Rent Guitar Hero: Van Halen for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Van Halen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

281 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Unfortunate

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jan 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to get this game, but when I played it, it was just so boring. I love Van Halen as one of my favorite bands, and I love GH as one of my favorite video games. I guess Van Halen is one of those bands that really aren't meant to have a GH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a disappointment.

posted by Another (MANHATTAN, KS) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am a Van Halen fan.

Old VH, new VH, Dave, Sammy, even the stuff with Gary. I am just sick that when we finally get VH in the form of a video game that this is what we get. What a joy it should be to finally get to use their music in the form of a game. What a joy is should have been. It isn't.

1. This is the GH: Metallica engine. We've come a long way, and this game doesn't show it.

2. VH recorded some great music after 1984. None of it is in this game. 5150, OU812, For Unlawful..., Balance. These albums had great songs. If a game is supposed to represent VH it is missing half the story. I want to play Dreams, Finish What Ya Started, Love Walks In, Poundcake, Right Now, and so many other favorites.

3. VH has enough of a catalog that we didn't need, or ask for the additional tripe that was included. The other bands and songs on this game have NOTHING to do with Van Halen. These selections just don't make any sense, regardless of what is on Wolfie's iPod.

4. Don't make me ruin the songs for stars. While playing drums on certain songs, you have to beat the drums repeatedly where there is no drum part just to score points. While Eddie is ripping through "Eruption" you better be playing drum parts where none exist to get your fill points.

I want to add VH to my video game catalog more than anything, but this wasn't the way to do it. I wish this game wouldn't have been made. I wish tracks from the ENTIRE VH catalog would have been made available as Rock Band DLC, but I doubt that will ever happen because of this. I would have paid $300 for a VH version of The Beatles: Rock Band. As much as I hate band specific games, Rock Band showed how to do it and do it right.

This game isn't a tribute to one of America's best rock groups. It isn't a treat to Van Halen's fans. This game is just a disappointment, and the band and those of us that love their music deserved so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Reviews gone bad much?

posted by GodOfLyf (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

The first reviewer (top 10 reviewer?) apparently never really played the game. He just wanted to toot his own horn. Either that or he was wanting to get his name seen so bad that he just through garbage out of his mouth just for the sake of being vain. Anyone who has truly played this game know that it is trash from start to finish. If this is the way Guitar Hero perceive VH then they can keep it. I was a fool who paid full price for it only to trade it back in the very next day. If your a VH fan please do yourself a favor. STAY AWAY from this mess as you will never get the image out of your mind...!!! I give it a 2/10
1) it's a game, and
2) it has music!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tthe Game Feels Like a Rushed Cash-In

posted by CountDruckula (NEW FAIRFIELD, CT) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

If you like classic David Lee Roth era Van Halen you'll love this. Guitar Hero Van Halen features a decent enough helping of David Lee Roth era tracks to play, as well as some of Eddie Van Halen's most memorable guitar solo work and you will enjoy playing the hard guitar parts. The usage of a bunch of fun slide parts and hammer ons. Make a lot of harder guitar songs easier and more interesting.

A bad side to this game is that Van Hagar is not in this selection of forty five songs. Though I was never a big fan of the Sammy Hagar era, his time with Van Halen was abundant enough to assure some contemplation. (Hagar was in the band for a lot longer than David Lee Roth's six years). Whether his absence of inclusion was Eddie Van Halen's call or Activision's (or that fact that David Lee Roth is the current singer) is unknown, but regardless he deserved to have at least a few tracks from his time with the band featured here.

The extra bonus act tracks feel like they were rejects from former Guitar Hero games, and have little to nothing to do with Van Halen or what they meant to generation after generation of rockers and rock fans. Where as the bonus acts on Guitar Hero Metallica made sense, (Samhain, Social Distortion, Diamond Head) something just doesn't seem right about having Blink 182 featured as a bonus with Van Halen.

Guitar Hero: Van Halen feels like Guitar Hero: Metallica done on the cheap. It like if Activision realized this should have been a track pack and not a standalone game, but it was too into development so they just rushed it to get it out the door.

The fact that Van Halen got its own game in itself is reason for celebration and you should go and buy or rent this game. But, if Van Halen isn't your thing, just stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Offensive...

posted by BobCheeks (DECATUR, IL) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

To the average Van Halen fan. Their egos must have gotten in the way on this one. Pretty disappointed that there are NO Van Hagar songs, AND the game has Wolfie playing bass instead of Michael Anthony. How vane is that? With the exception of a couple, the non VH songs sucked as well. If you're a GH or Rock Band collector, you will probably want to try it anyway. Replay value is nil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by bad3r77y (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

the game is kinda good but not that good there is only 1 song i like it called master explanation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average Game, Surprisingly No replay value

posted by seancon93 (WARWICK, RI) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Guitar Hero: Van Halen is the third and final band specific game in the series. Rather then dance with details, I'll jump right to the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
Decent Soundtrack (especially if you never really listened to VH)
Decent Graphis (If you enjoyed the GH: Metallica engine, this is no different)

Cons:
I only found two Con that made me ship this game back a day later.

And the lack of replay value in the songs. It seemed like a drag to go back and beat them again.

The unplayability of Drums and Guitar on Expert+ and Expert respectivly with Rock Band controllers. Having owned Metallica, I know Rock Band eqipment can lead to sucess, having beaten that game on Epert(+).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful representation of a great band

posted by elbobbo (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Here is fine example of how a great rock band can be disgraced by poor charting in a rhythm music game.

The graphics and charting seems to have gotten worse, and keep getting worse as the the Guitar Hero games progress. I felt as though I needed to fight through some great tracks (which I have played in Rock Band) just to be able to play a few of the old-school Van Halen tracks.

The only thing GH: Van Halen has going for it are the old tracks themselves, which almost get ruined by the charting again. One more reason why Harmonix seems to be walking all over Activision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE, JUST TERRIBLE

posted by CrashBash (RIDGEWAY, VA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

This game is just unbeleiveably bad all the wy around. Not to mention that you only get to play Van Halen songs up to about 1984. I guess that Alex and Eddie VH want to just keep screwing Sammy or Dave out of any money by not including any of the songs post David Lee Roth. And What is Eddie's son in the game for? I mean he has only been in the band for what? About 15 minutes. That's sooooooo lame

The other songs packaged with this game are lame too. Van Halen should be embarrassed by this product. But again, Alec and Eddie Van Halen have never really cared about their fans on the size of thier bank account.

Don't waste your time renting this one. Pick up the Rock Band: Beatles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

please answer

posted by superbug (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

does it come with the guitar???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Van Halen game? Say no more...

posted by MauiRocks (Lahaina, HI) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

Cool songs. It's just really fun to play Van Halen tunes on GH. Maybe in the future they will put out another game with the other half of their material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow. Best band-titled Guitar Hero yet!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Dec 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

We got this game with the Guitar hero 5 special offer, and have a nice long time with it before it was released for everyone, and it ROCKS! My Dad loves it, says it is his favorite Guitar hero next to the fifth installment and plays it a lot! The graphics are nice, average graphics for a band-titled GH. The song selection is superb, some wickedly awesome songs out there. The way Van Halen performs on stage is very cool and realistic and makes you feel like you're actually there.

Pros: Awesome track-list, great Van Halen presentation, it includes character creation, fun to watch, a real competition to the normal Guitar Hero legends.

Cons: Average graphics, weird non-Halen people.

Overall, this game rocks, and is defiantly worth at least a rent and a buy for Van Halen fans and if you haven't' heard of them, it s till worth a rent, its a fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »