Rent Halo: Reach for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Halo: Reach

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

25916 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

halo reach

posted by fatestcascade3 (CHATTAROY, WA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing. i could not stop playing it when i got it. my brother could not stop playing it till like a year after we got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved it.

posted by NuclearChoclate (OMAHA, NE) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even though I'm not a big fan of these future space-type things (which is exactly what this game is), I thought it was fantastic. The only other Halo game I played was Halo 2, which was like 4 years ago, so I don't really remember it and I can't really compare this to any other Halo game out there, but still, this game was worth my money. When my friends and I first got this game, we played it almost non-stop, and I still play it a lot now. This game can get frustrating for some people. You might even say "I HIT HIM FIRST" once in awhile, even me, and I'm one of those mellow gamers. But still, this doesn't get old and I would reccomend buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo:Reach

posted by KevoFett (VINITA, OK) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best of Halo multiplayer so far. Good story line. Awesome forge capablities and armor custimization options. Particulrly awesome is that its come so far from Halo Combat Evolved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for all shooting fans wether or not u lik halo

posted by Likeit (NAMPA, ID) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A definite good shooter

The campaign is the best halo campaign so far

The multiplayer is great to there is so many armor customizations u can
Have like a black visor or different helmets

Great game
Must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo Reach

posted by YourShawnster (MOUNT VERNON, WA) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I bought it a long time ago and i still play it. I recommened this game to anyone who likes Action/Adventure games. I hope you rent it or buy it from GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

halo reach

posted by hottmess2004 (HUNTSVILLE, AR) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

reach has it glitches and it up falls but overall i do get mad when i die but that's the gamer way of playing the multiplayer maps are worth the 800 Microsoft points(but for all i know the price went up or down) for you get to go inside halo and not be just master chief but a real spartan ready to fight the covenant you get the experience of being a recruit and building your way to the top so overall i say rent this game so good luck to you and i hope you all who are reading this can have fun with the game live long and prosper as my fav. youtube channel so subcribe to darthvulku youtube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game evah

posted by FREDD (KITTS HILL, OH) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was just amazing the storyline, the weapons the graphics system, they have just outdone themselves. the aspect of the game, all new characters in this campaign you work as a squad with other spartans, as the other games you mostly worked yourself. i would reccomend this game to any serious gamer, it is by far the best game ive had so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by jovani55 (JAMAICA, NY) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one the funnest games in the world , play it and enjoy it , is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great great game fun good charicters and story

posted by drslump (SPRING VALLEY, CA) May 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have never been a big halo fan. well i have when it comes to online battles. but i have never looked forword to going through a solo campign.and trying to beat the game. the story never did it for me mastet chef never did it for me. the way you havd to shoot a enimey 2o times to kill it never did it for me. i never felt ibvezted in the plot. but with halo reach i feel like they hu..inezed the francich alot more you really get to know and feel for your tesm. the story is deep and rich the weapons and battles are amazing. you get to have space ship fights. the only area this games lacking in is the vehicle controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by Pizzajoe56 (WILLIAMSTON, MI) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My friend has played the halo series for years and he recommended it to me. The plot is your the new guy 6 and your first mission involves fighting rebels. well until you find the covenant(the aliens).you go through a war with your team all dying through out it. A scientist finds an AI (computer). The AI happens to be cortana (seen in other games).unfortunately there is no flood (a parisite in other games). In the last level which is basically a survival mode if you die don't worry it's imposible to survive.but the best is the matchmaking you. Can use jet pack,use invisibility without a power up. Also if you have anniversary you level up your character on it's matchmaking. Another cool thing is forge which allows you to create your own maps and download friends maps. Speed halo is a famous map and is really fun. I would recommend trying it. The coolest thing about forge is that reach is the only game ever with it. Some of the maps on live was made with forge by the halo creaters. Goodbye from Pizzajoe56

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo's back, and ready for a FIGHT.

posted by AndyLaine (ROCKLIN, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game goes over the standards of a game. This game is not just a game, but a life style. Halo has been such a AWESOME series that, well, everyone just has to get a copy. Here is what i think of Halo: Reach:

Graphics 10/10. The only thing i do not like about the graphics is the ground, i will say it is that from the first halo, maybe a little better, but i do not care about this because i dont stare at the ground for hours. :)

Gameplay: 10/10. Omg. i cant even fit all thats good about it in GF's 2000 word limit for reveiws. your just going to have to try the game to figure it out.

Storyline:10/10. Amazing. It fits in with the halo series so well that it well keep you guessing every minute along the way.

Online: 10/10. Outstanding.

Customization: 10/10. Awesome armor graphics, possibilities, and even story's that go with each little peice of armor.

Overall: Dont rent this game. Just dont. Go out and buy it! Right now! get out of you chair or couch and get in your car, go to the nearest store that sells games and pick up a copy!!!! well i hope you found this helpful!Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo at it's finest

posted by GruntBDay (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

149 out of 201 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This is bungies last game and as expected they went out with a bang. This is by far the best Halo and the most content rich than any other halo. The campaign has brilliant storytelling, Beautiful visuals (Night time on reach is stunning)and the hardest halo campaign yet and dont expect to have it easy with friends because each player you gain the higher the difficulty scales. Firefight makes a return from ODST and now has matchmaking. Firefight is highly addictive, i have found myself playing more firefight than the campaign. The firefight maps are great, my personal favorites being beachfront and corvette. Firefight offers loads of customization this time around. If you want to be invincible and go on a grunt massacre you can or maybe you want to test your skills and go against hunters and elites with just a magnum and a sniper, the possibiltes are massive. The multiplayer is better than ever with loads of armor customization that you earn with credits whic can be earned in campaign and multiplayer(Your custom also appears as noble six in camapaign. New game modes like invasion bring freshness to the multiplayer and the armor abilites are a great additions(JETPACKS!!!). Im kinda bummed that there are not that many new original maps and most are remakes of old maps. Of course thats not bad thing a glad the brought back these maps(Ivory Tower FTW!).The last and greatest addition is forge world, the ultimate map creation tool on any console. Forge world is a massive area for you to create whatever kind of map or gametype you want to make. Im looking foward to what master forgers are going to bring to the community. Kudos to bungie and there final outing to an amazing series. Bungie proves that they are one of the gretest game devolpers ever and they love their fans and community and we love them to. Have fun at activision =/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Epic. Game of the Year to date

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Sep 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

62 out of 91 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Of all the Halo games in the franchise, I anticipate this one will trump them all. With the addition of new game play modes, multiplayer character upgrades and customizations, new abilities, and a stunning campaign, this game is just epic in every way. Bungie ends with a huge bang.

Taking hints from the ridiculous success of Modern Warfare 2, there are tons of new additional features to online multiplayer. The ability to upgrade and customize your character’s looks and abilities are finally here. You can change colors, add pieces of armor, create your own emblem, and a ton more---Covenant or Spartan. You can change if you want to sprint faster, have jet-packs, camouflage, etc. You earn credits while playing to purchase these in the armory. The better you do the more credits you earn. It’s a little tough at first, but just like any game---play more and get better.

Online play has been flawless for me so far. No glitches plaguing the game like MW2. Firefight mode is seriously beefed up and is amazingly DEEP. There is so much to see and so many ways to play the mode. If you aren’t familiar, you and 3 friends try to survive maps while defeating waves of relentless Covenant enemies. It’s like opening a box of Cheeze-Its (or ketchup chips if you’re from Canada…), once you start you seriously can’t stop. There is also the addition of Forge mode, where you can EDIT maps and save them as data to send to friends or upload. It is the largest Halo online multiplayer map in existence.

I was also blown away by another glorious single player/co-op campaign. The graphics are some of the best I’ve seen on the 360 to date. The landscape and environmental surroundings are crisp and clean. The sounds and music were also epic. It picks up at the right moment to add to the suspense and had me totally engulfed at parts. It’s long enough and difficult enough to keep you playing over and over. It is more than worth its cost at $60.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great campaign

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

29 out of 46 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Reach has you teamed up with a squad of five Spartans in addition to yourself. You play as Noble 6 part of the UNSC's Noble Team of Spartans based on the planet Reach in a prequel to Halo: Combat Evolved. Those familiar with the story of Halo will notice how well the story unfolds as Reach's fate looms over everything. The moments of hope and triumph are thrilling though they are kept in check as Noble Team begins to realize just what they and the planet is in for. The cut-scenes are wonderfully done and a sense of urgency prevails the entire time.

Combat is familiar yet enhanced enough to remain enjoyable after four Halo FPS games. New weapons are thrown into the mix in addition to armor abilities such as the multiplayer beta favorite jet-pack. The graphics are enhanced and the planet Reach is portrayed beautifully as are enemies and guns. In addition to the graphics the game sounds amazing. The gunfire sound effects are nothing short of awesome and the music throughout the game will keep you on the edge of your seat blood pumping, palms perspiring. The environments in Reach are expansive and lively which is incredibly refreshing after ODST's cramped, dark and lonely levels. Noble Team is often by your side and you can also often recruit lesser soldiers whose names will appear next to your radar as they fight beside you.

Firefight returns alongside all of your favorite Halo multiplayer modes. Even some classic maps make their return, slightly updated but still recognizable (i.e. Blood Gulch returns as Hemorrhage which can be found in the Forge maps). Firefight now has more options and customizability and Forge has been entirely reworked and expanded to unleash your creativity. Yet another new feature allows for a ton of character customization. You earn credits while playing across all modes (and through weekly challenges over LIVE) which can be used to purchase different styles of armor and armor add-ons. There is so much to do and I can't wait to keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by DARTHFISHBAIT (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you loved the Halo series, then i strongly reccomend this game to any fan.

Even if you are new to the series you will not have trouble following the timeline. If you've played halo CE, you will know that the Reach events occur before. This make halo reach a prequel to the halo trilogy.

Multiplayer is fun and new. any shoooter will enjoy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I understand the point most of you make about this

posted by thxman450 (CASA GRANDE, AZ) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now I know that most of you say you want to be a awesome space warrior into the future and yes I looked for that too and was disappointed by the outcome that you need health kits. This game is one of my favorite besides Halo 3. You still have shields like Halo CE-3. The spartan IIIs were experimental spartans and were not expected to survive the augmention process. So yea, theres the reason why should not complain about Halo with the health kits. It brings back memories from Halo CE. The spartan IIIs were cheap products if you read Halo: Ghosts of Onyx. Sorry if I sound rude or correcting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Made me love halo again

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

29 out of 50 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Ive been a big Halo fan since Combat Evolved came out in 01. However, i got bored with Halo 3 and ODST was ok, just really short. However, Reach is amazing. The campaign is great, even if you cant really relate to alot of the characters in noble 6, theres still a sense of sadness when one goes (sorry if its a spoiler but its the fall of reach! go figure). The levels are a lot of fun, and while I was playing I felt a lot of pieces from the campaign from Halo 1 were taken (best campaign until Reach). It brought back good memories. The covenant are ate their peak of military power, so fighting them feels fresh again, and all the past enemies are back. The campaign is kinda short, but it is so worth it.

Multiplayer. I love multiplayer, but sometimes I miss the classic slayer (for example, no jet packs) everyone has a power up, its fun at first but gets pretty annoying. Also, I WANT TO PLAY SLAYER...EVERYONE STOP VOTING FOR SWAT (game without shields) EVERY SINGLE TIME! jeez i would play COD if i wanted a one shot death. Bungie needs to put swat as its own game type to choose, swat is horrible. Other than that the other modes and servers are good and it is still fun to play and level up your spartan.

One last note, if its the year 2552, why does the human army still have guns that seem like we have today, if not worse than today guns, maybe with some good weapons REACH WOULDNT FALL

Halo defines the xbox and is easily the best FPS out there. This game defined FPS on shooters and is still the king, no fps touches it, and im looking at you killzone...wow that game was awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Halo Reach Review

posted by greatbigno (ARKADELPHIA, AR) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Halo: Reach was a huge improvement from my experience with ODST, which was a huge disappointment coming from Halo 3. Reach is what ODST should have been, and the story line was what one could have realistically (if religious zealots from across the galaxy coming to destroy themselves and everyone around them through a misunderstood ancient weapon could be considered realistic) expected had they been on Reach when it fell.

Things go from bad to worse, despite what the character does and the best efforts of those around him/her. I actually started to care about some of the characters, though some of the battles begin to wear on a person after several hours of non-stop playing. The ground campaign is what you've come to expect from Halo, and looks gorgeous as it did in Halo 3. They say it looks better, but I think it looked good even then.

The spaceship warfare chapter is a refreshing and fun change in the story, and I wish there had been more of it. Really! It was that much fun.

On the highest difficulties, it is quite literally almost impossible to stay alive for any amount of time, but this is to be expected. If it's too easy, then why are your people losing the planet? It SHOULD be hard....

On the downside, I would say the battles start to feel repetitive and somewhat of a chore after a while. It starts to feel like the story was slowed down, and excessive battles put in. However, Halo wasn't intended to be some long and drawn-out RPG. It is in the action and non-stop battles that the Halo universe shines, and this installment is no different.

Personally, the game is a rental for me. However, if you really like Halo it could be a buy. I never really enjoyed multiplayer on Halo, but obviously many do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo Reach

posted by drydenator (HALIFAX, MA) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

18 out of 35 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

I was a big COD fan.....not anymore. I also liked halo. When halo reach came out I got it and played it for a while and it was the best game i have ever played! the graphics are wicked sick and the gameplay is awsome, especially online. there are a lot of new weapons, my favorite, the needle rifle. there are also new abilites like the jetpack. fly over enemies while your shooting at them. THIS GAME IS AWSOME GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best halo game ever

posted by doomygir (FRESNO, CA) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

i loved this game its amazing what they did to it. the ending is well im not spoiling it, forge world is alot easier to use, armour abilities are awesome and fire fight matchmaking is awesome.i found a few things i didnt like though. 1 credits are sometimes hard to get, 2 everything is expensive, and 3 if you leave too much matches you cant play matchmaking for 15 minutes. this game is perfect for a die hard halo fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It has been worth the wait!

posted by Martinez (GLENDORA, CA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

26 out of 54 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

since last fall ive been psyched for the beta.
since spring i waited for the game.
and now it has come.
the forge has been improved.
story more engaging.(since halo 3 at least)
and the multiplayer possibilities almost endless.
said to be the final chapter in the series im just about 100.00% sure it will go with a bang.
definitly worth a 10 and i'd even pay 80 dollars for this game.

p.s.
Dont raise the price on that comment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THE BEST!!

posted by DarthCJ (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

29 out of 61 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is 100% worth 60.00, trust me, the multiplayer is great because you can buy stuff, i have played this game since i got it, i feel like a kid all over again! It gives you that warm feeling inside. I give it a 10, perfect!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Halo Reach could have been better to me

posted by Colywin (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

33 out of 71 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that I'm not a major Halo fan, but I have played every Halo game. I understand that millions of people love this new Halo Reach and although I agree that it is a good overall game, it could have been so much more.

This Halo feels very much like Halo 3. Although you can tell that they put A LOT more effort into the story, the character development still was lacking. The members of your Noble team really just spit out one liners the whole time and for the most part you could care less what happens to them. Why should you? You really don't get a chance to know them all very well. However, the single player campaign is by far the best of all the Halo's.

Sure in this Halo you can unlock armor pieces as you progress in either the Story, Firefight or Online play, but the Armor is purely for looks. So why you might enjoy how your character looks, it adds no strategy to the overall game.

Overall to me it's Halo 3 with improved graphics. Sure there are great add on features such as the Forge and Firefight but the main focus, which is Halo's Online mode... not much has changed other than Jet-packs. While fun at first there isn't much incentive to keep playing. The items you can unlock are worthless other than how your character looks. I really would have preferred being able to modify my weapons, my armor, and have had more "perks" to choose from but that could all be earned.

Instead you are instantly handed all of the Armor Unlock abilities and there is nothing else to unlock but making sure your character looks his best for the game. This is like giving you all of the classes fully unlocked in a game!

Listen I won't deny that Halo doesn't have fun multiplayer and isn't a fun game overall. But I feel they only added very few things to make it really stand out from Halo 3. Just a few new weapons, just a few new maps (Not remakes). For this being the last Halo game, I feel somewhat let down.

If you loved Halo 3, you will love Halo Reach.

Rated 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game was pretty good but...

posted by IshootUdie (KINGWOOD, TX) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

20 out of 43 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I find the Halo series to be too repetitive. 90% of what I saw in Halo: Reach I have seen in every other installment of the series. I do love the game play & the cinematics are absolutely beautiful but I have been a faithful Halo player since Halo: Combat Evolved & I simply am getting bored with the "same old same old." Plus I found the ending of the game to be even less epic than previous Halo games including Combat Evolved. The cynicism I hold is that, ten years later, we’re still doing the same thing. Sure it’s got a few bells and whistles and the functions of jetpacks & holograms do add new flavor to the otherwise staple campaign or matchmaking, but I’m still a little let down by it. It’s just Halo & it does what it does best with no reason to distinguish itself. All the things it does like Forgeworld, Theater, customizable Firefight, and the always-stellar matchmaking create such a tightly solid kit it’s impossible to call it a bad game, even when the campaign almost refuses to change for the better. I am just disappointed taking into consideration that this might be the last Halo game made. (I am not confirming that... I just feel it is going to end here.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo Reach: best multiplayer of the year

posted by Haloman5 (PERRY, IA) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

15 out of 34 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Halo has been a game everyone who owns a 360 has grown to love and they haven't stopped here. With lots of new additions to the gameplay and new weapons and character models theres alot to see in this bundle of joy.
What seperates Halo from the bunch is that it takes skill to play unlike in Modern Warfare 2 all you have to do is take a shotgun and run. But in Reach the environments change and call for a new approach to everything. THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR MODERN WARFARE OBSESSORS! Please if you hate Halo because you think it is to unrealistic then leave it alone. Play COD not Halo. They are two different games.
Multiplayer score: 10
As for the Campaign this is a whole other story. The Campaign is amazing with flush new areas to explore and new enemy varients. But let me warn you. Legendary mode will make you overly mad. It is cheap at points and is based on luck the whole time. But once you complete it you will feel accomplished.
Campaign: 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse