Rent Guitar Hero: Smash Hits for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Smash Hits

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
6.4

815 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smash Hits

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Songs most played by the fans of GH 1-3 and rocks the 80's.

The thing that makes this so great is the fact you can now do the drums and bass in the songs from earlier hero games which is well worth the game in my eyes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero Smash Hits: great music

posted by Adult38kid (TROY, MI) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have played many of the games in the beggining of Guitar Hero. The first I got was GH2 and I was locked in my room playing that all day for a week during spring break. 80s was good, but i didn't like the number of songs. I didn't like 3 to much, but it had a few good songs. I now have Rock Band 2 and I wanted to see how Guitar Hero was doing, so I decided to get Smash Hits so I could play all the songs I already loved. When I started it was hard to figure out the responsiveness and the hammer ons and pull offs, but I got it after a couple songs. One thing that I really didn't like was the remaking of the songs. I found some songs I could beat on Expert before that I couldn't and that was really frustrating. The great songs like "Message in a Bottle", "I Wanna Rock", "Free Bird", and of course "Through the Fire and Flames" make it worth playing though. The gameplay isn't as good as Rock Band, but the song selection and the goofy cartoon story line is what Guitar Hero does best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar hero, what more do you expect

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

guitar hero smash hits is exactly what you'll expect from a music game,

gems scroll towards you, you play the note, you hear the sound.

the game is a compilation of all the guitar hero games (1,2,80's,3, and aerosmith), so don't expect anything new, only this time around you can play drums and sing also!!!

graphics are what you'd expect and the sound is also up to par. while this game makes no forward progress it doesn't regress either. if your a fan of the series buy it an continue your collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhh its...ok

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is just ok. I do like most of the songs on here but there are still features on Guitar hero that i just hate.. For one i hate the inline matchmaking! It is so broken so its hard to find somebody to play with because you cant find them properly! And Trophies are so hard to get that nobody could ever platinum(thats not really a complaint more like a comment) But If you liked the music from all the other guitar heroes then i guess you should like this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Back To The Basics

posted by AncLEoniX (FEDERALSBURG, MD) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 30 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

The game is horrible due to the sole fact that it is the same songs you have already played. If you and to play the song ply them on GH I-III and Aerosmith. the only new thing is band mode for the song but thats all. The songs are good though. but no new graphics or characters. Just the same old GH I-III so get out you PS2 or 360 and play GH I-III and have funn. The only reason to rent is trophies and achievments. other than that there is none unless you dont have the other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but boring

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This is a great game of previous game songs with great customization.

-Pros-
creating=it was great creating my character, instrument, songs, band logo, etc.. with awesome items to do it with

-Cons-
songs=id like to have more (especially from encore 80s)
fast=career was too fast
graphics=were not the best

Overall: B-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is awsome

posted by Venoslayer (ELGIN, IL) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game is practically guitar hero ones greatest hits guitar hero twos greatest hits and guitar hero rocks the 80s greatest hits and i didnt say guitar hero threes why because there is no welcome to the jungle no rock you like a hurricane, those were my favorite songs on the game but they dont appear to be on smash hits but excluding that this game has all the correct singing for all the songs unlike guitar hero one on the sequel did. i love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Guitar Heros Bad Format

posted by oceanbdog (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Guitar Hero used to make me so happy. I played GH 1-3 and sometimes still play it. I never played world tour, or metallica, but when i played 5 I hated it. And basically its the same format as GH5. The difficulties range from begginner, easy, medium, expert, and expert+. What happened to just 4 difficulites like Rockband. The drumming is wierd cause I dont know if I missed a note sometimes. The Singing is awful, half the time I get a solid without a bar telling me how much better I needed to do. Guitar and Bass are actually better than rockbands in my opinion. The song choices are GREAT! but i didnt enjoy playing at all. So 6 it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is a good flashback

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

from all the other great hits deffinitely a rental but not a buyer its just all the same songs as last time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

enough is enough

posted by xaquarie (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I first started playing the GH games with GH 2, and thought it was great. GH 3 was just as fun. The games since then have been far less fun. Guitar Hero Smash Hits, features some of the better songs from the earlier versions. I expected it to be good, but it's not. It does have some good songs, and then some that are terrible that shouldn't have been on the first games in the first place. Just another way for them to make money, unfortunately. There's just too many of these titles now, and they keep getting worse. I played through the game, then put it back into the envelope immediately, knowing that I would not want to play another second of this bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Guitar Hero: Smash Hits

posted by Dragon4 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

It was okay. Just weird how none of the characters blinked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you loved GH I, II, and III, you'll hate this.

posted by ironman86 (COLLINGSWOOD, NJ) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The IGN guy put it best here so I'll just quote his review:

"While the setlist is indeed great as a whole (featuring nearly 50 songs, all of which are master tracks, though two of them are live versions)... ... the note structure has changed on seemingly every track. If you've memorized these songs in other games, you'll find that you have to play them differently here, and many times it's not for the better. Note progressions sometimes don't make sense when compared to how you'd play it on guitar, and things just generally feel "off" if you've played them before."

That alone was a dealbreaker for me. I immediately went to quickplay when I first got this game, and added all my old favorites to a setlist. As I played through them, I got more and more frustrated; all the licks I cherished so dearly from GH I and II were gone, replaced by awful secondary versions that didn't quite fit.

Also, not having many of the great songs like Knights of Cydonia from GH 3 was weak.

All in all, a bad showing from the GH franchise. Looks like I'll have to break out my PS2 next time I wanna play these songs, which in this day and age, shouldn't have to happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Familiar Songs

posted by Volsang (ROME, NY) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

If you liked GH1,2,3 and wish you could play those songs on drums, or sing along, this game is it. Looks like most of the songs (all difficulties) have been updated too, as in new notes, slides challenges. All in all, I feel this game has some of the best songs ever in a GH game, so even if you have played GH1,2,3 you should give this a shot. The difference between Smash Hits and the other new games, is that the song selection tends to be more the songs you want to hear by a particular artist, ie the radio hits. Newer GH games have lots of good artists, but not always the most interesting songs, Smash Hits goes against this grain. In my opinion Smash Hits is the best GH game, because its made up of the best songs from the best era (GH1-3) of GH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty much what I expected

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

If you've played all of the guitar hero games to date then you've already played this game. It's nice to have it on the ps3 plus you can use all of the instruments. This games pretty cool but not worth a buy. You'll be over your nostalgia for the ps2 and wired guitar in about an hour. Nothing wrong with it really just nothing great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Smash Hits??

posted by alphagame (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game was fun to play, but little song selection (and a not too good one at that) fade the value of this purchase quickly. But it is a perfect rental if you are looking to play through a couple of unknown songs. I just wouldn't have necessarily dubbed it smash Hits, since many of the GH franchises true SMASH HITS are nowhere to be found on this disc. I'd say 13 fun songs and the rest is whatever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

iz aaaight

posted by badvanilla (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

it's impossible to understand how they expect to charge full price for this game which should have been sold as an expension. Although it's not worth 60$ it's a decent enough rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GUITAR HERO SMASH HITS

posted by xXPePsIXx (MIAMI, FL) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

This Guitar Hero is not that different. It has the same Tracks as its predecessors (if that's spelled right). But this is much better than before because these are master tracks not covers. Like in Guitar Hero 2 for Beast and The Harlot it was a cover and a bad cover at that. Now all tracks are master tracks meaning original from the artist or band that created it. I give it a 9 because I know I wanted to play some of those all time favorites from old guitar hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Songs but Kinda Hard

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

I loved the songs and it was my first time playing a guitar hero game. The songs were awesome but they were way to hard. I play every song on hard. When I did the slayer song, I failed at the beginning. For Through the Fire and Flames, I didnt fail until the last part. It was way to hard. And, the worst thing about the game was the bass. Im never playing the bass for Guitar Hero, Its terrible. The open notes ruin everything. I could hardly do Heart-Shaped Box on hard.

Pro: Amazing songs rating: 10

Cons: Hard solos rating: 5 Open Notes for the Bass rating: 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WEAK

posted by gamer48484 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

smash hits not really the playlist sucks they took all the bad songs from every gh and put them in this game just to mak more money off of this game DO NOT RENT OR EVEN THINK ABOUNT BUYING THIS NO GOOD GAME..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Guitar Hero. Period.

posted by tackett (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Have you ever played Guitar Hero 2? How about Legends of Rock? World Tour?! Then you played this one. Save your time, it's redundant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so great

posted by toolgal1 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I was excited when I got my G.H. Smash hits, but the first time I played it , I was disappointed. Me being a total G. H. and R. B. addict I didn't realize what this game was until after I had gotten it. Good thing I rented it! Basically it is G. H. greatest hits. It contains tunes from the original guitar hero, guitar hero 2, encore of the 80's, guitar hero 3 and the aerosmith guitar hero. Since I own all of these games, it was like getting re-runs. The only thing nice is with this smash hits, they are all on one game, rather than 4 or 5.

However, if you don't own every guitar hero and rock band game out there, this would be a good choice. It contains a little bit of everything.
It's still fun, don't get me wrong, the graphics are great and it's still an all around fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played one, you played them all

posted by Downfall (WILKES BARRE, PA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I am a fan of Guitar Hero so I thought this would have been great with the addition of the drums and microphones; but I personally would have exchanged some of the songs on Smash Hits for others in the series. The side story was lacking any real depth and there is no song during the final credits when you beat the game.
If you are a fan of the series and want to have the added effects of the new features of the guitar from the series with old classics and have the band feeling of all the old hits then this is good for a quick play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by wolfehound (JEANNETTE, PA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

This Guitar Hero is made up of all your favorite songs from previous Guitar Heros. The gameplay is still the same, but is fun as always. If you like all previous game and are itching to play some of your favorite songs again then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK NOT FOR VETERAN GH PLAYERS

posted by OCHOCINCO (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Jun 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

GUITAR HERO SMASH HITS IS A PRETY GOOD GAME BUT FOR VETERAN GH PLAYERS IT MAY BORE YOU, THE SONG LIST IS MORE TURNED TO CLASSIC ROCK BUT OVERALL A GOOD GAME TO RENT NOT BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just another GH.

posted by happy69 (MIDLAND, PA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Blah. Nothing to great about this title. I still think World Tour is the best one they have released but with Smash Hits its nothing new. Even less options then world tour and the music is blah as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »