Rent Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
7.2

740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

A good change!

posted by jjchef (STURGEON BAY, WI) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Finally a good change up for Guitar Hero, Actually going back to songs that are based around the guitar!

Some great songs here, Pretty humorous as well which reminds me of the older Guitar Heroes!

Not as good as the first three Guitar Heroes but much better than World Tour or 5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better.

posted by AlienXXI (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Bad

Hard to calibrate to my television, no matter what number I put for the video lag, I still am hitting notes early and or late.

Online is not good at all. It takes me over an hour to find other people to play with, and sometimes I will hear players headsets and them talking, but it does not show them in the search lobby. The lag is horrible also, there are times when the charts stutter and it makes you miss notes, good luck getting 100% online.

You have to play career to unlock all the songs. I hate playing career to unlock songs, I just want to play them.

The Good

Great music selection and you can import all your songs and DLC from previous major GH titles.

Better for competition players. Songs are VERY hard on expert. Put it this way, Medium seems like hard, hard seems like expert, and expert seems like expert+ on the Guitar. So if you are REALLY good at GH and are looking to compete for the number one spot on hard songs, this is the game for you.

I will recommend this game to rent, but not own unless you are a GH fanatic and like insane hard songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

badass

posted by ksmith676 (WALCOTT, IA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was great even the story mode was better than i thought it would be overall great game it finally hard again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by GavinOoooo (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved the concept of the Story Mode! Really fun. This game does have a big song list, but most of them aren't that desired. I was kind of disappointed at the songs, but still fun to play. Lots of new features and powers included, making for an exciting guitar hero experience! Also the graphics have been very improved, so awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

posted by Coug (BEDIAS, TX) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, let's start with the bad news.

For those of you who play games for the trophies: To Plat this game, you need the whole Rock Band set. Some of the trophies require you to play challenges on different instruments. Also some require 2 to 4 people.

Now the good news.

The setlist is an awesome mix of several categories of ROCK. That's right. All Rock. A little Metal. Some Punk. A dash of Alternative. Plus, the songs come from older bands as well as newer ones.

The quest mode is fun and challenging, even when you are doing Domination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very simple what's wrong guys graphic, sound fail

posted by sandovalkn (KINGSTON, NY) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics are blurry and soud is tooo low WTH!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For those old enough to drink.

posted by ThtDrnkGuy (LAKE FOREST, CA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't bother with this one. I'm a huge Rush fan, got the game for 2112, but I still could not enjoy this. A few good songs are available, but for the most part everything is over-charted. Because of this, you can't really enjoy the music....they missed the mark. The quest mode is pretty lame and over the top....probably good for an early teen. The worst thing about this game though is you can't connect to ANYONE. I tried accepting an invite, sending an invite, and looking for random people.....could not connect to anyone. I expect that to be patched, but what kind of release is that?

One good thing I did find is you can select a friends score on the leaderboard and track it while playing the song...kinda cool, but if you don't enjoy playing the game it doesn't really matter. RB3 please......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET AS SWEET CAN BE!!!

posted by GatorJoe (BRITT, IA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

all i can say is sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated Game

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is one of the best Guitar Heros up there with Guitar Hero 3. It has a varied setlist for just about anyone to get into and play. Not only that but it can read DLC from EVERY Guitar Hero game from World Tour onwards (excluding "Death Magnetic" which is a GH3 DLC).

The only downside for this game is the online due to the lack of players and slow matchmatching; so if you're trying to get trophies to 100% don't bother with this game unless you have some friends that have the game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wasn't Too Excited.. But Then

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I started playing. This game is AWESOME. Great graphics, songlist, and just overall everything. Most of the songs were fun to play on every instrument, and this game kept me playing almost 2 weeks. I played some songs over 20 times each. This is probably my favorite GH game out there. Rock Band still is the best, but this game was amazing. Possibly worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to play but disliked the songs

posted by tye1029 (MOUNT VERNON, OH) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Guitar hero is a classic game and years later there's guitar hero 6 warriors of rock. Now the way to play guitar hero has always been the same you use a guitar that you buy or a controller to hit the keys. The song list in guitar hero 6 is massive there is over 100, some good most not so good. There are also lots of songs to download songs from Paranorma Thats what you get to Trapts headstrong. I don't particulary like the song list but there are some great songs in there. There is 7 songs by rush that are strongly Incorporated in the story mode i dont like any of them but thats just not my kind of music some people will tho. All and all its the same old thing but thats a good thing still fun and its a heck lot more fun to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GH Warriors of lag?

posted by altwolf (MORGANTOWN, WV) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I don't know why or if it is on all tv's (Mine is a sony bravia kdlex46 with 120hz refresh) but it was laggy almost all of the time, when you play on expert it makes you miss notes and aggrivates you. how ever the sons are ok. No disturbed or anything like that, mostly old classics. the characters are only playable in their tiers, so if you dont like that songs you wont play that character. They also have special abilities now for each character. all in all you should pass on this one. atleast I should have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow, best Guitar Heor since number 3!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jan 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

So, I've waited to play this due to all the bad reviews, but man was I surprised when I first played it!! THE SONGS ROCK!!!! One of the best selections since Guitar Hero 3, (which is still the best of the series with this one as 2nd) finally returning to the hardcore genre that got this series on the map. It mixes rock, metal, a little screamo and modern rock into one amazing package of music. The later songs are actually hard too! And ignore all the hate towards the story mode, its actually kinda fun. You play as eight characters, each with their own special ability and playlist. The powers are sweet and add some new depth to songs, such as extra songs, streak savers and extra lives if you fail. But sadly these do not transfer over to Quickplay. At the end of each character's set, they transform into their "Guardian of Rock" form. But unfortunately, the makers failed to make some awesome new characters, and almost all of the characters 'Rock' forms are weird and just give you the creeps. They really ruined an awesome idea.
Quickplay is awesome as usual, making a playlist is fun and easy, and all the difficulties are good as always. But for those of you dead-set on avoiding the story mode will be out of luck, for the songs on Quickplay have to be unlocked as you finish sets in the story mode, which really does blow. Character customization is good as always, nice clothing choices, but faces are still kinda 2D in depth. Making instruments is still awesome though!

Pros: Amazing song selection, (Bohemian Rhapsody is on here!!!!) story is good enough, character customization is still good, and the powers in story mode are really.

Cons: Character's transformed bodies are a letdown, story has to be finished to unlock all songs, powers don't transfer into Quickplay, graphics haven't improved since Guitar Hero 5.

So, it isn't perfect, but it returns to its hardcore roots and it pays off. Defiantly worth a rent! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most Epic Guitar Hero Yet

posted by TWIT4LIFE (SANTA MARIA, CA) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock far surpasses my experience with any other Guitar Hero Game. The song list is epic, including all 7 parts of the Rush rock anthem, 2012.

The game-play itself is unique, as it utilizes power ups that allow the player to achieve the previously impossible, 40 stars per song! The quest format is unique amongst music games and it paid off. The journey through each characters domain allowed us to learn more about each character and to watch them "evolve" in really awesome and epic ways.

The songs are interspersed with videos and battles that add flavor to the music and makes the experience more worthwhile. For the first time in a guitar hero game, the music serves a purpose: Our ultimate goal, to free the Demi-God of Rock!

I guess what I'm trying to say is, there is only one word to describe this game: EPIC!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh

posted by Raven79 (ALEPPO, PA) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I'm used to using the PlayStation controller in order to play the Guitar Hero series (I have rather short fingers making it difficult for me to use the guitar controller, besides I only have the wireless guitar for the PS2, not the PS3) yet whenever I attempt to play any songs it automatically puts me on vocals, I mean come on the game is called ~GUITAR~ Hero, not Singing Hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Warriors of Rock well... ROCKS!!

posted by tfchronos (MORGANTON, NC) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

First off ignore IGN's review of this game they have no idea what they're talking about. For them to think GH5 is better than Warriors of Rock (WOR for short) I will never understand.

Sound: Off the charts
WOR's set list is much better than GH5, come on it's got Ozzy and Metallica performing Paranoid, Tesla, Black Sabbath, Def Leppard, & Megadeth to name just a few. The setlist is easily one of their best in my book GH:M is my favorite but this is a very close 2nd.

Quest mode: 10
At first I was skeptical of it and thought it was over the top along with the charatecters Warrior versions. But actually it's a very fun change and enjoyed it far more than GH5's carrier.

GH:Mix: 8
It was the only reason I even put the GH5 disc in my PS3. WOR is pretty much the same which I still think could use some better metal tones but an happy it the same as GH5, now I don't have to torture my PS3 with that game anymore so that's a plus.

GH:Tunes/Tracks: 2.5
It's directly tied intro GH5 and Band Hero which is nice to a point... It's still like grass that never gets mowed, 97% of it is 10 second single instrument can't beat this or impossible that. I really wish they would add a "Remove It" feature so songs like that would be kicked off.

Lasting Appeal: Also off the charts
I can easily see myself playing this game every single day, 90% of the songs are enjoyable which is the least I can say about GH5 (had only 3 songs).

If you like Rock, Heavy Metal, songs that will actually test your skills, and a change from the same ol' same ol' carrier then this is a must buy or a least rent.

If you like easy to play pop, alternative and everything apart from what Guitar Hero stands for then go play GH5.

Thanks for reading! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Series is getting old

posted by djseeho (MANASSAS, VA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

They made some improvements with the new quest features. Overall though it is the same old game. I personally getting tired of having to play all the bad tracks to get to the good ones. Maybe I am just getting old, but I don't feel the game stays true to rock. Too many songs that don't make me want to sing along or even bob my head to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

guitar hero warriors of rock was awsam

posted by paulamen (ROSEMEAD, CA) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this game was great! if you like music and epic game play you have to try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »