Rent Hardy Boys: The Hidden Theft for Wii
view large frontback

Hardy Boys: The Hidden Theft

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.0

115 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and entertaining!

posted by Gamingfun (REDMOND, OR) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game with my kids ages 5 and 7. We really enjoyed playing it. The story line was interesting and just challenging enough to not be frustrating. If your are looking for a difficult sleuthing game, this may not be for you. It has on screen clues to help you figure out what the next step is and shows you when you need to use an item on something to progess to the next clue. Overall I felt it was a fun game, my only criticism is that it was a bit short, we finished it in three sessions of about two hours each.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Neat and Sweet

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Oct 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hello - This is a point & click adventure/puzzle solving game. There is absolutely no fighting or combat (for a refreshing change!) I've only played 2 of these before - it's very much like Heavenly Sword. It does have some very good puzzles - you'll have to keep on your toes to solve them all. The game is extremely short - I think 5 - 8 hours is about it. I enjoyed it - makes my recommended list! My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GOOD TITLE BAD GAME

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

seriously the animation was awful, the voice over was bad and it took me over an hour to watch the disc? the controls were clunky when i tried to point and click half the time there was no response donot buy this game even the graphics were lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hi

posted by beth (JOHNSON CITY, TN) May 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

did not like it at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointing

posted by amandah (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game had a lot of potential, but the graphics were just not up to par, and there were no on screen instructions or hints. Just figuring out how the game was played (how the characters moved and what my next step is, was time consuming. I am not the most savvy gamer out there, but I am used to first person type of games. I don't reccomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great quick game

posted by InnerSpazz (DEKALB, IL) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Hellllooooo everyone! Your friendly neighborhood spazz here! Don't have very long to make this review (It's my first! HAZAHHH! :D), but I will get riiight down to it.

This is a great game, however it isn't perfect. If you don't like games with so-and-so graphics, then don't get this The graphics get a 3/5. But if you actually CARE about game play and story, good for you!

This is a very interesting game with a deep plot (if not a tad corny), but it is still great. 4/5 for storyline.

The game play? It was an interesting span of puzzles from the very complex to stuff so easy, a 3rd grader could figure it out. Even so, most of the time it was either in the middle of way up there, so it stayed challenging most of the time. Although there were many points where I had no choice but resort to a walkthrough, it was still fun enough to ignore that fact and keep playing. The main point that brings this down is the fact that some parts will only work if you figured something else out already or looked at something already, meaning you could go on a wild goose chase for something very simple and obvious. Game play gets a 3/5.

Controls? Plenty of swear words I could use, but since Gamefly doesn't like swears, I'll just say horrible.. Click to walk somewhere, and since your character ALWAYS walks, it takes a lot longer than it should to get from point A to point B, depending on where you are going. Even worse, if something is in your way, you have to manually get him to walk to the thingy you want to investigate, and that it just annoying. All in all, controls get a 2/5.

The score?

Graphics: 3/5
Story: 4/5
Game Play: 3/5
Controls: 2/5
Overall score: 4.5/10 (but as far as gamely is concerned, 5.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »