Rent H.A.W.X. for PS3
view large frontback

H.A.W.X.

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

3179 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quick 2 Pick Up + Fun to play when times not there

posted by DrGames (HUNTINGTON, WV) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Hawx is a fairly easy game (especially if you use ERS, not recommended unless you're in a total jam makes the game too easy) but it's still alot of fun and does not require a lot of time to devote to it. I really enjoyed hawx and recommend it especially to gamers who like to play in quick spurts due to time constraints.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by John1234 (MANALAPAN, NJ) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Campaign mode integrates very nicely from single player to coop mode. All Xp and Challenges are for both story mode and versus mode, giving story mode some replay ability. The planes are fairly similar in each class with distinct advantages to using each type. Versus mode is very fun and possibly the best part of this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best combat flight simulator ever

posted by imcool925 (CHADDS FORD, PA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

35 out of 43 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I'm a pilot, and I have played tons of flight simulators. I have played both all of Microsoft's combat flight simulators and regular airline simulators. I have also played ace combat 6 and many other aviation games. As far as game play, this game dominates all the others in its genre. Each aircraft has its own sound and is very realistic. When you break the sound barrier, it makes the cracking noise "sonic boom" and a white cloud of vapor appears around the plane for a few seconds. For this game to have that, makes it super realistic. This game also has a great action packed story which keeps you hooked, the characters are great and make funny remarks sometimes, the array of airplanes is awesome and to be able to have a custom paint job on them is sick. You increase in rank with your kills + experience points and unlock new planes. I am playing on elite with expert controls and that is as real as it gets. Now in real life you may not carry 70 missiles but you need that many to make this game fun. Other than that it is superbly realistic in every way. From explosions, sound, to detail of the terrain its an A +. I got the flight stick with this game and it is just incredible. A must buy for any pilot. The best flight combat simulator ever made, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD STUFF

posted by Blak1508 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think that this game was great .. Campain was a little tuff but on elite its doable if you keep at it. I saw myself flinging my arms around as if i was in the aircraft myself ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

High Altitude Warfare Experimental Squadron - HAWX

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

H.A.W.X. , a new series from the Tom Clancy's titles comes in doing mach4, unlike other Tom Clancy titles, you take the role of piloting million dollar fighter aircraft. The game and controls to this aviation Sim is like, Ace Combat.

You play as a pilot, who deploys out from Allied Forces', High Altitude Warfare Experimental Squadron or better known as the HAWX. The HAWX squadron use maneuvers that no other air squadron uses, which is why H.A.W.X squadron has a Experimental title. Equipped with the world's best aircraft, you have the ability to find your perfect aircraft and show your perfected skills in tactical evasions. With the ability to switch off your E.R.S. gives you the ability to take your aircraft to its limits, in close range aerial dogfights.

Ubisoft has started a marvelous Aviation sim, HAWX could really be enjoyed by anyone who is a fan of airplanes. There is almost no cussing, and the most catastrophic event in the game is usually when you blow up something, but without no gory death. The graphics in this game are pretty average for a flight Sim, most of the terrain is textured from satellite imagery, with trees and buildings placed on areas. The air crafts and physics are the only real eye catching aspect of the game. The controls are pretty simple more then realistic. The rudder's (or Yaw pivot) has no control with the flaps, as like a real airplane normally has, so your horizontal turning is only controlled by the tail fin. There is also no taking off/landing in, which might be also why HAWX is not of a Sim genre.

There is tons of different airplanes in HAWX that unlock as you advance, that all maneuver in unique fashions; from the A-10, F-18, F-16, F1-17(stealth fighter), and the new JSF-35 is at your disposal to engage in awesome aerial combat.

Multiplayer is really fun as well, you can play the entire game cooperatively, or you can test your skills as a squadron with friends, and go head to head in a online team deathmatch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

H.A.W.X.

posted by ejsoto54 (SANFORD, NC) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its just another flying game. I did not find anything special about this one. You don't even get to land the planes. I think that is one of the things that makes flying fun. If you cant land or refuel or take off, then all your doing is shooting. So its like a shooter but in the air. Also this game does not require any kind of skill. You just fly around and press the shooting buttons. It was entirely to easy. There is no challenge and without challenge there is no fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game, not too many complaints.

posted by XIGGIUSX (WASHINGTON, IL) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With the first couple missions i was kinda bored but really got into the game in a hurry. I love the assistance off mode and it's hard not to catch your head turning with the camera. Not a game I could play for hours on end, but a lot of fun. Every once in a while the game would run less than smoothly. Definetly a good break from common genres. Worth waiting a couple shipping days for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

H.A.W.X.

posted by vastair3 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I found this game to have several problems. First of all it is far to easy even with the difficulty set on elite. There is no management of your plane such as fuel, ammo, etc. the A.I. also leaves a lot to be desired, enemy and your squad included. Every plane flies about the same and there is no realism to speak of. No G force to worry about, and no real sense that you are flying a supersonic jet, It just seems to float on by. The story is fairly poor as well, there are the usual generic fighter plane movie dialog, with all the cornball one liners included. Overall I was fairly disappointed with this game, it lacks the realism that I have come to expect and enjoy from Tom Clancy titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetitive and lacking playbility aspects

posted by ryazbeck (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Almost all missions are exactly the same. Sure the scenario might change, but the execution is almost identical from mission to mission. Launch missiles, dodge missiles, launch missiles, dodge missiles, ad infinitum.

Also, flying in assist mode is BORING; you can't even drift. You HAVE TO VIEW YOUR PLANE IN 3RD PERSON IN ORDER TO DRIFT/FLY UNASSISTED. Big huge failure on the devs part. You should be able to fly unassisted from the cockpit view. Why? Because using your cannon is on the verge of impossible in 3rd person view.

Just because of that one last complain this game fails miserably, but in conjunction with the sheer repetitiveness of nearly every mission this game basically flops in my book.

I'm giving it a 6 just because it looks good and flies well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What's so Tom Clancy?

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was a pretty fun fighter shooter game but the story wasn't anything special. It was a pretty run of the mill flight sim with simple controls. It was fun none the less but a little mindless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is no bueno!!

posted by Rooitis (GILBERT, AZ) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i was only able to stand play it for like 20 min and half of that was the loading time. !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Subpar Flight Simulator

posted by lancerte75 (PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a realistic flight simulator for the playstation 3, then HAWX is not for you. I was sadly mistaken thinking i was in store for a great new generation flight simulator, when in reality this is just a rip off of the Ace Combat series. If your looking for a first person arcade style flight game, then this game is definetly for you.

3 Out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

H.A.W.X.

posted by stevo123 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Boooring!!!! Waste of Time. Dont rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

10 thumbs down.

posted by MrScarecro (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

'nuff sed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gameKING1 (LINDALE, TX) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

hello
this game is horrible !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Decent flight simulator

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

HAWX is a good game. The graphics are so so. The sound fx are something to be desired. The number of planes to fly is great. The weapons range and destructive powers are very different and show with the damage given. The voice acting is decent and the story is ok. The ability to have online wingmen on all stages is cool. The progression of the game is continual and everyone shares the experience earned to access unlockables like new planes and weapon packages. The images of the planes is where the game shines. I found myself playing in free flight mode often. Trying the different planes, climbing to insane altitudes and watching my plane stall and then seeing how long I can keep it stalled then catching it before I hit the ground was just fun and beautiful to watch. However, this is just another version of the last Ace Combat for PS2. I couldnt tell a difference between the graphics. The planes stats like speed, handling, and armor are just something to look at and have very subtle differences in gameplay. I put this to the test and was just bumed out. The fastest plane in the game could not outrun the pattern layed out for the levels. So no matter what this was the direction you had to go. This is what you had to do. It doesnt matter how fast your plane is. This is the level design and thats it. Levels are repetitive, with no real challenge. Some straight from what worked with Ace Combat. AI wingmen are just dumb and do very little. That being said. What works in the game is what they took from Ace Combat for PS2. Which isnt all that bad but, for current generation consoles its not enough for a $15-$10 pricetag. I could get Ace Combat for my PS2 and still have more fun with that than with HAWX. As always thnx for your time reading my review. Game on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was good enough

posted by guyuknoe (CONCORD, MA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

overall 7/10

game play 9/10
honestly one of the best simulators i have ever played for a console, the OFF mode is insane and then being able to switch to assistance ON quickly is a really help for guided missiles

graphics 8/10
nothing to outstanding other than how smooth everything is

re-playability 1/10
best reason to rent there is no reason to replay it as the community for it is very small for the duration i had it, only about 30-40 online at one time max. plus no missions really made me want to play them again as in other simulators, and for that reason i had to force myself to fight through the monogamous mission again. this is where this the game suffers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no that great

posted by tntinsualtion (SANDUSKY, MI) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

ace combat is more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever

posted by gameman247 (EL CAMPO, TX) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

hated it. it was horrific controls sucked and i chrashed every time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HAWX

posted by goodnotgreat (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I ranked this game a solid 7 or maybe 8. Realism of aircraft and capability along with graphics makes the game really good. My only complaint about this game is that you cant land or takeoff. I think that would add to the realism. I've only played the demo to the second one and the only thing I like about that is the ability to Air Refueling. Combine the two games and you have a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete Ennui

posted by Joesafario (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game took forever to DL/Install from the disc. 30 minutes later I finally begin gameplay. The campaign was extremely dull. The graphics were very mediocre. The gameplay itself was just lacking of any real entertainment. I devoted about an hour to this game after deciding that I would rather spend the time driving this thing to the post office to be returned. It was that bad. Other people may enjoy this and I can see why, but I however did not enjoy this in the least bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game and fun too

posted by ctsr1ff (RICHLAND, WA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2003

I have always been a fan of ace combat and when i heard of this title comming out i was skeptical

yet to my surprise it is a really solid and fun game, although i do wish the voice acting was better i was pleased by how enjoyable it really is.

the ERS function is great and the assist mode adds a real movie feel to the game.

the missions are fun and engageing and vey challenging at time but not over the top hard.

the radio chatter and game soun effects dont leave a dull moment and keeps things feeling alive.

altough i do wish the close up of the ground was better in reality you should not be that close considering the games title.

all in all i loved this game and am eager to try part 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is awesome....RENT!!!

posted by JRuiz87 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

if you liked ace combat and flying jets and stuff this game is for you. its awesome how the battles that take place just makes you feel like your there especiall the air to ground battles and navy battles you just see the AA flying and the flak bursting near your plane its awesome. the graphics aint to cool but its the gameplay that makes it fun and exciting. and plus the cities and stuff dont look that cool cause it was made with like the satillite or watever. either way you should rent it if you like flying games like ace combat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not worth the wait

posted by allgodsgom (BELLEVUE, WA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

while the graphics are so-so and there seems to be some level of progression you can achieve as an ace pilot the controls are weak and overall gameplay is repetitive, not engrossing, and sometimes frustrating. all of this coupled with a 30 minute wait before actually being able to play the game (updates and software install) make this one of the worst games i've played to date. it was not even worth playing beyond a single hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by acebrod (PRESCOTT, MI) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

good game its a lot like ace combat 4 and 5 but with a lot more jets and armorment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse