. Other spells are only temporary even though in the Harry Potter world they are permanent without a counter charm or antidote. Not just that, the targeting system is broken. You just fire till you get lucky. Combat in this is constant and problematic.

Think of the worst looking N64 or PS1 game you've played. That's about the quality of graphics in this game. Everything is extremely pixelated and hard to make out. Textures go through each other constantly and the soundtrack is awful. I pushed through and played a good amount of this game just so I could get a good opinion of it. Unfortunately it just got worse and worse.

One of the biggest selling movies of all time. One of the worst games I've ever played. It took almost 15 minutes to get past the first scene where you escape the death eaters. It just wouldn't end. In another scene you had to walk across the house and press A just to start the next scene. Oh and the voice acting is horrible and cannot be skipped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Harry Potter and the Broken Video Game

posted by Nickyjames (PATTERSON, CA) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This installment of the Harry Potter Franchise on home consoles loosely follows the plot of the the final film. The developer tried to make it a more adult oriented game to go along with the film but clearly fell flat on their face in the effort.

Pros:
The cutscenes look sort of nice. Character models closely resemble those of the film.

Cons:
Broken camera. Very repetitive and constantly respawning monsters. Uninteresting side quests. Very frustrating first person shooting sequences.

Conclusion: Only the most die hard Harry Potter fan will find just a small amount of fun to be had in this near broken game.

2/10

Rent or buy: Neither.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1 (WII)

posted by Breather (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before I set hand to Wii remote to try this game I took a few things in mind. Primarily, that it is a given that if a game is made to follow a movie it won't. It will be a second rate game with only tolerable gameplay at best. Unfortunately, this Harry Potter installment was not even tolerable.

Long story short clunky controls, poor interpretation of the book's story, very sub par visuals and too many "challenges" that are anything but the meaning of the word lead this game to be so bad I couldn't tolerate playing it. That's an hour of my life I won't get back, and I promise you I really tried to force myself to give this game a chance.

Rent it if you must. If you can stand it, click "keep".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harry Potter

posted by mario5000 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game freakin' rocks. It's like a third person shooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

These Hallows Feel Hollow

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If this game didn’t have the Harry Potter name attached to it, it would be nothing more than your usual third person shooter.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part I) has you playing as Harry Potter. You go through an abridged version of the movie while blasting the enemy with several spells as you go through from Point A to Point B. I found the basic spell Stupefy works very well - there’s no need for any other spell to take out my enemies.
And the level design is awful. When I say go from Point A to Point B, that’s exactly what you do. To make matters worse, the last few levels have you backtracking from Point B back to Point A. Come on, guys - can’t you get more imaginative than that?
As for the bad guys, they consist mostly of evil wizard that pop in and try to blast you with spells. When you defeat the wizards, they vanish in a puff of black soot. There’s also some little green guys, a few large snakes, and that’s about it; this is too little variety of opposition for my liking.
There are one or two spots where you have to hide under your invisibility cloak, but they are very short and forgettable.
To make matters worse, if you want to change the difficulty of the game, you have to start the whole game all over again. If you want to go back and pick up a hidden item you missed, you have to start the whole game all over again (there’s no level select here.)
And unlike other action shooters, there’s no online deathmatch/capture the flag mode here, and there’s no co op mode where you can invite two other players and have one play as Hermione and the other play as Ron.
Nope, you can only play this game single player mode, and at a run time of about five hours, it’s not worth $50 of my money.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part I), the game should only be played by the hardcore fans of the books/series. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the truth

posted by Buzzkillington_ (GUTHRIE, OK) May 10, 2013

Member since May 2013

SNAPE KILLS DUMBELDORE!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Entertaining for fans

posted by GameBoiAdvance (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Fun couple of hours of gameplay, took me maybe 5 hours to run through. Gameplay is pretty cool and the cloak makes for some fun challenges. Some of the controls are a bit choppy and the levels get pretty repetitive. Developers clearly didn't take much more than about a week to produce. But the game is good for some quick wizarding fun and is about what you would expect from a movie video game. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is not good at all

posted by VIPshorty (LYNCHBURG, VA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

bad very very bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love it...

posted by philmak12 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i have to admit that this is one of the best hp games i had to ever play.IN the begiinig of the game there are alot of cut scenes. the first level is alittle boring and you only start off with one spell ' stupefy'. but the game gets better when you go deeper in the game like free-roaming around to find and pick a good place to camp .Each level will take about 30-60 mins. long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worest game of harry potter

posted by Champ1623 (BOISE, ID) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I did not like this game im a shooter guy but it was hard to control and aim the levels were on the lame side do not get this game it sucked! I like harry potter but this was the worse one ive played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quick and Easy!

posted by dmoore25 (VOORHEES, NJ) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I got the game mid day Saturday and just completed it about 11am this morning (Monday). I played on the medium version and it went by rather quickly and i really enjoyed it (i am not a total video game freak either). I would probably play it again and cant wait until i receive Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was alright

posted by Turgon92 (EVERETT, WA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

It was just a ton spell casting and trying not to get blasted....not very hard to play...fun at first but got very repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

harry potter deathly hollows pt.1

posted by ladybugandcoco (WOODBURY, TN) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

The game was very detailed and very interesting. The story line was almost like the movie but not exact. But, overall it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by courtneywrol (FULLERTON, CA) May 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

I'm not a big gamer so this game was almost perfect also I'm a huge harry potter fan. I loved the 3rd person shooter aspect and the fact that it took a different turn from all the other potter games. But with the Wii when u try to turn around it sticks and u can't turn around which causes u to be killed and it gets pretty frustrating and also the game is fairly short but fun while it lasts can't wait till the 2nd part comes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »