Rent Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom for PSP Games
view large frontback

Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

81 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strong Story Makes Up For Gameplay - For Some

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game entirely because of the weirdly titled emails Aksys was sending me about it, so I went in knowing essentially nothing about the game itself. As it turns out, that was a great decision.

Idea Factory is infamous for somewhat exaggerated marketing with their games. Hakuoki claims to be an "otome" - essentially the female version of Japanese dating sims - but in reality that element is practically nonexistent until the last two chapters and minimal even then. It's entirely possible to enjoy the game even if you're like me and entirely uninterested in those elements.

More important than gender to whether you'll enjoy this game is your patience for reading. Hakuoki's tells a very well-written story set in the Meiji Restoration period of Japan. Almost all the characters and events are based on actual people, so it's extremely interesting to play if you're into history like me.

That said, Hakuoki can only be called a game in the broadest sense of the word. It is essentially a supernatural historical fiction version of the "Choose Your Own Adventure" books. You will never directly control the protagonist at any point in the game and your control over the story is limited to choosing actions, paths, etc . The choices are generally interesting an can affect the story in a wider variety of ways than almost any other game I've ever played, but in the end that's it. If you're looking for any sort of an action game, this isn't it.

Hakuoki earns an 8 because its strong story and incredible branching. I take a point off because the game is frustratingly slow in a couple places (especially the beginning; I almost gave up) and because I would've liked to see the protagonist become a bit more combat-capable by the end.

If you're the type that's willing to exchange gameplay for a truly fascinating story, Hakuoki is for you. Otherwise, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

:)

posted by Blacksnow (DALLAS, GA) May 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is probably the first mainstream/non mainstream otome game to come to the us, and for those that have played it like i have it didn't fail. Hakouki Demon of the Fleeting Blossom is a beautiful game written in the style of a visual novel with 5 different guys to view the story with, and form a relationship with. There's love, betrayal, blood, and amazing japanese voice actors (Thank the Moons!) I think the game would have been more apeassing to the us if it had a more rpg visual novel feel to it, or maybe an action adventure, but hey its an Otome game, and im glad to FINALLY have my hands on one its wroth it!
I would suggest renting it rather than buying it, but it all depends on your experiance with the game itself

Pro: beautiful soundtrack can be a bit repetitive at times but breathtaking still.
Keeps you entertained, and at the edge of your seat. Start is a tad slow, but once your over the hump its a bumpy ride! :D

Con: Shinpachi Nagakura wasnt datable :'(
Would have loved to see some anime theatrical action sequences or just some animated scenes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Interactive Samurai Romance

posted by SomaXD (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a traditional japanese interactive story... dont expect anything other than awesome artwork and amazing story that you control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WHAT!!!??

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NOOOO why did it end like that!!! Ok, this game has a good story line but it ends leaving you with a sad blank feeling. This is not a game being that there is absolutly NO gameplay at all just dialog its like reading a novel on your psp. This story should have ended better because now I feel like I've read this long story for no reason, plus I'm sad now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

book!!!!

posted by GamerLikeU (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

do not get this "game" its just a book disguised as a game i played for like 2 hours wondering when the fights would begin and finally looked online thank god i did they never come stupidest game EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not an Action Adventure

posted by Kronotross (FREMONT, CA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Gamefly lists this game as being in the Action Adventure genre and I took that over the hints in the description that it is, in fact, a visual novel.

I don't have anything against visual novels. If I was into them, this one seems pretty good. The writing flows well. The characters are drawn well. I have it on anonymous authority that there are a lot of branches.

But I'm not into them, so I can't earnestly rate it.

Just wanted to warn you that it isn't an Action Adventure game, and wanted to float it out there that it's more than a little mislabeled as such.

I mean at least just say Adventure. That's vague enough.

I mean seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »