Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

2051 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice game...

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I was expecting so much more of Metallica songs than what this had on it. Also, it's a Guitar Hero version. I like Rock Band versions so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METALLICA!

posted by KillaYoMomma (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Being a Metallica fan from way-back this game is great on several levels,
One thing that makes this game great is, of course, being able to take part in the best band EVER. Standing in as the gutiaris of Metallica is like a fantasy in which if I don't pull my weight and hit those lick the song falls apart.
A lot of these songs, from Fade to back to Master of Puppets take me back. So, on top of being a guitar-playing fantasy, Guitar Hero Metallica is like a Guitar-Playing stroll down to where The Memory Remains!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero's "Metallica" a hit.

posted by evelander (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

I am a 30 year old kid who loves 80's, and 90's rock and metal, especially Metallica and other bands that truly knew how to wail. Guitar hero brings all of Metallica's best hits to a playable format and each one is like a slice of metal pie. These are some of the toughest songs that Hero has to offer, I guarantee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epicness, the best GH ever to me

posted by tfchronos (MORGANTON, NC) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Ok, let’s just get this out of the way right now. It's called Guitar Hero "METALLICA" of course it's only going to focus on one brand... Stop whining that it doesn't have variety, you can't play anything non related to Metallica, and it has no replay value. It was made especially for Metallica and Metallica fans that's why only the Death Magnetic DLC works with the game. If you don't like Metallica then don't rent or buy this game it's clearly not for you.

Now for the review, for me it's the greatest GH ever made, I'm a huge Metallica fan myself I love everything but ST Anger. So naturally I love this game and play it religiously enery single day. The only two complaints I have is that 1 It's not centered around them enough and 2 it doesn't have enough Metallica songs on it, however I can let it slide.

Presantation: Is very good the begining cut scene where it shows all the album logos being sucked into the Death Magnitec Coffin is absolutly amazing. The beginning of carrer is epic, playing the estacy of gold as the band members walk out into stage gives me goosebumbs every time I see it. The stage designs are also very well done. In my opinion there where not enough cut scenes, but the ones there are very good.

Battle mode: Is also very well done, the powers being themed and named from real Metallica songs it a nice touch.

Sound: Very good lots of the must haves, though I would have preferred many more Metallica songs even if that meant dumping the varieties.

Graphics: are the same as World Tour which could have been better. Each band member has 3 different versions of themselves Current, Young, and Zombie, which is very cool.

Overall: If you like Metallica then it's diffidently for you, if don't like Metallica, hard songs, or heavy metal go rent GH5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite Possibly

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The best guitar hero made just because metallica is one of my favorite bands and this one is a challange

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game

posted by megadeath (CLEARFIELD, UT) Jan 31, 2010

Member since May 2005

This game is Awsome very fun on guitar drums and bass. One problem though is it didn't have enough songs off their Ride the lightning, And Justice for all, or Kill'em all albums. but still very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely for the Fans

posted by VGMAN0421 (RED HOOK, NY) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Bottom line: If your a Metallica fan (from decent to hardcore), then this game is for you. After playing for about 10 minutes, I got hooked. This is nothing like Guitar Hero Aerosmith. That game had a very short song list and was almost identical to Guitar Hero 3. It didn't have much to give it the theme of "Aerosmith". But in this game, everything from the main menu to the animation for when you win a song is all Metallica. It always gives you the feeling of being in a heavy metal band, and may cause you to bang your head. Yeah, its that intense. However, you may notice that just like with Aerosmith, Metallica in the game doesn't exactly look like it is now. I don't know how they looked in the past, but it definetely doesn't show them as they are now. But, you'll eventually get over that. I defintely check it out. Warning though: if you're not really a Metallica fan, then just like Beatles Rock Band, this probably won't change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by kg00668 (COPPELL, TX) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Alright, I absolutely LOVE Metallica, and Guitar Hero Metallica was everything I had hoped for. This game was challenging, but the songs on it were worth playing over and over again. I didn't play any of the side-band songs, aside from "Tuesday's Gone" and "Turn the Page" (they were not my favorite), but you have to play at least two in the second set in order to get to the remaining Metallica songs - (These two were the best in my opinion, because Metallica covered them).

Over-all I would give this game a 10/10, and recommend it to all Metallica fans!

I did think the game was a little short, considering I had played every Metallica song in the game at least 3 times the first day I got it, but I just couldn't put it down. They didn't have all of the songs I had hoped to see, but it wasn't made only for me, so this isn't an issue at all. They have multiple songs from every CD, including St. Anger. It surprised and excited me to see Frantic, mainly because most people, for whatever reason, hate the St. Anger CD. Not I.

So this game is definitely a winner in my book, best Guitar Hero out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A difficult game

posted by ReiNene (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 5, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is truly a great Guitar Hero game. Metallica is one of my favorite groups so u know I would give a good review because of that, but I despite that, I actually like the challenge of the game. The songs are long and fast. The selection is really good. It does show you the groups that influenced them. I could make do without the Foo Fighters tho. I don't ever recall them having an influence on them. Anyways, playing on medium is a challenge, especially on guitar, when you play a long song and your wrist starts hurting along with your fingers. Hard don't even get me started. True GH players will have fun. The drums, I love the fact they made it, where you can add a second kick pedal to really be like Lars and doing so gives you another difficulty mode. The reason why I didn't give it a 10 is because the recording studio in there that they added from the GH World Tour. Once again, its a cool idea but it still kinda sucks when you cant add vocals and you really have to know how to play the instruments in real life to even compose a song. Overall this game is worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gutar hero metallica sucks

posted by duders (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

guitar hero metallica sucks if your not ubsessed with metal music. i'm not ubsessed with metal music i mean i like 5 songs by metallica and the game is still disapointing. theres only stone cold crazy, turn the page, and tuesdays gone that are not really metal tunes. plus half the stuff in the game people have never heard of unless you love metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard rocking fun!!!

posted by banjotune (NORMAN, OK) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I like Guitar Hero and I love Metallica. The gameplay has improved it's previous titles and the music is awsome (no covers). The Metallica band members look incredible, they jam out just like the real guys. You can also customize your own avitar. I say 8 out of 10. 10 If you love Metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 as a rental...as a buy? 5 probably

posted by boobage (ALBANY, NY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Metallifacts is great. Like the old VH1 Pop up video show. Band motion capture is amazing, it's like watching the guys perform...not quite, but it's got that Metallica feel. But as it's been said, once you play through the songs, and replay your favorites, that's pretty much it. There is no expandability. Would have been sweet if they released the S&M version of the songs, since they already had the symphony stage for No Leaf Clover.

Loved playing Metallica songs and others, but unless you're an absolute freak, there is no reason to buy this. It should have been an addition to a library. Imagine if they have had guys from the band as DLC characters for Wolrd Tour and just released a new Metallica pack every month. People would have been all over that and it would have been amazing. But charging $60 was more appealing to them.

As it stands, it's the same as GH Aerosmith...play through it, play a lil more since I love the band and a lot of the included songs, then return it. Too many good games coming out to make a commitment to this one.

It does a great job of capturing the bands energy, though. Gotta give them props for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some good music.

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I like the metallica music. After a go through, I reallized I actually knew more metallica music than I thought I did. I like some of the misc tracks. I'm not too into thrash/punk metal type things, so I really hated those.

My only complaint was my Rockband 2 drums didn't work with the game. Of course, it's a GH game and I don't have that drum kit.

Everywhere I read, it looked like they were supposed to work, but they didn't for me. I kept getting booted out of songs because the orange cymbal wasn't available. I ended up playing through one song some how without the orange cymbal, of course my score sucked, but was to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

an ok game

posted by aac405 (PROVO, UT) Sep 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

this game is alright story mode is pretty good, except for the create a rocker, and not being able to restart career mode without having to erase all data and scores, song list is alright, they made the game too easy though, all in all it was an ok game.. ill put it this way i played it for a day and decided to send it back, it gets a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game has no BC with RB 2 stuffs!

posted by Phil1017 (HILLSIDE, NJ) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

i did test it if this game has BC with RB 2 guitar, drum and mic. SAD! this doesn't working with guitar and drum expect mic. i dont know why. then it sucks! it made me disappointted with this game because of no BC with RB2 stuffs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metallica rules!

posted by badassgamr (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Rock Band equipment does not work with this game. I'm sure it would have been a blast to play. The only instrument to work was the mic. I tried drums and guitar with no success.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metalamazing!

posted by Marcoror (CASPER, WY) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Guitar Hero Metallica is a great game even if you are not a huge fan of the band. I rented this game to see if my Rock Band 2 instruments would work on it. Let me say if you get it for PS3 or 360, IT DOES WORK NO MATTER WHAT ANYONE TELLS YOU. As I said before if you don't like Metallica too much its okay, I had not heard many of there songs but after I beat the game on drums I was hooked. It also has great graphics and a challenging set list if played on expert. Also it has amazing songs from 20+ guest bands. So I would recommend this game to anyone who likes Guitar Hero or Rock Band, likes Metallica or even not. For its great graphics , set list , guest acts and for being so great. A 10 out of 10 game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero Metallica: Pretty good..

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I did enjoy this game.. all the Metallica songs that were on here available for play, the game becomes stale really fast.. Once you play it a time or two you really lose interest in it. There were also a lot of songs that should have been on this game that were left out also.. but overall it is a good game if you want to get your Metallica fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Hero Metallica, worst mix ever

posted by Lyceria (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Being that this game is guitar hero, I didn't expect anything new, just a nice mix of metal songs with plenty of Metallica thrown in. Now perhaps I'm not the best person to judge Metallica songs, being that I listen to only a select few, but you would think that those select few songs would be scattered evenly throughout the sets, giving you something to look forward to while playing songs unknown to you.

Instead all the most popular songs are tossed in the first 2 - 3 sets and the rest, all the squiddliy deedily dee songs which classify FAR too much repetitiveness are everywhere else. So the enjoyment of the game quickly seems to wear off.

Graphics are standard and nothing much to talk about, and the music quality seems fine. I really didn't care for the extras, the vids weren't all that exciting, and the buyable content for your rocker was, well, I'll just say 'eh'.

Overall the game is weak because of it's poor mix. And the non metallica bands range from absolute garbage to mediocre at best with an occasional, "gee that's a good song" coming from out of the blue but those are few and far between. Okay, 4 exceptions, also in first 2 - 3 sets, Tuesdays gone, Turn the page, smokin in the boys room and stone cold crazy, those are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Works with Rock Band gear + it's METALLICA!

posted by Homina8or (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought the complete Rock Band gear when it came out so I could play the drums. I was never into GH but I couldn't resist getting RB because I was more interested in playing drums since it is closer to the real thing playing the drums in RB/GHWT than it is playing the guitar in these games. I am glad that I am able to use my original RB drum kit with GHM but to really get the full experience of the game you need the GHWT drum kit because of the special high hat and cymbal which is not present on the original RB drum kit. I may consider getting GHWT wireless drum kit when it gets cheaper but for now, I'm going to rock out with the kit I have. GHM is a lot of fun if you're a Metallica fan. Knowing the songs really helps to play the game for me as I didn't miss that many of the notes (I don't know how play real drums) the first time around playing Unforgiven or For Whom the Bells Toll. In contrast, the first time I played Just What I Needed by the Cars in RB, I couldn't even finish the song.

Graphic-wise, they could improve the character drawings to really bring out a HD experience on the PS3 or 360 otherwise you could just play it on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best for Hardcore Metallica Fans

posted by FizzyGurrl (DENVER, CO) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I am a huge fan of the Guitar Hero franchise and was so excited when they released Guitar Hero: Metallica. However, I am not a huge Metallica fan myself, but I figured that, like Guitar Hero: Aerosmith, there would be plenty of offerings from other bands in addition to the Metallica canon. I was wrong! Sure, there are a few non-Metallica songs, but even they were very metal-oriented (I know what you're thinking- metal songs on a Metallica-based video game? Duh) Yes, I agree that I should have known, but I still kind of expected it to be a bit more mainstream.

Also, they seem to have changed the gameplay for career mode since World Tour. When I clicked Career Mode, it instantly took me to a Metallica concert where I had to jump right in to the first song- there was no song list from which to choose my first selection. I wasn't really a fan of that, and I sincerely hope it was just something weird I did with my controller to get me to that screen instead of a proper song list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the band

posted by ElevenBrav (STAFFORD, VA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

Great game if you love Metallica like I do. I wish I could have played it longer that I did. I unfortunately could not play it because my equipment broke again. Yes again. I am not hard on the equipment and don't play everyday, but I have been able to break both the guitar and drum kit twice.

Great game, just wish the GH hardware was as well built and sturdy as EA's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flippin awsome

posted by Frequency7 (GILLESPIE, IL) May 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is a flippin awsome game 2nd best guitar hero game made so far world tour is the best i've played every one of them this is such a flippin awsome game i played it 4 25 hrs. stright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cannot use controller

posted by peeps1 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) May 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I just recieved this game a few days ago and can't play it with a standard controller like I can with legends of rock. I don't have a guitar so I use my controller. It forces me to sing which I don't want to do, and there are no other options. I really want to play this game but I'm not going to spend 50 bucks for a guitar on a rental game. I even e-mailed activision with no response. I called activision but no option to speak to a live person. If you rent this game you will not be able to use a standard controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It seemed ok.

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Maybe I'm just bored of the music genre, but this didn't hold my interest. I think the main thing is after playing Rock Band, and Rock Band 2, I just can't stand the awkward and dizzy feel of Guitar Hero. I do feel that fans of Guitar Hero will like this game much more than I give it credit for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse