Rent Halo 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Halo 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

30433 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!

posted by joshwa (WINSLOW, AZ) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enjoyed the campaign co-op with 4 people. It was a lot of fun and multiplayer was sort of balanced unlike halo: reach. In my opinion that is, however the whole game was fun. I recommend it if you haven't played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is pretty good

posted by killit17 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played one halo, you pretty much played them all. Apart from dual weapons and different creatures, it's pretty much the same game with new stages. If your a halo fan you'll love this but if you just played a previous game and hardly liked, it this halo won't change your taste buds. Over all Halo 3 is a fun experience and has many different situations that you'll be placed in forcing you to exhaust plasma rifle's, and empty gun clips upon various enemies. you'll drive, run and, fly in multiple machines/automobiles while blowing things up in the process. It's the action game everyone fell in love with because of the co-op encouragement Halo offers. If you have history of playing RPG games the length of this game may disappoint you, however if you like your game short and full of non-stop action and a large scale of weapons you'll love halo 3. Just Like this review is titled "this game is pretty good". Rent or buy with minimum expectations and, you'll be guaranteed to enjoy Halo 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Master Chief's Back!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by DeltaMarine88 (BELTSVILLE, MD) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just love this game. The campaign is fun, (a bit too hard even on easy), great multiplayer, and FORGE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the only reason i had an xbox.

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

and ended up beating it pretty fast and the system rrodd, whatevs ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is de bomb biatchhh

posted by Gamingninja (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is baaadasssss nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3

posted by Zn1088 (HUNTSVILLE, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Halo 3, the last in the storyline for now, was a game of epic proportions. With the Arbiter by your side, you feel like you can take down hundreds of Brutes. When Elites drop near you, it just feels really good knowing that you can relax and have the elites fight for a while.

Pros:
Great CGI cutscenes
Interesting Story
Heart Pounding finale

Cons:
Arbiter not in every level
Easy to get lost
Easy to get surrounded

The Pros outweigh the cons. I give it a Ten. Its a must buy for any FPS fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo 3 a newbies perspective....

posted by reverend66 (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

113 out of 140 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I came into this game expecting disappointment. I never even thought of buying it. however all the hype (and a few screenshots) got me. I put in the disc waiting for the big intro movie (that I was sure would be the highlight of the whole experience)..nope just pick campaign. Short intro...then, the best FPS I have ever played!
Now I did not really play the first 2 halo games, I am a bigger fan of GRAW, RB6, and Gears. That being said my only real problem with this game is the lack of a cover system. I do however understand that when HALO first came out there was no such thing, so putting one in now would upset millions. I'm not saying it is better than GRAW or Gears (like apples & oranges) but as far as FPS (not over the shoulder) shooters it can not be beat.
The campaign is a lot of fun (vehicles, weapons, it's linear but hey this is mainly an online game). The graphics are outstanding (anyone that says they are like the original XBOX need to see thier eye doctor right away as there is a serious problem). there are more enemys, friendlys, explosions, ships in the sky, all at once than I can count with no slowdowns (once again to the disclaimers, if you are having frame problems get your box checked out, it's going south).
Online is flawless (other than the fact that I am killed constantly), no hiccups, freezes, etc. I never thought I would see a game with such incredible scenery & character graphics play so flawlessly online. this coupled with the replay ability & map design ability.......

Buy this game, you will not get it for rent for months even if it is the only game in your Q. If you have an XBOX live account this is a must have!

Disclaimer- I am not responsible for the loss of employment, spouse, or any property that may be lost due to the fore mentioned by the playing of this game online. This review & recommendation is purely opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Late to the party, but still loving it

posted by lloydf (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

36 out of 46 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I didn't start Halo 3 until Wars was already released, so I know I'm behind the times :). I got it 2 Christmases ago but was still working on Bioshock during my regulated couple of gamings hours on weekends between house projects and hanging with my wife and kid. I skipped Halo 2 but played the first in dual-player Legendary, which (like most people) is when I fell in love with Xbox and reinvigorated my love for FPS games in general.

This game does not disappoint. The gameplay and controls are as smooth and responsive as I remember from the first, and the storyline and graphics are equally as impressive. This time around I'm on single player Normal mode and picked up the game guide so I could find all the gems. I'm enjoying the campaign and haven't used Live yet so I can't comment on that experience. So why not 10 stars? Well, this is an excellent game on its own, so it's a candidate. However, as a sequel it has to stand up against its predecessors, and its hard to top Halo 1 in terms of being revolutionary and a turning point in gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best in the series...

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

146 out of 203 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

To be honest, I wasn't looking forward to Halo 3 as much as most people seemed to, but after playing through it, there's no denying that it's a great game. Graphically, it looks much better than Halo 2, but it doesn't quite live up to what we all know is possible on the 360. Of course, there is A LOT going on at the same time that I'm sure if there were better graphics it might affect the frame rate. Given the choice between better-looking or smoother-playing, I think Bungie made the right choice.

Anyhow, the story was well paced through the campaign mode. I think fans will definitely be pleased with the overall narrative, and most importantly, the conclusion. I played through cooperatively with my brother over Live and it was pretty sweet. I'm really looking forward to some other friends getting the game so we can play 4-player co-op. Yes, that's right. I'm sure a lot of people know this already, but the story mode can be played through by 4 friends over Xbox Live - one player is the Master Chief and the rest are all Elites like the Arbiter (well, one of them IS the Arbiter). Playing with more people and upping the difficulty level definitely leads to some crazy happenings.

Then there's the multiplayer. This is a game in and of itself that'd be worth $60. There are just so many options and game modes that, like Halo 2, will keep people playing this game for literally years to come. Things don't feel as "cheap" as they did sometimes while playing Halo 2's multiplayer, which is definitely a plus.

Additionally, you have the ability to record your gameplay and share it with your friends. Not just the multiplayer either, but the story mode as well. You can even move the camera around and view things from someone else's perspective, which is pretty cool.

The only real problem I have with the game is the last level, which just wasn't any fun. I won't go into details so I don't ruin anything, but it was a disappointing way to end the game. This keeps it from a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great For Online Campaign leaves you wanting more!

posted by dshade (ANCHORAGE, AK) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Halo 3 is nothing without being able to play online. Sure there is a campaign mode and you can also do some local games and maybe even play some networked games, but without xbl your missing out on pretty much everything this game has to offer.

The story does get concluded so you do get to "Finish The Fight!" but the campaign does leave you wanting more.

Well some details on the game. There are a few new weapons and they brought back the original assault rifle as well. They took out the ability to dual wield the needler(bummer). There are more vehicles now which is a big plus(Mongoose is fun to play in). There are 4 different types of throwing weapons(grenades) but you can only have 2 of each at the most(no more raining sticky bombs (yay!)). All in all there seems to be more balance in the weapons now between the aliens(covenant and brutes) and the humans.

If you are a fan of the halo series I am pretty sure you already got the game and there really isn't a reason to read the review. But if your not a fan of the series, You may want to pick the game up and give it a spin. Dual wielding, vehicles, and the forge(map editor). Are some of the reasons to play this game. Nothing is cooler then to edit a map with a few friends while trying to kill and screw each others creations up!!

In the end.. This game is made to be played online. If the campaign was longer this game would be perfect.

See you online with a Sticky Bomb on your face! BOOOOM!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best of the Halo series.

posted by annarborjack (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I like this one better then Halo Reach, the newest of the series. Its the best one. The best story mode and the best mutliplayer. They also introduced Forge Mode where you can edit Mutiplayer levels to have extra buldings and courses, and you can save them to your File Share and send them to people. And Theater where you can watch your gameplay like a movie, take screenshots, make machinmnas, and you can save them, and you can put them on your File Share where you can save them and send them to people. This is one of my favorites, if not my favorite video game ever. Sadly, now that Halo Reach is out, there are not as many players online as there used to be. Most players have moved on to Halo Reach. I would still buy this game if you have not. It really is this good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The king of mass market games is here.

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

35 out of 55 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

What can I possibly say about Halo 3 that hasn't been said already? The game, as a whole, is simply awesome. That's not to say it is without it's share of problems, but the sheer goodness of the good eclipses the bad many times over.

I'm not going to get into game history or any of that, as I'm sure you are already aware from the flurry of ads and propaganda that the media has been tossing around.

The graphics, in spite of what some people say, are sublime. It's hard to really notice right away because it doesn't have that in your face bling of graphical powerhouse Gears of War, but watch a replay and take a screenshot and you can see how awesome it really is. I think all the detail just kind of gets lost in all the insanity that happens during a game. Watch a replay though, and you can see the detail on the all the characters and lighting. Yes, it's in the same style of the original two games, so I don't know why people think it should look like Gears.

The campaign is a little on the short and easy side. If you have no desire to play multiplayer, this is a game you'll want to just rent for a few days and "finish the fight" so to speak. The multiplayer options are outstanding and really keep the game going long after the campaign is forgotten. The four player co-op just gets better ever time I play it.

Adversarial muliplayer is a nice mix of the old school charm of H1 and the accessibility of H2. I would have rather seen it go more towards the original.

There are so many options and customizations you can do in multiplayer I'll never be able to cover them in a gamefly review. The forge is the most insane thing I've ever played. You can become one of those floaty ball robot guys and actually pick up and drop things in the map like a real map editor. The crazy thing is that you can do this while people are playing. Picking up vehicles with them in it and tossing over the walls. Insane.

That about sums it up... insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bungee rocks

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Angels don't wear this Halo

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

50 out of 87 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

You don't need to read a long winded review, you can go to IGN for that.

Gameplay - The single player is short (go figure, games are made for the online geeks these days) but think of it as uhhhh..."making love", when you're done you will eventually come back for more. The weapons kick tail and...why are you still reading this? You should be playing. And if you like to replay all of the mayhem you caused, you can replay your missions, vehicles handle like "vehicles" and giving death as an ealry christmas present is such a fun thing to do

Graphics/Sound - I own a premium and not an elite, and its mouth waterin', if you do have an elite you may find yourself getting a divorce soon. There is always something exploding somewhere. The sound will blow you out your chair on surround mode

Rent/buy- I stood outside of EB for 45 min and i'm missing that lost sleep. Good luck getting this of off gamefly if you didnt que it 3 months ago (which i did). But i'm fair so I will IMMEDIETLY send it back to gamefly for you lovely people out there :)

I'm sure this will hold me over quite well till AC6 and Mass Effect hit the streets

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great sequel to halo 2

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Halo 3 is a great game. There is nothing like it. It is very fun for Campaign as always but now online play with Xbox Live it makes it a certain love at first game. In campaign you do many exciting things like drive across a exploding world and the surprising video clip if you beat it on legendary which is a huge hint to what might come soon. You must get this game you will love to finish the fight against the covenantand kill some flood too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awe Struck!

posted by BiggMoose (LAWRENCEVILLE, IL) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Amazing is the only word I can come up with to describe this game. The graphics are really good but it's the colors and the textures in which they were used in the game that got my attention. The writers also did an excellent job with the story line and plot of the game.

I gave this game a 10 for the fact that I feel this is the best game you can get for the Xbox 360 platform. I had high expectations for this game and those expectations were exceeded. I will be buying a copy of this extraordinary game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HALO 3

posted by lopez4 (STANTON, CA) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Halo 3 is one of the best games I've played in a very long time. It is the by far the best game of the trilogy. The first time I played it I was not expecting what I saw. So to sum it all up Halo 3 is one of the best games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3 is the BOMB

posted by 476w750n (LEHI, UT) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game is going to cause my wife to divorce me if I dont get offline soon.......CAUTION: VERY ADDICTIVE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

an amazing multiplayer experience

posted by iSlAppedyu (IRVINE, CA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

despite the fact the singleplayer campain is terrible it makes you want to do it to find all the skulls. I really like it that you can have a Bungie account and download pictures and watch funny videos. I think the all the modes are awesome even though a few feel a little similar most of them are very different and all are really fun especially when you are playing with friends. Although there are a few new weapons my favorite mode that is in Halo 3 and this is what makes Halo different from other first person shooters is the forger mode. Forger is where you make your own maps they can either be racing maps or competitive maps. People over time have created their own game modes and they have tweaked the maps and some of the players abilities to make their mode and it is really fun to play with friends. Plus you can save other people's maps and play with them anytime you want. I really like how halo is different and is a Sci-Fi shooter and not a war shooter because thats what makes Halo stand out and you will love shooting aliens instead of humans. Another cool part is how you can customize your multiplayer character.

Graphics= 9.5
gameplay=10
presentation=10
guns=9.8
replayabiltiy= 10
cheapness= 10
sound=10
overall= 9.9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

halo 3 is awesome

posted by Kmasta (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

halo 3 is great it fun and easy to play. Online you can make so you play against people own level. It not completely Repetitive and has a Variety or weapons. You can make friends or play with friends. It fun and cool. It's a lot better than the first 2. Only thing that needs to change that if you get low amount of kills you need to go down. Tell you how the ranking system goes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Aight, here it goes

posted by sonyh8er22 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

First order-complaints. Not about the game, but about people.
STFU already!! I always here "oh halo 3 sucks" well no sorry thats cause you only play matchmaking and it sucks.
Forging is awesome if you know how! If your talented at making maps, you will never get bored of this game.
Infection rules, so stopping playing horrilbe matchmaking games and play custom games already!

Thats out of the way, lets talk about the game itself.
Awsome, i just showed you all the stuff you can do.
Best game in a while, will keep gamers occupied till the century's end.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Should be 10/10

posted by imacrtic (BRIER, WA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Personnally-and no one ever agrees with me- im gennerally a nintendo guy. I like wii and ds and stuff. But when I do play 360, the first game I reach for is Halo 3. Anyone who gives this game a one probably lost one match and went into spazz-mode, because there's no way anyone could not give this game AT LEAST a 7. If you own an x360, you absolutely MUST have this game, it has the best graphics, most fun gameplay, you can actually play multiplayer oniline, even if only 1 person has a gamertag, so that (in my eyes) also makes this a party game in addition to a edge-of-your-seat action game. The only game that ranks near this is Call of Duty: World At War, another 360 titan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3 rules!

posted by monroeseph (BROOKEVILLE, MD) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

The best fps for 360. perfect graphics. great storyline. hilarious easter eggs. this video only has some but they are good ones
type the youtube adress and then this /wa- tch?v=Es8V6nG7y-8
because it wont let me type
.
c
o
m
this game has great online play. note: do not save modded maps on online play or you will be banned from xbox live. make sure to buy the legendary map pack. its 600 micro soft points but its so worth it! it comes with foundry wich is the bast map for forge. and alot more that i really dont care about. try the exxo arm glitch search it on you tube i dont feel like putting in the url for it. oh yeah BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FPS ever

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

What makes this the best FPS? The graphics aren't as nice as other FPS games like CoD4, but in terms of gameplay and functionality no other comes close. The campaign was rather blah but it's all about the multiplayer.

The maps are balanced; no position is overpowered. The weapons and vehicles are balanced; everything has a counter. The matchmaking system, the game types, the forge, the theater, the Bungie web site with all your historical stats, the integration with Xbox Live, the easy mute, the penalties for quitting early, the automatic host-switch if host drops, and so much more. There is insightful, thoughtful depth here. It's the result of intelligent application of science for fun.

I still play this game regularly and that is sooooo rare for me. I never played Halo 1 or 2, but I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the greatest game of all time

posted by gamelover1 (PASADENA, MD) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I really can't believe how good this game was it has tons of new weapons and even the old weapons might as well be new. Like the sentinal beem is more powerfull, the needler is unbelievably powerful it can take some one out with about 6 needles. Heres a list of the new weapons.
1.spiker (dual wealdable)
2.missle pods(tracking)
3.detachable plasma/bullet turret
4.fire grenade
5.spike grenade
6.flame thrower
thats all i can really think of off the top of my head but the on line gameplay is great.Thats all i can say because i just got invited to a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse