Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
7.9

1043 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Evolution makes things better

posted by fierohink (BRUNSWICK, MD) Apr 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

As a fan of all GH games and an owner of all Wii GH games I find this to be the best sequel. Unlike GH:A which was based off the GH3 engine, GH:M is based off GH:WT. This means you get full band functionality, easier playlist expansion, improved Quick Play, and much more.

Full band functionality is great. The ability to play the same song from the different angles of lead, bass, drums or vocals keep replayability through the roof. Plus the addition of the second drum bass pedal gives you some insight on just how hard Lars is truly working.

Similar to GHWT and unlike GH3, your playlist expands faster then your current set. In GH3 you would not see new songs until you finished the set you were in, now playlist expansion is based on stars accrued. So you may have six songs to complete in your current set but through the course of playing the first two unlocked the next setlist and so on.

Quick Play is like GHWT. You can select up to six songs at a time for a custom set.

Similar to GH:A there are a lot of band extras specific to Metallica. Many live clips, band history, and may personal favorite... lyrics to the songs.

The game has an extensive setlist covering the entire lifespan of these Metal Gods. Most of the songs are album hits, there are a few only-die-hard favorites, plus there are covers from other bands and opening or similar acts from throughout there many tours.

The game in general has a darker feel to it across the board. Menus are skull laden. Crushing guitar riffs play in the background. Eerie flashbacks interrupt menu selections. But what do you expect.... IT'S METALLICA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

guitar hero metallica rules

posted by manuelhall (COLTON, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

awesome songs cool speed very difficult 4 begginers best game 4 metallica fans or guitar hero fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not my favorite guitar hero but still fun

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game revolves around metallica the band i don't really like them and really never listen to them yet it's still a fun game i like the songs and there fun to play it's just that it's not my favorite guitar hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

too easy to advance!

posted by willowbird (HIGHTSTOWN, NJ) May 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I loved the game, but I thought it advanced much too quickly. You finish a couple songs and boom, you've unlocked 10 more. I much prefer the setup of the other guitar hero games where you have to beat at least a good percentage of the available songs before getting the next group open. With this one, you can give up on half of them and still be able to see what's next, and that's no fun in my opinion. Oh, and no battles or real competition besides trying to get stars.

However, the songs are great and the non-Metallica picks were amazing, even some stuff that I did NOT expect out of guitar hero. If you want a challenge, get GH3. If you want to play some great rock songs, get Metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GuItAr HeRo MeTtAliCa!!!!!

posted by maninahat1 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

the game delivers in many of the ways that I had hoped for. The track list is stellar, the presentation is top-notch, the band is very well represented, and, perhaps most surprising of all, there's a ton of stuff for fans of the band to check out. While the game isn't as immense as the franchise's yearly big update, and while it generally sticks to the same tried and true formula of past releases, there's just a feeling of care taken with the experience that makes it a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT!!!!

posted by waudbyr (PRYOR, OK) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

METALLICA! What else do you need to know?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Store

posted by Johnos (CLEARFIELD, UT) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is fun to play and the metallica characters and songs are great. But this would be a poor game to buy as a first in the series as there is no store to download new songs, or even play the songs you have already purchased in GH:WT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS WAS TERRIBLE HORRIBLE TO PLAY

posted by probowlers (UNION CITY, NJ) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of guitar hero but this one was really really bad. i was actually looking forward to play but i was very disappointed when i got. i thought songs were too long and weren't really interesting.

You disappointed me guitar hero with this band

PS this game is still bad

pss it's still bad

psss it's worst than bad it terrible

pssss it's sooooooooo bad there's no word to describe it

psssss you cant even look at it

pssssss dont get it or rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Somebody miss it up

posted by TTester13 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

somebody up the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Gamers Review

posted by Patrick_209 (STOCKTON, CA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Guitar Hero Metallica.

This game takes you into the world of a bunch of groupies following there're favorite group.

Metallica has chosen 24 of it's all time hits along with some of the band members 24 favorite songs.

And this game is anything but disappointing.

The game controls are like any basic guitar hero game. but this time you'll find yourself loving the all time hits from these legends.

Pros:

24 great tracks from the legendary band themselves.

Great character creation tools.

Cons: Not so good buddy tracks.

Not for beginners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by shepard88 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this is a great guitar hero game some songs i personnaly think should be in there but besides that awesome game. 9.5 not a 7 clicked wrong number.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GH Mettalica

posted by Trevman (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

If you really want to rock and play some of the longest most demanding songs assembled in one game, then this is for you. Of course I am a bit biast since i grew up in the 80's. I was turned on to Mettalica from the git go with Kill 'em All. But this game isnt just for us 30somethings. My kids kick my butt at GH anyways so they dug whippin, me with MY music. So rock out and enjoy this edition, cuz I do not see a better GH for a long time. GIVE US MORE METAL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Fun

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

For the Metallica lovers out there you'll love this game. It was a lot of fun and would recomend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by gooood (RAVENNA, OH) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

such a bad remake of guitar hero world tour

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metallica Rocks Guitar Hero

posted by A7X698 (HAVERHILL, MA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Metallica is one of my favorite bands and Guitar Hero is one of my favorite game franchises. Put them together and I've got Guitar Hero Metallica, my favorite Guitar Hero yet.

Just like Guitar Hero Aerosmith is a special version of Guitar Hero 3, Metallica is a special version of Guitar Hero World Tour. Guitar Hero Metallica has the greatest songlist put together by man. It features songs from Metallica's first album "Kill 'Em All" to thier latest album "Death Magnetic". It also features songs by "Motorhead", "Machinehead", Foo Fighters" "Mercyful Fate", and many more.

"Surpringly" you get to play as Metallica most of the time, so you'll probably pay little attention to your guy and just hurry along to play as Metallica as often as you can.

The difficulty of the songs means this is a bad spot for begginers and more of a challenge for pros. Drumers are going to enjoy the challenge of Lars' drums, especially when they play expert+ diffuculty.

This is a great game for Guitar Hero pros, fans,and Metallica fans alike. I deffenitly reccemened this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METALICA ROCKS!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game was all i expected and more from guitar hero. Metalica, you couldn't pick a bigger band to do a theme off of, EVERYBODY has heard metalica and whether you like them or not you can't diny it. This game had clasic HG graghics, the black and white metalica backrounds while you were playing a metalica song in story looked realy cool. The sound was the only problem, when you play the guitar it is louder than the person singing and that sucks because the songs in the game are awsome, but hay its GUITAR hero so you want to hear yourself. I REALY enjoyed this game and highly recomend this title to ANYBODY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

keeping it short

posted by chookie (LADY LAKE, FL) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

if you like guitar hero...and metallica,, this is great...
nice tracks picked by metallica, not all metallica songs

if you're not a metallica fan, get smash hits

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

instant hit

posted by rgapen3 (DINUBA, CA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

one of the best guitar heroes ever produced by far, they finally created a game that can connect with the metal head's and old school rocker's the story was kind of week compared with aerosmith but the game seems to be better over all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!

posted by spaceace51 (FAIRLAWN, OH) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game was the best Guitar Hero game I have ever played. Metallica is the KING OF METAL. They should make another Metallica game. They should make a ROCK BAND METALLICA. The game should have an autographed ROCK BAND guitar. The drums should have the Metallica logo on each pad. METALLICA IS AWSOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game, a definite pick for hardcore rockers

posted by brianiskwl (TORRINGTON, CT) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game will make you not want to return it for your whole gamefly subscription!
The game is, of course, based on the hardcore 80's to present Metal band called metallica, where you play through many of their hit songs and other guest acted bands whom were inspired by Metallica. The career mode puts you as a garage rock band who was inspired by Metallica and wants to make it big and famous as a metal band. You play through certain songs, in order from easiest to hardest, to complete the game. But this game is really good because you dont have to complete career mode to unlock all the songs; they're already there when you start the game in quickplay. This way, you don't spend all your gamefly subscription trying to unlock all the songs to play! This is a very welcoming way to present this game. On another note, the gameplay is extremely fun to play, when you select your character when playing guest acts, and play as Metallica when playing their songs. The graphics are surprisingly good for the Wii version. With songs from nearly every album of Metallica, including nearly the whole list of the Master of Puppets album's songs, and songs like "Dyer's Eve" "Frantic" "For Whom The Bell Tolls" "The Shortest Straw" and "Enter Sandman." This game includes lots of variety in its music. Some of the great guest acts are "War Inside My Head" by Suicidal Tendencies, "The Boys Are Back in Town" By Thin Lizzy, and "Stone Cold Crazy" by Queen. But, one thing that disappointed me greatly was the fact that the Metallica song called, "Am I Evil?" was covered up by Diamond Head, and it sounds Terrible! The singer sounds like he's yodelling on a cliffside! In any event, there are 3 good Metallica songs not there, because Rock Band 2 got to them first. They were "And Justice For All..." "Blackened," and "Ride the Lightning."
In any case, this game has excellent sound quality, many songs, has great graphics, and has 4-player gameplay. This is a great game that WILL last long!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply AMAZING!

posted by KevenW (FALKVILLE, AL) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I dont see how the rating is not higher!!!! This game is simply AMAZING!! Just the fact that there are sooooooooo many Metallica songs alone makes it a 10 in my book. There are plenty of other bands as well as a bonus. I love it!!!! Best one so far to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metallica Rocks!

posted by Ozzyfan835 (WEST BEND, WI) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I didn't like Metallica before I played this game, but I did like guitar hero. After playing this game I now love Metallica. Rock On Metallica!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metallica ROCKS!

posted by texboater (WEST CHESTER, OH) Jun 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

For Metallica fans and GH, this is the ultimate game. The Easy-Expert levels on GH-M are a little more difficult than the other GH game levels, which is good for many who felt that the Medium to hard transition was "too" difficult on other versions. Medium on Metallica feels more like Hard. I rented this game and will definately be buying it soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by RAWKERMOM (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Being a huge lover of Metallica I was extremely excited when this game came out. However when I rented it, I was a little dissapointed that there was not MORE Metallica music on it. Don't get me wrong, it is an awesome game, but you can never have too much Metallica!

All in all it is a great game and I would recommend to anyone who loves Metallica.. and even those who don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »