Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
8.0

5756 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flat-Out Amazing!

posted by miaheat1 (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

39 out of 45 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This is probably the best Gamefly game I've ever rented! It has around 55 songs and about 30-35 Metallica songs. Almost every well-known Metallica song is on this game unlike GH Aerosmith.

The riffs for guitar and bass are flat out insanely fun to play. Sad But True is my favorite guitar song of any rhythm game. The drums are awesome they have a new expert+ mode which is expert but it factors in the double bass pedal that you can plug in. I wouldn't reccomend playing this unless you purchase a 2nd bass pedal. The reason this got a 9 instead of 10 is because the vocal system still falls short of Rock Band, but it is improved from GH World Tour.

The gameplay is what makes this game so much fun though. While playing a Metallica song you play as the band. It feels like you are actually playing a Metallica concert, and man is it a great feeling! Flames come out, and some of their movemnts are really cool.

It's not all Metallica, and the other bands they put in are almost as good as Metallica. Some of the bands include: Alice in Chains, Lynard Skynard, Queen, Foo Fighters, Bob Seger, Slayer, and many more!

Pick this up for sure, even if you don't like Metallica get/rent this game, because you'll find something in it you like. This is the hardest Guitar Hero so even if you dislike the band you'll enjoy the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good move forward for the GH franchise

posted by Dwoop33 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

After playing the Aerosmith, I wasn't expecting much but after playing it the first night, I ended up keeping this one. The updated graphics and the song set list are great on their own merit but the extra features and time put in this game are shown off well.
First, you unlock more features for a song after you complete it, and sometimes you get an occasional music video or bootleg of concert footage. The band members looking frighteningly real like they're playing along with you or for you and the music covers a the whole span of the group well. I would have loved to have more music of course for a full fledged new game title but you get alot more than with GH:A.
My other main gripe besides the Death Magnet content download, there seems to be no support for any future or World Tour song downloads which still has me puzzled after being long time fans and supporters it seems like Activision and the Red O gang could care less about "hooking up their fans" like the Harmonix and MTV gang does regularly.
The bonus content and extras along with the nice set list, although a few songs like the Foo Fighters one mainly, are duds...makes a good case in purchasing this game for fans of Metallica or Metal or both. For those about to rock...Metallica suites you well.

8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than World Tour, but still has problems.

posted by iShayman (ROSAMOND, CA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was good, but the problems from GH:WT are still present in GH:M.

While the game is overall fun, the online is abysmal. The amount of problems with the online are many.

The setlist is good. But since the game is $60 and there are only 45 songs in the game, you're paying about $1.25 per song. Plus the only DLC for the game is the Metallica album Dead Magnetic, so there isn't as much longevity as Rock Band 2.

The game is very difficult, but very fun. The riffs and solos are fast, and a lot of the problems with purple hammer-ons from GH:WT are there, but not as apparent. The problems with vocals are also here again, but once again not as bad as in GH:WT.

The videos in between featuring art about Metallica are not as well done as previous games, but still enjoyable.

Gamplay 9/10
Online 4/10
Art 7/10
Design 6/10
Music 9/10
Overall 8/10

While the technical problems for the game are here, most of the game you will be staring at a fretboard playing. The music and enjoyment of the charts are all that really matters, and in this note the game succeeds. But the online and instrument problems lessen the experience.

Worth a try if you really enjoy Guitar Hero and Metallica. But don't expect to not play Rock Band 2 for more than 5 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best gutiar Hero game ever!

posted by Harryy (QUINLAN, TX) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oh my god! Guitar Hero Metallica was the best game I have ever played...This game has the best songs from Metallica like Master Of Puppets, One, All Nightmare Long, and more... This game also includes the best bands like Motorhead, System Of A Down, and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for Metallica Fans

posted by Punisher12 (FAIRMONT, WV) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you don't like Metallica, then you probably wont like this game.

This game has the feel and aspect of Metallica in every way. Every animation and every game movement is all the band itself. Every song was recorded in a game studio by the band itself for the in-game animations. The stage presecence on the game and what Metallica does in game IS EXACTLY METALLICA!

This game has a lot of the great songs of Metallica featuring their most popular songs such as "Master of Puppets" and "Enter Sandman". These aren't the only two. The game provides a large variety of the most popular songs by Metallica.

Songs also by other bands such as Machine Head, Slayer, and more.

If your familiar with Guitar Hero World Tour then this shouldn't be any different than that. There was really no improvement from GH:WT to GH:M. The animations from the characters, the new guitar brands (When creating a rock star) featured by EMG and ESP, and the songs are the only three new features to be expected from this more recent title. Also another feature that was added was a Expert+ feature for Percussion. Thought expert was hard? Try with a Double Bass pedal (sold separately) and experience the true Metallica.

On the bright side the slight changes keep the general GH feel and you won't have to be getting used to anything new.

The story mode is plain and simple which is kind of dull. You play songs and go to new venues. And that is pretty much it.

Your a rising new band looking up in Metallicas footsteps, so your band tries out to be a Support for Metallica and end up going on tour with them. If your familiar from Guitar Hero III your going to see some familiar faces in this one.

Last words, this game is really only meant for a Metallica Fan.
If your not a fan of Metallica, this game can also be great if your into the Metal genre or looking to try something a little bit more challenging. That is why I give GH:M a 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition to Guitar Hero

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Metallica is personally one of my favorite bands to play either Rock Band or Guitar Hero on, so i was pretty excited about this game. This game has mostly Metallica songs on it and it really has some good metallica songs on it. And it has some other bands on it like Queen and Lynrd Skynrd. But this game doesnt just have new songs on it. Also if you bought the Metallica Death Magnetic pack itll work on this disc too. One really big thing that Drummers and Bassists hated about this game is the purple line that comes tward you when you either have to kick pedal or strum, was kind of hard to see sometimes. And they have make it a tad bit easier to see it. Not quite as easy to see as Rock Band kick pedal line though. Also one thing i didnt like about World Tour is that its kind of hard to switch difficulties sometimes online and to switch between guitar and bass. However they really didnt do much to advance that this time. Also when your drumming on harder difficulties, metallica songs have a lot of kick pedal, which is why if you preordered it from Gamestop you got a second kick pedal. So overall this game is a really nice addition to your song library. Try it out now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GUITAR HERO METALLICA IS THE BOMB

posted by Cobra1995 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best guitar hero games. I being a huge guitar hero and metallica fan played it and just had to buy it. must buy for all guitar hero and metallica fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero: Metallica

posted by AKAeLpAdRe (SAN PEDRO, CA) May 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

BY FAR the best version of Guitar Hero to date. I'm a huge Metallica fan so of course I'm being a just a little biast, but I'm also a huge Guitar Hero fan. This game would appeal to anybody, Metallica fan or not. For those (very few), who DON'T know Metallica this is the best way to get introduced. RoCk On!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero Metallica

posted by smithk23 (WEST BRANCH, MI) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a metallica fan this game is perfect for you! A must have for all guitar hero fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by mgscj26 (BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is solid overall. It's very much like World Tour, which is in essence a ripoff of Rock Band 2. However, that's not a bad thing, as both of the games are fairly similar.

Pros:

The amount of material from Metallica is varied, sounds good, and the parts on expert are challenging.

You can match your multiplayer experience up by difficulty level. So you don't go out and play with others that are playing on expert when you want to play on medium, or vice versa, and then have them get upset.

The bass parts are significantly more interesting than they have been in other iterations of both of the music game franchises. Being the bass player is actually quite entertaining. Although this may have to do with the more technical approach to music that metal musicians have, and partly with the developers intent.

If you haven't played one of the World Tour iterations, things like the countdown to get back into the song from pausing are a nice touch that shows some attention to detail.

Cons:

You can't play the Metallica songs on single player, unless you play as the characters of the band.

All the characters still fall into that "Uncanny Valley". Where they look human, but not human enough so they all look really creepy. Whether they are the pre-made ones or the ones you make yourself.

Same highways and buttons, which I personally have felt are harder to use than the Rock Band ones, but if you prefer the World Tour highways, this isn't an issue for you.

They still haven't done anything about making the user interface or the menus simpler to navigate. It still feels clunky.

Multiplayer is still very competitive; you don't get the feeling of a co-operative band all attempting to reach a goal.

Comic book-esque cut scenes feel fairly out of place.

The downloadable content is clunky to get to, both the free stuff and the pay to play stuff.

If you're a fan of rhythm games, you've already put this on your queue. If not, you should if you like metal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero at its best!

posted by yodathecat (SHORELINE, WA) May 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THis is the best Guitar hero. the graphic are amazing, the music is great! the campaign is easy if you want it to be, or hard. and the campaign is all the same and you don't have to start over for each level. the campaign also is by stars which i think is better then just playing it. also you can see the stars adding up so you don't have to predict.
thats just the campaign, now the multiplayer is excellent! with a matchmaking system that takes seconds to find a match and with the new cool power ups this makes it a lot of fun. the achievemants are also good. the only hting that makes this a 9/10 is that you need to buy the whole band kit :(.

SUMMARY:

GOOD:
Music
Graphics
Multiplayer
amount of songs
how campaign is set up
HUD
Menu isn't confusing

Ok:
Achievements (if you don't have band kit)

BAD:
you have to own a band kit.

What should you do?
RENT IT:
if you have a guitar hero guitar
BUY IT:
if you have a band kit
Like Metallica

thanks and remember to rate!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

metallica rules

posted by rodriguez8 (EDINBURG, TX) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ive had this game for two weeks and it just dont get old this games got metallicas sickest tunes on it and the rifts on it are sweet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metallica Rules!!!!!!!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GH:M is probably the best Guitar Hero to date! It has the best tracks of any GH game (if you like metallica that is), the songs are challenging and fun (unlike most songs in GH:WT where) and the graphics have been given a more realistic look to adhere to a more hardcore audience.
There is not much more I can say, the only bad thing I can find with the game is that the Career is very weird and you can finish the game without even playing every song ( unless your reallly bad) even on the Expert difficulty. I enjoy the Multiplayer most though. Guitar v Guitar is still my most fav part of the game and with all the fun and hard songs, this is one Guitar Hero I will be playing for awhile.
GAMEPLAY:9.6/10
GRAPHICS:10/10
ONLINE:10/10
DESIGN:8/10
OVERALL:9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Yeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaahhhhhhh !!!!!!

posted by ballsdeep (APPLEGATE, CA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you need to read a review of a Guitar Hero game something is probably not connected in you brain. G.H. rocks pretty F'n hard and the new Metallica installment is no different. This is definitely the hardest rocking G.H. so far with loads of Metallica material and great other bands like Mastadon. If you have World tour and or the newest guitar with the wah section G.H. Metallica is a must buy. Shred on kids and get ready for the next G.H. coming this fall. Mandatory break down.

Graphics - 8

Gameplay - 9

Replay - 9

Overall - 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Guitar Hero yet.

posted by JustinTP12 (WARREN, OH) Mar 31, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I preordered and got this game on the day it came out, and I am very happy with it. This Guitar Hero has many amazing songs, such as "Sad But True", "Enter Sandman", well you can read the setlist for yourself. The game takes everything from Guitar Hero World Tour and throws in a few extra things, such as seeing how many stars you earned in the song in real time (like in Rock Band) and having two kick pedals for the drums.(which I didn't really like, but I don't care because I mainly play the guitar)

This Guitar Hero is fun, but I'm really good at it, so if this is your first Guitar Hero or are not that good, be careful. Every instument is a bit harder now, mainly bass because of the stupid purple "open bass" notes. Drums on Expert drums... I failed in the fist twenty percent on "Master of Puppets" but like I said, I really only play the guitar.

The only problem with this game is that it is short. World Tour has 85 songs, and this one only has 49, 28 of which is Metallica. The non-Metalica songs aren't that good, only five I like out of the 21. All in all, I belive this is the best Guitar Hero yet. Can't wait for Guitar Hero Greatest Hits!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By far the best GH game out yet

posted by faque2 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are awesome, you really feel like your playing with the band

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game from an amazing band

posted by squirrel87 (BUSHKILL, PA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a big Metallica fan and a big fan of games like guitar hero and rock band. This game does the band right in all ways possible by keeping a solid game play and giving many bonus features on the side to do when you want a break from rocking. The features that i enjoyed were how you can listen to a song without playing and reading the facts about that said song. Also there are plenty of videos of the band playing in concert. The songs in this game are composed mainly of Metallica songs as many would figure but the other songs in this game are also very nice songs to play as a break in between the Metallica overload. From the minute when you start your career and watch the band members walk slowly to the stage to start playing "For Whom The Bell Tolls" all the way till they reach their final destination you will have a fun time. This is a great game for all Metallica fans, all guitar hero, and rock band fans and should be checked out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

guitar hero metallica best guitar hero ever made!

posted by ohsnapbust (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i've owned every gh game for 360 and metallica is by far the best one ever made! the only songs that suck on it is the one's that are not metallica! rock band is still better than gh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

finally a good guitar hero

posted by Demonseed (KINGWOOD, TX) Mar 29, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Metallica rocks, this version is nothing like aerosmith. full "world tour" features,awesome songs. buy not rent. or rent and choose "keep it".songs open up quickly. interface and menus like original guitar hero, but with metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of eye candy, not much fun

posted by SuicydKing (DEPEW, NY) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, the Guitar Hero engine is still showing it's inferiority. While it's very fun to watch the excellent motion capture characters run around on stage, or witness the pyrotechnics of a Metallica show, this game just isn't much fun.

This game feels like an arcade version of Rock Band. Very in-your-face, very flashy, but the note charts are not very interesting. Playing the drums gives me a headache, due to the obnoxious visuals, and none of the relevant info is in a place that's easy to glance at while playing (note streak, power meter, etc.)

The guitar and bass tracks are endurance matches for the most part, making this into a chord-happy strum-fest.

The songs included in this game ARE fantastic, every Metallica song that should be in this game IS in this game. You will probably have more fun watching someone else play this game rather than playing it yourself. At least then you can appreciate all the work that went into making it look like a real Metallica concert.

It may be worth a rental just for the sake of singing 'Blood and Thunder' by Mastodon, though! Or just save yourself the trouble and queue up the soundtrack on your mp3 player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Krauss (PATRICK AFB, FL) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very enjoyable. Its alot better in presentation than Guitar Hero Aerosmith. My only real complaint is that like most of the guitar hero games after Hermonix stopped developing them the expert tracks for the guitar and bass are over charted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero part10???

posted by HeaDzmold (OMAHA, NE) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I play all these games. I think it is awesome how that this franchise has been only out for, what? 4 years, and it already has twenty installments...AND IT SELLS!!!.

All I am willing to put in here is, if youve played World Tour, you've played this, it just looks different. Oh and now you get to see your star count BEFORE the song ends...

MAAAAAJJJJJOOOOOR inprovements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth 60 bucks for sure!!!!

posted by tankworm (MULVANE, KS) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

This game was kinda entertaining, Im glad I rented it instead of buying it. There are a dozen or so songs that actually kick, but the game in general was very short and easy to beat. I think that they could have added alot more to it, especially with the pricetag they charge. Dont get me wrong it was ok, but just not what it was hyped to be. I gave it a 4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero: Metallica

posted by xxghostyxx (COLUMBUS, GA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This is far the best game on 360 as this type and also story mode is just awesome as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game and songs are awesome!

posted by Roclord (AURORA, CO) Mar 19, 2013

Member since May 2010

As a Metallica DISCIPLE (was on their side during the Napster issues) I love this game, as a former guitar player (forced to stop after my Muscular Dystrophy made holding down strings impossible) it's great to be able to play the riffs of my favorite band. I also love the Metallica songs, although in my opinion the Metallica Turn the Page is better. I also love the animations and the way you can customize the GH:3 guitarists, like Pandora and the others. Love this game, it is very challenging at times but this is Metallica and they are a legendary Guitar Band

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse