Rent Guitar Hero: Van Halen for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Van Halen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

743 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Above Average Effort

posted by Redhawk (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I received this game 2 months ago when I purchased guitar hero 5 and I am more pleased with the game than the professional reviewers would make you think. This installment is really no different than the aerosmith or metallica releases. Its all going to depend on your musical taste. The only real issue that hardcore guitar hero players will have is the ease of the game. Most the songs can be 5 starred the first go around on expert. There are also some real difficult songs that will test even the best of players. So if you are still a person who plays guitar hero for the music and not the challenge, give it a try.

Rating:
8/10

Pros:
Good graphics, guitar hero metallica engine, great sound, good guest acts.

Cons:
Can be 5 starred on expert very easily, not a huge setlist.

Buy or Rent:
Buy if you like Van Halen, Rent if you dont.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It had lots of potential, but falls short

posted by mark21 (PACIFICA, CA) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for Guitar Hero-Van Halen. Being a Van Halen fan i was pleased with the Van Halen songs in the game, but the other artists dont fit in. If your a fan af guitar hero games, i wouldnt hesitate to rent it, but i wouldn't be spending my hard earned cash on buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As simple as this

posted by frankumms (NORTHBRIDGE, MA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its exactly like gh metallica.

except van halen themed.

review good enough?
hope so. =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SCREW THE CRITICS WHO GAVE THE GAME 4.9

posted by DrBrownie (DAMASCUS, MD) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

IGN said that the game sucked. I guess they didn't like rock music, or Van Halen, and im sure they were laughed at when they went to school. Van Halen ROCKS, BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weaksauce especially for fans

posted by Steelhead (BONNEY LAKE, WA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This should have been DLC , just a cut and paste job with some really lame VH toons that look like VH in Vegas 2010 until the very last set and not even the original members even though it has nothing but original VH songs and nothing done with Hagar.
Then to make things worse the opening acts are mostly terrible with only a few worth playing ,still trying to figure out how bands like Yellowcard fit into a VH opening act.
And then there are no extra band videos like in GH Metallica , the game is just weak.
I would say even the die hard VH fans should avoid this until it drops below $30

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

guitar hero Van Halen

posted by bwmeyer (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guitar riffs are great singing gets repetitive. Gets boring fast. Doesn't compare to other guitar hero games like guitar hero Metallica wich is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You Rock? More like You Failed

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was honestly looking forward to Van Halen just because he is a crazy guitarist and I was hoping for some crazy songs as well. Sadly, all this is is basically another track pack for the GH series. If you were lucky enough to get the game for free by pre-ordering GH5 and sending in the coupon you get, then this game isn't much of a loss of money. Nonetheless, This game offers nothing more than new songs by Van Halen and guest bands such as: Killswitch Engage, Weezer, Fountains of Wayne, Judas Priest, Blink-182, etc. This game could have been great, but...many things pop in the way of that happening. This game uses the old-school GH: Metallica engine, which feels really dated as opposed to the new GH5 and Band Hero engine. Basically, GH:VH is GH: Metallica, but Van Halen themed. The guest bands leave a big question mark though. If you were to make a band themed GH game, at least make the guest bands have an association with the main band. None of the guest bands have any kind of association with Van Halen at all. The songs for Van Halen on the other hand are not the best songs, some are really fun like Cathedral and Spanish Fly and ERUPTION, but not the best selection other than that. None of the new features shown in GH5 or Band Hero make an appearance in this game at all, its just another play down through the list of songs. This game feels out dated and dry, it offers nothing new to the GH franchise other than a few new songs. This game should have come out after GH:M and before GH5 instead of after GH5 and Band Hero. If you are a die-hard GH fan, give it a shot, no guarantees on liking it though, other than that, stay away.

PROS:
-New GH game with new songs
-It's Van Halen, he is just crazy on the guitar
-Finally...ERUPTION is finally in GH

CONS:
-Uses the GH:Metallica engine, which feels extremely dated
-Guests bands are questionable as in W-T-F?!
-Van Halen songs are not best selection
-In general, the game feels like it should have been released before GH5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way worse than GH5

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero 5 was shockingly good. Its the best Music video game to date. It has new game modes, improved graphics, and amazing online. This game has none of that. This game was made after GH5 and its worse, and costs the same price. Hmmm, what game do you think you should buy? Guitar Hero 5. If you were lucky enough to get this for free, then good for you. This game has the same features as Guitar Hero Metallica, and its out of date by today's standards. Everything about this game, besides the songs, has been done already and it doesnt have any new features from GH5. The songs are ok, but i dont like Van Halen at all. There are other songs than Van Halen, but theyre already on Rock Band 2, and theyre better on RB2. If you are a Van Halen lover, buy this game. But if you dont love them, just try out GH5 or RB2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really cool Game

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) May 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

grew up listening to Van Halen So had to rent this game. i really enjoy some of the songs on the game but some i didn't enjoy that much...But it was fun to play . so if your looking to kill time and rock out rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Van Halen

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This has all the classic Van Halen songs on it. From You Really Got Me Now to Spanish Fly! This is #2 on my guitar hero list, and I'm Surprised i didnt put it #1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unleash your inner Eddie

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Mar 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

Guitar Hero Van Halen is the 3rd band focused game, it features Van Halen songs from the Dave Lee Roth era which is arguably their more popular era and features guest bands like Judas Priest, Foo Fighters and Tenacious D. The games engine is pretty much the same as opposed to GH Metallica and its a great engine. Now, the reason why there are so many bad reviews is either they hate GH or they hate Van Halen, plain and simple. This game is challenging, looks great, and has Van Halen in it! Lets break it down:

The Great:
-Song Selection(Eruption, Jump, Panama, Aint Talkin Bout Love)
-Animations(Looks like them from the 70's and 80's.)

The Good:
-The note hit system(Its very lenient but 5's is better)
-The Instruments(Includes the Frankenstrat, Wolfgang guitars and Alex's drum kit)
-Difficulty(The hardest songs are Im The One, ERUPTION and Spanish Fly but thats it really.)
-Graphics(as good as Metallica but not as good as 5)

The Not So Good:
-The Amount of songs(about 40, pretty light)

The Downright BAD:
-Wolfgang Van Halen is bassist instead of the great Mike Anthony.
-The Amount Of Tap notes(there are way too many, it makes the songs too easy, the only exceptions are Eruption and Spanish Fly or the here and there tap solos that Eddie does.)

My Final Thought: First off if you aren't a Van Halen fan, don't let that stop you from getting this game, same if you aren't a Metallica fan for the other game, try it out and you might just become a fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game

posted by Tenniscoac (WICHITA, KS) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I just wish this game would have more of the songs that Sammy Hagar sang instead of all of their older songs from the 70's and 80's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PRJ's Review of GH Van Halen

posted by PRJ1990 (FARMINGTON, NY) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Another GH game, another set of good, challenging songs. I actually enjoyed this game more than Metallica and Aerosmith (and I love both bands). Here's why: although the achievements aren't as easy to get, there was a decent selection of songs from the different "Guest Acts" list as well as Van Halen songs. Not only that, but this game has 2 impossible songs, Spanish Fly and Eruption. I've played on Expert for many years, and I would have to rank Spanish Fly up there on difficulty compared to the solo from Buckethead's Jordan. Eruption is also equally challenging and thus far I've only 3 and 4 starred each, respectively. Trust me, very challenging, if that's your thing.

The other parts of the game are so so. The fact that Eddy is almost always smiling creepily is kind of a let down, showing that the band really didn't play as much a part in production as did the previous band-specific installments. If you like to play music games and you like Van Halen, this is definitively worth a look. Do note, though, most of the songs have a strong sexual tone if anyone out there is not familiar with the band's music. Just a heads up for any parents or easily offended people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why

posted by Treym10 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Why does the game need a microphone I thought 1t was going to be like guitar hero 3 with a guitar. I HATE IT FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Aerosmith was Better

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) May 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I grew up on VH and thought this might be pretty cool. It was ok for a bit, but then got pretty boring. Nice selection of greatest hits with a heavy hand on their early work. Maybe it's me, but these games are getting pretty tired and old. I'd probably like them better if I practiced, but if I had time for that I would be practicing a real bass or guitar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Downloadable Content?

posted by Pournn (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Really? Does the world of video gaming really, need to unplug long enough to get off the couch and drive all the way to the video game store just to buy another music game? Couldn't we just download the new setlist for $20 or $30? Are music games ever actually worth purchasing? It's just the same game on another song. So why can't we just have them on downloads? Or at least if you're gonna force me to get off my fat lazy behind couldn't ya at least charge a decent price of thirty bucks for yet another setlist to guitar hero world tour? When was the last time you paid $60 for an expansion map pack to a shooter game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, fun, fun

posted by smclarke (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

That is all : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Zero

posted by Name2Long (PALM BAY, FL) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I LOOOOOVE the Guitar Hero franchise, way more than Rock Band. But with this game....Are You Serious!?!? This should have been a track pack or download only, not a whole $60 game. The character animations are terrible. I mean, EVH has the same cheezy grin during the entire game. Now that Guitar Hero has graced us with new ways of playing the game, why go back to the old game engine? Oh well, thanks GameFly for saving me $60+ dollars. Definitely a game you wait to buy and an EXTREME clearance price...hint hint GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »