Rent Guitar Hero World Tour for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero World Tour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

850 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than The Older Guitar Hero games

posted by Andy88 (MARIETTA, OH) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most games like this aren't rated very high for the Wii, this one was different. Letting you sing, drum, strum, and all out rock through the game, Guitar Hero: World Tour offers some of the best songs from the 60's 70's 80's 90's and 00's such as Purple Haze(live)(Jimi Hendrix), American Woman (The Guess Who), Beat It (Michael Jackson), About A Girl(Unplugged) What I've Done (Linkin Park) and even some Ozzy like Mr. Crowely, and Crazy Train, also a Van Halen song,(Hot For Teacher)this game has good graphics, and for the Wii you can make your own songs and post them on the Internet through Nintendo WiFi connection! Also, you can play your friends and people from all over the world through WiFi, the game's so close to getting a 9, but it was an 8, because of some of the Wii only problems. for example: All Wii Guitar Hero: World Tour guitars are wireless,(that makes it weird because you hit the notes and it says you don't sometimes because it can't detect all of your notes and stuff because it's wireless)
Sometimes you hit the notes but it says you don't, and it makes that annoying sound that all Guitar Heros always make when you mess up, exept it comes from the Wii remote. Also, the songs are pretty easy, exept for Hot For Teacher and a lot of other unlockable songs, but still, I beat About A Girl (Unplugged) on Expert, and I could barely play on hard on Guitar Hero: Legends of Rock. I beat half the songs on Hard too. Other than that the game is great! I recomend renting it then think about buying it, you must use the Guitar Hero guitar controller on the Wii though.(Guitar doesn't come with Gamefly rent or purchase) The best Guitar Hero made so far in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero World Tour

posted by chasinfire (LA PORTE, IN) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game, I really like the blend of old classic rock and the new stuff. The addition of the drums and mike make this game sure fire christmas gift for any gamer who enjoys the guitar hero or rock band series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero World Tour: The Best Yet

posted by ny2co357 (ALABASTER, AL) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero World Tour is the BEST Guitar Hero game out on the market today! I actually got this for Christmas and have been immersed into the game: Everything from the Bass to lead guitar. I have yet to try the drums, microphone, playing with others to form a band, and the wi-fi (this is why I can't really give it a 10 out of 10 since I have not explored all the wonderful options out there for this game). I love the changing the style of guitar, your Rocker, their clothes, etc. I actually rented Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock, thinking they were both so similar. They were not. So, if you want to explore the Guitar Hero world, I say go for this one and become a plastic guitar holding dork like the rest of us! :-) Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Awesome Sequel

posted by devonaleen (LATHAM, NY) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Guitar hero wolrd tour was and is an excellent game online play is great graphics are great ther is nothing you won't love about GUITAR HERO WORLD TOUR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GO GHWT [Guitar Hero World Tour]

posted by pickelrock (HERNDON, VA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is really good but not as go as rock band 1 and 2.Thanks to how good rock band sold Guitar hero decide to make guitar hero world tour with the guitar,drums,mic.,and bass.Check my other review.They are doar the explore saves the snow princess,guitar hero 3, spectrobes 2.THANK YOU.BUY OR RENT THE GAME PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The song I want to play

posted by gamer2009 (GARNETT, KS) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

they need to put that song "gotta be somebody" by NICKELBACK in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

guitar hero world tour

posted by vidiogame354 (TOWSON, MD) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the songs are good, but i don't like the game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rokd My SOCKS!

posted by lovabull31 (SPARTA, NJ) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is fun and spectacular but doesnt come with instruments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game was an all that thing for me. It was a well bought game and has lasted me for a year. I still play it and the playlist is like it was made for me. Good game for everyone and i know they say t for teen but there is nothing bad exept for some lyrics and innopropiate dressing but other that that AWEOME GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was ok......

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

the only thing wrong with the game was the confusing menues and songs were not that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't get WII Rock Band Guitar to work

posted by porchswing (OCALA, FL) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I thought this would be interchangeable with the Rock Band equipment that I owned, but it would not recognize my wireless guitar or drums.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWSOME GAME...... BEST SONGS! an 8.8 game rating

posted by ttyl2468 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

i loved the game! it has the best songs, graphics, and story...... pretty much every thing and if you have full band and four controllers even better!. the only thing that i dount like is that if u completed the stroy with EVERY instramint ( sorry for spelling :) and played all songs, and tired of playing online ( by the way online is AWSOME ) it gets kinda boring. but if you have freinds or family that can play, its never boring.... i have this game for a year and a half now and when i play by myself its kinda boring...... but like i said if you play with freinds or family its you will never get bored..... and this game, ANYONE can play like me and im 12. and for example my cousin is 19 and never heard of this game and cant talk english played it with no flaws......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rock band instraments with Guitar hero

posted by TraynRoc (FLUSHING, MI) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I have rock band and rented GH, but could not get the instraments to connect. is ethe rock band set compatable with GH?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game won't last but other people like it.

posted by wowhowcool (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game can be better.

I mean, I liked the new controls, but they don't work sometimes. Using the neck slider on complex parts (like in the song Satch Boogie) is cool, but returning to the regular buttons is hard and messes you up. In drums, to activate star power, you blast both cymbals, but it is hard especially in complex parts, when you are supposed to use it. Sometimes the star power doesn't even respond, and the game counts it as a miss, taking away your perfect streak!

I still liked the drums. It added a whole new level from Rock Band drums. And in guitar, you can emulate the wah-wah effect, which is really awesome. Singing though, it is harder than Rock Band (or maybe it's just me).

The song selection though, it seems kind of "pssssh!". The songs are not as extreme and loud as Guitar Hero III, and for once, Harmonix actually made a better set list with Rock Band 2. The songs get pretty boring quicker than I expected. There are only a few loud songs like BYOB and Crazy Train but the rest is just "zzzzz...." I still liked some of it like "Lazy Eye" and a few others.

I don't really use the song creator because it is too long and complicated, at least for me. I downloaded songs from other creators and theirs is amazing. Who knew that you'd be playing Zelda tunes in a band!

The extra Freestyle Mode can be fun, but not with other players. All you do is push random buttons, or just follow the list in order. Drums, they just make a beat.

This game didn't last long for me, but you may like it. Please rent it first and compare it with others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game with the best songs!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) May 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is great and it rocks! It has the best songs from the best artists. This was my first ever guitar hero game that i own. Its really fun using the guitar, and i can imagine how fun it is playing with the microphone and drumset. This is a must get game. You wont be dissapointed with anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero World Tour: Just plain awesome!!!!!!!!

posted by Reviewer96 (TUTTLE, OK) May 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Guitar hero world tour has great graphics and a great selection of songs. If you don't want to play all through the career just use a cheat code from this site and unlock all of the songs!!! This is waht I did. Overall this game is perfect for fans of the series.

Game on/ Rock on!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!Best Of The Series!

posted by maninahat1 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

I believe it was a great addition to the guitar hero series.Online play was kind of complicated, when you would be matched with a player it would pick it for you and not let you see the info on the difficulty, and mode the other was playing on. Another part of the game i did not understand was why we could pick a brand, and model of instruments we had to customize our own instruments.Overall the picture and sound was superb!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh!!!

posted by BkGamer (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

To be honest the only great thing about this game is the fact that you can personalize your rockstar. I also like that you can create your own song and individualize each instrument to your liking. Without a doubt though, GH3 is way better: performance wise, visually as well as interest. This game is definitely not one for the library... Sorry GHWT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice addition to the series

posted by yourself (Battle Creek, MI) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I love Guitar Hero... There's few games that can make you feel truly immersed like this series does, instantly transforming you from "dork in a living room" to "superstar arena rock god"... despite the fact that you're only holding a cheap plastic guitar thingy and still look like a complete dork to any nearby observers. That's gotta be the definition of immersed!

GH: World Tour moves their now familiar gamer-becomes-rockstar bar higher by adding player controlled drums and vocals to the mix (in an obvious effort to stay competitive against Rock Band), and does so swimmingly for a game that boasts only "Guitar" in the title.

The vocals seem to be programmed very well, allowing for some slight imperfections on the lower difficulties and enforcing perfection at expert level. Lyrics can scroll or just be static at the top of the screen, both work well but be advised that the font is small, if you're using a TV under 32" you'll have some trouble reading the lyrics you don't already know. As a nice touch, any USB mic can be used on the Wii, no GH specific device is needed.

Drums are acceptable, but if you're not a drummer they're quite difficult when you progress past beginner. You can't use your Rock Band drums on GH:WT, but these drums will work with RB... go figure. There’s also a MIDI jack on the back of the drum kit allowing you real drummers to play GH:WT with a real electronic drum kit. Nice!

Guitars are still the same- awesome. Surprise!

Overall I'd rank this a solid 7, there's ton's of songs spanning a multitude of genres, the animations are good (WAY better than Wii GH:Aerosmith, that was worse than those animatronic singing bears at Dollywood... Heck, the Tool set is magnificent to watch even if you don't like any of the songs). The difficulties seem about right, and beginner mode allows anyone who can bang the strum bar in time (it doesn't matter what fret you hit) to play- Grandparents are in! Nice addition to the series.

Rent it and ROCK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

miss old guitar hero

posted by doadoumie (ROLLING HILLS ESTATES, CA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Although this game brings a new twist in the guitar hero series it deminishes the gameplay expierence. I love to play legends of rock...but the new you guitar hero sort of brings false hope. I wish it was more like legends of rock although i will admit the songs are a lot better. and one last thing whats up with begginer as if easy wasnt easy enough.

P.S this game is ten times easier on expert than legends of rock

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good selection of songs, but it's no Rock Band

posted by NYC510 (NORTH SALEM, NY) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Guitar Hero is back but this time it takes note from Rock Band. Now you can play with guitar, drums, and/or mic. But is it better than Rock Band?
Sadly I would have to say no. The only thing that is a nice improvement over its rival is its drum peripheral. Look for images on it, the cymbals are now raised, and there are five pads in total. Its more realistic. For some reason after playing Rock Band for awhile the round notes don't quite feel right to the more bar notes in RB.
Songwise there is a good varied selection. Weirdly both GH and RB have some of the same songs. But the character customization on the Wii isn't quite the same as I was promised on the 360. It's good but no Sims.
Now I hate to be comparing it to RB so much but RB further revolutionized the music genre after GH. But I'm going to have to say when you choose between the two $190 sets, go with Rock Band, then rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Become a Rock Star!!

posted by gamedj (SAINT MARYS, WV) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Guitar Hero World Tour lives up to it's reputation with great songs, characters, and venues. The game also has several new features such as music studio, mii freestyle, and character creator. You can now choose a Guitar Hero character, real rock star, or your own created character. A big downside to the game is the price. When I bought it I was only able to afford the guitar, I didn't have the money for the microphone and drum kit. Another downside is that the majority of the really awesome songs are not available until the last venue. Hopefully, in the next game these problems will be fixed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero World Tour: Bringin' Down the House!

posted by pinkman95 (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I have had the chance rock band 2 and guitar hero 4 and i have concluded that, even though it may be more expensive, gh4 is superior. With sybols for the drums, a slider for the guitar, and the ability to create your own songs, it is completely better than rock band 2. If you have the money, buy it as soon as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »