Rent Half-Life for PS2
view large frontback

Half-Life

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

627 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rating then: 9.7 ...... Rating now: 8

posted by mathnerd (WINNETKA, CA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Half-Life is a truly wonderful game. Simple proof: Nearly TEN years after its release, with a sequel already come and gone and an entire new generation of console gaming well on its way, Half-Life is still a game that I would happily take the time to play, leaving my beautiful 360 sitting sad and unused.

Half-Life is an extremely immersive first person experience. Part shooter and part platformer, the game places the player in the role of Gordon Freedman, an MIT Physicist working in a huge laboratory when something goes horribly wrong. The player spends most of the game navigating and solving simple puzzles in a fairly linear scientific lab environment, killing aliens and rescuing stranded scientists and security guards. These NPCs often help the player by opening secure doors and providing backup during fire fights.

So much of this games reminds me of aspects of current FPSs: The light on the gun with the diminishing battery (Quake 4), the strange alien weapons (Prey), a spooky guy who makes appearances in the background (F.E.A.R.), etc. Half-Life's targeting system, however, is unlike any of the more recent FPSs that I can think of, and it definitely takes some getting used to. The default control scheme for the game is so terribly strange that I would recommend making HUGE changes through the options menu (eg. targeting with L1, jumping with X, etc.).

The only real downside of the game is the graphics; they are terrible by today's standards. The platformer aspects of the game are, as with all first person such games, difficult. Jumping around on moving blocks is just hard when you can't see the entire character. Still, it is decidedly better than the recent Call of Juarez, which also made a stab at having platformer moments in a first person game.

All in all a great game! I would pay $35 bucks for this game. It's fairly long, very enjoyable, and if you can forget the graphics, a next gen experience. A perfect rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by Roadhog (YAKIMA, WA) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. The combat is very good. I think this is one of the best shooters out there. The game has some glitches slows down sometimes, or you get stuck. The save system is awesome. Menus are very easy to use. You can fully customize the controls. Make sure to save often, the quick save and the mid-game menu save. The combat can get very intense. Some puzzles are hard most are easy. The game is very fun and long lasting. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good port but not better than the original.

posted by Espilon (STILL RIVER, MA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Half-Life for the PS2 is a great game, but the PC version is much better. Freeman's movement in the PS2 version is fast and hard to control, my expirience in playing both versions causes me to believe that Half-Life on the PS2 has many more glitches then the PC version, however, I found that it was easier to figure out where I was supposed to go in the PS2 version. I had some problems when I played Decay with a friend, but the Head-to-Head mode is FANTASTIC. There are many levels, tons of weapons, but only six charactors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A decent port

posted by Dan1001 (JEANNETTE, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Half-Life for the PS2 is pretty much identical to the PC version, except it has the "Decay" add-on, which isn't really worth the time. However, single player is great, but it has a few hiccups along the way (it will glitch from time to time, and it isn't that bad), but is otherwise smooth. A good rental if you haven't played it on PC or just want a refresher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lot of fun

posted by gamer8521 (ELMIRA, NY) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

it is absolutely a grate game. the one big problem i have with this game is that it has to many loads during the game other than that it is a blast to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a PC gamer, but still dig it.

posted by bopkerking (EAST SANDWICH, MA) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

At first I was spectical about playing this game because it was old so it might be too old too play. But the story setup was pretty sweet, by using no "real" cutscenes it had you feel like you were really playing when the scientists talked with you. The arsenal of weapons aren't very varied in the beginning (except the crowbar! Wicked!) but as you progress you get alien weapons which add a great effect. This game quickly sucks you in when even the grapics aren't next-gen. But what holds this game down is the often glithes and mess ups; and some battles or enviroments you just die which makes things really annoying. This game is also really intresting with a save anywhere but you also have to quick save in case you die it's where you die which real handy. I highly recomend this game to any FPS lovers but also say that this clasic is worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Half Life is a perfect 10, but this isn't quite HL

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) May 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sure, the story is still there, and it looks just as good, but this port to console just doesn't work. I'm still hoping that they will re-release onto the 360 with the source engine and all expansions. I would buy that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review of Half Life

posted by HorrorGame (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game may possibly be the second best game that I have ever played. (The first best being Resident Evil 4, I have not played Half-Life 2 yet) There is plenty of action and scary scenes in the game. Many times things popped up out of no where or from behind me and scared me! The game is very gory but I like these kinds of games. This game has a fantastic aiming system and game play. The graphics are very good for a port from the PC. Sound is pretty good too for that matter. I would definitely recommend the port of this game over the PC version because the loading time is shorter in the port than on the PC. (I have also played the PC version) This is one fantastic game! The only things that it is missing is graphics, the graphics could have been better but this is still one heck of a game. I am a big fan of horror style games and I am telling you this game is a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

7yrs OLD AND SHOWS

posted by JASPER (FAIRFAX, CA) Mar 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

O.K., There was a lot of hype about this game and Half-Life 2. So, I rented #1 and it blows. 15 min or more before you get to shoot an alien. Graphics are weaksauce. Plot is maybe cool. Auto-Aim? I do even know what to say about this one... I am sure Half-Life 2 is dope but, skip this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Merf

posted by rosaparva (GASTONIA, NC) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 21 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

It was a good game, but the controls were rather choppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wow this game has way to much hype

posted by western_warrior (HOBBS, NM) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

this game is just a random shooter with no plot. the game is essentially pick up a gun and start shooting anything that moves. red faction was the same way but at least there was a plot and characters you can care abou

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

frustrating but good game

posted by gameflyusername (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I thought it was an awesome game. It has a nice story line, recognizable weapons (m16, spaz12, 9mm) and a whole bunch of cool futuristic/alien ones. You can use evil bug things that explode! It is not only a good FPS, but it is also a game that you need to use your brain. Such as putting a box to block a blast shield and blow up the wall. The save system is good because where ever you save, acts as a checkpoint, but this may be confusing to someone who does not know this as they may assume when ever it says "loading" they may think that is a checkpoint (or was that only me?). Decay mode is fun for when a friend comes over and so is head to head. There is also an alien mode that is fun to use, where you play as a votigon (or what ever it's called). Now it seems they put more effort in the visual quality on the console version as apposed to the pc version, but the sound quality is better on the pc version. it is a good game and definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

blows

posted by francis150 (Wills Point, TX) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Man I was hoping this game going to be awsome from playing Orange Box and because I remember playing it on PC when i was about 5-7 but I guess I forgot about it not having that good of story line, so if you don't care about story then go ahead and rentr it but you gamers out there that want story I don't believe you well like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well that's about it for this one...

posted by saylorjr (ALLISON PARK, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Half Life was the first game I ever played on my PS2 and the last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

half life

posted by gamehunter (BILOXI, MS) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

even if i didn't play this game i thank it would be great i played half life 2 and the ep1 and ep2 so i know it would be the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good old Gen shooter

posted by TomThe1st (WAYNESBORO, PA) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

if ur all about the glam of new games don't play this if you are actually looking for a decent game its a must very good for PS2 standards fun and it has the Half life 2 feel minus the graphics So if you are looking for a more laid back, but still challenging shooter give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Half-Life

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

I didn't actually finish this game because frankly it's just too old for me. I got tired of the same old same old. I've beat HL2 and all the other expansion episodes and I only went back to play this to see what it was all about. For the time it game out this game was great, and this game is still MUCH better than what's out there, but it's been surpassed and I'd rather just play those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gordon!

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

When this game came out for the PC it owned. It does okay on a console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Old but Great

posted by ranumprsun (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Half-Life for the PS2 is a direct port of the PC version including another game called Decay. There's hardly any difference between this Half-Life and the PC Half-Life, except for the longer loading and slower frame rate. Otherwise this is a good game and is worth a rent, maybe a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »