Rent Halo 2 for Xbox
view large frontback

Halo 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

12019 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Was Amazing

posted by LaKillingFrenzy (WHITEHOUSE STATION, NJ) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Back in 05 this game was the bomb. Now that COD moved in people hate Halo but always remember Halo 2 was the best game ever up until 08. I will miss playing on xbox live with friends and playing cat and mouse. Live on forever Halo.

This rating is based on when it had Xbox Live. When they shut it down many people were crushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by cristian333gtx (SANTA ANA, CA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

nice history, and good gameplay, i recomend to rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by BookWormGamer (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorite Halo games ever. I loved all of the story, and I loved being able to play as the Arbiter in the Covenant campaign. Amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best

posted by TheGr8One (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 is the best FPS on the xbox, it is that simple. The story is in depth and set the stage for Halo 3. Some people have complained about the single player and it is true that it is not as good as Halo 1. However the real reason you should play this game is for the multilayer. Halo on xbox live is the greatest gaming experience you can have. The ranking system works well and keeps the players on a even level. The maps are balanced and fit the game type. If you have xbox live and don't have Halo you don not know what you are missing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by nflnba88 (OYSTER BAY COVE, NY) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I cant say anything else about this game. I've only played campaign once or twice, so I play xbox live most of the time. ITS SO MUCH FUN. Its a total necessity if you have an XBOX. And if you dont have an xbox, this should be your reason to get one!

P.S.- nflnba88 is my gamertag-send me a friend invite!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

theres no game like it

posted by snakeeyes (ANTHONY, FL) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

ok look this is a one of a kind game it can never be matched or compared to any other game ever.And if you are browsing for a first person shooter with a deep storyline but also a lot of action,this is a game for you.Theres just no way to explain how good of a game this is youll seriosly have to BUY this game but ill try to some it up for you

ok the graphics arent exacly perfect but were good when this game came out.and there should have been like 50 multiplayer maps.

but if youre more into the career youll love it its a rollercoaster of emotion with an unpresidented amount of actin and twists.But when it all goes down ittl leave you sitting there wanting more and that my friends is halo3 release date november 17 2007. trust me i think that is far too long.

visuals 7.5/10
gameplay 10/10
replayibility 10/10
my rating 10/10

a must buy for any true gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo2 Kicks Butt!

posted by D3v0n99 (GLADE VALLEY, NC) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok,I dont know why people are rating this game a 1!!!!! Come on this game kicks butt! I have never player halo1 before but everyone i ask which is better they say HALO2 DUH!?! So that is pretty convincing to me. But all i know is that the covenant side of the story is bad, I wanna be master chief! But when u are master chief sometime U HAVE NO PARTNERS! THAT SUCKS! And the zombies NEVER DIE!!!! I mean come on u have to slice them in half with the beam sword! But besides those things this game KICKS BUTT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Shooter ever

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Apr 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

36 out of 54 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 you know it you love it and it is finally here. after Halo's destruction the covanet are back better than ever, but the new thing added is online play which is anowsome. The offline multiplayer is also good. In the storyline you can now play as a covenant elite called the arbiter who was blamed for Halo's destruction. The co-op is also good. This is bound to be the best shooter ever. That is why I give Halo 2 a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best XBOX LIVE Game Out There!

posted by MADDOG7 (PORTALES, NM) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 is the highly anticipated sequel to 2001's Halo: Combat Evolved. After years of delays since its existence was known to the public in early 2002, Halo 2 finally hit the shelves on November 9, 2004, and boy, was it worth the wait!
The games' story has picked up where Combat Evolved left off, with the Master Chief and Sergeant Major Johnson being honored for their actions on Halo, while an Elite Covenant commander is being tried and sentenced for failing to successfully guard Halo. Instead of being executed, the Elite is given the position of Arbiter, a soldier who goes on suicide missions under the order of the Hierarchs, the three political and religious leaders of the Covenant. As you progress through the game, you will switch control between the Master Chief and the Arbiter.
Much of the games' basics remain unchanged. The only real changes to game play are that you can't be injured or killed by falling (unless you fall into a bottomless pit) and that there is no health bar. Once your shield recharges, your health recovers with it, which makes health packs no longer an issue.
XBOX LIVE is where you will probably be spending most of your time. Halo 2 probably has the best online play in any video game thus far. The action is fast, furious, and loads of fun! There is a match making system that pits you with players that are roughly the same skill level as you, which evens out the playing field and the game also features clan support.
The only bad thing I can really say about Halo 2 is that the campaign, while fun, is kind of short. But, again, if you have XBOX LIVE, that won't be a problem. If you have an XBOX you need to buy Halo 2. If you have XBOX LIVE, then there is absolutely no excuse for you not to get this one. This is quite possibly the best shooter out on a console. Pick this one up. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game Rocks!!!

posted by dtennisman (BAYSIDE, WI) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

After i got halo 1 i thought "this must be the best shooter game ever", but i was wrong. halo 2 is by far the best out there today. With the new ability to duel wield and multiplayer online games containing up to about 40 people, this game takes the place of my fav game. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS GAME IS THAT IT ALLOWS YOU TO PLAY AN IN-DEPTH GAME WITH SIMPLE CONTROLLS. Right now, the only game i want to play more than halo 2 is halo 3 (but i will have to wait)
REMBER!!! games like "Gears Of War" and "Lost Planet" may be fun but it is often much more fun to play a game that has simple rules and so many possibilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best. Game. Ever.

posted by kramm4716 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Chances are, if you're reading this, you've already read a bunch of Halo 2 information and really aren't expecting to learn anything new. On the off chance this is your first exposure to this game, let me say this: it's incredible. The pick-up-and-play controls, beautiful landscapes, and compelling story (combined with a healthy dose of explosive action) make this the perfect shooter.

That said, my favorite bit is - surprisingly to most - co-op play. Halo 2 seamlessly allows two people on the same Xbox (assuming a reasonably-sized T.V.) to slam through the entire campaign together. It opens up the possibilities much wider than when playing solo - suddenly, you can flank a tough enemy, divide up power weapons and enter a battle strategically, or even draw enemies into a sniper's path. We all know there's nothing quite like having a "zone" moment, when you have a perfect run through a group of enemies, land the grenade just where you want it, or nail those two guys with the same sniper round. It's way better when your buddy is right there next to you on the couch, cheering you on, backing you up, and having those moments too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not much to say about this game

posted by keithjmc (LYNDHURST, NJ) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Besides that it is probably one of the best games ever made. This game is a blockbuster and probably is the first video game that can be labeled as one.

It has a great story, great graphics, and a great multilayer mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

never met someone who did not like it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bf22222 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jun 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game could not get any better!The co-op and versus is amazing, the action never better!And don't even get me started on the graphics! So if you have never played it find it and play it now!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extreme Co-Op fun

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Extremely fun, and a decent follow up to the first Halo. Contains co-op FPS and intelligent AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Halo 2

posted by kingkong10 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 is fun. This game is really good the story is good. the weapons are good. the enemy's are better. the only bad thing was that the graphics were pretty bad. they were alot better then the origanal.

The Story. . .

Halo two starts with mastert chief testing his new sheild armor. Sgt. johnson walkes in the room and tells chief to come upstairs. master chief follows johnson to a meeting. There johnson gets a medal of honor. suddenly the covenant come abord and pants a bomb on the ship. you as master chief have to get the bomb and replant it onto the covonat ship. After the bomb explodes you must return to earth to destroy a secret weapon: A Super Scarab. You master chief must destroy the Scarab before it gets to the center of the city.

I don't want to spoil the game for you so that's all I can say. Have fun with Halo 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 2

posted by MostWanted (RICHMOND, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 is a wonderful game. One of the best games out for the Xbox. It is a game where if you start to play it you won't quit until you finish it. There are so many cool features on this game I can't even rember them all. All things considered Halo 2 is one of the greatest games for the Xbox of all time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo 1.5

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Halo 2 put out a more polished multiplayer experience which allowed this title to take a 9 score wise in my book. But the single player was very off at times.

The single player was still good, but it was way to short and the ending could have been told in a different way, along with the fact that more time should have been spent on Earth fighting. Besides this still a worth while experience.

The gameplay is the same as the original with minor tweaks here and there but the major spot here is the Xbox Live online function which is outstanding. This game made online play so easy and fun with matchmaking and more balanced weapons (not to say it's all balanced). But this game is a great party game and the online play will keep all gamers occupied for months and months.

This game is a must rent or buy for any gamer who has played Halo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Some People Are Dumb.

posted by Rammstein (SUN PRAIRIE, WI) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yeah, you people who gave this game a one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, or maybe even some people who gave it a nine.

All of you are really, really, really dumb.

How can you hate Halo 2? How? Did your brain break or something?

Did you forget to put in Halo 2 and just start playing a horrible game like Superman for the N64?

If you did, that means you're "brain-dead," and you give dumb people a bad name, much less the human population.

Single player: involving, awesome, action-packed. The AI is great, and very challenging on Legendary. Tarturous pwns your soul. Plus, you can glitch here and there and find skulls and just secret events that you normally wouldn't think of in a serious game like this.

X-box Live: Very, very fun. This is where you learn where Superbounces are, how to get to secret areas, how to get to awesome sniper spots... It's all here and it all gives you enough challenge to make you want more and more.

There's a lot here that I'm not including that makes the game worth 10 out of 10 points [customizing game modes, split screen co-op, system link, all the works] and you can't describe the overall experience of Halo 2. You just have to be there and experience it yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT

posted by cbeaty (ELK RIVER, MN) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While just a hair under the excellence that is Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo 2 has been ragged on for its short campaign mode and disappointing ending. Well the people that say this are IDIOTS!!! The story was as long as the first Halo... which was PERFECT!! And the ending was amazing, spawning the slogan for the third installment of Halo:

"Finish the Fight".... simply... PERFECT

You're gonna here me say that a lot about Halo because it is PERFECT.

This sequel to Halo also brought to the world PERFECTION in Multiplayer mode, second only to the God of all video games, Halo 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by DirtyScrim (LONGMONT, CO) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

IF u have not rented or bought this u are on another planet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo 2

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Amazing that they were able to take an excellent game and make it better. The dual-wielding of guns is nice in theory, but often becomes too much to manage and you miss grenades, so I found myself not using it. The music is even better in this game, and the levels are also much better. Nice touch to be able to play as the 'bad guys'. If you like online multiplayer, this is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent online game

posted by Arinthel (Dahlonega, GA) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Rather than just write a long, paragraph, I will break down my feelings about each aspect of the game:

graphics: 10. Easily the best graphics on x-box. Excellent lighting effects, helmets shine, enemies are detailed, and characters have excellent facial animations. It is easy to appreciate small details like the ammo counters on the battle rifle.

sound: 9.
The sound effects are fairly good. However, they do not stand out unless the game is being played on a good set of speakers. The soundtrack is excellently done, with a full orchestral score.

single player: 4.

Unfortunately, as with the first Halo, the single player game takes a backseat to the multiplayer. The game's biggest problem is that it does a very poor job of breaking up the action: after awhile, the game feels very repetitive. There will be large sequences of near-identical rooms in missions (though not nearly as many as the first game). In particular, the indoor levels, and those dealing with flood, are almost unbearably boring and frustrating, even if you don't get killed. I found myself praying that these levels would be short, but they just kept dragging on. On more than one occasion, I stopped playing the single player campaign out of sheer boredom. The only saving grace here is the ability to play this in co-op mode. With the dearth of excellent single-player games available for Xbox and PC, the only reason to play through single player mode is if you want to see how the plot unfolds.

Multiplayer: 8:

Good multiplayer, especially as compared to other console games. Maps are balanced, weapons are fairly evenly balanced, although there weapons which are much more powerful in some situations. It also extremely customizable, allowing you to play almost any kind of game you can imagine with the options. The only downside is a "run and gun" focus: Multiplayer will have little appeal for players who prefer slower, more tactical syles of play.

Multiplayer. 8:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 outta 10 baby!!!

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Best game on the console, period, this game begining to end is the full experience. And for all of you with Live you won't be able to stop. The matchmaking is better then every other game and you can ALWAYS find a good game. BUY THIS GAME! that is if your one of the few that doesnt allready have it. Graphics are 2nd to none. If you don't love it you might as well toss your xbox out your window.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWWWw is a alien!!

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) Oct 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, the storyline at the end makes it really abvious there is gonna be a third halo. The multiplayer modes liek juggernaut is to die for.....really. This game is a must rent and buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by bobbyh15 (SALTVILLE, VA) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Itis the best game ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever everever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it it is the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse