Rent Guitar Hero World Tour for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero World Tour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

1033 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

GHWT

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero started me on my fake band ways over two years ago. Rock Band stole me away. So, here I am think, lets see how it goes with World Tour, I haven't looked at a GH game since Legends of Rock.

After playing for about 2 hours on Guitar and Drums, I'm left bored. Rock Band still calls me back. I don't know, maybe it's the cartoony feel, maybe it's the lack luster graphics... More importantly, it could be the music. Though I did like some of the tracks, I just couldn't get myself into liking this game at all. I'm glad I rented before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair, not great, not bad

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

aight let me start off by saying that i have all the guitar heros and rockbands, so i have no preference. the game is fair, but not great, but not bad. guitar hero looks a little lackluster compared to rockband. for some reason the strumming, the notes and the overall feel of the game feels not real. it doesn't feel like i'm playing the song, it also sounds like the game is being played inside a garbage can (echoy all the time) i am truly dissapointed in world tour and feel my money is better spent on rockband, i recomend renting it if you already have instruments that buying the kit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Once you play Rock Band nothing compares to it.

posted by SSSJDanny (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I ended up buying this game when it came out and regretted it. I believed all the hype but once i played it i was extremely disappointed.

I only like 2 things: The songs, and the scenarios like when playing instrument besides vocals on the song "Crazy Train" by Ozzy Osbourne, Ozzy actually shows up and sings, same thing happens when playing Jimmy Hendrix, and the Song "Beat It" by Michael Jackson except the singer just does the dance.

Everything else was pretty bland, the vocals were too hard, and didnt register right, while you have to randomly hit Yellow, and Blue, to activate Star Power for Drums.
Too colorful, childish like.

I'd recommend Rock Band 1 and 2 for anyone who wants to play any type of Music Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't Bother

posted by yourbuddyp (PALATINE, IL) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a Rock Band 2 owner (and GH3 owner), I was looking to rent this game to play some great songs on GH, namely Tool and Mars Volta.

My room mates and I popped the disc in to play the songs only to find that they had to be unlocked first. Ok, similar experience with RB2, but RB2 had an unlock code. With that experience in mind, I googled up the unlock code for GH. It didn't seem to work.

Originally, my room mate was just going to play the game to unlock some of the songs, but it became painstakingly clear that the GH series is more focused on making egocentric challenges than enjoyable playing experiences. To clarify this point, what I mean to say is that the game does things that just seem to punish you. It'll do things like throw an insane number of drum notes at you in an incredibly repetitive manner (for instance, a song that is 80% full of ONLY red notes) that just end up making your limbs hate you for playing.

After 2 weeks of having the game sit collecting dust, I realized that this game wasn't worth it. My advice: don't bother. Rock Band is, in my opinion, a far superior and more enjoyable experience for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun

posted by cnuttin (BROOKLYN, NY) May 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excellent party game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what a bore! Who choose this song list?

posted by zizimonsta (BRONX, NY) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You know a game isn't that great when you don't even want to make a effort to complete a song. A lot of the song choices were rather lame. Couple of country sounding songs and I don't dig that kind of music. This is a ROCK game not country song dance off. And wth.. bon jovi? come on! where's my children of bodom, avenge sevenfold, lacuna coil, the killers, within temptation.. etc The songs were all so long that I wished they had shorten them like they do with games like DDR.

I gotta admit there were a handful of good songs. Always good to see ozzy and I dug they added some foreign stuff in there but overall it wasn't enough to make the game enjoyable for me.

I would also like to add that guitar hero is a total rip off! Come on, I gotta buy a stupid expensive plastic guitar to play this? Why can't I use the controller? I don't know how many times I didn't feel like using the guitar and just lay on my bed with the controller but couldn't cause the game doesn't work without the stupid addon you gotta buy separate.

I suggest before you buy or rent this game that you look up the song list. If you like the songs you might enjoy the game but even if you like the songs I don't know if this game is epic enough compared to guitar hero 2 ir 3 (guitar battling against lou was epic! why wasn't there something like that in this one?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

In these games what matters is the music

posted by lownbreezy (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The overall look of these games seems to be a hot topic in these games and I dont understand why. These games are about the music and honestly I cant remember ever looking in the background to check out the stage characters instead of looking to see what notes people are getting. There isnt much doubt that rock band is visually better than this game but my main issue is about the music. Before you buy this game compare the setlists. It seems as if rock band has most of the songs this game has included. Dont get me wrong there are some songs that are exclusive to guitar hero and 3 TOOL songs being a few of them are the only reasons I am gonna play this. Look thru the setlist of this game and unless you are a huge fan of a certain song that is not on rock band do yourself a favor and just stick with rock band cause the guitar hero franchise has a ways to go to catch up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero WT leaves RB2 in the shadow

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2003

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Rock Band 2 has a great track list, but so does Guitar Hero WT.

RB2 has the solo guitar buttons, but GTWT has the slider.

RB2 has a great new drum set, but GHWT has the cymbals.

Bottom line is GHWT has overtaken RB2 with a huge serge of innovation... The slider is sweet, and it can be used for slap notes on the bass! The cymbals are super cool, although they are a little louder than I'd like, and they do have a pretty "plasticky" sound to them.

Bottom line is most of us thought GH was out for the count when RB came out, and now we have all been proven wrong. Difference is, I am willing to admit it.

Rock On Guitar Hero!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitchy

posted by gr2007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

First off, the positives. The soundtrack is exceptional, the graphics are well done, and the game has the potential to provide for hours of fun. Now for the negative stuff. There have been countless numbers of times that I have clicked the strum bar and absolutely nothing happens (no noise to signify that I missed the note and nothing to signify that I hit the note). It has actually caused me to fail the song. I thought at first that it was the guitar (I have heard that they are actually not the most reliable pieces of equipment) so I bought a different guitar and the same thing began happening again. It is not a lag problem, it is a technical problem with the game. It happens on both Guitar Hero III and on Guitar Hero World Tour. I would recomend a rent before you buy. If you can live with it, you can have a lot of fun with the game. I, on the other hand, personally feel that if you fork out $100 for a game, there should be no glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Bjf4108 (STATESVILLE, NC) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

First let me just say that this game blows rock band out of the water in every way possible. Let me start with the drums, they work so much better and feel more realistic than the rock band ones. The raised symbols work very well, they take a couple songs to get used, but when you do it's amazing. The redesigned guitar isn't that good. It's really cool except for the touch pad, i prefer just not to strum and use the fret buttons. They also disguised all the buttons on the body so you can't tell they are there. Now to the set list, it has a very wide range of songs, from Beat It by Michael Jackson to Sweet home alabama by lynyrd skynyrd. Now what every body wanted the game for the most, making custom songs. The ghmix works very well. making songs is as simple as being able to play the game. After the song is made you can edit in a whole lot of different ways then name it, make an album cover and publish it to the world. Bottom line is that rock band is terrible compared to this game and can't even compare. Guitar hero world tour is a must have must buy game. It goes down on my list of top ten games ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can't play unless you have mike or gruitar?

posted by ageed7 (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Rented game but you can't play with controller, you gotta have a gruitar. What's up with that? So, I didn't even test the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacking....lacking so much....

posted by slayerboy (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I was really disappointed with this GH version. The set list is horrible. Most of the songs that are in Career Mode I don't even remotely consider to be "Guitar Hero" worthy, status or game.

I bought this when I bought my PS3 a few weeks ago reading reviews on another site that said of all the more "recent" Guitar Hero's to get, this was the best. "Best" is subjective to the kind of music you listen to. I've seen Rock Band's set list. A good mix of rock and metal. Most of the stuff in GHWT is pop, rap-metal, "I think you call this punk", and bands that try to resemble something like metal/rock.

Yes, there's a few Ozzy songs, Smashing Pumpkins songs, System of a Down, and BLS; but after that it steps into one-hit-wonders like Lost Prophets and 80's stuff. No, not glam metal. We're talking stuff like Blondie, etc.

Bottom Line: If you really like guitars, metal/rock, and video games, stay way from this version of GH and go with Rock Band, even if you just have a guitar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the time.

posted by Dalset (PLAINVIEW, TX) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Our family plays Rockband already. I wanted a couple of the songs from this game so I figured I would give it a try. There is really no comparison between the two. Visuals and response are found wanting within this game. Also there are a pathetic amount of songs for it without downloading more. Many of the songs I already had in Rockband. We played the songs we liked in it on the first night and decided not to play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not my favorite installment, but still...

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This one featured new songs by bands that I was glad (and a little surprised) to see on a guitar hero game, such as Interpol, Steely Dan, Silversun Pickups, Tool, and Dinosaur Jr. Though for the most part, I was unimpressed by the library of this particular installment of the series. I just wasn't too crazy about most of the songs, unlike the last three in the series. Though I suppose that most people won't be too bothered by this.
What I do like is the added customization features, such as the ability to create a character, design a band logo, and customize instruments. These features really add to the game, making you feel more like a rock star than ever.
All in all, lots of fun, and a great party game. If you are a fan of the Guitar Hero series, then this one is definitely worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just to Hard

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

I love the wa you can make songs, but the actual songs on GH are WAY WAY to hard. And, they need to stop making a story out of this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sucks if you only have the drums

posted by wonderboy8 (OLYMPIA, WA) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

i do not recomend this game if you only have the drums availible....also there is very few songs there is about 2 good songs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tool comes to GH World Tour!

posted by DrMarten (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I gave this a rating of 6, because I do like the game, but I don't think it's great. To me, these types of games are about the songs, not the graphics or characters on the stage, (which are cheesy anyway)...
My taste in music makes it difficult for me to REALLY love guitar hero. I don't listen to the radio, and many bands I love will probably not make it to GH. I was very surprised to see Tool on the setlist. (when playing any of the three Tool songs, you're treated to awesome graphics rather than the usual onstage presence) This was a HUGE factor for me in deciding to purchase this game. But, as with any game, you need to decide for yourself. I would definitely recommend this to music fans, as there is variety in the setlist, and the new guitar is pretty sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad

posted by SidJacks (GWYNN OAK, MD) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I just prefer rock band. many of the songs are in both games. rock band allows for you to carry all your songs over into the next game and there were trophies in rock band that give you something else to shoot for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ahhh whatever

posted by staticforc (JACKSON, NJ) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

i give it a 5 no more then that, I don't know if its because I'm so used to Rockband, but wth did they make the kick drum note purple, its so hard to see with the background u have.. sucks if ya ask me the only reason it got a 5 is because of the songs, and dlc no more no less..just a rockband wannabe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its good for PS3, 80+ downloads but lots of $$$

posted by sanman531 (HOBOKEN, NJ) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Great game if you have the old guitars I guess. Guitar Hero really sold out. There are 80+ songs for download and about 4 of them are free. W

Also this is going for $25.00 on ebay so Gamesly should adjust their KEEP IT price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a let down

posted by ddog6132 (MANCHESTER, NH) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I was very excited to get this game. As a loyal rock band fan, I thought I'd take it back to where it all began. Guitar hero. The in game music was amazing. great choice of music. The game just didn't grab me like rock band does. Absolutely nothing wrong with the game. Just personal preference. A little too cartoon like for me. Seems geared towards a younger crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Continue its name

posted by daftpunk (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

If your a fan of guitar hero you wont be dissapointed with world tour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Music Game

posted by GrimGhost (DENVER, CO) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Not any better than Guitar hero legends of rock. the graphics are a bit more enhanced but the track listing compared to the first is sub par. It does allow for mic and drum usage on a more positive note but The better feature is that you can create your own tracks but even this isn't a perfected feature... I say to just keeping playing regular guitar hero and just wait for GH:4 or play rock band

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A- for innovation, D- for effort. Overall: C

posted by dpowers87 (BON AQUA, TN) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

First thing, let me say that I like this game, despite all of it's flaws, but I feel that there are so many holes in that game it is just not worthy of a good rating.
I like the drums on this game so much more than Rock Band, mostly because of the raised cymbals, but you also get one extra pad compared to Rock Band. Both of these factors add so much to the drumming experience, giving it a boost in the realism category.
As long as the guitar works and looks decent, it doesn't matter what the style or paint scheme looks like, or if it's a Gibson. They all do the same thing.
Those tap buttons rarely get use from me, except for the 'wah' effect which is actually more of a flanger than a wah. When it comes time for the 'tapping' part, I find myself simply not strumming and just pressing the fret buttons.
The soundtrack on this game is horrendous. There are no covers on this game, which is cool, except for the fact that they traded out all of the lackluster covers of good songs for original recordings of bad songs - most of which I've never even heard OF, let alone actually heard before. For the first band game by the original music game franchise, there are very few talented bands on this game. No Guns N' Roses, no AC/DC, no Led Zeppelin, no Black Sabbath, no Chili Peppers, no Pantera, no Motley Crue, no Godsmack, no Alice Cooper, no ZZ Top, no Primus, there are too many to even mention. Metallica, Van Halen, S.o.a.D., Allman Bro's, Sublime, Steve Miller, Jimi Hendrix, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Lenny Kravitz, and a few others are welcome here, even if we could've had a cooler Metallica song and a less played-out Skynyrd song. Overall the soundtrack is sub-par, even for a Guitar Hero game. We get almost as large of a selection on any EA Sports game that isn't centered around music. When I spend $50 for the game alone, and I could've gotten the RockBand2 pack for $50 less, I just expect so much more. Where did my $$ go?
WHERE IS MY GUNS N' ROSES?
What the F Guitar Hero?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GH Is GREAT!

posted by ilnewsome (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Awesome game. Great game play. If you buy the drums, do a sensitivity test yourself by going into the music creation studio, do your own song and lightly tap on the rim of each of the drum pieces and cymbals to make sure one isn't overly sensitive... If they are, Re d Oc tane (For some reason the company's name is offensive to GameFly) will send you a thing for free to fix it - Takes all of 5 minutes to set up your drum set the way you want it.

The gameplay is way better than Rock Band... I can only play Rock Band 2 for a few hours, I can spend 8 hours on Guitar Hero WT and still have fun. They are rapidly increasing their downloadable content, and the music is actually good.

The new guitar is nice with the longer strum bar and is much easier to hold.

It's like people reject anything that's new that isn't like what's old. Ergo, the reason for the lower score than Rock Band 2. Sorry they make you sing the vocals more accurately and where people would actually want to hear you sing. Sorry that you can't seem to properly calibrate your guitar for your TV. Stop wining and start finding solutions and if you can't, go back to Rock Band. Guitar Hero WT doesn't deserve you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse