Rent Hannah Montana: The Movie for PS3
view large frontback

Hannah Montana: The Movie

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
4.2

556 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do you like trophies?

posted by ThomasElla (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a trophy hound like myself and have a healthy appreciation for garbage, then Hannah Montana: The Movie is definitely worth a rental. Otherwise, I can only presume that you're a sane person and therefore, this game is not for you.

Even when considering that this is your typical licensed kid's game, it's still surprising that Hannah Montana: The Movie's story is as shallow as it is. Playing this game makes the Wikipedia summary to the movie it's based on feel like Shakespearian literature, full of internal strife, betrayal, and overarching themes about the nature of happiness. What's even more surprising about both properties though, is the awful message they send to the kids they market to.

Rather than teaching kids that trying to be something you're not will only lead to despair and hurting the people you love, they completely reverse that message in the final moments by having Miley's entire hometown pressure her to continue on with her double-life. But I guess that's to be expected from a game that has its main character, after ruining her relationships with everyone she cares about, whole-heartedly deliver the line, "Maybe shopping will make me feel better!"

As far as what you actually do in this game is concerned, the on-stage performances are where you'll have the most ironic fun. The game makes a valiant effort to map Hannah and her band's actions to the controller, to varying degrees of success or failure. With Hannah Montana's infectiously cheery songs about shoes and being a small town girl blaring while you match her ridiculous poses with the controller, it's hard not to smile, at least to recognize that yes, this is what you're doing with your spare time.

If you're the kind of person that wouldn't mind friends seeing that you got the platinum trophy in Hannah Montana: The Movie, then give it an overnight rental. But if you're looking for a good game for your kids to play, keep looking.

Originally posted at whatisdelicious (dot) com.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Trophy Hunter Magnet

posted by Shaddack (GARDEN CITY, KS) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

All in all, the game isn't that terrible, provided you can suspend your manhood for about 3-4 hours.

The voice-overs are horrible, sure... as is the general plot. The general scheme of "Go here, get that, and bring it back." gets repetitive really quickly also.

In the end, you can get your platinum out of this game in roughly 3 hours, 4 if you're having difficulty with some of the sixaxis controls like I was.

And for the Trophy Hunter in all of us... isn't it all about the Platinum popping?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Little Kids will like it

posted by smggamer (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are 7-10 and you liked the movie you will probably like the game. If no,t the only redeeming value is the easy trophies for the PS3. You can get a platinum in about 5 hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game For Easy Platinum or Hannah Fans!

posted by Force255 (MARCUS HOOK, PA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a great game if your looking for an easy platinum. It only took about 6 hours for me! But when talking about the actual fun you will get out of this game, I can only recommend it to the most die-hard fans. For parents out there, you will be happy to know it does not contain any sexuality or violence. It's difficulty is easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kid game or trophy hunter game

posted by l3loody (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

NO ONE should play this game unless they are a kid or someone searching for some trophies. All you really do is get told to get something, then go get it. The performances are just different controller buttons and motions. I think it would make a good game for children and such, but not anyone besides that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow! Couldn't wait to send this one back

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Had to rent this game because of my daughter. Thank god she didn't like it and quickly lost interest. This is what's known as a "cash in". No real value or gameplay here, just a developer wanting to make a quick buck.

Thank god for Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just an easy Platnium

posted by blacklabel (FLORENCE, KY) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yep thats about it, if your not to ashamed to put it on your PS3, but hey I have a daughter so I have an excuse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hannah

posted by lonlygirl (LAS CRUCES, NM) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a ok game my boy friend played it more then i did lol i think for 11-15 year olds it will be a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hannha Mntonata I dnt care

posted by C255ZOMBIE (South Cle Elum, WA) Apr 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Wow just simply amazing this game is crazy levels of bad the only way i could explain this game is using about 400 swear words but Gamefly wont allow bad launguage

ok now just think about all aspects that make a game great and this is the polar opposite

this game sucks S{-}IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Aweome Game

posted by Junes2k (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like Platinum Trophies this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dance puppets Dance

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ONce I got a hang of all the moves and instrument actions, I got my platinum in 5 hours time...the only stumper was that worsesome bag toss game!...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

eww

posted by DiscoPuNK7 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 22, 2009

Member since May 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

eww...hannah montanna...ew

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy platinum

posted by Canes01miami (VALDOSTA, GA) Nov 8, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Easy platinum. Only took me about 5 hours straight and make sure you spend money only clothes only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Actually Was Fun

posted by Lizardman81 (DELTONA, FL) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I rented this for the trophies alone and they keep coming and coming! I played through the entire game and scored all of the trophies in five hours, minus the one where you need to play the pony race at the carnival with three friends in real life, not simulated in game, nor online, so if you don't have three other people with PS3's that can come to your home you'll never score the platinum trophy for this game.
This game is great for my pre teen and teen daughters and myself, their dad too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Easy Platinum, Terrible Game

posted by Fergi21 (DEFIANCE, OH) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

If you are renting this game, most likely, you are aware that it is around a 3 to 4 hour platinum trophy. Aside from this, there are not many redeeming qualities to this title. With forced Sixaxis control and terrible mini games this game is a tough sell for even the most hardcore Hannah Montana fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

platinum trophie

posted by venom2879 (GILBERT, AZ) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

To be honest I got this game for an easy platinum , the game play I guess is great if played by the intended age group and fans of Hannah .
As for the platinum one of the throphies require you have 3 controllers or friends with controllers so no platinum for me, waste of time, but I should have researched more before I rented the game, lesson learnt lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blaze's Quick Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Easy trophies for quick platinum, but the game sucks asss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 hour Platinum!

posted by Ambino (CRESCENT CITY, FL) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

I am a bit of a trophy hound. This was one of the easiest games I have ever played. I am a 33 yr old female and used to watch Hannah Montana, LOL. Sad, I know. Anyway, super easy game. The only "hard" parts are the games at the fair. I spent the most time (during game play) on the toss game. Riding the horse 10 times was not too much fun either but really took no skill, just time. I didn't even steer the last 8 times, lol. If you are looking for a game you can platinum in 2 hours, this is it! Mostly you just do her dance moves the whole game with analog sticks. How hard is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Trophy Gold Mine

posted by ctilton88 (DAYTON, OH) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

If you are a trophy hunter, get this game. With 4 golds and 8 silvers, it is totally worth dredging through the 3 hours of gameplay. Also, if you have kids, this is a very easy game that they might even find fun. Pretty mind numbing for adults though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Was Not that Good

posted by tool4621 (ROCK HILL, SC) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

We got this game for our daughter thank goodness we never bought it. she beat the whole game in four hours. It would have been sooner but she had school

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A perfect Trophy dream

posted by Davidb (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

Ok, I rented this game just to get all the trophies.

I few mistakes I made, if you are playing for trophies, don't buy furniture or wallpaper for your van, it holds no value for trophies, buy clothes only.

I give the game a 6 because the game actually functions with really no bugs. The mini games are pretty fun but you'll find them repititive. If you have a Hannah Montana fan in the house, they will enjoy the game just for the music itself. All the songs are enjoyable and fun to play and the moves are quite easy to perform as long as you pay attention during the tutorial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very awful!!!

posted by Naruto_Godtoad (LOMPOC, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

bad graphics and really boring... just for girls... and easy plastinum for trophy w-h-o-r-e-s xD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lol

posted by DolbyTelAviv (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Ok, so first let me explain this game is great if you're addicted to trophies. Got my platinum in less than 3 hours (following the roadmap on ps3trophies). I gave it a 2 because there are only 2 reasons I like this game, that was one of them. The other reason was because there is this acoustic instrumental song that plays in the farm level that is absolutely captivating. But other than those reasons, this game has horrible graphics, horrible voice acting, & stupid mini-games lol.

I guess I can say this videogame would be appropriate for the younger generation, if you're not a trophy addict like me. But honestly, I can't even see a 9 year-old girl who is obsessed with Hannah liking this game...But, that's just my opinion. I STRONGLY recommend this game if you want an easy platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

why make it motion?

posted by termsux (CLEARWATER, FL) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

4 hrs platnium trophy, but the fact thay tried to make this motion off the controller made it even worse of a game then it should have been. Played it on 360 also and the only difference was in the ps3 you have to use the motion controller which may or may not pick up at times making the game more frustrating than it already is. Bottom line 4 hrs and all trophys are yours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Story & Trophie Game

posted by Kikazaru22 (SWEENY, TX) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is actually good. It has a story line, games to play, places to go, things to do and best of all there are alot of trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse