Rent Halo 3: ODST for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Halo 3: ODST

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

22429 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hmm....

posted by Yourgamer123 (STATESBORO, GA) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay well, The game is absolutely great so far. The only problem I have as of right now, is GAMEFLY. You guys sent me a scatched up disk. I'd be very grateful if you people don't do that anymore. My Xbox is saying... Reading...Reading... Open Tray. Someone it'd say Unreadable disk? C'mon. I've ordered plenty of games from you guys, please improve/fix this problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ODST So Smooth... yes and no...

posted by Emperor503 (MONMOUTH, OR) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I love the story. I love the controls compared to halo 3. Movement speed and the ability to 'run' should be upgraded! There are a few things that should be tweeked so far as the hardest difficulty....

First... weapon selection for enemies at 'choke points' makes combat pretty much a no can do unless you get lucky.

SAVE YOUR AMMO for heavy guns or the choke points will choke you.

Giving an elite brute a heavy weapon like the fuel gun at a choke point is insain but you can try to get around and not fight at all lol.

AWESOME GAME AND WELL WORTH IT!

The firefight MODE is VERY entertaining! it's like being a gladiator fighting wave after wave of nasties!

I havent even tried multiplayer yet! So yea.... this game ROCKS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Campaign but No Multiplayer for Renters?!!!!

posted by GodGamer (HILLSDALE, NJ) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

143 out of 185 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I played this game and found it not to be like other halo games in the campagn mode. The campaign was good while it lasted but Call of Duty Campains are harder, longer and more interesting than this one. Again not saying that the campaign is horrible just that some parts of the campaign are either really annoying (fighting one of those guys with the green laser beams with only a silenced sub machine gun and porcupine). Speaking of the sub machine gun, I was annoyed that the silencer does absolutly nothing to sneak around enemies. The good part was that the story was somewhat unique and i loved riding in the vehicles.

The only BIG problem I had was not with the game but with Gamefly because you don't get the second (multiplayer) disc and there is no warning before you get the game. I was looking forward to the multiplayer beacuse i had heard it was fun but was etremly dissapointed to find that i only got one disc.

In conclusion either buy it or rent it somewhere else if you like multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game-Bad Gamefly

posted by rKenshin (MINT HILL, NC) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

48 out of 68 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is alot like other Halo games. Its by far the shortest of them though, but that is forgivable for the great story and amazing voice acting. I was very dissapointed because I bought this game to play Multiplayer and yet I cannot play thanks to the lack of a 2nd disk that is suppose to come with the game. Gamefly! send two disks when they come with the game otherwise renting this is only worth 5-hours and its back to you. I would recomend buying or renting this game somewhere else to get the multiplayer disk. Good game but don't expect to enjoy multiplayer which is the main reason I rented this, TOO PLAY WITH MY FRIENDS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Half the game

posted by Kelectric (CARY, NC) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

23 out of 33 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Honestly I can't really rate this game higher than a 5 because gamefly gives you only ONE DISC out of the two. They leave out the second disc which includes the multiplayer, the most fun part of the game. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good halo game: Bad GameFLY

posted by Lepermessi (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

106 out of 161 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Okay so the campaign isn't what Halo:2 is. Forgivable, because Halo 3 was good but not that good.
It has a few new weapons, and it has changed the face of Halo enough to no be repetitive, but still have that Halo flavor. Pistol zoom from Halo: Combat Evolved is back.

Firefight is a knock off of horde (from Gears of War 2), but i'm not complaining. I like this kind of arcade game play with friends. You can also make it much more challenging than horde ever was.

Multiplayer, now here is a sore subject for me. Not because it was good or bad, but because i didn't get to play it. It is on a separate disc, that gamefly doesn't ship with it. This is unacceptable. I want to rent the entire game, not just one disk of it. REALLY DISAPPOINTING.

All and all it is worth the rent. You have to decide if the map packs are worth the buy. The other disk i understand is just like Halo 3 just a few new maps. If you don't have Halo 3 then by all means get this game because it comes with all the maps for H3 and the additional H ODST maps. You can even play with your Halo 3 friends, just not on the newest maps. Again from what i understand, not that i could play ODST multiplayer.

IF ONLY I COULD PLAY THE NEW MAPS

0 out of 10 stars for GAMEFLY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3: ODST

posted by durpington (BOCA RATON, FL) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

First of all, all of you idiots who give this game a bad review because you didn't get the Mythic Disk need to stop. Review Halo 3: ODST. Not the Mythic Disk. If you want to play online, than get the maps from the Marketplace. ODST is a good game. It easily deserves a 9 or 10. Not a 6.8 or 7 because idiots are reviewing the wrong thing. Review the game that you're looking at, not what comes with the full purchase!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by wtfbooom (LYNNWOOD, WA) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

157 out of 245 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

After playing this game for just a few minutes I was already having a blast. Playing as an ODST, a normal soldier, as opposed to the normal mechanically enhanced super soldier, you really have to change your strategy. ODST's gameplay is a lot different than the other halo games, but not in a bad way. I wouldn't say it's better than the other halo games, but it's fun to have a change of pace. Firefight is wonderful. It doesn't matter if your playing with a friend sitting on the same couch, or a kid in japan. You will have fun. I've heard a lot of claims against it, like for example people keep on telling me that they take a lot of marks off of it because the BR is gone, but they brought the halo 1 pistol back, and the BR was basically just it's replacement anyway. Now that we have the old pistol back theres no need for it. Overall I give this game a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I know I know

posted by truthful (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

24 out of 36 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I know people are going to be all mad about giving it a 6, but I will tell you why and give my "opinion"

The supressed guns are extremely cool....and worthless....you are not really sneaky....onces you shoot the gun the enemies basically know where you are and come charging and you definitely lack fire power to fend them off....if they would have added in like a odst silent arsenal of guns that you could have used to be like an assassin then that would have been cool....for example you should be able to quietly and quickly dispatch enemies from behind or in shadows or from afar w a sniper rifle. why would and odst jump into battle like this w a supressor and not be able to do anything w it...

good points for firefight and co op but the game is extremely lacking...and if iam not going to have master chiefs shield then atleast give me some advantages ...not just a supressed smg that does no damage and does not hide you from enemies .....or a pistol that is even weaker and completely worthless.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Expecting more as a HALO fan...

posted by vzeroid (ARLINGTON, VA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

70 out of 109 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Campaign: Wow, what a let down. I had really hoped to see some large scale, chaotic battles with gritty ODSTs (as shown in the live-action commercial), instead, I received a repetitive campaign of wandering solo through a deserted city, with little opposition from the Convenant.

Story: The storyline is weak, and virtually non-existent for most of the game. You pick up 'audio logs' as you wander around. These are a joke. They have nothing to do with the campaign or with ODSTs. They are viewed as audio with a cartoonish slideshow of pictures. There are about 30 to collect and I stopped picking them up after the first 5.

Challenge: I played through this on legendary co-op and BREEZED through it. There were no additional enemies or challenges when playing co-op. Giving enemies a nonstop beat down is fun, but not being challenged makes for a boring play-through.

Acting: The voice acting was well done and entertaining, however I would have liked to see hardcore, gritty, war-beaten actors, instead of slightly overweight, middle aged, B-movie scifi actors.

Weapons: I know that you are playing as an ODST, and not Master Chief, but to take AWAY features such as dual-wielding is depressing. This game offers nothing new in the way of firepower. Worst of all they REMOVED the energy blade, arguably the most fun weapon in the Halo series.

Firefight: FINALLY, something fun! This is essentially Horde mode from GoW2. I found this mode to be challenging, fun, and diverse in play. You can hang back and defend an area, or get deep into enemy lines and take them out from behind. Playing with friends is a must.

Mutliplayer: This is Halo3's multiplayer. Three new maps are not enough incentive to revive my interest.

OVERALL: I am disappointed with my purchase of this game and have already returned it while the trade-in price is good. Firefight should have been released as a downloadable add-on to Halo 3 (think Battlefield 1943).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

halo odst

posted by gmil712 (BRONX, NY) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

great game loved it kinda short beat it in less than a week but loved the action and the storyline was nice high recommended i love halo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For the enthusiasts, not for the competitive

posted by MrJoker (BURLINGTON, NJ) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Great game. The environments were just stunning especially in the city at night, the soundtrack is far above par, and the gameplay is quite fun. Alot of people nay say about it but I really enjoyed the game; however, strike, the campaign is kind of short. Try it on legendary difficulty and I promise you it will be longer. I'd have liked to have seen more of the game through the campaign though but being short kind of keeps with the overall feel and storyline which is understandable once u beat it. Also, the majority of your gaming experience, in particular in the city at night as the rookie, is spent with a night vision on, so sometimes you may want to turn it off just to catch a glimpse of the environment to see what I mean. I also enjoyed the execution of the story through the opening of the game. Firefight mode is very enjoyable for the casual gamer who wants to team up or just play a game of survival solo vs getting raped in Halo 3 matchups by other players. The soundtrack in particular really sets the mood for the game, again especially in the city at night.The game is challenging for the most part and I recommend it to anyone looking for a fun gaming experience. The nay sayers about this game are probably Halo 3 heads and just aren't impressed because they can't kill each other and the game isn't really centered around kicking in the door, shooting and taking names. There's more of a stealthy quality about it so it might turn some people off. But to regular/casual gamers, its a danm decent shooter for you and/or you and your friends. Broke my heart to send the game back to GF, I plan on purchasing the game in the future, I just feel it's a worthy add on to my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing new A Campaign Review

posted by DarkDream (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Sep 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

36 out of 55 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I have a funny feeling most people will disagree with me and that's okay. Halo fans will enjoy this game because its halo, and that's all devoted fans really need. If Halo is coming, there excited, I had my doubts and in my eyes I was right.

Story - Halo to me has a great universe with the potential to be supported by an epic story. The books have done a great job with the story of halo but the video games have failed. Halo has done the same thing in every single game. Over the in game radio you always hear these epic battles, just crazy things happening, but your always in some hallway with three grunts and little to nothing to do. Halo 3 had a few memorable fights such as the first scarab battle. Outside of that no Halo game brings anything BIG to the table.

In ODST it does one thing right, the voice acting is great and fun. The characters drive the story in odst and sadly there really is not much happening for the first 3/4ths of the game. they cram the story into the last 1/4 and it just does not hit home. It did nothing for me

Graphics - It looks like Halo, not to say that's a bad thing just looking at the graphics it is Halo 3

Sound - Again nothing new, same sounds a few new guns they sound good, the pistol is a bit underwhelming but the sound is solid

Game play - Even though you are not MC you can still flip cars/tanks, Take loads of bullets, You have a shield, you can still jump crazy high, and the ONLY difference that has been made is it now takes a lot more bullets to take something down, WHICH DOES NOT MAKE SENSE Bullets are bullets it does not matter Who's gun its coming from. It feels great like all Halo games but it does not make sense

My Biggest Grip - Bungie has a huge following and I understand why Halo 1 was amazing. However this is now the 4th Halo game made by Bungie and by now I would think A.I would have gotten better. The thing is its not even "okay" its downright awful. Drivers suck, Gunners suck, Enemies don't take cover. Its bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that hot

posted by Sleepless (MUNFORDVILLE, KY) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

57 out of 88 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Yeah, it's Halo, and there are some new adventures, but honestly I found myself lost the entire game, and wasn't that into the storyline. Beat it in a day and sent it back. It is a renter, that's for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

eh nothin much new

posted by superkid4 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1-campain way to short but at least fun while it lasts so yea
2-gamefly doestn send disk 2 =/
3-fire fight alrighty this is the major fun part i had woulda sent it back imediently if not for this its really fun defenently the highlight of the game
overall its an ok game sorta just a halo 3 repete if u do multiplayers its just h3 with a couple new maps and campain is sorta short but yea if u like halo give it a rent or if u buy make sure u get disk 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Prequel

posted by Surprising (BRONX, NY) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

33 out of 53 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is a very good adaption to anyone who loves halo as well as any who came along with the sequels to the original. The gameplay changes as you are not master chief but bungie did a great job as u take the role of an ODST. The Story is well told & you will be drawn into it as you go along. The new mode:Firefight is extremely similar to gears of war's horde but is done perfect & is very fun to play. Since the campaign is about 5-6 hours long, firefight is addictive enough to keep you playing once you finish it.

Now with that said there are some issues that disappointed me. For one now being a member of gamefly you would think that we would get the 2nd disc to the game since we dont have the 3 new multiplayer maps they created so if you are a die hard fan you should have bought the game anyway but its still a big downer. The only other problem i had was the incredibly short campaign. I had 2 of my friends go through this game on legendary difficulty in almost 5 hours with ease. I believe with Halo:Reach coming out in about a year i think this should have been an expansion of some sorts. Yeah they milked everybody's pockets on this one.

All in all though this is a game for the die hard fans to buy & the others to rent. Even though I enjoyed the campaign & will play firefight for quite some time, I gave this game a 7 because of how quick the campaign is & bungie kinda ripped people off on this release with the multiplayer not being tweaked, & i believe they may lose some fans on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dissapointed big time

posted by nezeffx (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

19 out of 30 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

I have to say I not been a huhe Halo fan, but my buddy usually gets them all and we have a blast playing them. But this game seemed to be, well, bland. The graphics and enviorments are not impressive at all. After playing other FPS I am convinced that Halo has the worst selection of guns. I liked the pistol or magnum was back but thats about it. I dont know, I dont wanna bash the game cause I know there is alot of Halo fans out there so out of all respect and in my opionion defeintly rent this game first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Halo 3: ODST

posted by Jmonty (ROCKPORT, TX) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Give me Halo 1 or 2 and point me in the right direction and I will play for hours on end and never get bored... or until I develop Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. Now when Halo 3 came out, I did give it a chance but to tell you the truth I was very dissapointed with how much it was changed. I try not to give up easily on games, so I made sure to try ODST out before I bought it just in case. To tell you the truth, from the commercials and the gameplay footage the game looked amazing and I was actually excited to try it out. It showed a sign of hope after the letdown of Halo 3, but sadly it didn't hold up. The ''amazing'' new addition of Firefight really let me down. If you want to fight hordes of oncoming enemies and have fun and weapon diversity, I would suggest playing Zombies featured in Call of Duty: World at War. At least with WAW you would have fun and be challenged a bit. As for the campain in ODST... the endless walking around encountering the occassional enemy, got really boring quick and I found myself returning the game after only 2 days of playing. I would personally give ODST a 3 out of 5 stars. I hope you find this review useful. Sorry if I offended you! :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3: ODST

posted by Player1995 (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great... just GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beware renatl if U want 2 play online w/X-Box 360

posted by anothermom (MILAN, TN) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The only thing I have to say about this game is that I gave a subscription to GameFly to my son for Christmas, and the first game I arranged for him to get (and have under the tree) was ODST. GameFly lists it as a game to play online, yet what they ship to you is the first disc only and that disc is not compatible with online gaming. My son was not in the least interested in the Campaign disc. So if you're wanting to play online, do not rent this game here, they will not ship the bonus disc, but do not say so until you receive the disc and read the note on the game envelope. Otherwise, there's nothing wrong with the game, it's just not what we expected! A disappointment on Christmas Day. :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but...

posted by viper32 (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

far too short in my opinion i beat the game on legendary in about 2 days....i enjoyed the campaign but was disappointed in the online portion of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Halo ODST

posted by leviroth (WINCHESTER, NH) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

22 out of 37 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game was kind of a let down. The story was great but you can get through the game in around 5 hours. The lack of matchmaking for Firefight and online co op is the biggest reason why I didn't click to buy the game. For the 5 hours I did play it though it was a great game but it's not a game I could recommend spending $60.00 on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Youve Been Here Before

posted by ItsRawB (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

19 out of 32 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

If you have Halo 3 or are already tired of all it brought to the table, skip this game entirely. You dont even get to play the multi player with this rental - its on a seperate disc that they dont ship to you. You get around 6 hours of campaigh play and a gears of war 2 "Horde" like game called firefight. A complete let down. Wait until its for sale in a few months and you can get both discs - maybe thats worth it if you already sold your halo 3 copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Weak

posted by themark21 (Woodstock, GA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

24 out of 41 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

first off gamefly stiffs you with this one. If you're like me and don't own halo 3, then you cant play multiplayer. Soo this is basically an add on. An add on which Microsoft and Bungie charge 60 bucks for. ouch. And whats up with the new smg. What the helk you cant even use the red dot sight that those were bragging about for the past six months. And how come i can still slaughter hundreds of enemy troops single handedly? I thought you were supposed to be an average soldier. Huge Dissapointment.

One last thing. Why in the world are the buildings in the skyline paper thin. Did any one else catch that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 3: ODST

posted by gabebrown (FAIRVIEW, OR) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was one of the best Halo games from the beggining of Halo : Combat Evolved. But not for long I am renting Halo : Reach. I hope you guys think this game is as cool I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse