Rent Halo for Xbox
view large frontback

Halo

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

8081 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Late Review

posted by 00ian00 (HAZEL GREEN, AL) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

44 out of 45 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

For many people, it’s not just a game—it’s a way of life. Bungie certainly had an original plot and charcters. The game is great single-player or co-op, and it re-defined the world of FPSs. The graphics are great, and the deathmatches (especially when there are sixteen players) are amazing. There are no glitches (that I’ve found), and it fits the Xbox platform perfectly. I love camping with the sniper-rifle, having a buddy or two flush our opponents out, then POP, and all they see is a vapor trail. Halo’s developers even went so far as to include a melee button, so when the only honorable thing to do is beat someone to death, the option is there. This game has kept me occupied since the day I got my Xbox, and I still enjoy finding new things to do with this game. It gets a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What more can I say

posted by GFounder (WEST LAKE HILLS, TX) Apr 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2002

94 out of 99 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I was playing this game into the wee hours of the night when the GameFly concept was hatched. That's right - Halo was part of the inspiration for GameFly, so I have special affinity for it. It's so good it single-handedly made the Xbox.

Halo is one of the - if not the - best shooters ever made, mostly because the AI is rock solid but also because the controls and setting are amazing. Co-op play is a blast and is probably the best co-op mode on any game, ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Was good for its time.

posted by knifeguy (WINCHESTER, VA) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can understand how this game was so popular ten years ago and how it set the standard for modern day FPS. However, the level designs are unimaginative, repetetive, and tedious. While the run-and-gun controls work greatly, the vehicle controls felt clumsy and way too touchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!

posted by JPizzle (ROCKVILLE, MD) Sep 18, 2009

Member since May 2006

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

All i got to say is Halo changed my life :-)

It is honestly my favorite game of all time, I can remember spending countless hours playing the campaign mode, and multi-player mode. Also use to connect my xbox thru Gamespy and play with other people online. This is such an amazing game, if you havent played it by now, where the heck have you been the last 8 years?!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Halo original.

posted by Maxrox42 (SAN BRUNO, CA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I got Halo in the mail, I wasn't ready to expect. I remembered along time ago when I used to have the game, it had the best graphics and it was fun to play. But now, the graphics seemed alittle off obviously, but the gameplay was still how it used to be, and it brought back alot of memories of when I was alittle kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Standing the test of Time

posted by MagnusAce1 (Grants Pass, OR) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After playing the 2nd and 3rd Halo's first, I was surprised to find that this one is as enjoyable if not more than the others. The graphics and AI are still relevant and don't deter from the experience at all. A must play for any Halo fan or hardcore gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A GREAT GAME!!!!!!

posted by angerman (MASON, MI) Jun 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The Covenant are attacking from all sides. Master Cheif throws a plasma granade, sticking it to a grunt. It detonates taking out four other grunt. Quickly switching to your MA5B Assault Rifle & cleaning up the straglers, Master Cheif clears the way for the troops. If that doesn't make you wanna play this game, then your dumb. HALO is a great game, the graphics are very good. Use strategies to destroy The Covenant. Command an array of vehicles including the M808B Scorpion MBT tank, M12 LRV Warthog, Covenant Ghost, & Covenant Banshee. Destroy The Covenant with tons of weapons from the M6D Pistol to The Covenant Plasma Rifle. Multiplayer is by far the best of any game I have ever played. A huge variety of multiplayer modes are available. Capture the flag, slayer, Oddball, and many more. Even create your own multiplayer modes. Co-op is a blast, overwhelming the Covenant is sheer joy. The storyline is pretty straight forward, not a whole lot of thinking at all. Which is good, nothing but pure fun from start to finish. All in all this game is worth owning not renting. You will not regret it.
GRAPHICS-8/10
STORYLINE-8/10
REPLAY VALUE-7/10
GAMEPLAY-9/10
VOICEOVERS-9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game with great graphics

posted by Glitch78 (INDIO, CA) May 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hi, Nick again I am here to tell you about the game of the year, "Halo: combat evolved". I know everyone knows someone who has a parent or has been saying to their kid's "I know you want halo but it is rated M and that means mature so you can't play it". But to be honest with you, I don't think it should be rated M. My Friend Jonathan got it on his Xbox 360 elite so he called me over to his house and when I got there said "Hey Nick want to play Halo?" So we sat down in his room and played it. After the pillar of autumn I said "Wow! This is one of the best shooters ever!" Then I asked "What is this rated again?" He said "M" Then I said "I didn't see much blood in there, are you sure?" Then he handed me the case and there I saw it M. Well we got to the next level when you arrive on Halo, I started seeing some blood but It's not like it just squirts out like in a badly directed horror movie it's just a little splotch on the floor. Nothing you wouldn't see in CSI. And you are to caught up in the story and combat to even notice. And I also have to say, the weapon design is great, the characters look awesome, And the Gun play is terrific. I would say this is the start of a new generation of games. To bad it was made before Xbox Live where I bet you can stop fighting the covenant and start fighting other humans.

from fellow gamer,
Glitch78

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo

posted by halolover (BOSTON, MA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Halo is an amazing game. It's no doubt that it is the best game on the Xbox. The Xbox probably wouldn't exist anymore without it. What makes it so good? Read on...

Halo is basically a game that take place in the future where the human race is figting a war against an alien race named the Covenant. The humans are losing badly, and decide to create a mean green fighting machine, who is the hero of this game. He is called Master Cheif(his real name is not mentioned in the game). As Master Cheif, you fight the war against the Covenant, in a desperate effort to save mankind.

This game is great fun. You really get absorbed into the story; The game immerses you in it. Graphics were amazing when the game was released. So much detail was put into them. The music was truly inspiring, and the sound effects were also top notch. The actual gameplay, however, is some of the best around, even today. The game, quite simply, gives new meaning to the word "fun".
As with the GTA series, the only games that will better Halo will be the Halo sequels. This game is a lot of fun, yes, but it really shines when you play it with a friend. The game includes a split screen mode, which provides intense multiplayer. Even better, though, there is a co-op mode!!! Play it with a friend, and you'll be left with lot's of good times, trust me.

By now, I'm sure I've gotten the message across that Halo is a good game. If you haven't played it yet(although that's unlikely), seeing as you're a gamefly member, put it on your que. You'll love it, I promise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't rent this game... you must buy it now!

posted by Knosty (FAIRBORN, OH) May 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This is game is the only reason i bought my xbox. If you were a fan of the legendary Goldeneye on 64, then this is what you have been waiting for. Story line is complex and fantastic. Some people don't get down with the whole sci-fi alien stomping madness but i promise you will re-consider on this game. Game play is the best of it's genre. Several options are open to you when it comes to how you want to kill your prey, from several different weapons, melee attacks and throwing grenades which is fluidly executed with ease. multiplayer cannot be matched on this game as well. co-op to team up with your friend against the alien forces or go play some death match with 3 other xboxes to get up to 16 players. the look of the game is incredibly real, too. The only thing i can say bad about this game is that its not online compatible. i dare anyone to say anything else bad about this game.

story line-8 you'll get into it
game play-10 you'll see what i mean when you play
replay-9 the game is so big and so awesome
look-9 looks pretty real to me
multiplayer-10 infinite hours of fun with friends

overall-9.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by gameman123 (WIMBERLEY, TX) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWSOME BEST GAME EVER GREAT GRAFFICS PERFECT STORY LINE NOTHING WAS BAD ABOUT THIS GAME ANYBODY WHO HAS EVER PLAYED A VIDEO GAME KNOWS THAT THIS GAME IS THE BEST SHOOTER EVER EVERYBODY SHOULD OWN THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exceptional game!

posted by Gladman21 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For a first person shooter, this game has such variety. With rideable vehicles, intelligent aliens, numerous guns, smooth controls and lush beautiful graphics, this game is Awesome!

The only complaint I had was; the main character had a flashlight with a 30 second battery power. This left me stumbling in the darkness with aliens that can see fine. Ok, we're in the space-age with a suit that can deflect plasma rifle blasts; sorry a battery powered flashlight is too much to ask - come on :(

Having voiced my complaint, the fact that you didn't have to graduate to a better gun every several levels made for so much more fun.
Picking up alien weapons and grenades added to the realistic (if it were possible) experience of a space war.

Alien dialogs were humorous and intelligent.

Thank you Bungie for such a winner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo

posted by Guns1inger (READING, PA) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Halo is THE GREATEST FIRST PERSON SHOOTER. That's a quick frace to sum it all up. For a game made in 2001, this game is still pretty amazing. The gameplay is just too fun, and I can i can play it over and over and over again without getting sick of it. Some people argue whether Halo is better or worse than Halo 2, but hey, this is all I can say, "Sequels ALWAYS sell more than the original, but are NEVER AS GOOD". True statement if you ask me. But don't get me wrong, Halo 2 is still a great game, and heck, I love them both. If you played Halo and didn't like it and said other first person shooters are better... Well, here's a fun fact for ya: Halo: Combat Evolved was THE FIRST GAME to use the thumbsticks to control the movement of the character, as in that the left thumbstick controlls the walking movement and that the right controls the turning. Play Halo, you will purely love it, and go right ahead and play Halo 2 while you are at it. And 2007, get ready to "Finish The Fight!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo review by: zachary

posted by Hamoss360 (ROCHESTER, WA) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Hey again this is the same zach that rote the JakX review for the ps2.
Now im here for 2003's and even 2004's Greatest game for the X-box Halo! This game was the game of the year for 2 years for millions of people. This game is known by many people, i mean god if u mention it to someone they will probably say they beat it, I've beaten it on the hardest mode legendary mode so im a true kick but player at the game so now to the review.
Halo is a game that you can get addicted to easily. It has kick but weapons like the rocket launcher the plasma rifle, pistol and many more. There are also many guys to kill in Halo like; grunts (weakest), many colors of elite's, but the strongest is the black elite's.
There are many hours of game play in this game of the year. The best part of the game for me was the myltiplayer that can hold 1-4 with one consel or 1-16 4 consel hook up. This game is also on the Pc with many more weapons to use.
Oh yah and i forgot the best part of the game the use of vehicles like the scorpion tank, the ghost and the warthog.
Well that's it for me have fun playing halo, but don't forget to buy it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo is elite

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: 10
GRAPHICS: 10

This could actually be the best game ever. What can I say that hasn't already been said? It has one of the best stores of any game I have played.

Halo is elite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Number 1 Xbox Game EVER! seriusly.

posted by mastergeek (TOOELE, UT) Jul 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the best xbox game of all time it is a kick butt game the graphics are the best(for 2001).The gameply makes you want to play over and over and over again after you beat it.The best part of the game is the co'op if you bring a friend over you wont leave the house for a year.I reccomend buying an Xbox just to get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

halo

posted by steynmaste (HAYS, KS) Jun 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is the first and best game for xbox it is a must must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo is the best game i have ever witnessed!!!!!

posted by SlasherZ (NORWAY, ME) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Halo is the best first person shooter that i have ever played. The best part is that the "legendary" setting is somewhat of a challenge. I personally worship Bungie for coming out with Halo (THANK YOU!!!!!). If your looking for a non-stop action thriller where you get to mindlessly slaughter aliens that never stop coming, halo is the game for you!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

halo

posted by mhedrick (ARCHDALE, NC) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

quite simply the best game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo: Combat Evolved Review

posted by Andy88 (MARIETTA, OH) May 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really good, the graphics are good for being an older game and gameplay is solid, but one thing is that it should seriously be rated T, if you do gameplay, you will not a lot of blood or gore but more cursing than any of it. All of the Halo games are like this, they are all rated wrong. But I guess this time Online Enteractions are rated by ESRB, just because of gore on Campaign mode every once and awhile its rated M? Wow. But overall this game is a thumbs up in gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HALO

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've only played a few times, but I think it is fun. My best friend and boyfriend are addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game that changed gaming

posted by dustybrown (GROVETOWN, GA) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the beginning of the greatest game story ever told.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Game Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Halo117 (LOVELAND, CO) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Halo is an exultant fist person shooter, to start of with the single player campaign mode is awesome, its fun, hard, a lot of weapons to chose from and lots of aliens to kill. The Co-op mode is just as good, like most co-op games the game play changes but, in halo it is the same and equally hard as single player. The multi player is cool too like most xbox games you can have 4 players playing at the same time but halo is the best out of all of them. The vehicle chooses is a good verity like the warthog, Scorpion, ghost, rocket warthog, and banshee are all fun vehicles to use in multi player and single player. This game hands down gets a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

halo

posted by Jason76 (ABINGDON, MD) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

excellent game especially if you wanna take out revenge on your buddies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLEASE!

posted by CamoJackv2 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You people who rate this game down because Gears of War has better graphics must not realize that they are not only on DIFFERENT CONSOLES but also mad YEARS apart. You must be the most stupid people to live. GET SOME BRAINS. This game was amazing for it's time and is still a great game but obviously a game that has a 3rd one made in the series isn't going to stand up to a modern games technology. CHRIST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse