Rent Half-Life 2 for Xbox
view large frontback

Half-Life 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

3374 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Half Life 2

posted by dylan22 (RANDLEMAN, NC) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start with, this is a most excellent game. I was completely blown away by it and it still blows me away. Very immersive and interactive game play makes it perhaps the best game I've ever played. It is definetly the best First-person shooter that I've played. Advanced AI makes it a difficult and challenging experience that I have never seen in a game before. From enemies to allies, from level layout to story line, everything works in perfect union. If you're looking for a game to test all of your abilities, or are in need of an superb gaming experience give Half Life 2 a try.
Prepare to be amazed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Full-review for the Half-life

posted by GamerFreak (MONROE, NC) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game at Best Buy, I completely overlooked it. Then I saw a review of Half-life on G4 and I absolutely had to play it!
IT IS AMAZING!!!
This game is a definite must-buy or at least a must-rent. I am renting it again here on gamefly just to see the ending, which must be awesome sense the storyline is so rich. Earth has been taken over and put under marshal law by the Carbines(aliens), and it's up to Gordon Freeman, the only free man, to liberate the planet. The characters are bursting with emotion so real, you'll forget this isn't real life...seriously...
The amount of weapons to wield is astounding. Every gun is entirely different than the last, each one has it's own features. Such as the laser crossbow; this weapon actually allows you to pin your enemies to a wall. Or the plasma gun that lets you unleash a sort of dark energy-like power. After being blown 5 feet off the ground, your enemy freezes in mid-air and vaporizes before your eyes!
One of my favorite things about the game is that there are no interruptions between levels. The screen never blanks out and has you magically transported to the next scene. Every level is only divided up by short load-zones, but you play every second of what he does.
This game is a personal favorite of mine now, in fact, I think I can truly say that it's my favorite game on Xbox!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever made

posted by Barnolde (MIDDLEBURY, CT) May 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Let me get this out of the way now, the PC version is better and it has multiplayer. If you have a PC that can run this game, get it there, but if you don't, then prepare to step into the world of Gordon Freeman and Half-Life 2.

There's a reason why Half-Life and Half-Life 2 won countless game of the year awards and changed the gaming industry as we know it, because they're excellent! Half-Life 2 on Xbox is a faithful port of the single player aspect of the game and it's a wild ride all the way through.

Half-Life 2 is set in the dystopian City 17, which has an eastern European aesthetic to it, although the game does not delve on where exactly City 17 is. The feeling of being weak and controlled is very well portrayed and it will appeal to fans of "1984" and other dystopian futures. Once you get some combat weapons, the game picks up and never lets up.

The graphics are great, even on Xbox, and while some textures have had their quality reduced, the Xbox version has exclusive HDR lighting technology applied to it, which is just amazing to look at, especially in hi-def. HL2's story is well presented and it can be as deep or shallow as you want it to be, depending on what you care about. The music, sound effects and especially the voice acting are all top notch and the characters' lips are even synced up to the dialogue!

The physics hands-down the most fun part about this game, as the new Havok physics allow you to manipulate objects in the world and pick some up and even shoot them using the gravity gun. There are many different ways for you to accomplish your missions and countless different strategies for you to employ. I really just can't speak enough praise about Half-Life 2, it's just an amazing game.

Final verdict: Must-buy. On Xbox or PC, or even with backwards compatibility on Xbox 360, you must own this game. It's excellent for the length of the entire game and doesn't let up. It's excellent in every way, shape and form. Go get it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best shooter Xbox has to offer

posted by Palusko (CLARKS SUMMIT, PA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I played Half Life 1 on PC, and was blown away. I played Half Life 2 on XBox, and was blown away even more. This game is superb in so many aspects, that it can easily be considered the best shooter on Xbox. The graphics are very good and the story line, though rather linear, is a lot of fun to follow. The unique gravity model works well and watching your opponents die and fall is just as much fun as shooting them. The unique gravity gun lets you kill your enemies in many ways or you can even use them as a shield. The NPC people help you fight, follow you or follow some other simple orders. Though they occasionally act rather 'pre-programmed', most of the time they make the game even more fun. The game makes a good use of your environment and missions offer variety of different tasks, vehicles, enemies and surroundings, and often require rather strategical thinking more then just simple 'kill them all' attitude (though there's a plenty of it in the game too). And the shooting and strategical aspects of the game are very well complemented by an interesting story.
I do not believe in perfect game, so I am not giving this game 10 as I believe, that there will be even better games over the time. However, this game at this time is all that a FPS fan can ask for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Too much fun for one person

posted by funny1 (REDLANDS, CA) May 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. I think it is one of the best first person shooters I have ever played! It was not just the same ole same ole throughout the game. It has diverse parts to it, makes you strategize your next move and challenges you as well. Microsoft and Electronic Arts would be smart to create a sequel for the 360. If you are still playing on old xbox play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by airjordan (EL CAJON, CA) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

wow this game is a must rent its graphics are good the guns are very fun favorite parts were the killing zombies in the abandoned town with all the sharp blades lieing around. this game has some replay value for it but the story is kinda hard to follow if you haven't played the first half life . i would say in my opinion the game is better than halo2 story campaign. i beat the game in a couple days thought its kinda easy but it was fun replaying it for a while.the gravity gun is fun messing with picking up pretty much any object and hurling them at enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best FPS out there

posted by Theseus (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Simply put, one of the best first person shooters out there... on any platform. I suppose people may claim it's no Halo, which it's not. It's in a league of its own as it breaks away from repetitive shooting to add some puzzle elements and some vehicle combat, making it more the thinking-man's FPS instead of just mindless running and gunning. The weapon selection is varied enough to stay interesting, but includes favorites like the good ol' shotgun, machine gun, and pistol (gravity gun is always fun!) The levels are unparalleled in their design... truly 3-dimensional maps. The enemy AI is great (although ally AI could be improved) and the physics engine keeps everything feeling lifelike. Great sound/soundtrack and graphics (amazing facial expressions) and a great story with interesting characters help make this a must-rent for any FPS fan interesting in more than just shooting up aliens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Creative, Innovative, Unforgettable

posted by Cobalt80 (FLORISSANT, MO) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My review title says it all. Half Life 2 is an incredibly deep game with a great storyline and character personalities. I was really excited to play this game once I knew it was going to be on Xbox (my PC is garbage). Having looked at it though on a PC, I have to say that the Xbox did a GREAT job of porting the graphics to give you that immersing feel of being in this world. This game is not just about shooting your enemy and advancing to the next level. Half Life 2 takes advantage of it's creative world which allows you to pace yourself, explore, and even toss you a few curve balls along the way. Graphically speaking, I found this to be attractive but not to the point where my jaw was hitting the ground. One thing you will notice is that the voice acting and character models are very lifelike in their speech and motion. This alone set this game apart from other FPS's. I found some elements of the game very boxy and somewhat unfinished. There are some bland areas of the Half Life world but they are few and far between. The positives certainly outweigh the negatives. The controls were easy to learn and I rarely had any problems in aiming and moving. I also found the AI to be above par which made the experience even more challenging. The bottom line is that this game is unforgettable and you will feel a sense of satisfaction and contentment after playing. And if you are like me, I love playing a game that doesn't make me feel like I've wasted hours off my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wake up and Smell the ashes Gordan Freeman

posted by WarDemon (OCALA, FL) May 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a singleplayer game, I really dont want to spoil the games story so i wont go into much detail.
But if you want to know the story then
"Rent it. like it? Buy it!"
You return to Valve's number one game, Half-life, but this half-life is a sequel, so lets add the number two to that name, Half-life 2, yes for the XBOX the graphics are amazing, you will wonder how they had somethings done, but at the begining of the game you will experience bad Framrates, or some people think of it as it being choppy. The story is too amazing to be true. But you are Gordan Freeman, returning at G-Mans will to stop humanity from being turned over to an alien race by earth's representative, "Dr.Breen", The Alien Race being named "Combine". THe combine wreck havok to human kind and stopping humans from reproducing or being able to do anything that a human has urges to do. But in return the Combine Have offered immortality. But thats where you come in. To get rid of the Bogus Aliens, and to stop Dr.Breen, But how does one Dr. Freeman do it? well, he doesnt, he has help from other rebels and some old friends.

Sorry i dont have to much to say about this awesome game, it has made me speechless.

Rent it. Like it? Buy it!
Happy Gameflying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best physics Xbox game

posted by korupted (VERNAL, UT) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Half life 1 was a indeed a very good pc game. Half life 2 on the xbox and pc is at the top of the "Best Games" list. It Combines good graphics, very unique game-play, and a sence of control with the environment. The weapons are very detailed and very fun to play around with. This is a game you can go back to a level, try a new gun and experiment with them. It have a good clif-hanger ending that leaves you wondering when the next Half Life will come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Mojoe01 (ALTADENA, CA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

By far and away, my favorite game of the year. Every aspect of the game was really well done; from the graphics, to controls, to game play, to voice acting.

This is a must play for FPS fans!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game was good!!

posted by lovemycat (TACOMA, WA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think Half-life 2 is one of the best games ever. The game is very well done and its has some of the best graphics. I give it a ten out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Half-Life 2... my favorite game of all time.

posted by tallicafan (BRENTWOOD, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well, favorite game of all time might be a stretch, since it would have to compete with the Marios, Zeldas, and Metroids of the past. But still, Half-Life 2 is one of the most impressive and innovative games I have played recently. It's easy enough to pick out my favorite current generation game, even though it is lacking in any sort of multiplayer aspect. The single player is so engrossing that you can simply ignore that fact.

I'm not one for horror genre games, but I simply had to get through all the parts of this game to follow the story. That's what drives you throughout the game, as you become connected to the characters. And the silent protagonist was an excellent move on the developers part, as cut scenes from other games, while looking good, only detach you from the main character.

If you have not checked out this game, but love any sort of first person shooters, get this right away. The physics alone will change your idea of games, and I'm simply waiting for the next game to include as great of physics as this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER MADE .PERIOD

posted by ChRiS1 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

IVE BEAT IT ON PC AND PLAYED IT ON XBOX AND THERES NOTHING ELSE I CAN SAY EXCEPT THAT IT IS BY FAR THE BEST GAME EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love it

posted by 645854 (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

one of the best games ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strong Single Player FPS

posted by YankeeDan (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Anyone who has played Half-Life pretty much knows what to expect from Half-Life 2. I dare say though that this time the single player game is even stronger. The levels are great, the pacing makes you feel like your the star of the best action movie ever. Scripted events are everywhere, so your following a linear path, but in return you get a very cinematic experiance.

The sound and graphics are awesome, the guns very satisfiying. The only dowside is that there is no multiplayer whatsoever, and it leaves you with less closure then the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rating of 10 for first three quarters,

posted by mordris (California, MO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the first three quarters of the game is genius,the way the puzzels are put in so unoticingly,the nova prospekt and sand trap levels were you could summon armored mantis like bugs to rip up your enemys,pure genious,especially the fact that you ocassionally had to double up your tactics,turrets and combine soldiers?let the ant lions take out the combine,then let them draw fire as you roll a grenade in or sneak in with the gravity gun (which in this game is way better than on doom re)
,but one bit of shortfall in this game,there are certain bugs with the physics and the a.i that cause your entire squad to get stuck and dissappear sometimes,but the squad system was pretty good overall,especially busting in a room filled with combined,and bringing five freinds to help,sweetness,annoyingly- ,you have to have had played the first half life game to get the story of this game here,(and the final few levels stink worse than the ending of silent hill 4)mainly because it takes away all of your weapons(leaving you with a supercharged g-gun),the ending of this game is infact on par with the badness of the silent hill 4 ending,no big fanfare or nothing,some weirdo holographic guy explains little to nothing about the ending,which is script-/cheat/slated for a 3rd game,no weaving of it in like curse of darkness,just blatantly obvious,i suggest you rent this game atleast once,for the experience of having played it,otherwise youd be better off buying doom 3 or curse of darkness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This made my day

posted by FPSCZAR (GOSHEN, IN) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I went to the store to get some stuff I didn't even know this game was out. When i saw it i immediately bought it and went back home and popped it in the old xbox. The lack of multiplayer and extras made me a little disappointed but the overall game play and story line blew my socks off. Right from the start i was finding ways to entertain myself like filling a milk crate with bottles and throwing them up and trying to catch them. The graphics a awesome(especially the water) and the sound quality is amazing. The only reason i gave this an 8 is because the lack of extras and the ending was a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

How can you go wrong?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The very name Half-Life 2 should have you sold if you played the original. I'll be honest: I did not. But, having played Half-Life 2, it makes me interested in the back story. It's rare that a shooter has a story worth listening too, but this one is engaging. The characters you meet are distinctive and the atmosphere is truly captivating. And whether they're combine soldiers or head crab zombies, there's always something to shoot. Luckily, the whole world from canals, to a deserted highway, to enemy compounds, feels connected, thanks to the game's connecting level design. It feels seamless, like it should. The weaponry is impressive and no one can resist a gravity gun. I was actually surprised at it's 15-hour length, which is long for a shooter. The Havoc physics engine and Valve's graphic prowess make a game that is technically brilliant. However, while the game feels solid and innovative, in some places it feels like a demonstration of the game engine. While not perfect, Half-Life 2 is an experience that you shouldn't miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Half-Life2

posted by GamerGOD (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong I liked this game, but it just seemed so boring to me. I was so excited after all of the hype I saw on G4, but it seemed like I was doing the same thing. I compared it to a game like Halo2 and I know that every game is bad compared to that, but I expected it to be better. the same guns, the same enemies, same scenery, blah, blah, blah....... but you should by all means rent this game and, maybe buy it, I don't know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SAME OLD GAME!!!

posted by gamer8894 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i thought this was going to be a good game. BUT IT IS OVERRATED I PLAYED IT FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS AND WAS BORED AFTER THE FIRST 10 MINUTES!!i only gave it a five because the graphics aren't that bad!besides the its just another overrated game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Completely Overrated

posted by whatpie (CLOVERDALE, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 25 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

This is a game that did not live up to its hype. it had bad controls, boring graphics, boring characters, boring story, and boring enemies. plus it had no replay value. this was a huge disapointment. i highly recommend that you dont buy this game. you probably shouldn't even rent it but you can if you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Half-Game

posted by RPG95exprt (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I don't understand how this game is rating an 8. half-Life 2 is a truly BORING game, and you spend half your time waiting for it to load. It seems that at every change in the scenes leads to another 2 minute wait for the load time. In addition, the game is slow in action, boring to watch yourself run around looking for people, and plain-old-stupid. My advice is to spend your time replaying the HALO's. You will have much more fun with less load time.

Half-Life is Half-a-Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its alright

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is alright it gets sorta boring at times and it can be very glitchy at times. It tends to get complex as u go on i say if u want a game with similar like action and afects and less glitchy play halo2 u will have much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is not that great

posted by lantern112 (ROCHESTER, MN) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game is not that great. The pre-load time is too long. For a game that takes to long to load on the Xbox, I was expecting a great game with awesome gameplay and graphics but I never really got the chance to play it. It does not take that long on PC, I figured that it would not take that long on the Xbox. One should think twice before renting this game or even buying it. If you want to wait hours to play, then be my guest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse