Rent Guitar Hero: Van Halen for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Van Halen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

165 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Feels unfinished

posted by gameguy197 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for free when I bought GH5 in October, so I feel as if I got my money's worth. But seriously, this game just feels unfinished and poorly planned. There are only songs from VH's early years. Nothing with Sammy Hagar or Gary Cherone on vocals. That would be fine if we had the option to download the rest of the library, but there is no DLC on this one. Also, the music selection from other bands just seemed wrong. There is lots of newer music (possibly inspired by Van Halen, but doubtful) and nothing old enough to have inspired Van Halen. I am not a big Van Halen fan and I was offended at the poor construction of this game. I cannot imagine what a die-hard fan would think or feel. Guitar Hero Metallica was amazing fan-service. This game was just.....a way to make a quick buck for Activision. Rent it, but don't buy it until it's in the bargain bin if you are a fan of VH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero: Insert Band Name Here

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I’ve got a feeling that Guitar Hero wanted to get their hands on the Beatles, but when the ever popular group landed a deal with Rock Band, Guitar Hero had to go somewhere else for a headlining band.
So who do they come up with? Van Halen. Not as popular as the Beatles, but they were a smash hit back in the 1980’s.
But this game isn’t like Guitar Hero: Aerosmith where most of the songs came from the headlining band. Here, about half the 47 songs in the collection come from Van Halen.
The songs are fun, and fans will have a great time remembering hits such and “Panama”, “Jamie’s Crying” and “Jump”
But this collection does not have an interview with the band members (Guitar Hero: Aerosmith had that); it’s extras include lyrics and tidbits of facts about every song you beat and the option to play the song on any of the eight stages that are in the game.
Problem is, this game shows the Guitar Hero franchise is getting stale. There’s really no reason to shell out $50 for these songs if you can cherry pick the best ones for download. (You do save money with the collection vs. downloading every song separately, but you give up your choice of songs.)
This is going to be a problem for future Guitar Hero installments. Why bother giving us a set list of songs when we can just pick our favorites? The answer lies in the extras.
And here, giving us lyrics for the songs and bits of trivia just doesn’t cut it for me. Guitar Hero: Van Halen is a must buy for hard core fans of Van Halen and music of that era, but the rest of us can spend our $50 elsewhere. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GH van halen

posted by juggalo666 (DELAWARE, OH) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

this is the best GH game ever so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

...Meh.

posted by Burnitopia (MOUNT VERNON, WA) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This isn't necessarily a BAD game, it's just... It feels like a step backwards from GH5. I was never a fan of the band-licensed games, and this one held my attention for about 5 songs before I got bored with it. It's just more Guitar Hero, which isn't a bad thing. I don't even know what it was, but I just didn't find this game as satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its alright

posted by TonyV123 (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

This game is alright except for the fact that the notes do not line up with the strike-line. You have to strike the note about a fraction of a second before the note reaches the strike-line in order to get the timing right each time. On the flip-side, the songs and picture are great. I would recommend this game to anyone that is extremely great at timing your note. Otherwise, this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »