Rent Gunblade NY and LA Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack for Wii
view large frontback

Gunblade NY and LA Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

140 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Classic old school fun

posted by mowie (MALVERN, PA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

fun game, retro graphics but very fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but too easy

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love shooters like this, its a fun game, but a bit too easy. I got it in today and I already completed it and will have it sent back tomorrow. If you like rail shooters, it is worth a try and will be fun, just don't expect it to be some major game. You will beat it fast. Worth the rent, but I would never buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short but fun

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gamers looking for a bit of nostalgia will enjoy this 2-pack of classic arcade lightgun games, faithfully recreated for the Wii, outdated graphics and all. Without the frustration of having to keep popping quarters into a machine to keep playing, the game is noticably shorter than a jaunt through the arcades - players can sit down and play through both titles in a fraction of an afternoon.

It may not be worth $20, given the replay value of other lightgun games like House of the Dead or the Resident Evil titles, but it's still a fun playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shooters with too short a shelf life

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It didn’t work well for Mad Dog McGree: Gunslinger Pack.
It didn’t work well for House of the Dead 2 and 3 Return.
So why would nostalgia work for Gunblade NY and LA Machineguns Arcade Hits Pack? I’m have no idea.
There the two games - Gunblade NY and LA Machineguns - that came in the arcade out several years ago (Gunblade NY came out in 1996 and LA Machineguns came out in 1999) and they look and play just as dated as they did back then. It’s a faithful recreation of the arcade games.
In each game, you (and maybe one other person) proceed through levels by shooting enemy cyborgs, their missiles, and a few boss type robots/vehicles.
A single run through of both games takes less than one hour.
The game makers try to add replay value by adding three difficulty levels - but the game plays the same no matter what level I picked.
They also tacked on a few new guns, like the auto fire and the spread fire - but I found those guns to be less effective than the regular gun when they should be more effective. And to get those guns, you’ll have to play through the two games many times.
Which brings us back to the main question as to why I should play this game over and over again - and the same answer of I don’t know.
Gunblade NY and LA Machineguns is proof that some good arcade games do not make good console games. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So Disappointed, I Had High Hopes for This Game

posted by DaddyJoe (DALY CITY, CA) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finished game in under an hour and there's no replay value. Enemies take too many shots for them to die/blow up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointment

posted by Arucardo (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I remember playing these games at the arcade when I was young, I remember them being a lot better and longer than this.

This version was a waste of the 35 minutes it took me to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Rental for Nostalgia

posted by Darkdaysol (HILLSBORO, OR) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

Yes it's true, it's all true. The graphics: primitive, even for the nineties (think Virtual Fighter.) The gameplay: pedestrian. Hold trigger, point at anything that moves (nevermind how much of the city you destroy in the process.) Story: you're a cop in an extremely maneuverable vehicle who shoots cyborg terrorists with extreme prejudice, no thought for city budgets and an endless supply of bullets.

Looking back on it, even having sunk a load of tokens into it at the arcade way back when, it was pretty simple. But really, that's okay. It is what it is: a rail shooter that lets you blow the living daylights out of everything in sight with no consequence.

Yes it's simple in just about every way imaginable, but have a couple friends around and you've got a couple hours of fun ahead of you. Try shooting the civilians in LA Machineguns for an extra challenge.

Bottom line: if you played it in the arcade or have a thing for nineties games: check it out, keep a light heart and have some fun. If that doesn't sound like your cup of tea, give this one a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW!

posted by kuma138 (TERRYVILLE, CT) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I can't believe I rented this nonsense. I didn't play either one of these games in the mid 90s so why now. Why play an outdated railshooter from the mid 90s......I have no idea. Why re-release a railshooter from the mid 90s....who knows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i want all your money for nothing

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

yeah, it has 5 seconds of gameplay and its from like 1995

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dumb game - Poor graphics - Borrrrrrrrring!

posted by CenVill (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

This is a dumb game. There is no manual. I guess the game is so stupid and unfun that they didn't want to put anything in writing.

Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »