Rent Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 for PS3
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
4.7

684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A failure from the wizarding world

posted by MatthewU (CHARLOTTE, NC) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of the books, movies, and first 4 games I thought I would give this one a chance not having played a hp game in quite sometime.
Graphics are good, 3rd gen gen but not spectacular. The animation is poor, the plot or lack of one even worse, I know the story but this one fails to capture that. You fight the same 5 or 6 enemies on basically the same level over and over. The spells don't work as they should i know that's tough but the previous games had done it. Overall this one isn't even fit to be on ps2 it utterly failed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

potter gains spells to kill voldemort

posted by bhauss (SURPRISE, AZ) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i didnt rent this game from gamefly i have it owned but this game is the best harry potter game i have ever played!!!! i am really looking forward to getting the last harry potter game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Agree with UkManiak in every aspect..

posted by Riptcage (BURBANK, CA) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best part about the other previous HP games were being able to explore things in hogwarts. This was like a first person shooter, but with a wand and bad camera angles.

The re-use of sets is what bothered me the most...i found myself back in the same spot where i was just 30min ago. Graphics were "okay", DOF needed some work. (see crysis 2) Animation was awful, the mouth would move while they talk and when they don't talk. I could tell everything was rushed, and this game was just a complete failure for the HP series. The HP the half blood prince on the wii was 20x better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Potter loses some magic

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok one huge mistake the developers made with this game...no Hogwarts. I know it does not coincide with the story but a video game is meant to stretch those lines. Lord of the Rings did it successfully, EA did not even try.

The free roam in previous games was gold for me. Being able to explore Hogwarts and talk to everyone is what fans want, we want to be immersed in all that is Potter. EA bright light went with the third person aspect and failed miserably. The spells are monotonous and switching between more than two or three is a chore.

The enemies are extremely laughable and miss their mark in almost every aspect. When the stealth missions pop and you have the cloak, you still get spotted and possibly destroyed, its no fun at all.

Like I said, not having Hogwarts is a huge fail which is sad, I was really beginning to fall in love with the series. Taking a lot of steps back is a huge slap in the face to fans as well as Potter's legacy in folklore. Maybe hardcore Harry fans will get their come-uppin's, but most will feel as if they have been hit with a CRUCIO!!!....ouch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible Game

posted by GamerGurl1 (EAST LANSING, MI) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I totally agree 100% with everything that was said by Skennedy! Camera angles suck really bad making the game extremely difficult to play much less enjoy. Played all the other Harry Pottr games in the past and loved them but this one I will not recommend to anyone. Not worth the buy/rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't rent

posted by OmahaLonghorns (OMAHA, NE) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Terrible game, every level feels the same, a lot of running around, every bad guy looks the same and a lot of reused levels. Doesn't match the movie very well either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good game

posted by zack57526 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is not what I exspetid it is to hard but a littel good. Part 2 was better and esey and that is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not surprisingly a disappointment

posted by Batchick21 (HUNTSVILLE, TX) Jul 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

I played this game knowing it was going to suck, but being an insanely huge Harry Potter fan I thought I'd get some enjoyment out of it. Sadly, I was wrong. The first couple of hours of the game were fairly likeable, the gameplay was pretty fun and casting spells felt somewhat rewarding. After that it went downhill. It seemed as if the devs may have purposefully let the game go sour; the simplest parts of the story didn't follow the book or the film, there were way too many filler missions (sets of 3 part missions done outside of the story). The controls were clunky; the camera felt like that of a PS1 era game, and the control scheme was absurd and very confusing (especially during battle). However, even though the controls were off I found the most enjoyable part of the game to be battle. Fighting off death eaters and snatchers was truly the highlight of the game. I don't know if I want to play year 7 part 2, because I'm afraid it may be just as bad as this one. I don't recommend this. Nope, not even to hardcore Potter fans like myself. If you want a fun and fulfilling HP game, try LEGO Harry Potter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA failed

posted by CCM10 (ANDERSON, IN) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I can't believe it EA you failed at this. You may have thought the idea of a leveling up system, a 3rd person shooter thing, and collection system would work, but in this one not so much. I realize that in your other Harry Potter games that you did the 3rd person shooter thing but that also included puzzles as well it wasn't just go here and defeat your enemies no that just doesn't work with this. So for once EA you have a failure at lest in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A let down for Potter fans

posted by raineysummer (ALBA, TX) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I have played most of the HP games so far, but this was just... well- absurd. It was action packed- to the point that it was almost impossible to beat at some points and you end up getting more frustrated than anything. You don't get to truly enjoy the game, at least I didn't, It follows the story line and that is a plus, but overall- I am glad that I didn't buy the game- that I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the harry potter is very bad but 2 is even good

posted by umbrella543 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

part 1 need part 2 part1 game is not very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Harry Potter? I say Not!

posted by drew1315 (PALMDALE, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

After player Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, I was excited to play Harry Potter and the deathly Hollows part 1 to extremly let down. All the spells from the game were rather dull and most of the spells did nothing to the enemies. The game was majorly flawed and I would waste the time to rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't meet expectations.

posted by Chriz704 (BRONX, NY) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I got this game for free thanks to a certain company, but what happened was I really didn't like harry potter games. I took a shot at it and I must say it was not very good, I did enjoy the game. What killed the game was to much repetition of mission and bad graphics, I must also include bad acting. But nonetheless its not that bad, its enjoyable to a certain extent.

--
Chris

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

harry potter and deathly boredome

posted by theplayer1221 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game was horrible there was know free roam or hogwarts and i didnt even get choose the missions when i wanted to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

garbage!!!

posted by skennedy25 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

I have played some of the past games, but this one was a real disappointment. The camera angles suck and most of the time get in your way. this causes the controls to feel a little bit awkward. The graphics could be better and crisper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »