Rent Guitar Hero World Tour for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero World Tour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.2

4942 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Original still good, but showing a little wear...

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

38 out of 46 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Of course we all played Guitar Hero, if you didnt and picked up the series after the 1st... you didnt miss much. GH has been the staple of the "pretend" musician since the beginning. And because of this its both great and not so much.

On the good side, there are a few things new in the series for fans, new guitar moves, new instruments, new songs. But, in many ways this game still feels kid like, the comic book type story, the comic type characters, even the customizing your own character, ends up looking like he/she, jumped right out of a cartoon network show.
I think one reason this game really feels this way is because Rock Band made their game look and feel more mature.
In all fairness, the makers of Rock Band got their start designing GH, and as both series go on to collect more and more money from us, so does the difference between them. However, what it ends up boiling down to is the songs! So if you have RB2 then there are some repeats in GH if not, then they're all new!

But since this review is for Guitar Hero, enough about the comparison and heres what new stuff GH brings to the table:

The basist is now different with a new "no button" strum, basically its a line across the board that you strum without holding any notes.

The guitarist has a new continued strum, which has you hold a button (lets say green), while another button is strum (lets say red) while still holding the green.

There IS a make your own character option, and the game does feel a bit more polished then before. A couple nice little add-ons was the "star power" now gets added if your using it and hit another star set, instead of just missing it completely.
And the addition of a little story for each soloist.

Overall, if you love the Guitar Hero series, there are enough things added here to keep you playing well into the night... AGAIN!
If GH's cartoony approach is what has you bored with the series and your looking for a more matured style, then Rock Band should be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rating guitar hero

posted by thegod579 (NORTH READING, MA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I loved this game it was awesome but there is nothing in here that has one bit of guitar hero in this. My comment is to anybody how reads this it is a good game but they tried to copy rock band so much and they didn't make the cut.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

could have been better

posted by krahe13 (Clio, MI) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

i have played all of this series so far and this one is by far the worse. The highlights are few in this installment yes Hendrix,Tool,and Van Halen are nice but a better selection would have been nice since this game has about 75% of the songs in RB2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero World Tour

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'll try to keep it short and sweet. Rock Band 2 is the superior game. If you don't want both, then that's the one to get. There's are considerable number of duplicates.

Both games have their pro's and con's. The is definitely the best Guitar Hero out there. What came down to for me was I rented it, really enjoyed the songs (some you just have to play to understand), and just bought the game.

You can change the individual song difficulty (RB2 you have to do it by the set, frustrating).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Honest Review

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I've probably put more time into the guitar hero franchise than anyone here. I've 5-starred every song on expert on both guitar hero 2 and guitar hero 3. I also own rock band and rock band 2. I would say this is the best musical beat game I own.

First off, the setlist is amazing. I have no clue what people are talking about. Maybe people that don't listen to a lot of music won't recognize some of these songs, but I found the majority of them to be spectacular. I mean, I went from playing One Armed Scissor, to playing Hotel California, to playing Crazy Train. I couldn't ask for much more.

So far, the difficulty seems good. I am about halfway through the game and have already had to retry one song (Mr. Crowley, caught me off guard with no star power). The new slider tool on the guitar is a really cool feature. You look and feel amazing with your strumming finger whipping up and down the neck of the guitar. I'd say the best example of this is in the song "The Joker".

As for the other instruments, the vocals seem fine. It works good with my mic and is basically the same as rock bands vocals, only with a different set list. And, since the set list in my opinion is orgasmic, I would say major kudos to the vocals.

The bass added a nice new slap feature, giving something more to do than a boring beat. Other than that, same bass, same awesome multiplayer. I have not tried the drums yet so I won't review them.

Overall, there are still a lot of cool new features, such as customizing your rocker, customizing your own guitar, awesome playing locations, choice on different set lists, great "boss" characters, and fun new online multiplayer. I'm having a blast with this one, basically a must buy in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Close but no cigar

posted by JustinLH21 (OWENSBORO, KY) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The big thing for me was you could only play in widescreen and this coming from someone who has a 20in SDTV was a big "aww darn" moment. It took some time to adjust. Bass is kinda hard to get used to, with the open strumming. Singing seems a bit more difficult than RB or RB2. Drums are a bit fun playing with the rock band drums. The recording studio was an experience but a little hard to find a good sounding guitar sound. The big thing I was disappointed with was there wasn't a "No Fail" cheat like GH3 had, all though there is a beginner difficulty doesn't mean it will be that hard to fail. Now the song list was pretty well done, all though some songs just weren't that fun to play. The tap strumming is an awesome addition to the gameplay. Overall, this game meant well, but had a few short comings, but overall worth the rent from Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most Disappointing GH game yet.

posted by Sergery01 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I never thought I could be bored playing Guitar Hero. I found myself wanting to fall asleep doing most of the songs that the game makes you play through. In my opinion the game should have been called Guitar Sleepo. The songs that you have to play through just suck and I guess because they have included the option of letting you play the drums and singing in the game, the songs may have small areas where you shred a little on the guitar. That is just one problem. The major problem is the music that was selected for the game. I bet most kids playing this game now, have never heard the majority of the classic songs on this game. I sure as heck didn't want to play them. All I can say is that I passed on GH Aerosmith for a reason...I don't care to play Aerosmith music. Second, I knew the music would suck in my opinion. Now we have Guitar Hero World Tour and honestly I think it was just an effort to catch some of the casual pop and older crowd to play the game instead of Rock Band, which I feel still has a way better selection of music. My rating stands and hopefully Activision will do ALOT better with GH Metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Didnt live up to expectations

posted by IceMaster (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

As a hardcore GH fan I myself was stunned by how good RB (rockband) was. It defined gameing and I got the 2nd rockband. After getting that I hear about GH world tour and hear they are bringing everything they have to offer. Of course I find myself excited but I only got the disk (already have everyting) I can tell u that this game was a big dissapintment to me. While there are some good things such as creating your own music/rocker, that seems to be the ONLY good thing about this game. If u have played GH3 u know that the guys are known for chosing a wide variety of songs and most are good. GHWT to me seems to only have a select few good ones while the rest leave you wondering just how hard they tried. The engine is different but not as good as rockbands. The drummer still hit pads that are not in the song, the guitatist looks like he is just boringly strumming, and the crowd still looks "subpar" You would think that since rockband took the title as music game that GH would fight for it right back. But they didint, RB still is the best in every catigory. I am only giving them a 6 because of their history of games. If you were impressed by RockBand 1 and 2 then dont expect much from this game. Huge dissapinment and well spent $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero playing catch-up.

posted by Spazz102 (Westminster, MD) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a few years ago I thought there was nothing cooler the GH1 and i'd go and play it at my friends house for hrs. then i got GH2 and loved it. then i hear of this game called rock band. i was hesitant and thought oh well they're just try to one up GH. and i was right. the old dev team for gh made RB a MUCH BETTER GAME! then GH3 comes out and i try it and hated it. then RB2 comes out and i loved it. and now with the current developers for GH:WT the try to throw in everything RB has and add more to it for a come from behind victory, and well its not that good. sure you still have some decent songs and the ability to make and download songs is great but songs make up only half of the experience for me. the GH characters are all soulless mechanical dolls when they play, the only one that actually replicate there part in a song is the singer with decent mouth movements but the drummer is always doing the same animation and the guitars and bass there fret hands never move. and on top of all the i've seen my characters are bend backward into the body spazz out and then magically snap back into place.

Good
Custom Content

BAD
EVERYTHING ELSE

i think this series is done let the original dev team do what they do since they make a quality product.
Rent it and try some downloaded songs though if you don't hurry all the good ones will be taken off like "God Knows" many songs people make it replicate real songs are being taken off and to me that's pretty uncool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent it before you buy.

posted by Chico67 (GOSHEN, IN) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

First let me start by saying, I have played and own all the games in the GH series and RB 1&2.

GHWT failed in its execution. It is sloppy at best. The set lists between RB and GH are too similar, it would not take much for RB to add a couple songs to there DLC and its the same set list plus.

The only thing that makes this game worth renting is the bosses. I really wanted GHWT to give RB some competition, I mean lets face it if they don't have to get better to keep us blowing our money they won't. Please ignore every review that is higher then a 7. Its just not true.

In closing, I just hope GHWT2 is the game we all wanted this to be. At least RB2 was better the original, not by leaps and bounds but, definitely better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HECK YEAH!

posted by MattCat (PEABODY, MA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. the songs are really fun to play for all instruments and i think the tap buttons on the guitar were a great idea! the music studio is hard and takes some time to get used to but i think that over all this game is worth buying for beginners and shredders!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Guitar Hero Has Nothing On RockBand 1 & 2

posted by AutoBlast (MEDFORD, WI) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Horrible, Why am I playing Willie Nelson songs??? Also, a song where they don't sing in english why add a microphone, it doesn't make sense... Good 'ol willie isn't a guitar hero he's an old shriveled up (you fill it in, GF won't let me)... Playin this with my RB guitar and I am glad that I didn't waste my money on the whole guitar hero set, it would have been very upsetting... So, if you have a RB guitar rent this first and figure it out for yourself... it's a retailer's waste of space...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Rock Band Hero

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I played the first 3 guitar heroes, and I knew from the first Guitar Hero on the 360 that this would be a cash-cow. The console has already had more than 7 different variations of the game come out since the first one premiered on the Xbox.

Rock band, rock band 2, guitar hero 1 through This, boom boom rocket among others.

So if you still can't play a real instrument or you haven't had enough button mashing on a plastic guitar (or why not buy another one, or drums this time) then this game offers more of the same.

There are a few extras: Make some tracks, multi player is jazzed up a lot, and of course drums and mics. However the game play is still the same. This is what bothers me. After you play one or two of these type games shouldn’t something change? How bout some better graphics, or even the ability to use your mp3s as music. (But how would they keep charging you for extra content?)

So I'm giving this game a Good rating if your a die-hard fan. If not, you may skip this game "Under the hood the engine is the same"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Does not compare to Rock Band

posted by KaiohZ (FLORENCE, OR) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero World Tour tries to achieve something that Rock Band achieved a year before, and only barely succeeds.

While the game has vast improvements over previous Neversoft developed entries into the franchise, the game still has various issues that the developer has failed to solve.

Note detection remains an issue from previous games, where in the game will say you missed notes that you hit, and sometimes, it will say you hit notes that you actually didn't. This makes for a frustrating game experience.

Other issues include outstanding load times (which are actually good for rest room breaks), some graphics clipping at times, and some songs have notes in them that aren't actually in the songs.

The character creation system seems like a watered-down version of Rock Bands, with less creativity. The game also limits the amount of created characters to 20, while it also has characters from previous games in it, including some new faces, and some unlockable rock legends (Such as "The Prince of Darkness" Ozzy Osbourne, and "The Motor City Madman" Ted Nugent).

New to the game is the create a song system, which allows you to use your own creativity to create songs. This sounds like a good system, until you realize the makers of the game will delete any song that sounds like an actual song that already exists. Which makes creating them pointless, since they will just be deleted.

The song selection is fairly decent, and the one I was most looking forward to, "Hotel California" played excellently. The difficulty has been scaled better as compared to Guitar Hero 3 (in which most people felt like they hit a wall at Raining Blood).

Overall, the game is an improvement over Guitar Hero 3, however, it doesn't match the gaming experience that Rock Band offers.

I give the game a solid six out of ten. The Guitar Hero franchise may be more well known than the Rock Band franchise, but clearly Harmonix knows what they're doing, while Neversoft is still learning the ropoes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW REALLY??!

posted by d00kie (HALIFAX, MA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

first id like to say that i am a fan of the guitar hero series i hve Played them all and enjoyed them. But this game is a different story. first off did they really have to add in drums and a mic i mean come on i no the ppl who made guitar hero made rockband but the game would have been sooooo much better if they just stuck with guitar. second by looking at the setlist you can clearly see that just about 1/3 OF THE SONGS ARE ON ROCKBAND 2 I MEAN REALLY THERE IS LIKE MILLIONES OF SONGS THAT ARE GREAT THAT COULD BE PUT ON THIS GAME BUT I GUESS THESE PPL DNT KNOW HOW TO EXPAND THERE MINDS AND LISTEN TO NEW MUSIC.. THIS TO ME SHOWS A LACK OF EFFORT AND SKILL.... last but not least when you are playing with a band, there is only one freaking fail meter. for instence if you hve three ppl that are decent at the game and then u get a person that sux and he/she fails out, then THE ENTIRE BAND FAILS!!!! how idiotic is that i mean come on throw us a freakin bone here. this game wasnt really that great i mean if u like playing the same songs that uve heard on other music games, by all means buy it but id say it was an alright rent.....THE ROCKBAND SERIES IS A MILLION TIMES BETTER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Skip this game.

posted by Trevor57 (AURORA, IL) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

What a disappointment. This game is worse than Rock Band, and I mean the original. While there are some good tracks, there are alot of songs I had never even heard of. There is also a bunch of mexican stuff. I don't speak spanish. If you have played Rock Band you will be laughing at this game. The ONLY thing this game has that RB doesn't is the music creator. While it was kind of cool to play with, the MIDI like sound is funny, and the songs are very short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

guitar hero world tour

posted by gh3owner (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT!!

posted by zman183 (Parkland, FL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero World Tour is the best yet! The songs are awesome and the drums have symbols which is awesome. The guitar has a really cool neck on it. Playing at the music studio is cool because you can make the drums and the guitar sound how ever you want it to sound like. You can also make it sound like a keyboard. Only rent or buy this game if you have the drums and the guitar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar hero World tour review

posted by element29 (PECOS, TX) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Gh world tour....well it was a pretty easy game.The new tapping kinda takes some getting used to but makes the game really easy.I am rank number 20 on expert battle on gh3 on xbox live,and ghwt has its advantages for battle-the new land mine power up.The thing i didnt like about the game is if you play expert you get matched up with people on medium and easy alot.This is a big disadvantage towards you cuz your points are worth way less than theres are.On this game you cant choose expert and play other people on expert on xbox live like on gh3,it just finds someone and you dont know what level they are on til the notes come.The only thing i REALLY liked about the game is the setlist.The game has alot of songs i love,and not a whole lot of sorry songs.But like i said cant say a whole lot of good things about the game on xbox live.There are alot of other things i must have missed but i just cant really think of them right at this moment---i mean things that make the game bad---.All my review is about the guitar version of the game on expert.I dont know how the game plays on any other level because i dont play those levels.So if you were expecting a review of drums or singing i wouldnt know cuz all i have is a guitar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFICT

posted by michael333 (GAP, PA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST A MUST BUY IF U LIKE GUITAR HERO AND ROCKBAND ULL LIKE THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what happend

posted by heckfeind (DANVERS, MA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I think they made guitar good and bad especcialy this one. Since I don't like arosmith I don't want tot ry it because I think he stinks to the max. I use the controller on guitar hero on expert, and I was very disapointed that I have to use a guitar jsut to play base and lead guitar. Vocals is ok if you have a singing voice if nto don't bother. I give this game 1 due to wat they did to it. Also I think they need to add more rock songs from 200-2008 im tired of this freaking 70's bullcrap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WOW

posted by moneyg (KENT, WA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

YOU SHOULD NOT GET THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent game for guitar hero fans

posted by drumboy1011 (ORBISONIA, PA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

the game itself is pretty good. Its story is good, you can play as awesome people and play bands that you love!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good/bad

posted by GayGuy14 (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is good because it has great music such as rooftops and their are so many insturements but when you sing you have to use a voice nobodywould ever use but the creators of the song

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Terrible

posted by xBeastlyKrakenx (ELM MOTT, TX) Jun 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is by far the worst guitar hero out there i was so extremely bored while playing this game its not even funny. I highly recommend saving your game que spots instead of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse