Rent Hail to the Chimp for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hail to the Chimp

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.6

312 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining but messy...

posted by Megaphone (NANUET, NY) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an xbox live enabled party game with a single player campaign that leads you through the animal kingdom's presidential election where votes are gained by winning mini games.

Pros: The game isn't short on humor, with ample political satire and hilarious cut scenes including animal themed campaign ads, TV commercials, news broadcasts, interviews, and live debates.

The cut scene graphics are cartoonish and a bit lackluster, but the graphics during gameplay are smooth and detailed enough for the environment, even from the constant aerial view.

All of the mini games are clam based (e.g. collect clams), but there are a variety of game types and colorful interactive maps to play them on. Each map has its own secret actions you can perform to trigger special events that have an effect on the gameplay and the environment itself.

The visual variety and abundant cut scenes allow what could have been a very repetitive campaign to seem like you aren't just playing the same mini games over and over again with different characters, but if you do get sick of the routine, it's thankfully just short enough to be played through in a couple of hours, so you can at least rack up achievement points in one sitting.

Cons: The screen is cluttered, even with the 4-player maximum. Player names only hover over the characters for a second at the start of each game, so you'll often "lose yourself" in the chaos, leading to quite a few frustrated losses.

Controller setup can't be customized, so some achievements like "winning without attacking other players" may be tricky to obtain since the attack button is often needed to perform other tasks, making accidental hits possible amidst the chaos.

The mini games are easy, but the instructions given on how to play them are so general that they're a bit incomplete, so you may lose a few games "doing what they said" only to discover that there's more to it.

Overall, rent it if you like party games. If not, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

treasuremap

posted by jason20 (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Truly Awful, Don't Rent This for any reason

posted by RaulDuke (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The only saving grace for this game is the "cut scenes" and mock commercials. The gameplay is uninspired at best (think every single party game ever made, then just copy the bad parts), the screen is far too cluttered to even know where you are much of the time and most of the stages are so poorly designed you'll die without even knowing what killed you. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME. Even Fusion Frenzy is a better party game. Think again and don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sigh

posted by Zombies (PLEASANT VALLEY, MO) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game makes me want to kill myself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is what it is.

posted by EvilJim (WESTVILLE, NJ) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I expected the game to be in this format. So its fun to play for a week and the achieves are not complicated to get. I gave it an 8 for it's many different games to play as well as story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cheap zoo on a hot day

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is an unplayable clusterflock of poorly animated characters who want to be in Fusion Frenzy. Don't even buy it for your kids, this game will turn them into idiots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame

posted by irishrican (BRIARCLIFF MANOR, NY) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To some people this game might be fun. To others which mostly falls unto others, this game is really lame. As some mentioned, the only funny parts about it, is in the presentations and cutscenes. The rest becomes all to repeative. I don't even recommend renting this yet alone buying. Feel free to try out the demo on Xbox live. But its gonna be a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Creative for the Child’s Heart & Enjoyment!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just picked it up today & it’s simply a flat out AWESOME game!! I thought it was going to be a complete flop, they are out there! The game play is very fun, story is easy to follow, graphics are smooth & the dialog had me laughing through the game! It’s a simple game, not for the hardcore gamer. Different concept of gaming, give it a Try! I was immediately sucked in because of the funny opening & the levels are a lot of fun! Happy playing gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hail to the chimp

posted by craigmiller (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

this is the number 1 video game of alltime

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice Presentation Not So Nice Gameplay

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Hail to the Chimp is a game that started out as a nice idea but didn't turn out as good as expected. The main goal of the game is to collect clams which count as votes, whoever has the most clams wins. There are a variety of game modes, but only about half of them are good. Hail to the Chimp shines the most in the presentation department, it has some nice originality and some clever dialogue to go with it. Most of the characters are witty and funny and have their own personality to go with them. Graphics are nice but nothing really specially, there is the occasional slowdown but it doesn't show up too often. The gameplay of Hail to the Chimp is were the game really starts to mess up. Now the objective is simple but you do so much to win, the AI will always come after you when your're in the lead, they are usually too easy or very difficult. The two main things you can do are jump and hit, jumping feels weird at jumps but it still works, hitting your opponents is easy, a little too easy at times you can button mash your way through anything, there are combos to pull off but they can easily be ignored. You can also team up with someone to take out the other players, it puts you in the lead but so does your teammate. The best part of Hail to the Chimp is the multiplayer, if you've got a friend to play with you it can be a fun experience. There is a single player mode but its not that fun. In the end Hail to the Chimp has some nice multiplayer and some good humor, but lacks when it comes to gameplay. It's a game that will keep you and your friends interested for about a week. Wherever you find it though it will be really cheap so don't worry about money problems with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hail t o the chimp

posted by tracee (HARRISBURG, PA) May 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

i am sending this game in the mail today 5/23/12. i did like the game it was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun Idea. Poor Execution.

posted by supertoady (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 13, 2009

Member since May 2006

I had high hopes for this game. Particularly after I started it up and watched all the videos that play while they wait for you to pick something from the menu. It was very amusing. But then I got into the actual game play. Once I figured out what the heck I was doing it was pretty easy. And it was fun...for the first round...then the mini games continued...and didn't change. They were all essentially the same game in different settings. The first one you're on the beach...then oh my! you're on a boat. But it's all just the same excercise over and over again. It had potential to be another Mario Party. Instead it's more like Mary Kate and Ashley Sweet Sixteen License to Drive. Lame. If nothing else, you can always check it out just to watch the videos. They are quite entertaining. Other than that, there's not much of a point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Episode Ever

posted by Xiklone (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

Ok. Here is a game pitch. How about a game where you run around and collect clams, punch each other to steal them from other players, and the one who has the most wins? Sounds stupid? Lets just slap an election theme for no apparent reason. Then, lets make it so you can't pick what animal you want to be in the election, but instead, you play all of them, in different rounds. This game is just plain awful. I tried to play it several times, and just ended up putting it right back in the envelope. NEXT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

posted by cubsgirl (EMERYVILLE, CA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I'll keep it short and sweet. When I played the demo, I thought that it was a bad XBox Live Arcade game.

The gameplay isn't fun, the controls are frustrating and it's very difficult to keep track of your character.

I feel VERY sad for anyone who gets roped into spending their money on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »