Rent Guitar Hero: Smash Hits for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Smash Hits

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

453 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

These hits are old, but still good

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

For those of you who didn't get a chance to play the songs from Guitar Hero and GH2 (mostly because they didn't make GH or GH2 for the Wii) now you get your chance.
You get 48 songs, most from GH or GH2, but there are a few from GH Aerosmith and GH3 Legends of Rock. The song list is good, but the best from the GH franchise? That's debatable.
Going through those songs in Career Mode shouldn't be too much of a challange for players (especally if you played them in the previous installments of GH).
But there's more to this game.
You get to create your rocker in almost any way you want to, and there's a lot of outfits to select from (and more to be unlocked) during Career Mode.
You can also record songs in a recording studio and upload them to the online site.
Speaking of online, you can play co op or go against friends or complete strangers using single player or band vs. band modes.
So, is this game worth the $50 investement? That depends on how much online, multiplayer and/or song recording you plan to do. The more of those you like doing, the more appeal this game will have to you.
Me, I'm not really into the recording thing, and going online will likely result in the other player rocking (and kicking) me off the stage.
That leaves the basic single player mode which is fun, but it didn't last very long.
I say rent Guitar Hero: Smash Hits, and decide for yourself if you want to buy it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is great

posted by Naraxis (MEDFORD, WI) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the song list for this game is pretty nice, the old classics are back and revamped to give u a fresh experience playing the songs u loved, and honestly i hear some people complaining that the rock band things dont work for guitar hero and so they hate this game, well honestly people thats rock band's fault not guitar hero's so just chill with the hating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid Game

posted by elemcee (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you played the original "Guitar Hero" games on an earlier console, and miss playing those older songs, this game is a must-have. And there are no covers here; all songs are by the original artists. Also great to be able to play drums for those songs. If you like "World Tour," you'll like having a bunch of "new" songs to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

S's

posted by dogguy (FROSTBURG, MD) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

this is a bad game it has no good songs and is lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gross setlist

posted by fdr1986 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I feel like I need an acid-washed jean jacket that I haven't washed for 6 years to play this game. Crappiest setlist ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too many repeat songs

posted by Brittany12 (ROME, NY) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

ehh game was okay but im sick of the same old songs from previous guitar hero games lol. just not for me i guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

another awesome installment

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

this game is yet another awesome guitar game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

picky 101

posted by 054943 (Oklahoma City, OK) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

luv it best game EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best of The Best

posted by Jestinace (READING, PA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Guitar Hero Smash Hits has got to be the best Guitar Hero game there is. GHSH has the best controls, best story, and the best songs. GHSH has songs from, GH 1, GH 2, GH 3, and GH aerosmith. Songs like Cherry Pie, More then a Feeling, I love Rock and roll, Through The Fire And The Flames, and Much More!!!!! If u wanted to buy any GH game Pick this one. This game is the best of the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jun 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

Each GH game gets better than the next. The song list is awesome. I like the mix of classic rock and new rock. Gotta love it. Its a must own

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

played the old guitar hero dont bother on renting

posted by lilhavana (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

dont waste 2 weeks waiting on another game this game sucks its all the songs from all the other guitar hero 2, 80's psshh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

This is by far 1 of the best guitar hero games ever! but, i wouldn't rent it because you'll never want to put it down! Buy it or dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »