Rent Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
7.3

1735 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Probably the best GH game to Date

posted by afbohn (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've been playing the GH games since they first came out on PS2 back in March of '06 and this game is great, much better than the other GH games. It ranks up there with GHIII. The quest with the power-ups makes it fun and more interesting. Great song collection. Songs are challenging too, with "patterns" not seen before with the past games. You wont get bored playing these songs, like on GreenDay and BandHero.
Lot's of replayablity and the star challeges that allow you to beat your friends scores is very reward (that is of course if you're better than you're friends).

I'll probably buy this game eventually when the price comes down, it's worth the own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best GH since 3

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Oct 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero has been fighting against rock band with band games since World Tour, and while some games were good(GH5, Metallica) others not so much (smash hits, World tour). This game brings back what the old games had, lots of rock/metal tracks, and very difficult songs and makes and extremely fun experience. The Warriors of Rock might be disappointing if you think Quest Mode is the only thing you can do, and its not. There are these new star challenges, that are in EVERY song in the game, DLC, and imports. Basically you have a bunch of different challenges for each instrument or whole band and they range from biggest streak to star power bank or a set amount of chords/ Hammer-ons to hit and you get stars for each challenge, or you can use 2 of the powers you gained in quest mode(if you have any) and use them to gain power stars towards ranking up and unlocking instruments, characters, cheats, extras, art and more. So if you like a challenge, get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What made it great

posted by Brickhouse (SMITHS STATION, AL) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Back to their roots they finally pull off a game worth playing over and over again. The song list is the best I've seen. The quest mode keeps it interesting and they blend in the songs with the story line very well. I like how they make the big evil machine to represent corporate giants ruining the industry.

You get the feeling while playing the game that the staff put themselves into the game. Makes playing the game a blast. The bonuses each classic and new character gets is pretty fun too. It is the most challenging game they have made and you might find yourself going to practice mode!

I gave it a 10 because I could not find any issues that would make it a negative. They left it all out there for the first time and had fun making it. The song list is great, the game play is challenging, the graphics are what you expect, and the replay value is right on.

Rock on!
\m/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by mugzy1990 (GRAHAM, WA) May 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was better than all the other guitar heroes. Good game, kinda wish it had a little bit more recent songs, but other than that, awesome awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh

posted by thejimmeh (BOULDER CREEK, CA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since May 2004

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

A mediocre song list coupled with annoying Gene Simmons voiceover doesn't make for much fun. The entire experience feels like whoever made this game was more concerned about meeting the deadline imposed by their corporate overlords than creating an enjoyable game. Worth a rental if you're into the songs (definitely check the list first), but otherwise a total throwaway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Warriors of Rock: Unnecessary and Unfair

posted by RhythmFan (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 26 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of rhythm games, I obviously had this on my GameQ for ages. I retrieved the mail and inserted the game as fast as I could, prepared for one of the best Guitar Hero games ever. I had already seen the set list, and knew exactly which songs I wanted to play first, namely, the hardest ones (Megadeth, Arch Enemy, Children of Bodom, etc., etc.). Imagine my surprise when finding that you actually have to unlock the songs in the new Quest Mode. "Okay," I thought, "I'll give it a try. It can't be that bad, right?"
Wrong.
This game is the first time that I have actually felt embarrassed to be playing a rhythm game. The narrator says the most overblown, "epic" things as you play; it's enough to make even the most comfortable of nerdy gamers blush. Couple that with a set list order that is erratic at best, and game-breaking "powers" that each character possesses, and you get a sub-par game mode.
Gone is the ability to simply play the songs you like--you must finish each "warrior"'s set before you can move on in the game. The super-powered transformations that occur upon completion are, for the most part, so dumb looking as to inspire gales of embarrassed laughter. There is also a completely random-feeling moment of the Quest in which the player is forced to sequentially play all of Rush's 2112, so be sure to have LOADS of time on your hands.

But all of that is secondary to the main draw of the game: the actual playing. So, how does it play? Think the ridiculous over-charting of Guitar Hero 3. Almost every note in expert mode is a chord on the guitar. The charting in the game is absolutely absurd, and, for anyone who experienced the charting of GH2 and Rock Band, laughable. The developers have outdone themselves in making the most ridiculously hard GH yet. You don't have to take my word for it--you can check videos of Megadeth's Holy Wars running on both Guitar Hero and Rock Band, and you'll see how often the GH devs place more notes on the track then there are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad at all...

posted by nezeffx (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have to admit I am an avid Rock Band player. Mainly playing drums more than 90% of the time. I have played all Guitar Hero games since the first game however. I gotta tell ya that Warriors of Rock is a blast to play on any instrument.

First off before I purchase any DLC or music game I usually go on youtube and check out the charts to see if they would be fun to play. I am more of a " metal head" and growing up with alot of the bands on this game I had to rent to check it out. My fav band being Megadeth I was very excited to see THREE tunes from them on the disk. Also having Anthrax, Slayer, and some other old school metal bands in the mix I was happy overall with the setlist. Though some songs I would have subsituted for other like Slayer's "Chemical Warfare" is a good song, but maybe "Angel Of Death" or "Dead Skin Mask" would have been my choices. But like I said overall its a good choice of songs.

The new Quest mode is very fun to play, as your character grows into some sort of beast or demon like creature as you progress. It really is a cool story line as each song is perfectly introduced to you at the proper time.

Also in quickplay mode there are alot of challenges in each song to keep you busy for quite some time.

Like I said, I am a Rock Band player, I did not like GH5 at all, for some reason. I think I like this game alot as is it seems like they went back thier old gameplay style. It just feels like I am playing Warriors of Rock while at the same time having the GH2 and GH3 gameplay. It could be me mentally, but it seems alot better than last year.

For a person thats loves Rock Band, take it from me, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock is defiently a great game and very fun to play with your friends. With better gameplay and modes, and a great metal/rock setlist this game is worth the rent, and possibly buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BORING

posted by RexStone (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This latest incarnation is further proof that the Guitar Hero franchise is floundering and lost. I don't want to have to endure a terrible series of cut scenes and endless sub-par songs to get to the songs I want to play. If you are a fan of this series, rent it before you buy it. It seems like it is geared towards a tween audience, so it might be great for kids. Otherwise, Rock Band is still the king of the hill when it comes to rhythm games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It Sucks

posted by lljjbj07 (SHINGLETON, MI) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I used to love playing GH, I've been playing since GH3. But this game along with GH5 set the standard for mediocre GH games. The biggest and most frustrating aspect for me and the last 2 GH games is the way they set up the lag calibration. I (as well as some of my friends) can't for the life of me figure out how it works. A lot of good having a rhythm game when you can't stay in tune with it cause of lag. Look here people, I have a 37' 1080p LCD, and it along with every other HDTV I've ever had lags (you only notice it in games like GH). And GH5 and WoR are unplayable on it. That plus the game looks to childish now, sure you have an awesome setlist, but it kinda ruins it looking at the "pretty colors" and awful storyline. GH:Metallica was and still is the best GH game to date. It had the best setlist ever in a GH game, along with a good looking highway and gems to boot. All in all, I'll stick to Rock Band (they have better DLC songs anyways) and GH:Metallica. My advice, steer clear of GH:WoR if you have a TV that lags, and if you do decide to play it anyways, may God have mercy on you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Music Game Ever

posted by Tifa007 (SAFETY HARBOR, FL) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I play just about every music game that comes out. But this GH was the most painful of them all. The set list is horrible. The first few groups have some good songs but then you hit a Rush marathon challenge and it all goes downhill. GH has played out the good vs. evil thing for way too long, and the "transformations" your characters undergo to defeat some random robot is just dumb, and visually subpar for games today. As someone else pointed out, the voiceovers are even more abysmal than the music. This game is one of the reasons Gamefly should exist, but it's barely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

They have given up

posted by Vektuz (IRVINE, CA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Neversoft have clearly just given up. They're pumping these things out every year, and they're getting worse each time.

Poor selection, poor visuals, an over-abundance of samey-sounding crummy teen angst bands that feel like filler and you can't tell apart, locked songs, some sort of stupid quest mode that tries to force you to play said crummy songs, poor audio that sounds like its been remixed from the original tracks to be somehow lower quality than a poorly encoded mp3 playing on the same hardware, many screens to get into if you just want to play, some stupid integration with facebook and twitter, no auto calibration, repeated choice of form over function, so the screen is cluttered and the usual choice of note shapes and track backings and feedback that are there to look cool rather than function well, etc etc etc.

They have just given up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Franchise out with a bang!!

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) May 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is without a doubt the best gh game yet with the best tracklist in the rythem game industry, its a shame that guitar hero is out of business because this game they got right with a nice campaign with GENE SIMMONS as a narrator, this game would cream RockBand 3 if it had updated instruments! Definitly one for the Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero Warriors of Rock

posted by bengalfan70 (ERLANGER, KY) Feb 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome. It has amazing songs from the 70's,80's,90's, and the 2000's. The best GH I've ever played. I will be buying this one. Good luck GH topping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by skultac (EUREKA, MT) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Even though there are tons of reviews out there saying that this game isn't fun well im gonna have to disagree. I've played all the guitar heroes and rock bands and this game is great compared to all of them. Me and my friends have logged many hours playing this and it's still a blast. I also love the fact that they actually put some metal songs in this game. metal FTW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a fan

posted by struff (LAWRENCE, MA) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have always hated the demons and stuff in GH games and this one is ALL about that. I also hate that after you finish the whole career mode, you have to go back and do it all over again and get 40 stars on each song in order to complete the quest (40? Really? Who picked such a stupid number?!?). I hate most of the songs on it but could have tolerated them if they were grouped differently within the chapters (I played one entire chapter with the volume muted because I couldn't stand hearing those songs over and over again).

On the bright side, I've read that standard instrument controllers won't work on this game but my old GH Aerosmith guitar worked as well as my Rock Band drums and mic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

if i was 12!

posted by boomstik_bukaro (ORANGEVALE, CA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is like every other guitar hero except one thing, YOU USE ROCK TO DEFEAT EVIL!!! yeah its that awsome (sarcasm)

PROS:
-this game has a pretty good list of songs. harder rock then in "rock band". even if a lot of the songs have already been used.

CONS:
-the main concept is asinine, you rock until you get enough stars to mutate. <lame>
-the sound quality is bad on alot of songs. i don't know if there remastered or live... but they suck
-the character models are uninteresting and i never feel a connection with my create a player, like i do in "rock band"
-----this is the big one--guitar hero always had one thing that its compitition didn't, and thats its intensity. but in this game you get powers when you mutate, and these power make every song impossible to fail. expert feels like your on easy.

ACHEIVEMENTS:
-there easy but time consuming. when you done you'll have played 500 or more songs. youll not want to play a rhythm game for a long time after.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Its was cool in 1995.....

posted by SoWeak (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 3, 2010

Member since May 2007

5 out of 24 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

If i wanted to play lame songs from 95 I would find a cassette tape of songs I recorded off the radio when i was 12 ... Who is really asking for these songs? Really bodies? Nickelback? Slipnot? really I can go on for days.. This is probably the weakest guitar hero ever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

2112

posted by Hamsterbot (GOLDEN, CO) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The entire song as narrated by the members of Rush. 'Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

I enjoy playing this game..i am a total metal head i wish they had more metal into this game. Megadeth,Pantera,Children of Bodom, was fun songs to play i might have to buy the guy somewhere. i am glad i rented it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eureka!

posted by pyramids (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

It has interesting story and descent default song list as for the dlc, very lacking as all the other guitar hero's were. However this is redemption from the previous titles which in my opinion were boring. Greatest one of the franchise still is GH2 but this is a close second worth buying or renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEAST!!!

posted by cookie_monstah (FORT SMITH, AR) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Ive always loved guitar hero, and this game takes it to the next level! The songs are great and the songs let you shred on the guitar like no tomorrow.! RENT. IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why you should get this game

posted by Reddogrockets (ROANOKE, TX) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

if you liked the other guitar heros you will love warriors of rock. trust me it has a bunch of songs more than the others do or ever will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NICE!

posted by xMWx3x (KANSAS CITY, KS) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

ITS AWESOME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gh wofr

posted by tof (MEMPHIS, TN) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

guitar hero worries of rock is so cool and it's just amezing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not that good

posted by gsb78g (LINDENHURST, NY) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

tjhis game sucked not original bands on it that is not good about the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse