Rent Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
4.5

1034 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible game

posted by Zatanna (ISSAQUAH, WA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played the other HP games and usually enjoyed them. However, I didn't even get past an early stage where you have to sneak around under the invisibility cloak and not be discovered by someone "bumping" into you. Every time you fail, you have to start that particular mission over and watch the boring repetitive explanation about what the mission is.

Didn't last more than maybe 40 minutes before I sent it back. :( What a shame, but I should have known from all the negative reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game was horrible

posted by Kasen (WASHINGTON, IL) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly, for a Harry Potter game, it was just a glorified shooter style game. For the xbox the directions they give you are a bit too small so it's hard to figure out what exactly they want you to do during specific scenes.

On the other hand it's fairly decent in things that the movie left out from the book and it gives you some extra information in radio programs and such, but I really didn't like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good game

posted by zzzzman (FRESNO, CA) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now 1st off, everybody says this game is bad. I just got it today and its great. I like the idea of a 3rd person shooter than just puzzles. The environments are very well done and so are the character modules. There are some bad things about this game, like when you get behind cover and cast spells, sometimes they will hit you instead (same thing with potions). Another bad thing is when your under your invisibility cloak, you can hardly see around you. There is a great number of spells, but basically all you need is stupefy> I recommend if your a potter fan or not a hard core gamer, go pick this up! (and i don't know about the kinect challenges, i haven't tried them out yet).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Actually Pretty Good

posted by LxCxSx23 (SPRINGBORO, OH) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why this is getting bad reviews.

I got the game yesterday and it's not that bad. The only thing I say is flawed is the repetition. Other than that,the game has great graphics,good voice overs,awesome environments,and somewhat tense action during battles. Making Harry Potter a shooter in the case of the final film(s) is actually a good call.

I wouldn't buy this though because the game is probably 4 hours long (it felt right though) and after you beat it, there's isn't a lot to do besides collectibles,challenges,and some Kinect thing (I don't have Kinect) This would be a good rent if you are a Harry Potter fan or if you are in need of something to do. I will surely be looking forward to Part 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Honest Review of a Very Fun Game!

posted by rader8r (YERINGTON, NV) Nov 23, 2010

Member since May 2006

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 was for me, a very nice change of pace when it comes to Harry Potter games. Everyone is so focused on the Kinect aspect of this game, that no one reports on the actual gameplay. So here is my opinion on this game.
The graphics are gorgeous, and the voice acting is spot on. They don't clutter the screen with information displays, so it makes for a pleasant viewing/gameplay area. You have about 10 or so spells to choose from, all done with a quick flick of the rb button, or you can long press it for a choice wheel. Very fluid, and pulling off combos of spells is pretty easy. The game play itself is not without flaws, sometimes when you move right, when you release the thumbstick, you continue to turn right, and sometimes the camera angle betrays you leaving you exposed, only happens just enought to be slightly iritating. The game is pretty challenging, but doesn't actually require a lot of thought, like in previous games. I would compare this game more to something like gears of war, in terms of game play mechanics, which is acutally kind of cool. There are a lot of levels, and side quests, which can be a bit repetative, but are for the most part, pretty challenging. All in all, a good game to rent, but not one to own.
As for the Kinect aspect of this game, sometimes, you have to stop and think, this technology only came out a few weeks ago, and these guys were trying to embrace that technology. Sure it's a rail based mini-game, but it is fun as all get out. Playing alone or with friends, you really feel like your casting spells, the moves (especially defendo) are sometimes not recognized right away, or you have to move in such a way to get it to activate, but for the overall experience, it is awesome, and in my opinion has a high replay value in that regard.
So, in closing, the other people who have reviewed this game, never even bothered to play the real game, and are overly critical of a game that is just fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Soo.....Kinect is just a mini game?

posted by Shawnathan (MUKILTEO, WA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

When I heard HP was coming to Kinect, I thought it was brilliant. I was imagining wizard duels with your friends, learning a bunch of new spells, and possibly even having to SAY the spells for them to work. So when HP came in the mail, I was ready to be pleased.

Eerrkkk!!!! Wrong!!!

When you start the game, it gives you the option of doing single game, challenges, settings, and Kinect. When you click on Kinect, you are sent to a repetitive mini game where you run around, and flick your wand at bad guys. You don't get an array of spells though. You have the opportunity to only get TWO spells to choose from in each level.

Did I play the single player? Yes, for like 4 minutes. The beginning of the game proved what the rest would be like. Running around, constantly pressing X to shoot your wand at bad guys, and then go talk to someone.

Just another case of good movie/horrible game. Geez, when was the last good movie/game combo? Seriously, help me out here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Girlfriend hated it...

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

She's played all the HP games, and said this was by far the worst. The controls don't allow the player to aim high enough to attack on the very first level. She made it through, but on later levels the controls kept being a problem. It eventually just wore her down to the point of angrily shoving the game back in the sleeve for shipping back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by gamerzrok2 (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played alot of "Movie games" and alot are boring but this one brought it to a Whole new level running around waving a wand isnt the greatest the deaths are cheap those weird little pixie things annoy me overall the graphics are fine but when you play the invisiblty cloak levels your not supposed to be seen but the make that WAY too hard if you play this game grab some aspirin and a something to muffle your angry screams

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So So

posted by cdarcey10 (CHICO, CA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Followed the basic structure of the movie. I found the game to be fun but it lacked a certain element of adventure due to the very structured levels and order of the game. But I did enjoy the game and would play it again. I am interested in the Kinect features but that is a product I do not own myself. I would say this is a play but not a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by badmofo1983 (OSCEOLA, IN) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

as far as harry potter games goes. this was my first harry potter game and i love movie and books but the game doesn't make me wanna play any other harry potter games any time soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ok game, kinect side poorly planned.

posted by jacs (POWAY, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Kinect side is very buggy. It doesnt read your spell cast movements very well and the tutorials are in small text sentences/paragraphs that pass too quickly and if you pause to read it disappears. The Kinect side really seems like was added last minute and poorly planned. This was meant to be played using a regular controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

KINDA MISLEADING!!!!!!

posted by Falcore (RENO, NV) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I AGREE WITH SHAWNATHAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

{When I heard HP was coming to Kinect, I thought it was brilliant. I was imagining wizard duels with your friends, learning a bunch of new spells, and possibly even having to SAY the spells for them to work. So when HP came in the mail, I was ready to be pleased.}

I thought the same thing!! I played it for like 5 min and yeah disapointment!!! returned it that night, all i can say is be glad u didnt pay a blockbus. rental price to find out it wasnt what you thought!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointing

posted by cuervodude (SALEM, OR) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was really bad! Poor voice and graphics. Replay value=none! Would not recomend to my worse emeny. Thank God for gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad game!

posted by giggzy (KENNESAW, GA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is not what i expected i thought it would have better graphics,storyline and spells but i was way off!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The movies and books are better

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game really just isn't interesting compared to the movie and the book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by THEEntropy (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i wish i could ask what the producers of this game were thinking but its obvious they were just trying to make another quick buck from this series, it was pure garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If you want this for the kinect, don't even try

posted by Strawxberr (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's just a mini-game and its so stupid! Stupi-fy is probably a subliminal message from the game company that tells you if you purchased the game mainly for the kinect you're busted. It's just flicking your wand at people and thats it, and its a few levels. The original control game, I tried it as well. It was horrible and the gameplay was terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by playmaker1 (EAST GRAND FORKS, MN) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

DON"T RENT OR BUY THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sucks

posted by VampPsy (ROBINSON, IL) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Got this for my best friend and my wife and watched them play it and they both said it sucked. I mean just from the looks of the design the characters move more like robots and it tries to hard to be both a stealth game and a action game. So please don't fall for the harry potter name on this game. In ways it looks like it tries to be gears of potter than anything. It don't even follow the story line of the movie or books right either. So I got it on a friday and I am sending it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Junk!

posted by AloneOne (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Garbage,simply avoid.Looks like a PS2 game.Other than that,it is just dull and boring.I Feel sorry for anybody who bought this game!you got burned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Harry p..p..p...Potter

posted by Rude631 (HOLBROOK, NY) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Jerky Joystick control. I lasted 2 min then shipped it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stupid

posted by bri123 (BROOKSVILLE, ME) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I didn't even get past the first fight, just packed it right back up. You go straight into a fight at the beginning and aiming is ridiculously hard. They should've made it so you could lock onto a target, that would've been a great improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened for a game for kids

posted by tjwagons (CITRA, FL) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

When Harry Potter games came out it was made for kids. Now the have made it impossible for their target audience to even play the game. This game is supposed to be for young kids and they have made is so younger viewers can't even play the game even on easy. They don't even take the young viewers through a tutorial they are just supposed to know exactly what to do out of the gate. They need to seriously rethink what they have done to this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh game, terrible Kinect interface

posted by DocSleeze (MILFORD, DE) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So in that it's a movie-based game, you know it's not going to be good, but since I bought a Kinect I wanted to know how fun it would be. It wasn't. The computer runs Harry around leaving you to shoot at enemies that pop up on the screen. I couldn't get the block to work and even though I'm pointing right at them my shots kept missing. It wouldn't be so bad if it had some sort of assistance in calibrating your aim, but there's no targeting. Your arm will also hurt by the end of level 1 as you're basically motioning with your arm folded past behind your head and throwing in a forward motion, similar to throwing a baseball but not having your arms out. And since every enemy takes 2-3 hits by level 2 I had to turn the game off. I switched to regular play mode, which I found more entertaining, but boring after a few short levels. This is one of those games that are for the die hard Potter fans and no one else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

games

posted by sickoffly (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this game was like forced on me it was 20th on my list so all the games in front of this they didn't have.i would keep your options open with other company cuz they(fly)don't have enough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse